Submitted: Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 10:06
CountryLad
Gday everyone,
me and a few mates are putting together a show ute,we were thinking of putting on a couple of exhaust stacks off a truck,but we are finding them very hard to get,many of the wreckers only have ones that are damaged and so they are not much use,however the other day i saw a hilux with "stacks" made out of 2 inch stainless dairy pipe,so i am wondering if it would be possible to simply use a bit of stainless exhaust pipe instead of buying real stacks.
just an idea but might save us a few bucks....
great site you have here and look forward to hearing back from you
Take it easy
Matt
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 10:17
Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 10:17
I have done this with a Holden Tray Top.
Small mufflers ( V8 ) just behind the bottom of the cab, then straight up with 3" tube. I used Perforated mesh as the covers for around the tubes.
Looked & sounded good.
Wolfie
Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:44
Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:44
The ones I have seen have all been custom made like Wolfies above.
If you were to find a good truck one then wouldn't it be too large in diameter? It would probably look heaps better to custom make them anyway. Instead of trying to make something fit.