Solar Panels, how big?

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 15:17
ThreadID: 18336 Views:4296 Replies:13 FollowUps:38
I've read the archives and checked other forums and read such stuff that running a fridge and lights you need at least 2 x 80 watts panels.

My thinking is that my fridge draws 3 amps when running and cycles at most 50% of the time, this equals 36 amps. A light running for four hours is another four; total 40 amps.

Now one 80 watt panel should put out about 6 amps in full sun and a varying amount in lesser light. Should make 40 amps on its ear.

How do those of you have them find they cope? What size panel gives what sort of results and how well do they perform on an overcast day?

Any feedback would be great.

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 15:33

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 15:33
Hi Jim, I am considerin buying one of these to keep the Thumper topped up whilst camping. I like the way it can be folded up and packed away in the trailer.

http://www.suntechaustralia.com.au/product_page.php?prod_code=STA080-Freedom
AnswerID: 87341

Follow Up By: David Au - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:13

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:13
Moggs e-mail me at landline_equipment at the hotmail company as that is the brand I sell. You could get a pleasant surprise price wise.
FollowupID: 346131

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:17

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:17
You run your business from a hotmail account ! ROTFLMAO
FollowupID: 346146

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:54

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:54
David,

I can't get tour email address from your message. Can you please elaborate or send me a message jimbest at netspace dot net dot au. I'd be very interested in a quote.
FollowupID: 346185

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 15:56

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 15:56
It's a bloody con Jim, they call them 80 watts but that's not in the real world. They are rated in a Lab with a brief flash of light. In the real world you'll get about 4 amps from that panel under ideal conditions.
AnswerID: 87342

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 16:18

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 16:18
Thanks Ray
FollowupID: 346123

Follow Up By: David Au - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:59

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:59
MadDog you have no idea what you are talking about.
You are incorrect.
FollowupID: 346130

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 19:40

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 19:40
Actually, Mad dog is right on the money. You will never get 80 watts of power out of an 80 watt panel.
I have worked with solar panels on and off for nearly 20 years.
You are far safer rating any panel at half the labelled rating to give your self a realistic power output calculation when working out how much power you need.
All of the panels I have worked with state in some for or other, “To get the maximum out of the panel, it should be positioned at 90 degrees to the sun at all times”. Even doing this will not give you 80 watts from an 80 watt panel.
I am at this time testing some new solar regulators and even when tracking the sun, the best I can get out of an 80 watt BP solar panel is 4.5 amps.
For charging a battery that is going to run a fridge and no more than a couple of low energy lights, one 80 watt panel will most likely do the job .
Also consider that there are other factors that will have an effect on the charging, EG. The capacity and condition of the battery.
Just going out and getting a solar panel is not the whole story.
FollowupID: 346143

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 21:57

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 21:57
Thanks Gents
FollowupID: 346164

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:09

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:09
BP Solar 80w

According to this Drivesafe is right about the BP Solar 80w panel.

Maximum Power (PMax) 80W
Voltage at PMax 17.6 V
Current at PMax 4.55A

FollowupID: 346170

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 00:08

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 00:08
ok, it seems you don't want to play anymore tonight so for the benefit of those wondering just how the panels are rated have a look at this site and take note of the 50 millisecond flash.

Go away Ozi

http://www.bpsolar.com/ContentDetails.cfm?page=59

A bit of copy and paste here from BP Solar

How PV Modules Efficiencies are rated in the Factory
PV modules are rated at a well- defined set of conditions known as Standard Test Conditions (STC). These conditions include the temperature of the PV cells (25 C or 77 F.), the intensity of radiation (1 kW/square meter), and the spectral distribution of the light (air mass 1.5 or AM 1.5, which is the spectrum of sunlight that has been filtered by passing through 1.5 thicknesses of the earth's atmosphere). These conditions correspond to noon on a clear sunny day with the sun about 60 degrees above the horizon, the PV module directly facing the sun, and an air temperature of 0 C (32 F). In production, PV modules are tested in a chamber known as a flash simulator. This device contains a flash bulb and filter designed to mimic sunlight as closely as possible. It is accurate within about 3.1%. Because the flash takes place in only 50 milliseconds, the cells do not heat up appreciably. This allows the electrical characteristics of the module to be measured at a single temperature, the ambient temperature of the module/factory. Since this temperature is usually close to 25 C, a minor adjustment corrects output characteristics to the 25-degree standard temperature.

FollowupID: 346190

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 00:21

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 00:21
Mad Dog, don’t waste your time. You, Utemad, myself and most of the people on this site are here to help one another with nothing but satisfaction as our reward.

He’s only here to make a buck and as he is not much of a salesman, the only way he can try to do that is to attempt to make himself look good by trying to belittle others.

Utemad has already given the stats for the BP panel and if one reads the treads further down this posting you will see that the rocket scientist himself states that the panels at best only turn out 4.7 amps.

What our learned friend obviously does not know is that 4.55 amps at 17.6v will still be 4.55 amps at 12 volts, which is the voltage that everybody else on the site is interested in. The problem is that our math illiterate friend can’t work out that 4.55 amps at 12 volts amounts to only 55 watts.

There are a few other factors that come into play that will move the wattage up or down but for most people reading this posting, a basic reliable calculation is what they want.
This has been done by just about everyone but the rocket scientist, his motto is “If you can’t dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bull s##t”
Cheers all.
FollowupID: 346192

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 07:49

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 07:49
My understanding was always that volts x amps equals watts so I had figured an 80 watt panel charging through a regulator would produce about 5.5 amps in much the same way that 1 amp at 240 V put through a transformer (ignoring heat loss) would produce 20 amps at 12 V.

Is it a different issue with panels?

Be gentle with me fellas, I'm just asking questions, not questioning anyone.

FollowupID: 346202

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:41

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:41
Hi Jimbo, yes you can get more than the 4.55 that I posted.
If you use a Switched Mode Regulator, at 14 volts you should be able to get a tad over 5 amps, but remember, this is with everything in a best operating situation.
The thing to remember is that you should really calculate your requirements based on being able to get about half the optimum output of the panel.
This is a rough rule of thumb but it allows for cloudy days and other factors to have less of an effect on the long term operation of what ever you are using the gear for.
For anyone thinking about using solar panels, it would pay you to seek the advice of a REPUTABLE solar expert. Make sure who ever you speak to is a certified R.A.P.S. installer, they SHOULD be able to give you authoritative info.
FollowupID: 346215

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:29

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:29
Yeah you can't change Ohms law can you Jim. I guess the ideal conditions in the lab don't often occur in the wild but really you should be more concerned with how many amp/hrs you will collect over a day rather than the peak amps. Drivesafe appears to have his finger on the pulse. I'm just a hacker who plays with panels in the backyard
FollowupID: 346247

Reply By: old-plodder - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 16:31

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 16:31
I would say you are not far out. All a bit of a guess depending on the temperature of the day and the resutlant fridge power draw.

We used to run a 50 watt panel on the trailer sailor. Ran the lights and a 39 litre engel (4 amp draw). Used to go out for 2 weeks at a time with the fridge still working well off the N70ZZ battery at the end of the period.
Ran the 10hp outboard about 1 hour a day - 6 amp charger on the motor.

At a guess the 80 watt panel would at least double the number of days you didn't need to run the car.

Wife has always been prone to seasickness, so now do more camping & 4wding.

John C.
AnswerID: 87343

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 21:59

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 21:59
Thanks John,

If this is about what a panel can do, it will suit my needs.
FollowupID: 346166

Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 16:51

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 16:51
Hi Jimbo,

Are you sure your fridge draws only 3 amps? As my CF-80 (same as yours) says it draws about 3.5amp hours during it's cycle (don't know what setting and at what ambient temp) and max 7.5amps. So that is 3.5 amps averaged over an hour of run time. Not 3.5 amps when the compressor is actually operating. I intend to check mine with my multi meter when I get around to it. I'm thinking of getting one of those clamp meters so I don't have to join the multimeter in series.
The 3.5 figure was in the manual and the 7.5 figure is on the bottom of the fridge. This 7.5 figure is max draw and probably only gets drawn when the boost button is pressed.

A friend of mine uses one 70w panel which keeps his battery topped up in his van. In the van he runs his lights plus a 40L Engel on the 1.5 setting. He can stay for weeks and has no need for any other power source.
AnswerID: 87345

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 21:45

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 21:45
Utie,

According to the manual for the CF 80 it averages 3.5 amps running as a fridge and freezer, holding 5 C in the fridge section at 32 C ambient.

Also according to the manual if you switch it to the low setting it draws 36 watts (3 amps). I run mine as all fridge on the low setting and it is off cycle more than on. That's how I calculated 1.5 amps/hour. I've run it as a fridge and freezer and it draws heaps more. I will only use the freezer if I need to and expect it to use a lot more than 1.5 amps/hour.

FollowupID: 346160

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:14

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:14
I was just making sure you realised that over a one hour period your fridge would draw 3.5amps (according to the manual) not 3.5 amps 30% of the time and near zero amps 70% of the time.

Sounds like you know that already though from your followup.

I ran mine on 5 lights last weekend and it was about 35deg in the back of the ute wth -10deg in the freezer section and it certainly sucked the power.

I bought a windscreen sunshade during the week so I'll have to start making my fridge cover when I get home :-)
FollowupID: 346174

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:23

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:23
Utie,

I ran mine originally on 4 lights at about 25 C, it held -10 c in the freezer and drew heaps of power, as you have experienced.

I got a windscreen sunshade and duct taped carpet underfelt to it in three sections and it sits over the back, top and front of the fridge. Seems to help and I will try to measure it at some stage. I also have another windscreen shade which I suction cup to whichever window the sun beams in through.
FollowupID: 346176

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:11

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:11
3 amps makes it a super efficient fridge, and having tried 2 x 85w panels, in Vic, they wouldnt keep the batteries topped up for long enough to base camp longer term, unless you were super diligent keeping them angled to the sun in optimum position, and if they were mounted on the car, you had to be parked/camped in the sun.

A gennie run for a short time, at the right time each day is much easier to manage, cheaper to set up, and has more than one use.
AnswerID: 87348

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:02

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:02
Thanks Darren,

I'm not looking to stop anywhere for days on end, I never go anywhere without going for a drive at least every second day. I'm just looking for something that will stop my need to idle the car three or four times a day to keep the batt topped up.

Do you reckon a panel will do that?
FollowupID: 346168

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:05

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:05
As for the fridge, see my above reply to Utie.

Not sure if I'm right but it is as near as I can calculate.
FollowupID: 346169

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:11

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:11
Out of my 2 batts I get 2 days and 2 nights normally, not worrying about what is running, and with a gennie I can park anywhere, like in the shade, and the weather wont matter, and dont have to move the panels for optimum, but the 2 panels allowed me to stretch this another 2 days normally without running the car.

When i compared the panels I had in cost to a generator, after trying them, I came to the conclusion I was better to get the good quality quiet gennie [has more uses too] and spend the $ left over i saved from going gennie from panels on something to keep cool in the fridge.

Maybe if I lived in Qld instead of Vic, it may add up, but still a glass item, that only has one use, compared to a gennie that needs them to be in the sun.
FollowupID: 346172

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:27

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:27
What sort of output has your gennie? I was lead to believe they only put out about 8 amps, which I considered would need to be run 4 or 5 hours per day.

Right or wrong?

What sort of gennie?
FollowupID: 346178

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:41

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:41
I havent settled on one yet, as afew things going on, but a Christie gennie may do the job, especially if modded to take some stuff Im looking at importing, along with the MOFSET battery isolators.

welders and power supplies

I have got a bushranger 4000 at the moment into the acc plug so it charges while driving, is seperated when acc off, which acts as a 3rd battery at the moment, which has filled the gap currently.

I did have 5 batteries in the car at one stage, with a 4.5kva gennie, and battery charger to run the wifes dialysis machine for 10 hrs per night, before she had the transplant, and would charge them as a bank during the day, so we could still go away, also ran the microwave from the invertor [big 1500w sine wave it was] for heating dialysis fluid, cooking tea 8-) etc, from the same bank.

Havent found the perfect set up for what i do yet, but getting closer.
FollowupID: 346181

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:51

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:51
Buggered if I can understand that site. What exactly does that contraption do in regard to charging batteries?

Also when you say bushranger 4000 running from the acc plug, what is this? Some sort of in car battery charger?

Trust your wife is well now?

Truly a pleasure having decent conversation with you.

All the best,

FollowupID: 346184

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 05:41

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 05:41
they make welders and power invertors which run from the alternator, hence why the Christie Engineering gennie may be the choice for me, as a generator, than a little petrol motor powered invertor style.

christie gennie

The bushranger 4000 is a battery pack maxi 4000
FollowupID: 346198

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 07:38

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 07:38
Thanks Darren
FollowupID: 346201

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:31

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:31
Hi Jim
I run 2x40lt engels useing 2x75 watt panels just lying flat on my roof
(not the best way). To get max they need to be 45deg towards sun.I do not
have duel battereys so only used my deep cycle for engels&lights.I can only
remember running out of power once.We only go away in winter so that helps.
I was told solor panels start losing there efficiency over high 20,s anyway.
I have added another 75 watt panel(dont know why) With carefull monitering
you get by with 1x100watt. Its the sun rays that that give the power so even on
cloudy days you will still get something.
hope this helps Brian
AnswerID: 87353

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:25

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:25
just set 1x75 panel up in back yard. overcast day no shadows
getting up to 2amp
FollowupID: 346134

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:09

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:09
Thanks Brian,

When you say 2 amps even when overcast, does that mean you will get 2 amps for 14 hours per day in the summer. If so I would be laughing. 28 amps would do all I need.
FollowupID: 346171

Reply By: David Au - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:04

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:04
Jimbo correct. You will get 4.7 amps from an 80watt panel charging batteries.
Now go and check the solar sun hours at this website. Scroll down to Australia at #7
Jimbo I sell solar panels everyday to caravan, campervan and 4WD people, and can assure you, 2 x 80w panels is the minimum. Nothing worse with solar than having insufficient capacity. If you are going to buy 80w panels, you may as well spend the extra which most people do and buy 100w panels.
AnswerID: 87357

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:17

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:17
David,

I'm assuming that chart details average amps per hour per day according to the month, but for what size panel and how many houe=rs per day?
FollowupID: 346175

Follow Up By: David Au - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 00:47

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 00:47
Jimbo that chart details the solar hours per day for each month.
That is the amount of hours a solar panel will charge at maximum power.
FollowupID: 346195

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 02:55

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 02:55
Why does Geralton WA get 1/2 hour less sunshine than Broome WA when Broome is 2,500Klms further north and closer to the equator ???
FollowupID: 347154

Reply By: Blackie - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:26

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:26
This site is very, very useful .

http://www.motorhomesaustralia.net/solar.html
AnswerID: 87362

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:30

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 22:30
Thanks for effort Blackie, but that link didn't work for me.
FollowupID: 346179

Follow Up By: Peter - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 15:52

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 15:52
.com not .net
FollowupID: 346261

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 19:06

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 19:06
I have a 60l Evakool plus various lights etc and run 2x80w panels. I have never run out of power and don't want to. I went through this exercise about a year ago on this forum and after all the "to and fro's" it is better to have to much power than not enough. Go for the largest you can afford and you won't be dissapointed.
AnswerID: 87366

Reply By: theshadows - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:21

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:21
you need at least 2 * 100 panels. even then around the south you would be in trouble in the winter months. If you can up size your battery as well as a charge lead from the car to the house battery as well to help boost the charge.

As for cloudly days take at least two thirds off the chargeing output..

Haveing use them for years on yachts i can only one thing about solar panels.... I love my wind charger and a high output alterater on my motor.

shadow
AnswerID: 87372

Reply By: old-plodder - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 08:58

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 08:58
Come on, it's all a bit of a guess.

My son was into the model solar car challenges a few years ago, and got 4th in Aus. They were limited by regulations to a small panel.
We found that as a solar panel warms up it outputs less power.
Used to put a bag of ice on the solar panel until the last moment to maximise output. Increased output by 10 to 20%.
Those previous figures quote showed testing at 0deg and 25 deg. Big difference.

And I know that a solar panel sitting in the mid day sun is going to be at a temp higher than 25 deg.

Also noted with solar panels that they generally output at about 13.5 to 14.5V.
So 80 watts / 14.5 approx equals 5.5 amps,
ALL BEING IDEAL.
So you will get better power out of a panel in a Vic winter than a Qld summer, and intermittent cloud cover does make a difference. But then the sun could be more intense in Nth Qld to compensate!

Also there is a big difference between quality of panels. Did see some testing on research panels from Qld Uni (that they were developing for thier full size solar car) and the outputs can vary greatly from the same size panel, and thier efficiency in marginal (e.g not straight at the sun ) conditions. Depends on the quality of manufacture. Some of those research panels cost more than a new 4wd to make, just to get maximum output for size and weight. Talking of up to 100% more output to an over the counter panel.

I think this could end up being a debate on 'minor' differences.
See what works for you.
And as always, electrical connections make a big difference.
Prefer to solder any crimps or better still not use crimps at all.

John C

AnswerID: 87410

Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 10:42

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 10:42
Read something about a new solar panel that alows sun rays to penetrate and bounce of the roof like a dual system . maby something like this can help
AnswerID: 87433

Reply By: Peter - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 15:56

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 15:56
collyn rivers has a map of the solar areas in Australia,you would need to get his book to see it www.caravanandmotorhomebooks.com,dont think he would appreciate if i put it on the forum
AnswerID: 87473