Fuel containers

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:45
ThreadID: 18338 Views:3303 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
G'day all,

I need to buy a few fuel containers and am looking for some advice. Not doing a huge trip or anything, just want to take some spare fuel with me as the Rodeo is a bit on the thirsty side :-)

Plastic or Metal? The new metal containers don't seem all that good and old ones must be a bit suspect.

I'm leaning to plastic. Anyone got any advice on decent ones at a good price?

It's going hold unleaded not diesel by the way.

Smocky.

Reply By: Davoe - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:34

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:34
I have got one of each and they both do the job
AnswerID: 87363

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 19:09

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 19:09
G'day Smocky,
How urgently do you require them?
S'cheap usually have a sale on boxing day (I think?) w/- 20-30% off everything..
Their (Aust. made) plastic jerries would be as good as you're likely to get..

re the metal jerries... I believe that the very best of these are the ex-army ones..
I have several circa 1952 thru 1958, and IMO the new (imported) ones don't even come close to the older ones in terms of robustness... Keep an eye out at swap meets, flea markets & clearing sales, & you can pick these up relatively cheap (the last time I bought any, I got 3 for $30.00). Those that I have are still spotless inside...
Also, several years ago, Mobil was supplying oil in 20L jerries.. These were made in Aust. by Rheem... I have a couple of these also, & the quality is very good, though if I had to get rid of any of them, the ex-army ones would be the last to go...
If I have to carry petrol, I prefer the metal containers, & I'm happy to use plastic for diesel... (just my preference, YMMV)..

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 87367

Follow Up By: Smocky - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:20

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:20
Thanks Ed,

Are the Aussie plastic ones you are talking about Willow brand? Super Cheap have them on special at the moment for $20.

What you're saying about metal ones is what I had in mind as well, that the old ones were good but you would need to know what you were looking at. Unfortunately, mother-in-law sold 2 of them about 6 months ago at a garage sale for $5 each. Old ex-army ones. Nearly cried when she told me as I know what those things are worth.

Thanks for your help.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 346148

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 21:55

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 21:55
G'day Smocky,

Yeah, they're the ones, & $20 is probably not a bad price...

How many do ya need? .. Could be worth talking to a *senior staff member* (or store manager) & asking "Will ya do me 3 for $50 ??"...
Never hurts to ask, they can only say "no"... never know your luck!

Jeez.. 2 ex-army jerries for $5 ea... Did ya shoot ya MIL??? (joking)..
nearly crying myself, missing out on a deal like that!.. (At least somebody got a good deal)...

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 346163

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 19:31

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 19:31
I have a whole heap of steel jerries and two plastic ones. I prefer the steel ones. I had an issue with Lion Brand jerries during the year and it is well documented on this forum(go check the archives). Pro Quip make(import?) a good steel jerry and I see them advertised for $39 at present.

The trend these days seems to be towards plastic but I have found that they emit a fuel smell when carried inside a vehicle. I also have an issue with plastic jerries when decanting in to a fuel tank. I always seem to spill the fuel. Maybe I am just clumsy. Never have a problem with steel jerries.
AnswerID: 87368

Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:14

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:14
I have plastic ones. I have used metal ones but find them a pain. Plastic ones just seem easier to use for me. Although I agree with Willie above that the plastic ones are terrible for carrying petrol in the cab although I have never tried using a metal one in the cab. I have a Rodeo too and just carry them in the tray so the fumes are not an issue for me.
AnswerID: 87371

Follow Up By: Smocky - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:24

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:24
G'day Utey,

yep mine will be in the tray, so not worried about smell. More worried about them leaking over all my camping gear though.

Problem I see with steel jerries, is that the news probably have crap welds and the olds ones could have deteriorated if you don't know what you're looking at. If I'm buying new, I reckon plastic is the go.

Any ideas on where to buy good ones? Or which brand for that matter?

Smocky (Love my Rodeo by the way.)
FollowupID: 346150

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:16

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:16
We bought eight of those black plastic Rheem jerries from Supercheap about 3 months ago for about $30ea. We use those ones for diesel (I use black for diesel and red for petrol) and they haven't leaked yet whether they're upright or fallen over on their side sliding around the tray.

As for my petrol ones I can't remember where they came from as I have had them so long. However I go to Autobarn usually so they probably came from there. I have had them for years and they're still going well with no fluid leaks. I don't remember cost but they wouldn't have been more than $30ea.

Keeping plastic ones clean is probably easier. As they will not rust so the only dirt in them is the stuff you put in them. The red ones you can see inside better than the black ones or metal ones. I also find it easier to use the jerries that have two identical screw on caps on either side of the handle. One for filling and the other for breathing. Some have a big filler hole and a teeny tiny breather hole.

Another thing to consider is if you use a tonneau cover then you can't stand jerrys up under it. However they will lie on their side ok I found. I also used those 25L plastic boat tanks. They're about $90 so not cheap but I had some already. You just need a pump or something to get the fuel out of the tank.

Another thing to consider if you want a dirt cheap second tank is a Jackaroo main tank. Some of the leaf sprung Jackaroos had twin tanks. Their main tank went behind the rear axle and their second tank is where the Rodeos main tank is. So you can get a Jackaroo main tank and plumbing and just bolt it up to your Rodeo as the holes are already in your chassis. Just look around for the models with bolt on brackets as some were welded on. However you will need to put your spare tyre in your tray or go to the expense of a swingaway tyre carrier. You also need to cut out the orignal tyre hanger under the tray and figure out a way to get fuel into the new second tank. The Jackaroos used two fuel doors so doing hat would require a panel beater and probably quite a few dollars.

I looked at doing it but that meant carrying the spare in the tray all the time as opposed to carrying jerries in the tray sometimes. Although if you have 31in tyres it is probably not an issue as they don't seem to fit under the tray anyway.

This is all assuming you have an 1988-2003 Rodeo. Otherwise it may help someone else.
FollowupID: 346212

Follow Up By: Smocky - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 16:11

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 16:11
Thanks heaps for all of the info.

I've actually got a 2004 RA Rodeo, but as you said, I'd rather carry jerries sometimes than the spare tyre all the time.

SuperCheap (I think) is currently selling the Willow red jerries for $20 so I reckon at that price I'll give them a go.

I haven't tried, but my tray is very deep and I reckon it will be touch and go as to whether the soft tonneau will fit with the jerries standing upright. Had thought about the black ones, but decided to steer away from them as 1. they would absorb heat and 2. other people may mistake it for diesel if I'm in dispose.

Also looked at those hand pump things from repco that look like a petrol bowser handle. Extra stuff to carry though, but they look pretty good with minimal mess.

Cheers again.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 346263

Follow Up By: rb30s - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 21:10

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 21:10
You could always paint Rheem jerries white to keep them cool. I use Rheem now and like them ...light weight, seal well, pour well, have grooves in the sides so are easy to securely strap down.
Adrian
FollowupID: 346296

Follow Up By: Smocky - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 21:15

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 21:15
Not a bad idea.

Any idea's where to get the Rheem ones at a good price?
FollowupID: 346297

Follow Up By: rb30s - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 22:02

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 22:02
Smocky,
I got mine from supercheap 3 years ago when they had a special for $20 each. The normal price then was $ 28. If you go to the supercheap website sign up to there email list they will email you back a 20% discount voucher which you can print and use. Its valid only until 17/12.
Adrian

FollowupID: 346312

Follow Up By: Smocky - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 22:04

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 22:04
I didn't think they sold the black Rheem type, but the Red Willow brand. I'll check 'em out and see if they sell them tomorrow.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 346315

Reply By: Dean - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:02

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:02
Smocky, I did some can price comparing on the weekend. I havent decided on steel or plastic, but the same products were about $7 less at Bunnings.
I have no experience with jerries, but from a mugs point of view, the Rheem plastic have an inbuilt pourer where the steel didnt. The plastic seemed like they may be easier to use if on your own. With the steel it seemed like you would need someone to hold the spout.
Dean
AnswerID: 87449

Follow Up By: Davoe - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 14:09

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 14:09
you can get clip on spouts for metal jerries, but the easiest way with a ute is hose from the jerries in the tray to the tank (siphon). Otherwise yea ur right have filled vehicles by my self and always get covered ,with one arm holding the jerry and the othe rholding the spout
FollowupID: 346389