Waeco fridge problem
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:09
Member - Mark W (VIC)
fridge is not working and error light comes on. When we start it it just hums then a clunk and error light is on, I know take it to dealer just wondering if any one else has had a similar prob and if so diag. cost ect. Fridge is 12 mths old warranty is O. K. ?? I think
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:18
Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:18
G'day Mark,
Mate, I don't profess to be an expert, but I'd reckon the first thing to do is try connecting it directly to the battery and see if it works. The reason? A mate of
mine recently had the same problem with his Waeco. He "swore" he had heavy duty cabling from the Aux battery to the Hella plug in the back where he plugged the fridge into......And so he did; except that there was a short section hidden behind the side panel in the back that went from the switch to the plug and this was only small diameter. Once he replaced that with heavy (at least 6mm but preferrably 8mm) cable, all was
well.
So, by taking the fridge out and rigging up the shortest possible wiring test set-up directly to the battery, you will be sure the problem does not lie anywhere in the cabling being too small to cope.
Just a starter for you to consider.
Good luck and I hope it's something simple and cheap to fix...
Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:09
Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 20:09
I would back this up. I just bought a Waeco and actually read the instructions when I was bored the other day LOL. Anyway a Waeco has an error light as you know. However the amount of times it flashes (1-5) in a 5 second period helps to isolate the problem. It also said that if the motor tries to start then goes clunk like you mentioned then the fridge is most likely not getting enough power. So as Roachie suggested I would connect the fridge straight to the battery to check.
Either way your fridge is still under warranty if it is only 12 months old. I think it is 3 years on electronics and 5 years on motor for a Waeco compressor fridge.
Follow Up By: Member - Anni M (SA) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 12:41
Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 12:41
Hi guys,
We had exactly the same problem as Roachie describes. My wiring wizard (HWMBO) fixed it, and the fridge has worked like a trooper ever since.
Anni
Reply By: Kimberly Kruiser - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 23:18
Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 23:18
Yep, same problem as you with my Waeco when I first bought it and threw it straight in the back, plugged in and took off for home (1000 k run ).
Re-wired with heavy cable and has operated perfectly ever since.
Father in law had simular problems with his, same thing re -wired no problems.
Just somewhere to start. Good luck.
WAL
Reply By: ianmc - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 23:19
Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 23:19
Yes, definitely sounds like a power supply/resistance problem.
Clean terminals, good plug connection & adequate cabling a must & then theyre sweet.
Reply By: Howard T - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 08:34
Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 08:34
Waeco has a FAQ area on their website. That gives you the flashes and time between etc. Happened to me twice. 2nd battery was flat and other time just recently I found the terminals on the fridge were dirty. Soon as I cleaned them up its worked OK. It doesnt take much to affect 12v power.
Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 12:30
Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 12:30
I also had the same problem with a CCF 45 when I plugged it into a supposedly cheap 240v/12v 5 amp power supply. The bloke from WAECO ended up coming out to the house( I live near WAECO) and when he plugged in his power supply, it worked perfectly. I ended up buying the 24v one off him as he said that they work better on the higher voltage.
Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 12:42
Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 12:42
I might also add that while he was there he bought his CCF 45 in and proceded to show me how rugged they are by turning it on all sides and standing on it ( big bloke). He then put the lid on it and stood on it. To cap it off he turned it upside down for 5 minutes and then switched it on. This happened about 2 years ago and I'm certainly glad it wasn't my fridge.