how do you make a decision?????

Submitted: Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 08:32
ThreadID: 18349 Views:3136 Replies:21 FollowUps:21
Hi all, i have found myself engulfed by work and no matter how efficient i seem to get or how hard i work, it just takes all my time and with HACCP, OHS and now work cover saying if someone is seriously injured / killed at work then i could be sent to jail??? is this an acceptable risk in life? i would of thought for a bank robber! SO i feel like i have had a total gut full, but i have built up my own business for the last 25yrs and it has been my dream to do so, HOW could i sell up?? But i just find it too big of a step to make a decision and keep thinking it will get easier at work, but at the same time long to escape, but would i regret it or find it hard to keep myself financial???? HELP me please

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 08:39

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 08:39
Dingo.

I know just how you feal OHS, QA ect ect etc etc.
Just about had enough.
You are not alone.
Not alot of help I know.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 87407

Follow Up By: DINGO - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:07

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:07
that was qucik! its good to get some sympathy, but realy, how do you make a decision???
i think you just get so focussed on being practical, logical and viable when running your own business that you forget about what is realy important.
plus we get bombarded by all media and adds that if we are not getting richer and got the latest then we are a failure! But isn't the true value of success being happy???
i recon that the only truely content and happy people that i see now are the ones i see on my few short holidays that are traveling 8 to 12 months per year and their only regrets are that they should of started long ago, and a few of the old farmers that still opperate the old way, which is ok if you only have a few years left but not for the longer term, farming is now a high tech high stress bussiness like any other plus the added pressure of weather, export markets and the Aussie $.
but i suppose the ones that regret their decision might not tell you or have snuk home to hide and never tell their story, but i don't think there would be many and most of these would not be suited to the bush in any case.
i find its the only time when i feel at pease is when i am out the bush.
i suppose i am sh1t scared that if i stay, in 20 yrs time i will say "well why did i stay and do this all my life when i could of done?????" even if i stay and make a lot of $ so what!
i think i feel that it is a one way ticket and that once i go i am sentanced to what ever , but there are lots of oppertunities i guess and i might find i want to settle some where after a year or two or just travel for ever??

FollowupID: 346209

Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:22

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:22
Dingo.

The answer to your question "I don't know".

Very difficult question. Probibly would bore too many on this site.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

FollowupID: 346214

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 17:57

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 17:57
i guess you should ask yourself " how much do i like doing what i'm doing , what are the alternatives versus reward!

for me, so long as i make a good wage to live on and i am happy with what i do, i'll stick at it...

as an employer we need to make sure all of us, including our dumb employees work safely.

work smarter not harder...but this is a concept that most workers can not fathom. An example....give them a blunt power saw and watch them push push with all thier might.....

Now, if they said it needs sharpening it'll make life easier for all and a darn lot safer. Blunt tools are dangerous.

employees need to realise that that they can make their task easier if they Plan! before tackling it like a bull-at-the-gate. They become smarter, safer and More Efficient meaning more $$$$.....well thats tha goal anyhow
FollowupID: 346276

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 18:40

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 18:40
Nudenut,
as an "employee" I've given up trying to work smart instead of hard. I used to work in a team which planed it's day, making allowances for a bit of free time for checking emails, doing banking, just sitting around and enjoying a coffee or reading the paper... The result was the entire team was split up even though we were the most productive of five teams. When the smoke had cleared and some of the middle management felt it safe to speak, the reason that filtered down was as follows. As we are a German company, the management (who had recently been over from Germany to do time and motion) decided our team was clearly having too much fun and this was NOT the work ethic they wanted encourage or advertise... Morale and productivity have been spiraling downward for the last 2 years or so and the response has been "we will keep reducing numbers until we become more profitable"
I make a good wage, also the hours mean I get alot of time with my kids, which is priceless so I stay...
I think we need more employers with your attitude, I hope your employees appreciate it...

Lastly, sorry for running of on a tangent Dingo... had to give credit where it's due
FollowupID: 346282

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:11

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:11
You haven't said what industry you're in... mentioning HACCP makes me think either food or refrigeration, probably food.

Your accountant would be able to advise you of the businesses worth, and possibly inform you of how to sell. There will be someone willing to buy it from you and give you what it's worth!
AnswerID: 87412

Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:13

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:13
Negligence is the key word here . You cannot be sent to jail if you take the apropriate safty measures . If you comply with there rules and regs you cannot be jailed if someone gets hurt. They are just aming at people who take short cuts and want to ensure that there is some plan in place in case of a emergency. Now I know that they can be a pain in the a** . But you will be suprised on how easy it is to put enough safty measures in place.
AnswerID: 87413

Follow Up By: Member- Starky - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:51

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:51
Dingo
I don't really disagree with anything that has been said above however I am one who has been warned by a workcover solictor that I will be prosecuted next time a similar issues occurs around a particular persons behaviour. I work in the disability sector and I am responsible for sixty staff and their safety. If they are attacked by a client it is my responsibility. Now I have tons of things in place and constantly improving things around safety. This is the secret, constant consutation with staff, clients, workcover, Dept WH&S, WH7S committees/ Safety Officer and documentation.

I have a number of other strategies that I use and I am willing to share them with you off the forum. I know how you feel and I think I have got on top of the situation you discribe.

Send me a message and lets see what common ground we have.
fcfamnet@bigpond.com is my work ontact
FollowupID: 346216

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:28

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:28
You know all this can be put into place a bit at a time it doesn't have to happen over night and if you are seen to be doing the right thing then they will help because cost is an important part of OH&S. There are people out there that can help even Workcover so don't give up yet, talk to your accountant maybe together you can work it out. Also scare mongering by people should be reported as this is an OH&S issue too.

AnswerID: 87417

Reply By: DINGO - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:45

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:45
we are involved in fruit production and wine grape, which now also are classed as food.
i realise the "neglegence" issue is the key but if i have explained all things about the opperation of a tractor for instance and some one has an accident i am sure there will always be a safty sticker missing or some other issue, if they want to find a problem they will.
but this is only a small part of the over all problem of being too busy, and its just so hard to find well trained, caring people in this industry that are here for the long term and are will to work long hrs when required, and who can blame them when there are other industries that pay more for less hrs, we ar eprice takers and so are at the bottom of the food chain.
we could once justify this on the basis of a good "life style" but they have now eroded this from under us too.
let alone being "envirmental nartzies" for being an irrigator!
sorry i realy am having a winge!
i think i am trying to justify selling up, but i would rather be able to keep our property and be able to travel for a good part of the year if that was possible???
it is a waste of time to talk to others in my industry as they then have to look at their selfs pretty hard if they agree with me, as well many are content to spend their ntire life doing the same thing.
AnswerID: 87423

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 10:03

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 10:03
With out a doubt the hardest decision to make!!! Not just for those in their own business as someone working for a boss and very committed etc, etc you tend to have quite a bit invested as well. However, how much money do you really need to survive?? If you work it out it's not really that much if you include all the real investments you have your probably pretty well off. For example, do you own the property and business, your house, you have super, money in shares, in the bank etc, etc, etc. Do the maths if you have at least 1/2 million and that includes selling your house etc, etc you'll be ok. Invest that money and the dividends (and/or rental of house) and you can easily travel and do what you want. The biggest decision is actually doing it. Once you get the mind set then every day at work is one day to long. Look at some of the people traveling, no money behind them and they pick up work as they go. I'm not that game but with the above set in place you'll get at least $25-30k in dividends/rent, don't touch the capital growth as you'll need it to keep above inflation. $30k split between 2 so less tax. Sure I'll bet you spend a lot more than this now but look at only what you need and with this and a bit of work here and there, you'll be fine. Geez with your back ground you'll get work anywere you want around Aus in the same industry, that is if you really want it. The hardest thing will be making the decision and then changing your mind set that you have to work 14 hours a day. And after 5 or 10 years of traveling you find you don't like it and want to settle down you've lost nothing, just start something new but on a smaller scale, but I'll bet you don't!!
FollowupID: 346217

Reply By: Member- Starky - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:58

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:58
Dingo

Looks like answer above should have been a reply not a followup. Sorry.
AnswerID: 87425

Reply By: Member- Starky - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:59

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 09:59
Dingo

Looks like answer above should have been a reply not a followup. Sorry. I had my Safety Officer talking to as I was typing.
AnswerID: 87426

Follow Up By: DINGO - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 10:17

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 10:17
thanks for that "austravel"
i suppose this is the kind of info i am seeking as well as how do i realy justify going, i supppose in a way it feels like i am giving up which has never been in my vocabulary (please excuse my spelling as i left school at 14)
perhaps i will run another Q about how to people fund their travel and how much is required as well as who regrets going who is very happy about going and who regrets not going earlier?
i do feel you are right about the $ side of things but its very scary.
i also have an older mate who has been trying to build a nets egg to travel for the last 15 years and still recons he has too little to go but would probly walk with 300k as well as being a very good and well ticked plant opperator, i feel he should go as he is running out f time!
i have thought of farm sitting while owners / managers go on holiday as this is a problem in this industry and i have come across people that do this for motels/ caravan parks!
FollowupID: 346218

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 10:33

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 10:33
Dingo,

I think there is a lot in the food production area where the pickings are so slim and the management so harried that they feel like you do. OH&S is an area where no matter how much attention you pay to issues there is some one who will provide mis-information that will help to prove your undoing. We like to think we are aware of issues and have well trained people but there is always someone there to try to pull out the rug from under something or someone.

No matter what some city people see in the personnel market place, there is trouble in areas like I live trying to find people as you do. There is a very low level of unemployment in some areas of Australia below mid 3% is the norm for a lot of areas and skill levels low.

Career people are non existent as employees despite spending heaps on training of young people.

I, too understand the issue of finding the missing sticker or the guard that someone broke the week before, and the people who line everything up for a work cover claim with legal help.

What has been the bane of our business has not been just those, but other regulations that came into effect at the same time as GST and the sophistication of the reporting required in the newer levels of software for our business size to provide the level of management information we had so easily before hand.

Dingo I reckon it is half the reason why so many 50+ people are already seeking a less sophisticated lifestyle around Oz. I don't have the answers for you but I know where you are coming from where there isn't a lot of incentive to be a small business owner despite the urban myths, not from this far away anyway.

I guess I could put on a consulting hat of course and head in your direction.........
AnswerID: 87431

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 11:17

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 11:17
Dingo I understand completely your feelings.
I have been in business for 22 years and it's a bloody hard slog.
No sooner than you seem to get in front then the boundary changes and you end up tripping over again with a bloody nose.

There is no assistance for small business in this country, the simplified tax system as one small example only added to the impost.

I compete not only on a local basis but interstate and overseas also, the rising Aussie dollar has floored me yet again , I to sit down and despair sometimes as to if it's all worth it.

Mate I think that if you are of an age that is telling you that you have had enough (sounds like it) and as stated that you have enough money to live OK then the final consideration is to remember your a long time dead.
Advice is available from various sources about the financial aspects accountants, Financial planners etc they should be able to help with answering that aspect.

As to the personal feelings, well it's a bit like giving up one of your children but remember they do leave home and do it for them self at some stage of their life, you have to give up the child (business) and look after yourself.

Good point made above is you have experience in farming this should help you with the dollars as you travel.

Just go for it you have done your time and deserve what ever you want from life.

AnswerID: 87436

Follow Up By: DINGO - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 11:43

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 11:43
thanks John + JohnR (vic)
you both seem agree, which makes me feel a bit better and that i am not just becoming a sook or getting lazy, although i feel 65 to 75 hrs per week is not lazy!
you know i had forgotten the GST burden + cost plus now we are about to have to redo all wage agreements and awards in Jan another headache, plus we now are looking to export to Europe which has an accreditation process almost 5 x the size of HACCP.
i think that this is all called job creation and is ok for larger organisations as they can put on someone to look after these area's, sometimes i feel that is the multinationals that are pushing for all thios to make small business more inefficient as they cannot become more efficient!
also we are now getting bullied out of markets by large developments that are funded from super $, as they can tie up outlets with their volume and the fact that their quality is only 50 to 75% of what it should be does not matter,so not only do we have to pay super @9% on all wages, but also compete with this money being re invested into our industries.
so who else is in the throws of selling up and hitting the road??
FollowupID: 346231

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 11:57

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 11:57
Dingo,

Just going through the AWAs and all that and people who don't understatd contracts and that they have to achieve a fairness test think you are trying to do them out of something anyway.

Accreditation is across our industry already at farm business level but the imprtance of traceability of product can't be underestimated. I also work at a higher level in the food industry and know the reliance on self asssessment by suppliers so we can be assured of day to day quality of product. We compete in the premium market place where we can in the world markets.

There are times I feel I know more about other sectors of industry than the one where I grew up. I enjoy decision processes more now than the day to day......... I can also do that remotely to some extent.
FollowupID: 346233

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:10

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:10
Dingo I think you are answering your own questions, why not consider selling to the muti's or the super fund backed investors.
See if they or others are prepared to make you an offer, you never know it may be better than you think and make the decision process easier.

John R yeah the decision making process places a completely different spin on your business acumen.
Bit different from getting the hands dirty on your own small operation to making a decision that affects hundreds or thousands of others in a direct basis.

Just remember your not on your own, In the end we all bleed the same in small business in Australia.

FollowupID: 346244

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:40

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:40
John, you will be pleased then I still get my hands dirty and also enjoy it and that the decisions I make also directly impacts on our business. I hope strategically for years into the future too, positively.......
FollowupID: 346250

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:11

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:11
Too many decisions for me.........think I'll just go on the wallaby.
AnswerID: 87452

Reply By: Emo - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:28

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 13:28
Dingo, I currently work in the Risk Management area so perhaps I can help.
In order to make your decision you must decide Risk versus Reward. to determine Risk versus reward you must build a risk profile of your business. What type of business do you own? How many employees do you have? What is the quality of your employees? Do you have a OHS plan on site? Have all the staff received relevant OHS training?
The list of questions is quite extensive. Once you have answered each question you can then assess your Risk versus Reward and make an informed decision.

Feel free to e-mail me if you want. I'm happy to provide more help if I can.
AnswerID: 87455

Follow Up By: DINGO - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 15:02

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 15:02
thank you all for your imput and it has given me a bit to chew on. i think though all things aside i do feel that if i spend the next 20yr doing the same old i will feel that i gave up an oppertunity for adventure, change, experiences and who knows what else. is that worht giving up for perhaps extra $??? i do not think so. so i suppose in reality i am looking for things to blame to justify my decision?
thank you all again, i will keep looking at this post for a few days for any added comments.
FollowupID: 346256

Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 15:23

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 15:23
DINGO
Mate, you could be suffering from depression.

It's very common, especially when you're a bit older. And maybe like most of us you have been burning the candle at both ends. Feeling burdened and confused is part of it.

Make sure you're getting heaps of sleep. Put off decisions. YOUR health must now have priority.

Book a 'double' appointment with the GP. Do it now.

If you like, you can take your missus.

Things will get clearer but first you need some assistance.

EV700

AnswerID: 87465

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 15:39

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 15:39
Dingo

You have to be bloody minded about it

Retrench the staff, shut the business down, sell off the assets, square it up with Tax Man and then go for a holiday. If you still feel like working after that then set up a business as a consultant in your line of ex[ertise.

Just do it!
AnswerID: 87469

Follow Up By: DINGO - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 18:00

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 18:00
i have read many of your comments Willem and you sound very wise. i like your advice, but i am not sure about consultancy? although the majority of vineyards i see on my travel could do with probably two!
FollowupID: 346277

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 20:02

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 20:02
I wouldn't say WISE, Dingo, but have been through the mill of life and have had to make a similar decision once( though not after as many years as you have). Good luck anyway with whichever option you decide to follow.
FollowupID: 346288

Follow Up By: DINGO - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 08:50

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 08:50
thanks Willem
i am not sure yet if i will find the courage to jump but we will see.
i would like to know more about your adventure and if you have any regrets?
FollowupID: 346353

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:36

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:36
Dingo....You may email me via my website as listed below
FollowupID: 346459

Reply By: Member- Starky - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 16:10

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 16:10
Dingo,
Looks like you have been given a lot of very broad and sound advice. One other thing that we do in the Community Service industry is to mentor each other. This is where we bounce ideas and strategies off other trusted managers. Life does not seem as much of a burdon. In competive business there are examples where this occurs. We have competive business managers in our group as well.

I often wonder if this situation is real or perceived, in that is it as bad as I beleive it to be or is it a stage of life I am going through. One answer I have come up with is to be positive about the things I have and to judge my successes on my goals not on what other people have or achieved. This makes life a lot easier to handle. Believe me I have a lot to be happy about when I take the time to apreciate it, and I am sure you do as well.

The WH&S stuff as I said above in other posts can be worked on with systems and resources. But at the end of the day there is no such thing as a 100% compliant business or service in this country as we simple do not and can not forsee all the risks. This is where your internal system will protect you. Consultation and documentation.

I would love to do what you are thinking about but I like my bright shinny things to much. I work and put up with the crap because it makes my time off so much more enjoyable as I can afford all the toys I want. No work no toys in my mind. I often say to friends that I would have been a hippie but capitalism got in the road and I am commited to it. My next goal is to be a grey haired nomad - I have the grey hair so my goal is achievable.

Set your goals. Ask yourself where do I want to be in One,Two, Three etc years time then start to make it happen. The planning and dreaming about these things is as good as actually doing it sometimes. I am currently planning an across Australia trip in June 2005. (Six months to go) The planning keeps me sane, focused and my mind off the work crap. In other words it keeps life and the world around me in perspective.
AnswerID: 87475

Follow Up By: DINGO - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 18:20

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 18:20
very well put Starky, and i will have to read this a couple of times for it all to sink in!
i think you are very right in some ways, it is not all that bad, but i want TIME TIME TIME and am not sure i can get it, although i have not totaly given up and have just put someone on that i hope will be able to take some of my duties of my shoulders, not cheap but it is a trial to see what is required as well as put some processes in place. Then we plan to review this role in 2 and 4 months time to see what else is required! i would love to be able to get away enopugh to keep me happy and still run my business, but i have been trying for a long while to get TIME and feel i am going backwards.
i used to jsut go, but now i think "i will just put that weekend trip off until i get this out of the way" and on it goes.
i think the earlier post about being depressed is partly right to in a way.
i find my self all out of goals at the moment as we have reached a piont in size that i set as a goal 15 years ago, actualy never realy beleiving it was possible but here we are, but i also am not willing to take further risks for more expansion as i do not feel its worth the stress or risk, as well i do not have the drive in me.
so i think well if i traveled for a couple of years then i might start another business???? who knows?
Just because i can , does not mean it is right (to stay what i am doing that is)
also the fact that my sons are not interested in taking over also is having some impact on me i feel, but then how can i expect them to want to when they see the amount of work and the few trips away (although i still do get away for usually 4 weeks per year, but for the hrs i feel it should be min of 8 weeks, perhaps i am just due for long service????
but you are probably right SET GOALS again and perhaps start with just more time off , what ever it takes and then asses it from ther before i make big rash decissions????
FollowupID: 346279

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 16:59

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 16:59
Hi Dingo
I am now in the second year of enforced retirement due to ill health after running my own business for 20 years. Only trouble was the daughter took over and tells me hugs and kisses is all I get in payment (hopefully you can do better). We have been surprised how we have managed to travel here and O/S since and are surviving, plus feeling better. If work has got to you, maybe worth seeing if you can lease out the business for two years and have a break, you then have the option to join the rat race again or just stay on the road. My bet is on the road again!
Ray
AnswerID: 87484

Follow Up By: DINGO - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 18:27

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 18:27
good info for me Raymond
i do agree and have discussed this with other farm owners but it is a difficult one as there is an accute shortage of quality managers around wich is easy to see when you look at some of theese investment properties, and most owners are too busy or paying enough tax and are not interested!
i have had a burning desise to travel Aust all my life and when we get traveling workers come through and i talk to them i am just so jealous.
just to be free and get up and not worry about other staff, or the weather or water or any thing would be increadable!
i love it on the weekends when no one works except me and i feel partly free.
i left school to be a farmer, now i just run a business, and it could be any thing out the office door!
FollowupID: 346280

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 17:04

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 17:04
Dingo, theres a lot of things that can be done but Eric's right, its about negligence and practicability/foreseeability. Basically do what practical to protect from what's foreseeable. If you do that you're not negligent.

That said, a risk assessment is just an incident investigation from a different perspective and its pro-active not reactive. Workcover are there to enforce but also to assist. Get them involved, get their inspectors to come along and assist on a risk assessment or two, its does a couple of things, you learn what theyre looking for and they learn your fair dinkum about safety.

Good luck! my emails behind my pic if you want/need to talk more.

AnswerID: 87485

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 17:13

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 17:13
goodday mate
a smart man (i think ) once told me its no good waiting until U have enough money to go as you will Never Have Enough he said when your ready just do it
AnswerID: 87488

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 20:28

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 20:28
Dingo
until January this year I ran a general medical practice in Canberra, employing up to five doctors and 12 staff altogether. I was working 55 hours a week, doing a lot of back up work outside that time, and doing a lot of waking at 0200 worrying about particular patients etc. The amount of effort running a business has increased recently, not to mention increasing amounts going out as staff super, indemnity insurance etc. The government wanted to keep medicare rebates for consultations the same as the cost of a family pizza, so I was making as much as you'd expect from all the effort and worry. The only good thing was that motor vehicles were a business expense.

So last September I went away for a week and had a long think about it all and decided to just say "F... it" So I gave everyone fair notice and in January we just closed down. Since then I have been doing a variety of medical jobs but without any ongoing or managerial responsibility (all care but no responsibility). I am making as much income by working four days a week, (but contributing vastly less to the health of the community I'd have to say). I wake up each day feeling quite euphoric and can't think why until I remember I don't have the practice to weigh me down. I actually look forward to work each day which is the opposite of how I felt in the last few years of running the practice. So far this year I've had a two week trip to the Kimberley, a one week trip to the Centre, and a week in Noosa - something I could only have dreamt of while being a GP.

I think more and more GPs are going to be doing what I've done.

So my advice is do your sums, see what you need to live on, step back away from the grind and make a decision about what you really want to do.
AnswerID: 87512

Follow Up By: DINGO - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 08:33

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 08:33
Bob of KAOS
i agree and this is almost exacly how i feel, i used to be very proud that i have never been on any gov benifits, have employed many people as well as trained a lot of young blokes and even the fact that i have paid a fair bit of tax. but now i feel that we are being used and the untouchables are on a mission to somewhere unknown, which is not for the benifit of Australia. once you could work through problems and find common sence inteligent solution, now its just a jungle of paper, obsticals and people that have no intention of trying to help see this country the way it could be. we are loosing the very essence of what made this country what it is and it does not get any sader than that!
FollowupID: 346351

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 21:48

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 21:48
G'day Dingo,
I've read what the others have been saying and it's good to see so many positive responses; with nobody going off half-cocked and arguing.

What I have to say may not be all that relavent, but here goes....

Come tomorrow, it will be 34 years to the day since I joined the NAB; and I am still in their employ!!

I often think to myself and say to others that "life is not a dress rehearsal; you only get one chance to get it right" etc

I think to myself that I am wasting my life working for such a large organisation which couldn't give 2 hoots whether I live or die.

Then, last week, I read something on one of these "funny" emails that comes around. It said something like........

When we are at school, we long for the days when we can go to work and earn our own money.
When we are young teenagers we long for the day when we can drive.
When we get married, we (well some of us) long to have kids.
When we have new-borns, we long for them to grow a little so they can talk to us and play footy etc.
When they are 8 or 9 we wish they'd grow up and be self-sufficient teenagers.
When they're teenagers, we will they'd get their damn adolescence over and done with and POQ somewhere else.
When we are in our 40's we wish we could retire (that's ME now; 49).
When we get into our 50's we feel life is passing us by and wonder what we have achieved....we start to see some of our friends falling off the perch and think, flamin' hell I could be next!!

It went on to say that we should be "grateful" for every stage of our life and make the most of it. I'm trying to do this myself.....I have a young (2nd) family, so retiring early is not an option unless my lotto numbers come up.

I know it's off the track from your original post, but I suppose what it is saying is that we all need to keep things in perspective and make the most of what we have.

I like Willem's reply and really wish I had the balls to just up anchor, sell off a whole load of accumulated chattels and take the family on a never-ending "working holiday".....Trouble is, you and I know both know there would be serious challenges with that too and I would probably end up longing for the "piece of mind" that comes from having a steady job and permanent roof over the ol' scone.

I don't pretend to know anything about your industry, but being a banker who deals with self-employed people every day, I can certainly understand the type of issues which confront you. I hear it all the time how Gov't seems hell bent on destroying the fabric of the small enterprise. I've seen the bull-twang that issues from gov't departments....you'd swear it was generated by a computer that had been programmed by a 2 year-old kid.

I'd better stop now; I'm starting to froth at the mouth!!! LOL

Mate, please try to keep smiling and make it your business to get out into the bush (even just for a picnic with your loved-ones) at least once a month.....

Good luck and best wishes.....
AnswerID: 87532

Follow Up By: DINGO - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 08:47

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 08:47
Roachie i think there is a lot to be said for working for someone , especially these days. sure i can please myself if i want a day of here and there etc but in reality i have the pressure with me all the time and you always have that something in the back of your head saying "you realy should be doing this" or "have you forgotten a job?" "i hope they remembers to programm the pumps" "i had better not go away next weekend as it looks like it will frost" etc etc etc etc etc
so if you can earn a good living and not have this stress and be able to walk at knock off time and be as free as a bird until when you start then this has to be worth a lot. not to mention security of income too.
like Bob said when you start to wake up at 2am and all the jobs just keep running around in your head and you can't get back to sleep until 4am then when you get going at 6am you feel like you have been working all night, something is wrong!
you know over the years the majority of people i have met that are "fair dinkum" all have some connection to the land ie they iether grew up on the land or in a rural town with access to mates farms etc as well as exposure to farming communities or they visited relations for holidays in rural area's or they just did a lot of camping etc, i find that so many that have been stuck in the city full time just don't seem to get it and i feel that we are now starting to be governed by 2nd and 3rd generations of people that are not in touch with basic reality. not i am going on a tangent sorry.
FollowupID: 346352

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 11:45

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 11:45
Dingo,
You're dead right mate. I don't realise how lucky I am I guess. I make a point of leaving my work worries at the bank when I go home (although this is sometimes not quite possible). I can take my 4 weeks leave each year and unwind and re-charge the ol' batteries. I have a lot of self-employed mates too and they often say they'd love to come on one of our annual trips, but they just can't afford the luxury of being away for 4 weeks at a time. Most of them have a 10 day break around xmas/new year and that's it. I just couldn't do that; it'd drive me nuts.
I sincerely hope you can find an answer to your dilemma.
FollowupID: 346375

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 01:41

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 01:41
Dingo and the others that have posted. The above is the best series of posts I have read on here. Nearly bought a tear to my eye. I hope that it works out for you Dingo and that you are soon on the road to see this great country of ours.

Once again, thanks to all who have posted, some very very fine words have been written.

AnswerID: 87557

Reply By: DINGO - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 09:00

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 09:00
i totaly agree John it has been well worth it to seek other opinions here, as your own group of friends is a bit limiting on topics like this especially when they have limited experience in the pressures and also going on the road.
i was hoping to get back on the forum last night but we had some problems with a pump and by the time i sorted that and had tea it was 1am.
i have to cook as i have no partner at present, (another reason to stay at the NAB Roachie) the last couple of relationships with good partners have lasted 3 + 5 yrs have mostly ended as a result of being over worked and over stressed i feel, so i suppose this plays a part in the way i feel as well.
i would love to hear from people that have made the decission to go on the road , why they did, how they plucked up the courage to, and what regrets and what benifits they have found and if they had their time over what would they do???
but perhaps this would be better on a new post???
AnswerID: 87575