Why Solar Panels

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 17:51
ThreadID: 18384 Views:3573 Replies:13 FollowUps:48
Hi folks, if you were only going to be stopping at any one location for nome than 2 or 3 days, why would you want to outlay a considerable amount for a solar panel when for less than half the price, you could fit a second battery and a charge controller. Not only would you save money but you would have a known storage capacity. While with a solar panel, you are at the mercy of the weather. Furthermore, to guaranty the same amount of operating capacity from a single battery, using solar to charge it, you would actually need 2 panels of not less than 80 watts to equal the operating capacity of to full charged batteries, which then works out to about 4 times the cost of a dual battery set up.
This is not intended as a shot at those who use solar but a genuine enquiry as to why one would go down the solar panel path, so to speak.
Interested in ANY comments for or against solar and please add the reason for what ever you use.

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 18:07

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 18:07
D/S,

I've got a dual battery setup with a 100 amp AGM and I like to keep the AGM topped up so that it does't get low and thus not shorten its life. I'm thinking a panel is the easiest way to do this. I'm sick of having to idle the car a few times a day or having to go for a drive.

AnswerID: 87639

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 18:19

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 18:19
Hi Jimbo, obviously this is in part a follow on from the other posting, but just a few questions for you.
If you are only stopping for a few days at a time then the longest that your battery is likely to be low is about a day before it is charged up again while you move to the next site ( assumption only on moving )
Surly this short time would not damage the battery.
Secondly, do you get any power from the main battery while you are stopped.

PS, how long do you travel for, between camp sites.
FollowupID: 346433

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:02

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:02
I have an 80amp/h Aux battery, drivesave, and after a day of camping and a hot night with my lights, laptop (charging video camera, mapping on laptop etc) thermo cooler (working overtime with beers being taken out regulary and hot humid weather) and if where by ourselfs my MP3 player going, I find my battery is getting pretty sad after even 1 day's stay. And yes letting your battery get low even for just 1 day is bad for it. Your best not to flatten your battery's ever, even worse is to flattern them and leave them flat for a day.
Solar pannels don't neccesarily have to keep your battery fully charged, they can be used to extend battery life. Even if you are only putting back half what you are using, you are still doubling the amount of time you can use your batteries for before running the car to charge them.

And FYI I don't use solar panels :-) So I like to think I'm not biased!
FollowupID: 346442

Follow Up By: Davoe - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:11

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:11
heck Jeff how do you fit all that into your surf surly something will have to go to fit in the new arrival(this is coming from the guy who even carries the kitchen sink, all should be revealed soon when my money order clears and I can post my rig pics)
FollowupID: 346445

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:23

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:23
LMAO, let's just say that changing the oil filter was a little hard on the weekend than last time. Too many air hoses and battery leads in the road now!!
Rhino are also pretty good with their rood rack rating too! LOL

The poor girl get's pretty loaded up, you wait till I get another hundred litres of diesel on board! ARRGH!

Speaking of kitchen sinks, when people use that line on me (gee did you bring the kitch sink too!?) I just reach in and grab my hose (with pressured water) and say "Nup, but I bought the tap! SQUIRT" LMAO!
FollowupID: 346447

Reply By: tim_s - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 18:57

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 18:57
Drivesafe

While the dual battery set up is cheaper there are several reasons why I did not go for this and use solar.

1. No room to easily fit a second battery in the engine bay. Hence I bought a 100Ah AGM battery ($270) put it in a box ($17) with a solar controller ($70) and an ampmeter ($17) and a few terminals and fuses ($20). So for about $400 I have a battery that is significantly larger than a 48ah Waeco Thumper at nearly half the cost.

2. Now that I have a battery in a box, I need a source to charge it. The options were: put it back in the car (or leave it in there) every time i go for a drive, run a thick cable from the front to an anderson plug and charge controller (cost ~$250-300). Since I did not want to do that (the battery weighs in at a heafty 35kg) I oped for solar. I recognise that it is more expensive, but it means I can leave it all at camp and not have to worry about carting things back and forth to the car. Solar cost (80W) was $A450 bought in the USA - so not that much more. Since most of the camping I do is on the beach in Sunny SE Qld, I have found 80W ample so far . I move it 3 time per day (at night to get the morning sun, after morning smoko for midday sun and then after lunch). I only run a 50L evakool and a few lights, so I reakon I am using 20-30A per day depending on the ambient temp. I can get ~4.5A going in in full sun, which means I need about 6-7h of sun a day (ignoring the fact that the charging rate decreases when it is near full). I normally have a near full battery by about lunchtime (especially when the sun rises at 5am!). If for some reason I get 3 days of overcast weather I always have the option of idling the car and charing the battery with jumper leads (yes it can be done with an AGM). Even a 10Ah per day deficit will allow me to sit in one spot for 6 days before I have to worry.

So I guess that it a long winded way of saying why I went solar

Hope this helps in some small way

Tim

AnswerID: 87646

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:15

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:15
Hi Tim_s, it’s surprising how many of my customers also have a problem with not having enough room in the vehicle to fit a second battery.
Most tow a trailer or caravan and have the battery there.
If they haven’t done so, I usually suggest that they get one of those small solar panel set ups and trickle charge the second battery while the trailer or what ever is not in use.
Cheers and thanks.
FollowupID: 346820

Reply By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:01

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:01
I dont run any gadgets for my dual batteries , I just have them connected in parralel . This also assists in winching . I carry a $ 88 jumber pack in the rear that is plugged into the 12 volt system when traveling to keep it topped up. Its there as a emergency if I do flatten both batteries . haven't used it yet , Have had the car sitting in the driveway for 4 days with fridge running , car started fine.
AnswerID: 87647

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:29

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:29
Eric,

A word of warning. Those portable jump start packs are for light duty only. We have one for my wife's 1.5 L car and tried to use it on my son's 4 L Falcon when the battery was flat. No result.

Don't like its chances of starting your beast.

FollowupID: 346477

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:31

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:31
If you turned on all your gadjets you have in the TUF 80 at the same time like Jeff(WA).....then you woul;d drain both batteries in 5 minutes LOL..........
FollowupID: 346478

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:31

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:31
Hi Eric, any idea of the power consumption of the fridge and what size batteries are you using.

That's an interesting posting about the jumper pack Jimbo.

Thanks and cheers.
FollowupID: 346825

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 17:42

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 17:42
No idea on consumption , its 90 ltr weaco , have had faulty batteries once before and it jumpstarted the car a ok
FollowupID: 346878

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:31

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:31
Drivesafe, you are correct. If only staying for short periods of time, or base camping but driving out each day, a Solar Panel is not a necessity. I do use one, but as you say, only when staying at one spot for more than 2 days, and no vehicle usage.

I will be the first to admit, there IS the NEW TOY value, and we all need to have toys!!

I guess too, that you can do sums, and say that you can buy x brand batteries, or y brand panels, and try to compare costs. Panels will outlast batteries, so that needs to be taken into the equation.

I dunno.............. I just really like the look of my campsite, with my tripod mounted Solar Panel, tracking the sun. Sort of start dreaming, thinking I am part of SG1, on an off-world sortie!!! ( If ya don't watch Startgate SG1, ya won't understand...).

Oh, nearly forgot.............. and this could be really important........... my panel has all these numbers on the back, and they are all scratched off............ Like it was really cheap!!!

Receiving Dubious Goods Wolfie
AnswerID: 87651

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:06

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:06
"Tripod"? Ian.

That's what the boys at the footy club used to call me when they saw me in the shower.

Well maybe it was someone else. I prefer to think not.

Now when they all shouted out "Cocktail Frankfurt" I'm sure it was someone else, couldn't have been me, although it was cold. Shrinkage and all that.

FollowupID: 346470

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:17

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:17
Jimbo, you think YOU have it bad...

My daughter used to call me a different name. not that Muslim one my siblings coined for me, but one modeled after a Greek God..... Hermaphrodite.

I used to think this was a good thing, until I looked it up on Google. No such god.

"Rhiannan, there is no such god called Hermaphrodite"

"Yeah Dad, I know"

"Well, what's the story?"

"Dad, you know how like worms don't have a sex, they self replicate.."

"Yes Rhiannan, I have heard"

"Well, Dad... they're Hermaphrodites..... go ...k your self!"

She was all of 15 y/o. Bless her............. Must be the schooling, she wouldn't get it from me. LOL!!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 346473

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:32

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:32
Didn't someone once say

"Children are a product of their environment"?

Must be Tracy's influence.

FollowupID: 346480

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:39

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:39
Don't know about the saying Jimbo, but I do know that children are sexually transmitted.

The best saying I have ever REALLY cared about, and understood, and try to use in lunchtime discussions is this...........

The reasonable man adapts to the world.
The unreasonable man adapts the world to himself.
Therefore, progress depends upon the unreasonable man....

Now, let's just see if this has set a few baits.............

It generally is good for a philosophical discussion.

Woilfie
FollowupID: 346485

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:09

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:09
At this stage I'm a weekend or 4 or 5 day camper. Our chance to do a long trip is far off. I went away the weekend before last for 5 days fishing in the one spot. Running an 80 L fridge (keeping the beer really cold, around 0 C at the element end) and some lights, in warm weather, the battery needed daily topping up to keep it above 12.0 volts.

Looking for something that will stop the need to run the car. I was lucky at the last spot that no-one was bothered about me running the car, but some people are sensitive and I don't want to aggravate anyone. Hence I don't see a generator as an option. I had a 2 stoke genny a while back and it was noisier than my car and I reckon it used more fuel than the car on the idle.

Can't see a viable option to solar. Next hurdle is getting the GLW to get used to me spending another $800.

AnswerID: 87659

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:19

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:19
I've read before that a vehicle charging system will only charge a conventional battery to 75% or so...buggered if I can understand this.

I get 14.1 to 14.5 volts on my second battery during charging....seems to depend on the temperature or something. After resting for 24 hours it reads 12.9 volts and the hydrometer reading shows the battery is choka block. So whats the go here...is my battery charged to 100% or not, if not why do my indicators ie voltage and hydrometer say it is. This is a conventional deep cycle battery.
FollowupID: 346571

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:22

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:22
Sorry Jim, I attached my followup to the wrong post.
FollowupID: 346573

Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:30

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:30
Mad Dog,

My reading says the same - 75 to 80 % off the vehicle voltage regulator.
So, I bought myself a "smart" multistage 7A mains powered charger. Set at the 14.5V mode, my deepcycle battery goes through the bulk charge and into the absorption phase in aboput 8 hours. BUT it takes about another 48 hrs or so to go on into the maintenance mode and is fully charged.
No mains, then Solar is the answer if you have the $1200.0 odd dollars to do it reasonably well. Run off batteries and charge them when the sun is out.
FollowupID: 346596

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:26

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:26
Hi again jimbo, are you thinking of getting one or two panels.

From most of the snooping I have done and some of the posting here, it would seem that two 80 watters are needed to keep everything charged up when staying in one place for a while.

As Ross P put it, he was using 7 amps to charge his battery and that equates to two 80 watters running at near maximum out put.

Cheers all and thanks for the feed back.
FollowupID: 346823

Reply By: John - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:16

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:16
Dear Drivesafe
You make some valid points about the advantages of duel batteries over solar, but your calculations are a little off. 160W of solar pannels over 2 1/2 days will provide much more usable power than a second battery, especially if you want a half resonable life out of the battery.
Lets do some practical sums with real examples.
Assume Melbourne in October staying for 2 1/2 days.
Solar
160 W solar provides in real terms puts out about 8 A afer derating.
Melbourne in October is 5.2 eqivalent sun hours.
The solar pannels would put out on average 8 X5.2=41.6 per day or
105 Ahrs over 2 1/2 days.

Battery
I we take an 80 Ahr battery it would appear close but it also has to be derated for several reasons. Here are the main ones
1. If you consistintaly drain it more than 50 % it will have a short life.
2. A car alternater will only charge it to about 75 %
3. The battery performance will degrade with age, temp and dischare rate.

If charing with a car alternater we therfore only have a capacity of (80 X0.75)-40 =

20 Ahr usable

These calculations are only rough and for one location and month, but you get the idea
If you factor a resonable short battery life of perhaps 3 years compared with solar pannel life of perhaps 30 years. Then solar is more attravtive.

Cheers John
AnswerID: 87680

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:37

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:37
John,

Concur completely, except if you run an AGM as your Aux Batt. They will charge happily to near 100% which changes the thinking, and allows you a liitle more time.

However, they still need charging and I like the idea of Solar.

FollowupID: 346483

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:20

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:20
Hi John, I forgot to mention bellow that your car alternator will charge the average cranking batteries or deep cycle batteries to over 90%, but you are correct in part, that they will never reach 100% from an alternator, something a solar panel can achieve.
Also an alternator will get them up to 85 - 90% far quicker than 1 or 2 80 watt solar panels could do, plus you can get 1, 2 or even 3 batteries up to 90% at the same time while the 2 solar panels could only be supplying enough change to get one battery charged in anywhere near the same time.
FollowupID: 346559

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:21

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:21
I've read before that a vehicle charging system will only charge a conventional battery to 75% or so...buggered if I can understand this.

I get 14.1 to 14.5 volts on my second battery during charging....seems to depend on the temperature or something. After resting for 24 hours it reads 12.9 volts and the hydrometer reading shows the battery is choka block. So whats the go here...is my battery charged to 100% or not, if not why do my indicators ie voltage and hydrometer say it is. This is a conventional deep cycle battery.
FollowupID: 346572

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 16:58

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 16:58
Hi Mad Dog, some regulators will go to 14.5 volts, which is great for cranking and deep cycle batteries, but most will peak at 14.2 volts and for some unknown reason a few years ago some Gap vehicles came out with the regs set to peak at 13.8volts.
Short time charging of a battery to 15 volts but only for a short time and this amount of time can very in time and when to do it.

Some solar regs give about a 2 hour boost once every 30 days while others give a 30 minute boost every day. I for one do not know which is best or if there is and diference between them.

One thing I can not understand is why all vehicle regs are not set to peak at 14.5 volts as there is a commonly known value for the batteries in doing this.
FollowupID: 346620

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:26

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:26
Thanks Drivesafe. It appears I must have one of the good regulators. I must keep this in mind if it should die and need replacing.
FollowupID: 346626

Reply By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 23:07

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 23:07
Hi folks, thanks for the postings and the life span of solar panels verses expected battery life is a point I should have added. I have a set of solar panels that have been working well for just under 20 years.

The expected life of a battery is not really a consideration though, as they will die whether they are charged by solar or other means. Having said that, solar can extend the battery life but by how much is debatable as the biggest factor that effects the life span of batteries is how the are cycled.

If you use deep cycle batteries you can take them down to 10.5 volts and not do any harm to them as long as it was not caused by a single heavy load and you charge it back again within no more than a few days. This is what they are designed for.

Solar panels, if you have the correct power to meet the discharge usage, also have the advantage over an alternator, as someone has already pointed out, of being able to boost charge a battery.
As for the actual power you can get out of a battery depends on what you are using it to power. In the case of Jeff M, I think you would need a substation to maintain yours, but this answer and the others are the reason I posted this question based on a 2 to 3 day usage.

90% of customers are weekend worriers and as such first off, cost is a factor and I still think that extra battery capacity is by far the way to go.

I also think and have had my opinion strengthened by your postings that the only way to go when it comes to setting up a came site for more than 4 days, is to use solar as the charging mode but please keep the posting coming.

Cheers and I will explain more about the reason for the posting after I get some more replies
AnswerID: 87698

Follow Up By: MrBitchi - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 09:58

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 09:58
If your using 20 year old solar panels, treat yourself to some new ones. Technology has come a long long way in that amount of time. New panels will be far more efficient than your old ones.
FollowupID: 346541

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:41

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:41
Your not wrong there Mr Bitchi, I have a number of panels including some BP solar panels I bought last year.
The point is that solar panels have a long working life IF and it’s a big IF, If they are good quality. There are are so many brands out there now, I would not like to have to try and pick the good from the bad.
At this stage, I’m sticking to the old rule of thumb, “ You get what you pay for “
FollowupID: 346549

Follow Up By: David Au - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:38

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:38
Drivesafeyou continually post incorrect information
quote "If you use deep cycle batteries you can take them down to 10.5 volts and not do any harm to them as long as it was not caused by a single heavy load and you charge it back again within no more than a few days. This is what they are designed for."
That statement is totally incorrect in every way. Why do you want people to wreck their batteries?

Now how about you put your money where your mouth is and tell us which multi-crystalline solar panels are not good quality. There is currently among the major manufacturers not a bad or even sub-standard brand in the market place.
FollowupID: 346627

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:26

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:26
Well I guess the 7000 plus customers that use my products, including over 2000 in motor homes and these are set to 10.5 volts, then all these people are wrong but your right ( after reading some note on the side of some packaging you are an expert ) NOT.

I have already put my money where my mouth is and have be doing so with dual battery controls for over 15 years.

I have spent over 25 years researching, developing, designing, manufacturing and supplying to the trade.
You on the other hand buy and sell, thats it, but you are an expert.

My gear was designed and tested and proved to work.

You can rant and rave all you want, I have the hard proof.

As for the solar panels, why do all the Uni’s and researchers only use panels like BP. If all panels are the same then why would they, by your reckoning, waste there money.

Thanks but not thanks, I don’t pretend to know all there is to know about solar panels, so I go with the advice and example of people who do know.

Cheers David Au

PS. I am not the only manufacturer that makes controllers that have cut-out at around 10.5 to 10.75, but we are all wrong.
FollowupID: 346643

Follow Up By: David Au - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:23

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:23
Drivesafe you really know little to nothing about low voltage systems. Your posts continually prove you have no qualifications or knowledge. A person with the most basic knowledge would know that draining a deep cycle battery down that far is a recipe for disaster. Don't worry the battery manufacturers will love you. Generally going below 12.0v is guaranteed to destroy a battery at lightning speed.
How about you do some basic research on batteries and battery capacity. Presently, you currently know nothing, and are giving the worst advice possible due to your total lack of knowledge.
FollowupID: 346657

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:09

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:09
As usual, the only one who hasn’t got a clue about what he is talking about is dear old dave. If you shouldn’t take the back up battery down to 10.5 volts then mate you had better start a class action against all the portable fridge manufacturers, because almost every one of them that has a the automatic low voltage cut-out, has it set at 10.5 volts. Try and lie your way around that PROOF.
FollowupID: 346680

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:51

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:51
12 volts at rest, 10.5 underload
FollowupID: 346695

Follow Up By: John - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:28

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:28
Dear Drivsafe
I have to agree with most of the other posts. Taking a lead acid battery down to 10.5 volts with the fairly low current draw from a fridge will mean you are cycling it down to below 20 % and it will give the battery a very short life.
The cuttoff voltage chosen by fridges etc is designed to protect the fridge motor, not to protect the battery.
Cheers John
FollowupID: 346732

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:31

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:31
Hi john, what you posted is very true. The 10.5 volt setting is more to protect the motor than the battery.
The point is that this is not stated anywhere on the fridge that a person would buy, so they just accept the setting as being OK for the battery.
Very few seam to have any problems with there batteries but the problem will only show up down the line. But again my customers usually tell me about problems they strike and to date I to have not heard of any having dramatically shortened there battery life.
FollowupID: 346768

Follow Up By: David Au - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:31

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:31
drivesafe weaselling and squirming your way out of what you posted that was incorrect.
Now lets check out your totally incorrect/wrong/bad advice you have posted in this thread alone:
"Surly this short time would not damage the battery." WRONG

"The expected life of a battery is not really a consideration though, as they will die whether they are charged by solar or other means." WRONG

"If you use deep cycle batteries you can take them down to 10.5 volts and not do any harm" ABSOLUTELY AND TOTALLY WRONG you will wreck your battery doing this even just once.

"including over 2000 in motor homes and these are set to 10.5 volts" BATTERY WRECKER if you told these poor folk you had no idea what you are doing and you are responsible for wrecking their batteries and they should buy a quality battery isolator like a Redarc.

"My gear was designed and tested and proved to work." TELL THE TRUTH your gear wrecks batteries quickly as you have admitted.

"the Uni’s and researchers only use panels like BP" WRONG AGAIN

drivesafe you are an embarrassment with your lack of basic knowledge.
FollowupID: 346778

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:07

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:07
Hi again Mad Dog, are those settings automatic or do you select the level you want.

Some fridges have only one setting that you can turn on or off.

Others have two or more.

And then there are some that have done, although these are now few and far between.

Thanks for that and cheers
FollowupID: 346819

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:08

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:08
I think 0zi is missing the point

drivesafe posted this--> "because almost every one of them that has a the automatic low voltage cut-out, has it set at 10.5 volts"

BUT, that voltage is 'under load' and only lasts for a very short period of time, when the auto low cut-out stops the fridge motor, the battery then returns to up a higher level, and does not stay at 10.5v, causing the battery to be in a discharge/charge situation.

However for the battery to get to 10.5v the battery was already basicly DEAD flat, as a battery should only change <1/2 volt when powering the fridge, well mine does, but as 0zi keeps telling me my system is no good.
FollowupID: 347340

Reply By: motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 01:17

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 01:17
Having travelled with the full set up of dual batteries in Nissan, and the deep cycle in the caravan, we still found if the power supply got low, the little portable solar panel brought it back heaps quicker than driving.
AnswerID: 87707

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:02

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:02
How "little" is the panel?

FollowupID: 346525

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:35

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:35
Hi motherhen, I'm with jimbo on that, how little is little.
FollowupID: 346828

Follow Up By: motherhen - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 22:55

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 22:55
Perhaps little not quite the best description - it is just a solar panel, seems fairly small - being female i can't remember anything about technical specifications. We put it on a stand so we could leave it facing the sun when we stop. Not much help, am i? - but it sure works well.
FollowupID: 346934

Reply By: MrBitchi - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 09:05

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 09:05
Horses for courses, Drivesafe. I have a dual battery set-up in the Pajero and it works fine for me as I like to keep moving and explore wherever I'm camped, so going for a drive each day is what it's all about AFAIC.
My battery (150 AH deep cycle) will run the the Waeco 50LT and a fluoro quite comfortably for 2 nights but needs charging after that.
The question is then, what method do you use to charge it? Going for a drive is my current method and it works for me, but if your planning on being stationery for longer periods then the choice is Generator or Solar (or both). If you rely on the vehicle charging system then your up for long periods of fast idle or regular long drives. I guess the ideal would be a Solar set-up backed up by a small Genny for when the clouds get in the way.
Cheers, John.
AnswerID: 87730

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:55

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:55
Hi again Mr Bitchi, and yes you are spot on the money, it is horses for courses.
As I posted earlier, most of my customers are going to be doing the regular weekend trip more so than stopping in one spot for more than three days. It’s with this scenario that I have asked the question.

The answers have been very interesting and informative but at this stage have not changed my thinking and remember I get asked all the time by the customers when they want to set up a system, which way to go. The cost factor is always the prime consideration.

I don’t sell solar panels or batteries and all of my customers do there own installations. I like to give them the most up to date info I can.

90% of that info is feed back comes from customers using our products.
FollowupID: 346552

Follow Up By: David Au - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:43

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:43
MrBitchi if you want to charge your auxiliary battery up quickly you need to remove your main battery from the charging circuit. Presently you only get the potential difference charge into your auxiliary battery, and that could mean all day to re-charge it. Suggest you have a look at a quick charge method for your auxiliary.
FollowupID: 346628

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:29

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:29
John,
you posted --> "I guess the ideal would be a Solar set-up backed up by a small Genny for when the clouds get in the way"
the clouds make no difference to quality solar panels as they dont need the actual 'sun' to work, and a generator has far too many negative prospects when compared with a solar system.

With a solar system the auxiliary battery is automaticly seperated from the charging circuit when you are camped, hence you are only directly charging the Deep Cycle battery and it gets 100% of the charge.

0zi, good to see you are still freely plugging your BUSINESS

why won't you pay to be a Sponsor like others have to do ?

FollowupID: 347343

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:20

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:20
hi drivesafe. I use solor. we go prospecting and sent up camp for 2-3 weeks at
a time.had a gen set to noisy especaily? in the bush where noise travels and you
like to feel hiden.we may only drive a couple of kms from camp each day. have
a rodeo only single batt set up.to fit duel batts under bonet got to do air con
plumming.also here in wa winter up north in the goldfields is great blue skys
mid 20,s. so you can say i am hooked on solor.
cheers brian
AnswerID: 87761

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:28

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:28
Hi Brian, in your case I too would use solar, especially from a noise point of view ( lucky sole being able to get away like that ).

What size and/or number of panels do you use and do you have any idea of you over all power consumption.
FollowupID: 346561

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:41

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:41
drivesafe. I have 2x80watt photowatt panels, 2x40lt engels (1fridg e 1freezer) I turn the freezer back to 1+ when I start loosing the sun.as far as i can work it out with a engel probe in the freezer it will get
down to -14 on freeze during the day. after turning down over night
it will be about -2 to-4 in the morning.my regulator is a morningstar
sunsaver as far as I can work it out it cuts off power at about 12.20
volts.this feeds into a trojan 130ah deep-cycle batt. I just run the
two engels + two fluros+twochargers to recharge the detector batts.
I do not have a clue what my consumpsion is all I know is that it
somehow works out ok. my panels seem to be of a lesser nambrand
have you herd of these? I have also just added a 1x75watt shell
solor panel (dont know why, had some spare $)
brian
FollowupID: 346806

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:53

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:53
Hi Brian, thanks for the reply and with all that solar power, I would be surprised if you ever get a flat battery.

Just a couple of questions.

When you do move about, do you charge the deep cycle from the alternator.

And while on site, do you move the panels around to get the best charge or having that many panels can you leave them in on position and still get a good charge in the battery.

Cheers Brian.

FollowupID: 346812

Follow Up By: John - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:44

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:44
Dear Brian
You set up sounds ideal its nice to be independent. Do you get much gold ?
Your morningstar regulator is a single stage PVM design which is a reasonable compromise between cost/performance. If there is enough sun It should keep the battery at
14.1 for sealed or 14.4V for flooded battery.
The 12.2V you quote is very wrong. Hopfully just a typo but if not your regulator (or multimeter) is faulty.
Cheers John
FollowupID: 346848

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:14

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:14
Hi drivesafe. I have the 2x80 in a frame lying flat on the roof( i know that this is not ideal but have not got around to making a frame which
i can tilt ) and no I dont charge the deep cycle from the alternator,
sometimes I will change to running the engels from the car if going
a bit longer distance. I only got the extra panel for our last trip. I have just got itin a frame which I can move and point as I wish. I can connect
straight to the batt or through the regulator.As I said all seams to
work ok How I am doing things I suppose is all wrong.
cheers brian
FollowupID: 346858

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:52

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:52
Hi Brian, it sound like you are well set up, if you are getting enough charge with the panels flat then I can’t see why it is wrong. With your set up, should the need arise to get some more power, you already have the panels and only have to aim them more directly at the sun to increase your power production.
That’s a pretty envious position to be in by anybody’s terms.

With them mounted flat on the roof, have you ever tried to increase the power output by moving your vehicle onto a slop or something along those lines.

Thank and cheers.
FollowupID: 346864

Reply By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:30

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:30
Hi folks, I would just like to thank everybody for the responses to my question and I have tried to respond to all of your posting and again want to thank you. The info I have posted is correct to my Knowledge but no matter what you get off the net, it still pays to talk to some local to you and double check that the info is right.
Or using the info I have supplied, carry out some tests of your own and see how much of what I posted is correct.

But before this descends any further into a slinging match ( I can’t help but point out the error of our shop assistant’s ways, and lets face it dave, that’s all you are, a glorified shop assistant ). The postings has been very informative and My fun is probably an inconvenience to others so I will leave it at this point.
Thank you all again
AnswerID: 87854

Follow Up By: David Au - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:50

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:50
Drivesafe you are worse than a two year old kid making assumptions like you do. Unfortunatly the trouble is you profess to know something, but you know zilch about low voltage systems. Go away and do some research about what voltage and the generally accepted proportion of charge is left in a battery.
Drivesafe hate to tell you, never ever worked in a shop. Drivesafe you have lucked out again as you always do.
FollowupID: 346693

Reply By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:26

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:26
I’m wrong, all the portable fridge manufacturers are wrong and all the people who have been using this type of equipment for years without any problems are wrong but johnny come lately is right?
Get a Life.
AnswerID: 87880

Follow Up By: David Au - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 08:35

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 08:35
drivesafe you are one demented raving tired granny that has no idea about low voltage electrics. Your record of posting totally incorrect information precedes you.
Go away and toddle off and check out all the garbage you have posted about battery voltage. I know you will not because you cannot as what you have posted is totally incorrect and will only cause users to destroy their batteries. Unbelievable they released you.
FollowupID: 346753

Reply By: Mainey... - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 02:21

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 02:21
Dave,
Why have you stopped using the name we all know you by
and have grown to luv --> "0ziExplorer"

AnswerID: 88293