Now I have seen & heared it all .

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:29
ThreadID: 18388 Views:3154 Replies:9 FollowUps:25
On the road as ussual today and stopped at a take-away shop in Port Melbourne for lunch. Parked next to me were 2 4by's, a stock Disco and a Pathfinder. I ordered my lunch and walked back to the bench infront of the cruiser to eat. Half way through lunch , the question came.

Hey mate you taken that thing off road ?
or do you just like the look ?

Now here is a 80 , jacked off it's head , 35's shovels hanging off it .
I had to look around to make sure they were talking to me lol.
So I answer , Nah mate never been , is it any good?

So the next ten min. are spent with these guys telling me what hard core off roaders they are and that there vehicles go everywere.

I turned around and took another look at there cars , Yep stock , road tyres .

So i deside to ask , where can you go .

The next ten min are spent with these guys telling me about Gembrook. The only name main roads in Gembrook and not one track.

Then the best parts comes . We even had to pull out some guy 2 weeks ago who was stuck , a black GXL they state , some Toorak bloke with the number plate GXL.

Now I had to try hard to contain myself , since there talking about the supercharged GXL I built for a mate of mine .

Anyway , I say nothing and wish them a good day and drive off , I call up my mate who ownes GXL to ask if he had recovered by these 2 blokes .

This is the best bit .

My mate laughs and says that he was recovered by another Landcruiser and remembers 2 blokes in similar cars sitting on the main track watching . After my mates car was clear ,the 2 caracters walk over and asked the guy who helped my mate , if it was safe to drive through the track ahead of them . All of the people there looked and wondered what the hell were they talking about . 2 sec later the penny dropped and they realised that they were talking about some water that had gathered on the side of the main road. Then came the burst of laughted and these 2 blokes storming off.

I had to laugh and freaked about what a small world this is . I know its not the norm post for here but it made my day .

They say laughter is the best medicine

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:38

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:38
The funniest thing Eric, is if they seen the EO sticker on the back, and the thought to have a look in here tonight, and see this post............

Reckon they might just move right along to another forum!!!

good laugh, cheers.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 87652

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:40

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:40
lol , how true , didnt think of that
FollowupID: 346449

Follow Up By: Noosa Bushtrackers - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:10

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:10
They wouldn't know what EO was in the first place.
Doing it tuff, Towing a Bushtracker.

FollowupID: 346555

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:03

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:03
Ahh Eric, I had to recover this guy in a Nissan number plate was something like PTROOL............... coudnt get him out as I would have got my tyres dirty hahahahaha

AnswerID: 87656

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:09

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:09
I was waiting for that one next . lol

Half there luck , they kept me entertained .

Almost reminded me of a bloke years ago who told me that Eric Christopher Built his engine , and I had never seen him before in my life lol
FollowupID: 346453

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 08:19

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 08:19
Eric I just read your rig profile. Do you really need all that junk added to it? Can you name just one place that you can go where a standard vehicle can't? I know many standard vehicles that have traversed deserts, toured the high country and cruised the outback. Wouldn't you rather sit around a camp fire and talk to your mates, than watch a DVD? Can't you read a paper map and use a compass? LOL
FollowupID: 346751

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 08:26

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 08:26
Aandy , I see you are fishing for a reaction,

Good luck lol
FollowupID: 346752

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:26

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:26
Thanks Eric
FollowupID: 346942

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:33

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:33
Any time mate
FollowupID: 346946

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:40

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:40
Kirsten and I are piiiissing ourselves laughing...... I showed her your 4WD, she descrided the 2 guys as knobs!
AnswerID: 87668

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:44

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:44
But lets look at the bright side , they did give me a great laugh for the day.

Turned a horible day at work fun again lol
FollowupID: 346463

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 08:08

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 08:08
Just wondering - could it be that Crazie=Eric? Both are bad spellers!!
FollowupID: 346750

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:19

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:19
This is the last place i thought i would get picked up on spelling.....
FollowupID: 346758

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 17:45

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 17:45
Crazie , don't feed the trol . He is just looking for someone to upset , he obviously gets his kicks that way ,

You know what they say , people sometimes look at the splinter in your eye because the want to ignor the log in there's lol

Let him be the misrable sod lol
FollowupID: 346879

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:29

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:29
Thanks again Eric
FollowupID: 346943

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:32

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:32
your welcome bud
FollowupID: 346944

Reply By: rolande- Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:09

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:09
Eric,
Much better than Friday Phunnies, keep up the good work, will call you tomorrow

Rolande
AnswerID: 87678

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:07

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:07
Eric, I did say to you a couple of weeks back that your weekend is never complete unless you have a recovery or two. Seems like you have topped that though just thinking about it.

Best get back to the playing mate.
AnswerID: 87688

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:36

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:36
Yeah...It wasn't that long ago when Eric took me for a drive in Gembrook Forest. He tried very hard for a recovery and succeded! Some winching by his mate after some good advice by a passenger saw Eric recovered safely. Good on ya Eric....keep on having fun....Hmmmm must take you out in to the Flinders sometime...................
FollowupID: 346497

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 00:17

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 00:17
Meet us there on our way back from Birdsville
FollowupID: 346514

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:22

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:22
you the passenger Willem?
FollowupID: 346528

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:23

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:23
Don't ask leading questions, Nudie :o)
FollowupID: 346656

Reply By: Rhubarb - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:21

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:21
Eric that's a classic!

When I see a follow 4by driver I usually look at his tires first to see if they are AT or MT, and from this you can usually gauge whether the thing is ever been put into 4WD or not.
AnswerID: 87691

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 23:02

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 23:02
When I read replies like those from "Rhubarb", a wry grin comes to my face.

MT,AT, FT or TT, when I was out prospecting I ripped tyres like there was no tommorow. I've even run on a tyre stuffed with grass 'n spinifex to get back to a town.

If it was black 'n round & didn't cost more than 30 bucks it'd do me. And my old truck spent more time in 4WD than out of it!

So my tyre choice is BR30/7.50/16 ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 346502

Follow Up By: Rhubarb - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 23:21

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 23:21
Good stuff tiger! :)
FollowupID: 346506

Follow Up By: Davoe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 10:49

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 10:49
Bilbo Have you tried the dunlop dr2 12p tyres? they seem to be the tyre of choice for cross country work these days and from personall experience they do a great job. Only problem is they are crap in mud which isnt usually a problem.
FollowupID: 346546

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:20

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:20
Unless of course someone uses H/T for road and something more aggressive for offroad. Perhaps it is a Govt or Corp 4x4 which has stock tyres on it but still gets taken wherever.

Not always indicative of its use but I guess it would be ok most of the time.
FollowupID: 346634

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:38

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:38
Yeah, right!!
so ya can tell just by lookin' at the tyres, huh???

So Rhubarb, imagine you're lookin' at my truck (it's a GU TD42T), right?
Now have a look at the tyres.... (since ya can't see it,they're AT, G/year Wrangler AT/R's in fact)....
So um, Rhubarb, you tell me......
just lookin' at the tyres....
(they're clean, I washed it yesterday)....
shiny, too!!
ya could shave using the reflections in the bright 'n' shiny polished alloy b/bar!!!

Has the thing ever been put into 4WD or not????
What if it still had the (original) HT's on it????.. Would that make a difference whether 4WD had been engaged or not???

Have a good one!!

Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 346721

Follow Up By: Rhubarb - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 00:52

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 00:52
It looks as if I stand corrected.

However I do love to look at a fourby that you can tell has been used off road and knowing just how much fun they have no doubt been having.
FollowupID: 346741

Reply By: ianmc - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 23:20

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 23:20
I reckon theres a fair chance that a bold luggy tyre will pick up a sharp stick or stone in its lug cavity & hold it until it goes right thru where a smoother tyre
might not. After a trouble free 10,000 kms to FNQ I was keeping too far to the left & picked up a bit of alloy window type extrusion which had prob fallen off a tradesmans ute & wrecked an almost unmarked AT tyre. I didnt really need to go down that road anyway!
AnswerID: 87700

Reply By: Member - Clive G (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:11

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:11
Well what a section to read to light up you day, I couldnt stop laughing, maybe you should have ask them how your recover another truck and see what there response was lol

Clive
AnswerID: 87773

Follow Up By: Matt M - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:42

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:42
Thats too easy....

On a stock Dico or Pathy, you just attach the hemp rope to the factory shipping points, valve bounce and drop the clutch in high 2nd!!

Anyone could cuff that one!!
lol
FollowupID: 346581

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:27
SWMBO gets very edgy if i even think of driving on anything remotley labelled as 4 wheel drive track... but i like the idea of impressing people... is there anywhere available that sells shovel decals and fake dirt?
AnswerID: 87839

Follow Up By: paj - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:07

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:07
When I lived in Sydney in the late 70's there was a mob on the North shore that used to mud spray 4by's. They even got the splash marks from the wheels arches right. One of the mags put out an article on it.

Wonder how much it cost? ....

Paj
FollowupID: 346729