rb30
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:22
yebach
I have a ptrol rb30 i need more power .I've thought of fuel injection rb25 double overhead camwith extractors I was just wandering if there was any one else who has done something simillar
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:28
Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:28
Russel Guest was doing things to RB30's a few years back for about $400 to give them some more poke.
He's in Melb at Guest 4wd.
Good Luck
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:34
Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:34
One other thing I should have mentioned is that you should seek an opinion from Diamond (another Jim); he's a mechanic and has owned an RB 30.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:46
Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 22:46
Sandy Bowman at Aust4wd center in Bayswater Vic...
You can fit full NISMO VL commodore kit on them...
I have a magazine here somewhere with one pumping out
well over 200kw at the wheels....
But its cheaper to just fit a 350 Chev than waste the money on injection etc etc
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:38
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:38
Wah?? 350?..... cant get 454's or 502's anymore??? ;-)
Reply By: rb30s - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:58
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:58
Hi yebach,
With your rb30 have you tried the following for a start:
K & N air cleaner, extractors/exhaust, removing the air heating element/gauze in the plastic spacer under the carby as it restricts about 30% air flow (I got this one off EO 2 years ago and highly recommend it) ,a little more advance timing, removing the back seats if their not needed (saves weight),all the above mods each make a small improvement but together they make signifficant improvements to the car. My car feels like a different car to the one I bought and I havent done the exhaust yet! You can do a few other things also like porting and polishing the head, this and bigger valves should give signifficant gains....then theres always the VL turbo motor. You should check out nissan skyline forums, probably lots of info to be found. How much money do you want to spend? Dont forget Legal and insurance considerations re. engine transplants etc.
Adrian
Follow Up By: rb30s - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:50
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:50
yebach,
Check out
www.nizpro.com.au/index.html
www.svd.asn.au/forums/
and there are many more
places for info.
Adrian
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:57
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:57
Buy yourself a rb20det motor and put the head and injection on your rb30, with a larger turbo. This will fix the power problems.
If, however, you want torque, have a look at the vh45de motor (out of the infinity in Japan)...v8, 32 valve, 4.5 litre 208kw std. There is mention of this conversion to a patrol if you search vh45de on the web.
There is one for sale on www.ozdat.com for $750.00
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:08
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:08
I've done a few things to ours, and with moderate success. I removed the pre-heater gauze constricting the carby and added a Genie Headers extractor system (made the biggest difference).
I have bought a spare RB-30 out of a VL from our local wreckers for $250 complete. its bottom end is shot, but I'm after the fuel injection. The reason that I bought the whole engine is that everything is there. Any little sensors or plugs or whatever I may need on the Patrol's engine will just come off the spare engine as a swap-in. I bought the ECU separately off eBay for $100 - including harness. Beware that if you find one, you should go for the one set up for manual gearboxes, as the auto one is a little different I hear. Not sure what, but you never know.....
Down the track I might get the turbo kit off a VL - if I can find one. I'm a little suspicious of the turbo though, as I don't think that it will be good off-road, as it develops its torque too high up in the rev range. I have a spare roots supercharger at home off a Toyota (Soarer I think) that is good for an engine of around 3 litre capacity. Castlemain Rod
Shop does a kit for the RB-30 that includes a supercharger and all the mounts and stuff for a reasonable price, so I'll investigate that as
well. Only problem is that you have to re-locate the power steering pump - no big deal I hope.
chris
Follow Up By: yebach - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 12:35
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 12:35
G'day Chris thanks for your follow up, i was just wandering what sort of tourque your getting. The main reason for wanting the upgrade is i would be towing a horse float a fairbit
p.s. I saw the photo of you in the mud did you get it out easily
thanks
Yebach
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 12:39
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 12:39
No worries Yebach
I don't know what the torque figures are as i've never dyno'd it. I guess i will do that as a "before" and "after" excercise if I go the full hog and superchage it after i install the injection system.
Did I get out of the mud in that shot? Nope. It took a double-line pull from the trusty Warn 10,000 pounder and a snatch block.
Reply By: rb30s - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 10:45
Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 10:45
To wet your appetite try the following rb30 with rb25 etc mods with pictures etc....
http://www.users.esc.net.au/~cobra30/twincam.htm
Adrian
Follow Up By: yebach - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:29
Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:29
G'day Adrian
Thanks for your responce but i'm having problems getting on that website
thanks yebach
Follow Up By: yebach - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:32
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:32
Hey Adrian I'm hanging to see those pics .
I'm also sick of almost having to push the GQ up big hills HELLP!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:39
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:39
I've seen VL's with this conversion done - and they are a lovely engine after it for sure! Only thing is that they put out peak torque at completely sill revs for off-roading I'd suspect.....
One other thing - the gearbox in the 3.0L Patrol is a 300ZX affair, and not as strong as the big clunker found in the 4.2L units. Be very careful, so I've heard, of over-stressing this 'box with big power - especially in 5th....... "sssttrriiiiiippppppppp" - the sound of teeth breaking off.....
Reply By: yebach - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:41
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:41
Thanks Chrispy , it seems the more i learn about this project the more dollar signs i see
thanks mate
yebach
Reply By: rb30s - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:40
Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:40
try this
http://users.esc.net.au/~cobra30/twincam.htm
Adrian
Follow Up By: rb30s - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:43
Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:43
If that doesn't work do a google...... rb30 rb25 head