GU 2.8 TD starting problems

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:53
ThreadID: 18403 Views:4361 Replies:11 FollowUps:6
Hi. My 99 GU (2.8TD Intercooled) sometimes has trouble starting. It takes a while to fire, but always does. I heard it maybe an over-fuelling problem, but not sure. I am getting lousy fuel economy as well, so this might be the case. Any suggestions?

Reply By: theshadows - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:30

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:30
get the pump check out and check the glo plugs.
it sounds like the pump needs to be re tuned.
shadow
AnswerID: 87764

Reply By: 80scruiser - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:36
I have had dramas with these when the battery gets down. Because everything is electronic, when you crank the engine the starter takes most of the current draw and there is not enough power left to drive the electronics. We put a new battery in them and presto, all fixed.
Also glow plugs as said before get them checked. They are expensive. Early ones have 3 plugs at a certain voltage and 3 at a different voltage. Later ones are all 11 volts.
AnswerID: 87766

Reply By: patrolgu - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:42

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:42
the batteries are both good, so maybe it's tuning the fuel pump. i will have a look at that. the glow seems fine. always starts, but sometimes cranks over for a while first. funny, but it always starts real easy when it's cold. someone told me to wait for the seatbelt light to stop flashing, not the glowplug light and that works every time. but i still want to know what the prob is so might get the fuel pump looked at. thanks everyone.
AnswerID: 87768

Reply By: sevo - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:30

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:30
Gday ,
A countermeasure timing cover is available for your vehicle. Relates to a hot start concern only.let me know if u need more info.
AnswerID: 87785

Follow Up By: patrolgu - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:46

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:46
i would like to know more. i actually have no idea of what a countermeasure timing cover is or does! Thanks.
FollowupID: 346583

Reply By: gumagoo93 - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:32

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:32
Sounds like the dreaded injector pump....had the same problem with my 2.8GU...exactly the same symptoms...the problem is the delivery cylinder of the injector pump....the bore wears, pressure drops and allows fuel to go back thru the pump rather than to the injectors, its worse when the engine is hot as the fuel is thinner when hot ....it isn't a cheap fix, however, there is a temporary fix available that involves changing a blanking plate on the engine side of the injector pump...it is available as a Nissan spare....I can pass the details on if you wish....cheers...Don
AnswerID: 87795

Reply By: Browny(QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:34

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:34
Hi patrolgu,
Had the same problem with mine. Got to the stage were it didn't start at all. Fixed in about 10 mins with this new shimmed coverplate for the fuelpump. Think their cost about $25 (not positive).You can get them from Nissan or from a good fuel pump repairer. Now starts like a dream.
AnswerID: 87797

Follow Up By: patrolgu - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:05

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:05
if i get the new coverplate, would this help with fuel economy at all? at the moment she's pretty thirsty. does not blow smoke when driving along, except when engine is under a good deal of strain or reveing really hard.
FollowupID: 346622

Reply By: Peter Guy - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 16:43

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 16:43
I have the same Patrol as you except it is older-an 1998 model.How many K's has yours travelled as I am curious if mine will develop a similar problem?
Cheers P Guy.
AnswerID: 87811

Follow Up By: patrolgu - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:04

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:04
Mine has done 112,000. I should also mention that it's not a major problem at all. for example:
-it takes 5 secs of cranking before it starts when there is the 'problem'.
-when it starts perfectly, it's about 1 second.
-it always starts, but if i have to crank it over for a bit, it blows a good deal of smoke when she fires up.

hope this helps.
FollowupID: 346621

Follow Up By: Peter Guy - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:05

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:05
Mine has done 215,000K's so I have had a good run!
FollowupID: 346639

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:31

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:31
Same problem as my brothers car. Interested in finding out more about this!

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 87821

Reply By: Member - ramp - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 07:32

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 07:32
hi patrolg,
99% sure when a mate of mine had this problem it was the air flow sensor, which is just after the air fliter. i take mine out now and then,spray it with an electrical cleaner. he replaced his not real cheap, but this could explain both problems.
AnswerID: 87898

Reply By: bundyman - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:38

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:38
I've got what might be exactly the same problem. Next time you turn the key on check that the little yellow engine symbol comes up underneath the glow plug symbol. Mine will crank but not start if this engine symbol does not show.

However if I flick the key off and on sometimes once sometimes 30 times the engine symbol will come up and it'll start straight away. This problem is intermitent and some days everytime I hop in it will start first time. I think mine is a loose wire somewhere because a few times the engine has actually cut out a few times while driving down the road - not good for the turbo when doing 110km/h!! I've just been putting up with this as its only a work wagon - but will get it fixed next service and put a post out if they find out what it was. Good luck.

Hughesy
AnswerID: 87917

Follow Up By: patrolgu - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:59

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:59
Strewth! Yours sounds more serious than mine. Yours sounds electrical. I would certainly get it looked at.
FollowupID: 346765

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:00

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:00
My 1998 2.8tdi has a similar starting problem - has had it since new. I overcome it by simply waiting a little (count to 10) after the glow plug light goes out and then hit the tit....work immediately every time. Like 80Cruiser says in an earlier post - a low battery will also cause this problem. By low I'm not talking about flat but simply not fully charged - say 11.8V or thereabouts.
AnswerID: 87942

Follow Up By: 28patrol - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:26

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:26
My problem was similar, went the route of counting to ten after the glow plugs went out . Problem occurred mainly when the motor was hot which concerned me in case of a stall start and no bang. Eventually changed the battery and no more problem.
FollowupID: 347000