Driving lights - legalities & suggestions

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:38
ThreadID: 18408 Views:7272 Replies:13 FollowUps:36
I am contemplating the purchase of three Narva Bull Lights and have a couple of queries that I hope those more knowledgeable and experienced than I may be able to answer.

1) Is it legal to have three driving lights on the bullbar of a vehicle or can someone point me to conclusive evidence that this is a no-no.

2) Given the choice of spread and spot lights which combination would be most suitable for the majority of night driving? Should I procure two outer spread beams and one inner spotlight or vice versa?

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:46

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:46
Without trying to dig up the regulations that I came across last week - if you are in NSW then the answer is probably "no". If I remember rightly, you must have an even number of lights, and any lights that are mounted above 1400mm off the ground must be inactive... or in the RTA's words "ornamental". One way to keep these high-mounted lights legal was to remotely switch them so that when you take it for a rego check, the person checking the vehicle can't find a way to turn them on.
AnswerID: 87779

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:47

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:47
Sorry Chrispy I should have mentioned that I'm in Victoria.
FollowupID: 346568

Follow Up By: Peter McGuckian - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:51

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:51
Why three? Two lights - one spot and one spread should be plenty. And it's legal.

PS I'd go for Lightforce.
FollowupID: 346569

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:10

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:10
Gotta agree with Peter.......
Two Lightforce jobbies will "eat" 3 of Narva's great-looking, but impractical bull lights. Narva lights are prone to shaking themselves into oblivion on our corrogations. Trucking companies are moving more and more to Lightforce 240's or XGT's.
Also, depending on what vehicle you've got, 3 large lights of that size may simply be too difficult to squeeze on the front (unless you've got a Effie or Hummer) and/or may block too much air from your radiator.
I've moved my 240's from the normal location to the top of the bullbar quite a few times and have never been "chatted" by the coppers for doing so.
I've seen vehicles featured in mags with 3 big lights, so I don't know about it being illegal to have an odd number. As suggested, phone up your state's local RTA.
Cya
FollowupID: 346570

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:39

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:39
Trusty ol Narva 175 Ultimates wont shake themselves to oblivion. They've been over thousands of kays of corrugations and have stood the test of time. Might not be as bright as Light Force but then they are only 1/4 of the price!

Leroy
FollowupID: 346580

Follow Up By: Peter McGuckian - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:46

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:46
Speaking form personal experience - left set of Narvas on the Mitchell falls Rd somehwere and have had Lightforce fitted for several outback trips with no movement whatsoever. Worth the expense!
FollowupID: 346584

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:48

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:48
Worth the expense until someone decides they like them more than you ;-)

Leroy
FollowupID: 346585

Follow Up By: Davoe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:50

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:50
Hey pete are you sure they were yours not mine? I lost both of mine up that way some where. I couldnt even get a pair to stay in a 2wd let alone a 4by very disposable item
FollowupID: 346602

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:01

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:01
ROFLMAO

Leroy
FollowupID: 346631

Reply By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:50

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:50
Hey wombat,
Cant help ya on the legal side of it but a quick phone call to ur local RTA will sort you out.
As for part 2 of you question.....personally id go 2 spreaders and 1 pencil....reason.... I much rather want to see whats about to hop out infront of me at 110kms as soon as i possibly can rather than have a bright as day view of whats way down the road.
No point knowing whats way down there after a roo hits you. More spread u have = more chance of seeing reflections in animal eyes sooner.
AnswerID: 87780

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:25

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:25
Thanks Angelo,

I figured two spread and one pencil, but I thought I'd put to the forum to guage whether there was a consensus of opinion.

I'd rather not ring VicRoads as you suggest as; firstly, there is no such thing as "a quick phone call", secondly, at the risk of sounding racist my Urdu, Punjabi and Hindi (Indian languages) is not up to scratch, and thirdly, the chances of finding somebody with the appropriate knowledge is remote, to say the least.
FollowupID: 346575

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:19

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:19
Wombie, I'd go for two pencils and upgrade my headlights to gove better close to the car spread lighting. Thats what I have on the patrol and its excellent, can see for miles down the road and also great vision close to the vehicle

FollowupID: 346655

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:08

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:08
Thanks for the suggestion Bonz. The headlights on the current Triton are quiet good, unlike the previous model we had. I think I'll stick with them as the cost to upgrade would be infinitely more than the cost of the driving lights. So what do you think two pencil, one spread?
FollowupID: 346772

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 18:58

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 18:58
Definitely, if you have to go with 3 then 2 pencil and one spread.

FollowupID: 346893

Reply By: Davoe - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:18

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:18
As a kid in SA I was harassed by a copper coz I had 2 hella 140 on my valiant. problem was valiants have 4 (really crap) lights operating on high beam and the spottys make 6 and I was told you can only have 4. As stated check your regs I am pretty sure they relate to number of lights, hight of lights and distance between lights. In WA I am amazed by the amount of B&S feral utes getting around with spottys on the roll bar which I am sure is illegal, But then here in Kalgoorlie they cant even be bothered chasing crims let alone anyone else
AnswerID: 87783

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:20

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:20
Wombat
personally 2 pencil beams suit me as most night driving out of town is on reasonable rds.(although another 2 spreads would be nice)
normally dont do night driving when i get to destination and if donormally at lower speeds
seem to remember there used to be regulations for rally cars about 16yrs ago where you had to space lights at minimum distances apart which meant on smaller cars ie datsun 1600 made very difficult to fit(but think you could in end) with some extra bracing. i couldnt at time as needed bigger amp alternator to run and didnt have the bikkies). not sure if this was one of cams rules or actually legally required by vicroads
vic roads website may have some info or maybe call them and they may be able to print relevant info for you
AnswerID: 87784

Reply By: flappan - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:30

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:30
This is from the QLD regs

ÿ
How additional headlights are to be fitted
62. If 2 or more additional headlights are fitted to a motor vehicle with
4 or more wheels, the additional headlights must as far as possible be fitted
in pairs.

Also from QLD Mods leaflet

Lighting Systems
All additional lighting systems are to be fitted strictly in
accordance with Queensland legislation.
Additional pairs of headlights, showing a beam of white light
only, may be fitted and must not affect the driver’s view. The
headlights must be mounted symmetrically. Additional high
beam headlights must extinguish automatically when low
beam is selected.

In Vic

http://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/vrpdf/rdsafe/vsi%2010.pdf

Clause 6.5 is what you are looking at.

Symmetrical postioning of Pairs of lights.

Unless otherwise stated , pairs of lamps that have the same function . . .
AnswerID: 87787

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:11

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:11
Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. The regulations make for interesting. I've come to the conclusion 90% of 4WDs are technically unroadworthy, so what the heck.
FollowupID: 346773

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:45

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:45
The law states that you have to have 2 spread OR 2 Pencil.. cant have 1 of each, thats where Lightforce win hands down they are both.. but you would be unlucky to get done.

you can also only have 4 lights on front of car if I remember, but with the amount of cars around with 8 lights on the roof - which is TWO laws broken (cant be above normal headlight height), dont stress.

But why do you want 3? get 2 good ones.
AnswerID: 87790

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:50

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:50
Depends which way you read it Truckster.

From the Vic regs

"Unless otherwise stated , pairs of lamps that have the same function . . . "

A driving light is a driving light. Regardless of whether its a spot or spread. They have the same function

A driving light and a fog light are different.
FollowupID: 346586

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:58

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:58
Actually , having a think about it. You may well have a point.

"Pairs" under normal circumstances would refer to identical set. . . ie . . 2 spread or . . 2 spot . . . however . . . I think you would have to be deadset unlucky to get pinched for that provided . . .

You had the same Make, Model and Size of the light
FollowupID: 346591

Reply By: Wombat - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:05

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:05
Guys,

I really appreciate the comparisons with other brands . . . . but . . . . let's just say that the Narva's are at a price that even Truckster would be happy with, I will have the room for three lights and because I figure the more the merrier, and I really am after opinions on which mix would be best and someone who can point me in the right direction with regard to sourcing the appropriate legislation. I do not want to spend any more of my valuable time listening to a recorded message telling me how valuable my (insert expletive here) time is!

PLEASE DON'T TURN THIS INTO ANOTHER MINE'S BETTER THAN YOURS THREAD

or even worse

PLEASE DON'T PREACH TO ME ABOUT YOUR PHILOSOPHIES ON WHETHER I FIT WITHIN THE PARAMETERS OF WHAT YOU CONSIDER TO BE APPROPRIATE CAMPING OR DRIVING BEHAVIOUR!!!!!!!

All relevant replies to my questions will be gratefully appreciated.
AnswerID: 87794

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:19

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:19
In Vic

http://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/vrpdf/rdsafe/vsi%2010.pdf

Clause 6.5 is what you are looking at.

Symmetrical postioning of Pairs of lights.

Unless otherwise stated , pairs of lamps that have the same function . . .
FollowupID: 346595

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:55

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:55
Hi Wombat

I run The Narva Blue and they are a very good light. I have on of each, I spoke to a guys and narva and ask would i benifit by putting another one in the middle and was advised that i would not need it and it may affect the airflow to the radiator. I find they are plenty bright enough. I have had trouble with other narvas in the past breaking but these have different mounting brakets and hold a whole lot better.
Crazie
FollowupID: 346603

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:36
Hey Wombie, if they are that cheap why not go for five instead of three and keep them symmetrical if you reckon that three are better looking than two Lightforce lights.

I would still vote for Lightforce. Looks alone........... symmetry perfect too.
FollowupID: 346637

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:15

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:15
No need to shout Wombat...what have we done?

FollowupID: 346642

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:52

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:52
Sit down Paul....Take a deep breath.....Now take a Valium....thats better

I see lots of people driving around with one spottie here is SA. Also seen a 4by with 4 on the roof. No one seems to care much but I guess you are more prone to get noticed in the Big Smoke. I had one on old Rosie and nobody took any notice.

So, go for it and put your three lights on and see if anyone notices.
FollowupID: 346725

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:53

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:53
"just say that the Narva's are at a price that even Truckster would be happy with,"

They are Free?

Serious, go with 2 Good quality lights. Cheap lights also viabrate and break.
Eric can get LForce at a good price...
FollowupID: 346763

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:28

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:28
Adam,

Thanks for passing on the advice from Narva, although I'm hoping airflow won't be a problem. The new mounting brackets look so much better than the ones which they used to use.

John,

Have you seen the size of the bull lamps - I don't think five will fit, and I was always taught don't bite the hand that feeds you.

Glenn,

You've done nothing wrong. I just get sick of reading the incessant egotistical justification of purchases in the mine's better, or bigger than yours threads, and I get even more incensed at the ultra-egotistical justification of lack of purchases in the moralistic threads which philosophise on the merits of "naturalistic" travel practises.

Willem,

Thank you for the advice and observations.

Bruce,

They ARE good quality lights and YES they are at a price which even you would be happy with!
FollowupID: 346776

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:02

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:02
Wombat

The new mounting brackets are so much better.

Ads
FollowupID: 346835

Reply By: Andrew - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:32

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:32

the following is chunks taken from the Victorian Road Safety (vehicles) regulations 1999. This covers the stuff not covered by Australian Design Rules.

Design Rules
The design rules allow six (6) lights on high beam and two (2) on low. All Lights to be symmetrically mounted around the centreline of the vehicle with minimum distance apart as well as minimum and maximum heights for low beams, but as we don't generally change the low beams its probably irrelevant.

The extra (driving) lights therefore must be symmetrically mounted and in pairs.
Maximum height for driving lights is not a problem but mounting them on the bull bar top is normally an issue due to the restriction in forward vision (defined under other rules) not because the light is too high.

Light outputs must be approxiamately equal: thats the wattage or lux or glowing ember measurement not the beam shape so there is no restriction on mixing spots and spreads.
Personally think spots are a waste of time if your spreads are set up properly with decent headlights but I have already had my two bobs worth on that in previous posts.

this is from the regs, I cut out the motorcycle bits

PART 8¡XLIGHTS AND REFLECTORS

Division 1¡XGeneral requirements for lights
75. Prevention of glare
A light, except a high-beam headlight, fitted to a vehicle must be built and adjusted to provide the necessary amount of light, without dazzling the driver of another vehicle approaching, or being approached by, the vehicle.
76. Pairs of lights
(1) If lights are required under the Vehicle Standards to be fitted to a vehicle in pairs¡X
(a) a light must be fitted on each side of the longitudinal axis of the vehicle; and
(b) the centre of each light in a pair must be the same distance from the longitudinal axis of the vehicle; and
(c) the centre of each light in a pair must be at the same height above ground level; and
(d) each light in a pair must project approximately the same amount of light of the same colour.
Sch. 8
Division 2¡XHeadlights
77. Headlights to be fitted to vehicles
(1) A motor vehicle must be fitted with¡X
(b) a pair of low-beam headlights if it has 4 or more wheels
(2) If a motor vehicle built after 1934 can travel at over 60 kilometres an hour¡X
(a) each low-beam headlight mentioned in sub-clause (1) must be able to work in the high-beam position; or
(b) the vehicle must be fitted with¡X
(ii) a pair of headlights that can work in the high-beam position.
(5) Additional pairs of headlights may be fitted to a motor vehicle with 4 or more wheels that was built after 1969.
78. How headlights are to be fitted
(1) The centres of low-beam headlights fitted as a pair on a motor vehicle with 4 or more wheels must be at least 600 millimetres apart.
(2) However, sub-clause (1) does not apply to a motor vehicle built before 1970 if the centres of its low-beam headlights¡X
(a) were under 600 millimetres apart when the vehicle was built; and
Sch. 8
(b) are not nearer than they were when the vehicle was built.
(4) The centre of a low-beam headlight fitted to a motor vehicle built after June 1953 must be¡X
(a) at least 500 millimetres above ground level; and
(b) not over 1„ª4 metres above ground level.
80. How additional headlights are to be fitted
If 2 or more additional headlights are fitted to a motor vehicle with 4 or more wheels, the additional headlights must as far as possible be fitted in pairs.
81. Performance of headlights
(1) When on, a headlight, or additional headlight, fitted to a vehicle must¡X
(a) show only white light; and
(b) project its main beam of light ahead of the vehicle.
(2) Headlights must be fitted to a vehicle so their light does not reflect off the vehicle into the driver's eyes.
83. Changing headlights from high-beam to low-beam position

(3) When a headlight fitted to a vehicle is switched to the low beam position, any other headlight on the vehicle must operate only in the low-beam position or be off.

A

ps I got this from VicRoads. They all spoke english
AnswerID: 87796

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:31

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:31
Thanks Andrew, great information.
FollowupID: 346777

Reply By: Tuff60 - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:36
As far as the law on lights, don't really give a s#%t, still haven't met a cop with any real knowledge on road rules, little own where and what my lights are.

For what to have, pencil or spread, I did have two pencils one spread, but just recently rewired and upgraded the headlights and now run all pencil beams as the headlights take care of the spread. All IPF's mounted in the middle of the bar. Just my opinion.

Buy whatever brand you like, cause whatever you buy somebody will have better, which they'll make sure to let you know.
AnswerID: 87799

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:33

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:33
Thanks for sharing Tuff60. I could'nt have said it better than your last sentence either. Why are people so insecure?
FollowupID: 346780

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:21

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:21
Would three lights fit on the front of a purple Jackaroo? They would certainly fit on the front of an F250.

AnswerID: 87842

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:31

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:31
Glenn, you've had a brain f@rt it's a bordeaux Triton........
FollowupID: 346644

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:38

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:38
I thought it was a purple Triton, but I was fed misinformation...lol
FollowupID: 346645

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:51

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:51
Hey Glen
3 would fit across the front of a jackaroo, not sure about the magical purple jackaroo but, I thought it was just a myth... haha

He does have a triton.

Ads
FollowupID: 346649

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:27
I once knew a Jillaroo who could fit 4 240 XGT's across her rear end

FollowupID: 346658

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:31

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:31
petite was she?
FollowupID: 346660

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:54

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:54
Bonz, I hope you didn't light 'em for her
FollowupID: 346667

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:57

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:57
A tuches un a halb - Yiddish

FollowupID: 346670

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:03

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:03
Abi gezunt!
FollowupID: 346676

Reply By: Noosa Bushtrackers - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:06

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:06
4 years ago when I retired from the Victorian Police you were only permitted to have TWO sets of additional headlamps, ONE set driving and ONE set fog.
They had to be fitted in pairs and be symetrical.
They were NOT permitted to be any closer than 60cm between centres. Many Bull Bar manufacturers completely disregard this when they fit their tags for lamps to be fitted on.
They were not permitted to be any higher than 1.2metres off the ground, so therefore all lights fitted above the roof on pack racks or ute roll bars, etc were illegal.
The driving lights HAD to operate ONLY when the vehicles HIGH beam lights were operated, and they were to have an additional switch so that the driving lights could be turned on and off while vehicles high beam lights were operating.
The fog lamps were ONLY permitted to be used in inclement weather. All the newer vehicles, Commodores, Falcons and 100 Series Toyotas etc that have fog lamps fitted low in bumper bars, are illegal when left on during good driving conditions.
Any lamp fitted to a vehicle HAD to comply with the regulations, and had to operate. ie. You couldn't have lamps without wires connected on roll bars above the roof. These lamps regularly caused the vehicle owner to put up with having to get a roadworthy certificate after being put off the road.

I would agree that most general duties police do not have a good knowledge of the traffic laws, but in Victoria all traffic police attend what used to be a 3 week Advanced Traffic School, where they learnt all the obscure parts of the traffic laws. The Traffic section would still have a good knowledge and are pretty well the only one who enforce traffic laws.

Police used to enforce the lighting and roadworthy regulations much more than what they seem to now, that speed cameras are the main road toll tool used by all states.
Doing it tuff, Towing a Bushtracker.

AnswerID: 87847

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:41

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:41
Thanks for the great insight Brian and also for the summation of the F250 on a later thread. I have a number of friends and relatives in the force and none of them could enlighten me on the regulations, so I guess you would have to be very unlucky to be picked up (That is until Mr Bracks realises there's revenue in roadworthy checks on 4WDs). Looking at the lighting regulations which Flappan supplied 90% of 4WDs in Victoria are unroadworthy.

BTW what is the distance between the centres of your driving lights on the genuine Ford steel bullbar on the front of your beast?
FollowupID: 346785

Follow Up By: Noosa Bushtrackers - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:57

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:57
We have the TJM steel bull bar on our F250 and would you bleieve that even though there is plenty of room to fit them at 600mm centres, TJM still chose the fit them at 390mm centre, which would make my vehicle and all others unroadworthy, to the best of my knowledge.
Doing it tuff, Towing a Bushtracker.

FollowupID: 346815

Reply By: Jackman - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:58

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:58
Just to let you know that I run 2 spread and 1 pencil beams on my Jackaroo. Done a lot of night driving in the pilbara region and found it greatly helps vision on the bends with 2 spreads. would recommend this set up regardless of brand chosen.
AnswerID: 87874

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:43

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:43
Yep! I think that might be the way to go. Thanks Jackman.
FollowupID: 346787

Reply By: Matt M - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:26

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:26
Despite the regs, I know we all do our own thing at the end of the day. We all now know the lights should at least be in pairs, symetrical and be at least 600mm apart, but has anyone pondered as to why?

I (as a mechanic) during my apprenticeship was taught that it to provide a means to guess as to what we are travelling towards at night. If there is a set standard, then we are able to mentaly picture what we are heading towards, large truck, small passenger car, 4WD or single light on the front of a coal/freight train at a level crossing.

AS I said, we all choose our path at the end of the day, but the regs are 'intended' to represent rules of 'common sense'. I for one do my best to adherd, but for the record, my Hella Rallye 4000s on ARB Deluxe winch bar.......480mm couldnt get them further apart even with a hacksaw, they would start covering my headlights.

For what its worth
AnswerID: 87965