Diesel engine wash

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:41
ThreadID: 18416 Views:4155 Replies:9 FollowUps:15
A company by name of Cost Effective Maintenance out of Queensland advertise their product, which it claims will clean out the inside of a diesel engine, getting rid of all the 'gunk' as they put it. I am thinking of doing this to my Landcruiser's engine as the oil is a bit yucky and stains the finger when handled.

Is there, however, an alternative method similar to the one advertised?

Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:47

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:47
The best thing for any deisisal is to flush it once evey couple of years , go for it willem , it will do it the world of good
AnswerID: 87860

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:58

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:58
I like your reply young fella, but you did not answer the question!!!!
FollowupID: 346671

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:01

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:01
He's a politician.....giving an answer without answering the question lol

Leroy
FollowupID: 346675

Reply By: Member - glenno (bris) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:06

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:06
http://www.costeffective.com.au/
AnswerID: 87863

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:33

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:33
Thanks Glenno but that is where I started this quest.
FollowupID: 346720

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:18

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:18
Hey Willem

If you want to try this product Give me your address and I will send what i have left over to you . I sold my diesel and just found the two bottle of this product when i cleaned my garage on the weekend. I had a 1981 MQ partol diesel and when i sold it had 580k and I used this regularly. I was put on to it by a friend who swears by it. Let me know
Ads
AnswerID: 87867

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:34

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:34
Thanks mate will MM you
FollowupID: 346690

Follow Up By: japmel - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:12

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:12
Crazie

Ok mate you have my attension what is the product called.

japmel
FollowupID: 346731

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:16

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:16
Hi Japmel

Same stuff Willem is refering to above, product called CEM. It is a diesel engine treatment. Think someone posted the website above.

ads
FollowupID: 346757

Follow Up By: japmel - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:46

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:46
Crazie
Thanks mate I'll have a look

japmel
FollowupID: 346788

Reply By: GDI - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:20

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:20
Willem,
stared using the fuel treatmant about a 4 months ago after contacting the company and asking a heap of questions. Received alot of decent info and has since solved the blue/white smoke when starting up in the morning, when accelerating up hills/under load and improved fuel economy form 12L/100km to 10.5L/100km. Seems to be great stuff.

gdi
AnswerID: 87944

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:19

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:19
I use the Nulon Diesel engine injector clean, is this the same kind of thing? I find that this has also made a huge difference to the amount of smoke the Smurf produces. Has now almost completley cleared it up. Which is pretty good for a surf!! LOL
FollowupID: 346840

Reply By: kesh - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:32

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:32
Willem. I sort of get the idea you have a 60s. with 2H motor. These donks are a "go forever" unit, but with mainly 2 major defects. 1/ very prone to oil sludging (I think the crankcase breathing not adequate) 2/ prone to wear the end of the rocker arm above the valve stem.
I once "looked" after one of these, and when asked about "this rattle" reckoned it was time for valve clearance to be looked at. (had checked it 6months ago) Clearance checked ok, but rocker arm seemed to go up and down much more than feeler gauge indicated. So, off with the rocker shaft assembly. But oh, the blooby sludge. It was thick. Mind you, it had clocked 375k./km. and never missed a beat. The ends of the rocker arms were worn (a circular indentation the size of the valve stem) about 0.030" which could not be picked up by the feeler gauge. The arms were ground off to provide a new surface ( probably loosing some hardening) which rectified the "rattle"
So back to the sludge issue - I had read about these products, but also reckoned they could only be mineral solvents. Thinks me, what about that "el cheapo" spray can degreaser ($2.00 at /prices) Bought 2 cans, emptied into a litre of oil, drained the sump (took a while to empty) and put the mixture plus enough straight oil to bring it onto the dipstick and told my friend to run it like that for a couple of days then bring it back. She came back after a week reckoning the 'ole girl hadnt gone so well for years and when I drained the oil it fairly flew out. Off with the rocker cover and honestly you couldnt believe how clean it was, all back to clean metal. And of as last week still going strong, now close to 400k. A lot of its life was in Arnhem land, so perhaps some of its scheduled oil changes were occasionally overlooked.
Anyway, bit of a ramble, but I do think that the type of product is worthwhile, if only to desludge the system, after all our own system needs the occasional purge (mine gets one twice a week whether it needs it or not - and its not an enema!)
I reckon there will be a lot of life left in that unit, cheers.

AnswerID: 88030

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 08:46

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 08:46
Many thanks Kesh....this is the feedback I was hoping to receive. A bush fix is most likely the best fix. Another member is also sending me a sample of the CEM product so I will see how that goes.

My HJ60 is an '84 model and is a project vehicle and town runabout(we also have 2 Nissans) and the engine is pretty sludged up. I will also check out the rocker arm as the engine is a bit noisy.
FollowupID: 346968

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 09:24

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 09:24
Hello Gents,

The use of of degreaser reminds of a yarn a Mt Isa diesel fitter told me about a Cat Grader that had let a lot of oil into the cooling system(hole in oil cooler).

The station fix, to clean cooling system, after fitting new oil cooler, was to put plenty of degeaser into radiator. Quick run around the flat, then drained it out. Trouble was the "o" rings in cylinder sleeves didn't like the amount of degreaser used, and promptly spat the dummy.

This let heaps of water into the sump, and aforementioned fitter had the job of completely stripping the engine, and repairing problem. Think they rebuilt it while he was there too.

Willem, saw alot of problems where the old "H", and 2H engines, would require piece of fencing wire to complete an oil change, to break up the bits of glug, that wouldn't drain out of the sump. Both those engines, and "D" series tojo truck engine were/are dirty engines, and the oil stains everything. Still got some well stained,cheap shirts that make me look like a Holstein bull!

hooroo...

FollowupID: 347258

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:09

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:09
G'day Bob

Good to hear from you again. Was wondering where you had got to.
FollowupID: 347311

Reply By: kesh - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:01

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:01
G'day willywag! What a great vehicle to build upon: it will more than likely end up with a kennel al of its own, and become your pridenjoy! Just another thought about that vintage; if the gear lever seems a bit "loose" and if it sort of slips out of fifth (especially on over run) it will more than likely be the nylon bush on the lever pivot. Not much to replace,(about $2.50) but a very common problem often diagnosed as far more serious with the then inflated costs to rectify. (the stealers never tell the troof!)
cheers.
AnswerID: 88338

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:19

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:19
G'day Kesh

Yep Willywag is my totem!

I know about the nylon bush. The old Cruisers gear stick is OK. Only 2nd and 3rd scratch when changing down. The old truck drives very well and is almost as comfy as the GQ. Has a but of a rear end sag so will have to have the springs looked at some time. It has its own kennel already although it is only a sun shade.
FollowupID: 347223

Reply By: kesh - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:32

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:32
G'day Willem. Just slipped back a year or so with the totem!. A really good fix for the back leaf springs is the "polyair" bag system. 20 psi for "as is", up to 100psi for more than you can load her with. Original Toyo springs not worth a squirt of Oodla Wirra billy goat pee, and local replacements too costly compared to afore mentioned.
cheers.
AnswerID: 88344

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:45

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:45
Where are you situated Kesh? I ask as Oodla Wirra is just up the road from me. Haven't seen the Billy Goat yet
FollowupID: 347227

Reply By: kesh - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:50

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:50
Willem. Must admit to taking a bit of licence there! We did come through that way from the hill and the name fascinated me! I also know you are (well, sometimes) in P/bro. so thought you may have the wry chuckle. However, i'me sure you are well aware the old billy goat exists most places!
Me, well live on the mid n. coast nsw. Little spot called Crescent Head. Not much of a place unless you like fishing, unspoiled beaches, good access to the new england ranges for 4wd adventures and now they are starting to establish bl@@dy vinyards producing 1/2 decent wines! Tell you what, even the climates not too bad either!
cheers. the kesh.
AnswerID: 88392

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:06

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:06
G'day Kesh

Yeah OK :o) Pboro has a Billygoat!

Your place sounds good. Had a look on the map and found I haven't been there. Must do so sometime.
FollowupID: 347310

Reply By: Matt M - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 17:02

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 17:02
Willem for just a quick 'desludge' you can try the old diesel in the engine oil trick!! Been done by many over the years. For yours you could get away with a litre but for a 4 I would do half that.

The diesel is supposed to clean it out well, just drop the old, fill with elcheapo and bring up to the fill mark with half-2-one litre of dieso.

Might be worth trying before you fork out lots for the chemical cleaners. We all know how effective an old dieso bath is for cleaning parts!

Goodluck,
AnswerID: 88527

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 20:28

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 20:28
Thanks Matt.....I have been given a small amount of the chemical cleaner which arrived today and I will see how that goes tomorrow when I flush it out. Have made note of your suggestion.
FollowupID: 347430