Small generators
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:41
Billv
Three small (800/850) generators are currently on sale in my town. GMC $179, Scorpion $165, and unnnamed from Super Cheap $149. Any comments about which is best please.
Reply By: Mick - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:56
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:56
The best one is the cheapest one with the best warranty, cause youll definitely need that!
Youll find they all come from the same area in china, but have different colours or covers from different distributors.
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:00
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:00
A mate of
mine bought a GMC one and it failed a week later while on a trip. No bother... he went back to Bunnings and they swapped it without question. The second one has been OK so far.
Just one tip with these genny's though..... make sure it's already running before you plug any appliances in - apparently they spike a fair amount on start-up. Also, the 12v circuit (if fitted) ain't guarranteed to work at all...... straight from a Bunnings rep's mouth.....
Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:44
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:44
I know of several of these generators in service, none have given any problems & they all do what they are supposed to, on both 12v & 240v.
I know it seems like they are troublesome, but people rarely post about how troublefree things are.
Reply By: Tuff60 - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:21
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:21
The GMC one is on special from time to time at Bunnings for $99, Being good mates with one of the GMC reps I have been using them for a couple of years, used one for a week(all day everyday, Xbox/Playstation/TV) last
Easter on straight fuel(no oil) just to see how long it would last so he could tell customers, still works fine. It did struggle with a 1500 watt kettle though.
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:30
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:30
No oil? Just straight unleaded?
Would have run nice and clean then......... :)
Good to see it's built
well enough to cope with a total lack of lubrication. Might have to get one for ourselves to try on the property. At least we're a kilometer or so from our nearset neighbours...
Reply By: manson - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:17
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:17
Between friends and myself we have 8 of them in varying makes colours and wattages, all seem exactly the same though. Only my dads had a problem with a seal, we pulled it to bits and put a new seal in it (seal was supplied free under warranty), they are suprisingly
well built when you look at them inside much better than I anticipated. The one that failed had done far and away more work than the others so maybe it was work maybe it was a fault, I think that they are a bargain at the price they are and you will be pleased with it if you get one.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 19:47
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 19:47
I did a report on the 750W (peak) GMC from Bunnings on this
forum two or three months ago - a search on "generators" or "gmc" should turn it up.
I paid $98 for
mine - excellent value. After around 150 hours of running time it is still working
well and I have not had any faults. The DC outlet works fine for battery charging with a few conditions - see my report.
The powers you mention are _PEAK_ power for these units - it's "marketing" speak. They are really rated at 200W less, peak power should only be used for a short time. How short? I don't know... could be anything from 4 or 5 seconds to an hour or two.
Check the warranties which come with each - GMC give a two year warranty - can't say fairer than that I reckon - especially for $98!
Reply By: TheUndertaker - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:21
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:21
I've had the 900 scorpion for over a year, no problems at all ,will run an 2300wt oil heater, yes it drops revs and seems to strugle ,thing is it does the job ,more than its design parrameters called for ,, best bet is to dump original spark for a quality brand.
Reply By: Brad and His Disco - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 01:48
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 01:48
Could someone please let me know how noisy these things are please.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 07:01
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 07:01
The GMC manual for the 750W says 60dB at 7m.
To put that in context: I don't like the noise of gens. in the bush so I usually carry
mine about 50m away from
camp and point the exhaust outlet away from
camp. At that distance it's barely noticable. As I use
mine for battery charging this distance doesn't matter otherwise I suggest you should also buy, at least, a 25m extension lead.
Reply By: Billv - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 15:02
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 15:02
Thanks for the information concerning small generators. A bit more information. GMC $175, 2hp, 21kg, 850/650, 60db at 7m. Super Works (Super Cheap) $145, 1.5hp, 21kg, 850/650, 64db at 7m. Both 2 years warranty and they look identical apart from colour and label. Our nearest Bunnings is 220 kms away. Any further comments apart from "don't buy either, get a solar set-up".
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:13
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:13
I'd buy the Super Cheap. $30 and 220k less.
A solar setup has both advantages and disadvantages to a gen. for occasional (or even frequent) bush use - the biggest disadvantage is that it will probably cost you a few thousand dollars more to get 650W of power from one.
mike_harding@fastmail.fm
Reply By: Billv - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:23
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:23
Thanks Mike, but I meant that the nearest Bunnings (and the possible $99 GMC) was 220 kms away but in fact I can get a GMC locally for $175 and a Super Cheap also locally for $145. Does this alter your recommendation?
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 07:10
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 07:10
Nope. :)
Unless you're lucky and manage to pick up some old stock I don't think you'll be able to find the $98 sets any longer - the rest of us beat you to it :) My local Bunnings is now doing a GMC 850W peak gen, for $165 I think.
It sounds as if the GMC and SC gens. are very similar - I'd just buy the cheaper. The only other thing which may sway you is that GMC offer a 30 days "Satisfaction Warranty" ie. if you don't like it providing it's still "as new" you can return it for a full refund. Let us know which you buy and how it performs please.
Reply By: Wizard2 - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 22:26
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 22:26
DON'T BUY ANY OF THEM...... THEY ARE CRAP.....
Ha done last 3 days (2-3 hours a day). It failed 500 km from
Darwin (coburg Peninsular.
Seemed unusual when I contacted GMC when I got bakc and they just said to take it back for a refund.
Paid the 2K for a Honda EU 20. I love it. It has never let me down and runs like a gem...
Reassuring when the
Karumba Caravan
park power goes out and the gentle hum of gennies starts up.
I know the next power blackout I have here (Sth Queensland) I could just about run the whole house off it...
Spend the extra and get a realiable 4 stroke generator. You can pick up the type in the rolled frames for as little as $500 for a 2 KVA....
Wizard
Prado TD
Gold Coast
Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 01:58
Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 01:58
Wizard2
I was interested in your last comment on cheap 2kva fourstrokes. Any you could recommend?
EV700