Hiring Solar Panels-What would you pay?

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:38
ThreadID: 18445 Views:5294 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
I'm trying to encourage someone to hire out panels.

What do you think is a fair price to hire a solar panel.

I'm thinking that at about $800-$900 to buy one (80 watt plus regulator), I reckon I'd be happy to pay $25-$30 for a weekend (3 days) and $45-$50 for a week.

Your considered opinions please.

Reply By: TheUndertaker - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:49

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:49
How good is your insurance ? you can hire a 60lt engle or a 50lt chescold for $80 a week/7 days [Brisbane] . want to insure same ? add 50% .. how much more fragile solar panels.
AnswerID: 88037

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 21:44

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 21:44
U/T,

I've suggested to him, take a $500 "break it and you've bought it" deposit from customers.

Avoid insurance.

Jim
FollowupID: 346919

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 22:09

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 22:09
A hire equipment cost could be worked out from a hire palce, where a $900 drill etc would hire out at $25-$30 a day.
FollowupID: 346923

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 22:32

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 22:32
So Darren I assume you feel $25 for a weekend is fair to hire an $850 outfit?

FollowupID: 346927

Reply By: David Au - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 21:50

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 21:50
Jimbo a quality 80watt panel and regulator is only $620.00 incl GST
Never considered hiring out solar panels. To date nobody has asked.
Would be interesting to know if there is a market there.
If you were prepared to pay $50.00 a week, that is only 12 weeks and 2 days hire to buy the complete unit outright.
AnswerID: 88049

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 22:39

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 22:39
David,

$620 at your fair prices, but the going rate at most retailers is around $850-$900.

Given that a lot of people will hire a $900 fridge for $50 for a weekend there must be a market for panels. There are those that will happily spend a small amount for odd occcasions on a product rather than buy it

Jim..
FollowupID: 346929

Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:15

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:15
Hi Ozi,

What's the brand name of the panels your selling and how much for the panel only?
FollowupID: 346981

Follow Up By: David Au - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:14

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:14
Austravel contact me at solarpanel@dodo.net.au
FollowupID: 346997

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 22:19

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 22:19
G'day Jimbo,
I'm trying to convince myself I need a solar panel now that I've been told the Coleman fuel-cell is NOT just around the corner...(damn it all!!!). I love the concept of solar, but they are a bit bulky.
Sorry, a bit off topic I guess.
However, I reckon if they were available for hire, I'd like to "try before i buy"...
Cya mate
AnswerID: 88055

Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 06:58

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 06:58
Gday Jimbo,
I reckon you might be on the money with that rate.. I am thinking of going solarand would pay that for a try before you buy weekend/week test
AnswerID: 88085

Follow Up By: David Au - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:18

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:18
Allan Mac solar is awesome, but the main thing is you need to have sufficient solar capacity.
I should point out I do have a vested interest selling solar panels, but if you have a correctly sized system, and you are properly set-up, solar is really a completely trouble free system. It is wonderful not having to worry about charging batteries or running the vehicle or generator.
FollowupID: 346998

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 09:21

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 09:21
Yeh, 0zi I have had mine and said that for 7 years!
the method of installation from the panel to the fridge/battery is also important, to eliminate voltage drop.
The battery system must be capable of accepting the large voltage put out by the solar panel.

In 7 years you learn a thing or two by actual experience.
FollowupID: 347330

Follow Up By: David Au - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 11:31

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 11:31
Mainey suggest you go and get some basic education in DC systems.
Your posts continually show how you are lacking in knowledge in this area, and replying to posts by guessing an answer, is not acceptable.
Your previous post demonstrates this perfectly.
FollowupID: 347355

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:42

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:42
Ozi
Ozi, get a life

I have had my Solarex 80wt panel for 8 years without any problems

I am on only my second set of Deep Cycle batteries in 8 years, first lasted almost 5 years, is it because the batteries last longer when they are powered by solar, or maybe because they were good batteries, you tell me......

you only got your solar system last year as your previous posts indicate, and you stated you were amazed at their performance.....

now you are selling panels you praise them
typical of you, only praising products you sell...

re-read your previous posts where you state you have 3 x panels to run your own accessories, you do the maths and you can see it is total over kill, just to sell more panels to those gullible enough to believe you.

Please explain why, one or even two 80 watt won't power a fridge, with a decent battery system....?

Ozi, you often get asked to explain your answers and you evade the questions when you know you are wrong...

New question: Ozi, why did you change your 'Nic' to David Au ??

FollowupID: 347385

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:08

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:08
Solar panels are bulky but well worth the effort when stopped for an extended camp IE. more than two days.
I run 2x32 watt unisolar panels with a built in regulator of 10amp cap which keeps my aux batt in the vehicle topped up (it runs a 39ltr engel) and after lunch each day it then tickles the van batt .
If the days are sunny this is usually enough but if the temps soar then it only keeps the vehicle aux topped.
However uaually one has to drive a short distance to the fishin or swim hoile and this also helps.
The solar unit is free standing and can literally be hooked to any battery as long as it's 12v.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 88188

Follow Up By: Goona - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:54

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:54
Dodger,

2 x 32 amp solar panels is enough to top up your batteries? What engel are you running one of the new more efficient ones or an older one? I am in the market for solar panels and was looking at 2 x 80 to run the fridge.

Do you ever run out of cappacity in your battery even if sitting for a week at a time?
FollowupID: 347087

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:30

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:30
Goona
As said above ot is a 39ltr Engel 1995 model not the latest.
As we always cryovac our meat to put in this fridg it is only set to 3 deg C. as I just hate frozen beer.
If you time the fridge as I have ,
On a day of around 25 Deg it cycles abou every 20minutes for 10Minutes = roughly 20min per hr then that works oue at approx 1amp hr every hour times 24 hrs = 24amps.
The solar panels can replace this at 3 amp per hr times 15hrs daylight gives 45amps so some left over.
I should add that these figures are very rough as the solar panel is regulated and will only put a full 3amps in if the battery is low.
I have often found that the solar panel has gone to pulse mode after about 8hrs of good sun thus it then only puts in the 3amps when the Engel cycles.
Of course if we run into a cold night as one does in the deserts then the fridg hardly cycles during the night.
As a matter of interest one night I found that it was warmer in the Engel than outside the truck.
Inside Engel 3 Deg
Outside Engel -2 deg.
Yes we do have an inside outside thermo and it was a bloody cold night, at least the beer never froze.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 347294