Denco Diesel's new liquid intercooler

Submitted: Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:47
ThreadID: 18458 Views:6747 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
I just phoned Denco Diesel to ask a bit about their new intercoolers.
The one to suit my TD42T will cost $1,815- and is a "simple bolt on unit".
That said, the bloke (Scott) advised that full benefit would only come if the fuel pump is checked/tweaked and boost raised too.
Does anybody have any thoughts on this?

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:59

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:59
I would have thought the engine should respond to the denser air intake. Having said that, i guess the best advantage i suppose what they are saying, will come from a well tuned engine. Just add another grand to that Roachie!!!!
AnswerID: 88143

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 12:08

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 12:08
Michael,

You're right, it will (or "should") respond even just by bolting on, exhaust gas temp should decrease at the very least.

I've had my GU tuned early on at about 20,000klm, by that mob up near you at B e r i m a & again about 12 months ago at Hi Tech Diesel in Adelaide, when it had about 100,000klm on it. It's now got 145,000 klicks up.

I don't think it needs tuning again yet, but the tappets could probably do with a bit of a tickle up.

So I reckon if I go ahead, I'll just get the unit and bolt it on myself and live with it until the next big tune up is needed in a year or so.
FollowupID: 347010

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:33

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:33
Geepers Roachie, You make my 50 series sound positively cheap!!
FollowupID: 347050

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 12:28

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 12:28
Roachie, My wifes 1999 Gu, non intercooled 4.2, actually goes better than mine, the current 4.2 intercooled. When i got the first GU,from new it was a real slug, never had it tuned outside nissan walls untill i passed it on to my wife 18 months ago. My current 4,2 ,i thought went really well untill we had the old one tuned by Berrima a few months ago. I followed my wife back from Nowra to home ,up through Camberwarra and the old 4.2 flogged mine and Its got 305,000ks on it, so im just wondering if spending the 2 grand on it, will really give you sufficient value for money. For 2 grand, i wonder if they would guarantee a reasonable increase in power and or torque. Could be i have some scottish or dutch blood in me and i'm just plain tight.. Regards Michael
AnswerID: 88148

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:05

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:05
Why not just get it done properly? Gettin the pump checked/tweaked doesnt mean a $1000+ rebuild but probably only matching the fuel etc...

pay $1800+ for something not to work to its peak seems a waste of $...

do it right do it once.
AnswerID: 88154

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:29

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:29
G'day Trucky,
Of course you're right again (as usual).
All I was thinking was to get the unit and chuck it on myself (I live in the boonies in SA) and then at some future time when the piggy-bank has got a few more coins saved up again, I could get the next scheduled tune up done (about a grand) and not have to pay them to fit the thing in the first place.
Oh well, I'm only dreaming at this stage anyway; can't really justify the $1800 with xmas on the door-step..... LOLOL
FollowupID: 347025

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:39

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:39
Time for a Toyota
AnswerID: 88158

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:28

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:28
A Toyota.... ooohhh a BlandCruiser. year right!!!
FollowupID: 347040

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:58

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:58
hahahahaha
FollowupID: 347055

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:57

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:57
I agree with the others . Do it once and do it well. It should not be much extra to have the pump and fuel tweaked.
Don't forget that you will need a new bonnet if your current 4.2 is like mine no intercooler. This will add more $sss.
If you go ahead let us know the results. Cost and performance gains.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 88185

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:25

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:25
G'day Dodger,
No hole needed in the bonnet mate (although I've already cut one in mine on the opposite side to normal and put a 3L scoop on to try and keep the turbo cool...

Check out Denco's website.... this is a different type of intercooler that has a small, glycol-filled radiator in front of the air con condenser and 2 small diameter hoses going to the cross over pipe which is liquid cooled (bit like a Twine shower , but the opposite...cools instead of heats)
FollowupID: 347072

Follow Up By: Member - David C (QLD) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 20:21

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 20:21
The intercooler is an air/water (glycol) unit - not air/air so doesn't need scoop for airflow.
FollowupID: 347097