Suspension clunking - what is acceptable

Submitted: Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:31
ThreadID: 18459 Views:6892 Replies:9 FollowUps:15
G'day All
Been having a few issues with clunks coming from under my truck when turning or shifting weight from side to side. It's a 2001 78 Troopy with a fairly new OME suspension kit - the clunk is a pretty sickening metal on metal clunk.

Cutting a long story short - I chased around for the clunk and eventually gave up and took it to my mechanic as the suspension is still under warrantee. Rear leafs have been removed and checked, all the steering has been checked and greased, tightened etc; the front coils have been checked and heater hose put around them. In all - it has been at the mechanics 4 times.

Finally - the sway bar bushes were recently replaced (didn't look that worn) and the clunking has disippated somewhat - it doesn't clunk at every corner now - but still does on the sharper corners.

The guys at ARB have been great - and they say that a bit of a clunk is normal - which I know - my question is how much of a clunk is acceptable? I can hear this clunk - and feel it through the steering and the seat.

Is that normal or should I be pressing the issue a bit more - the whole system didn't make any noises for the first few months I had it - only after a big trip and a bit of hard work has the clunk started.

Reply By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:35

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:35
Have you had a look at the body mounts ?
They could be loose or worn.
AnswerID: 88157

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:42

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:42
G'day There
Many thanks for the thought - but yep - checked and they are fine.

FollowupID: 347026

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:57

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:57
I will 2nd that motion even though you said they are fine...
Mine had a wicked clunky metal on metal sound and i was sure my mounts were fine until i replaced them and then the clunk had gone....
FollowupID: 347030

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:03

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:03
Hmmm - thanks for that - might have to revisit them for another look.

FollowupID: 347034

Reply By: Top Cat - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:43

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:43
Im no suspension expert............far from it.............but I know a bit about most other things..........It almost sounds like it could be CV joints???..........assuming u have them.......

In case ur not sure..........A CV joint is a bit like a knuckle that you will see at the end of the stub axle on the front only............one on each side..........should be encased in a rubber boot.

I Know that small front wheel drive vehicles have them.........and im guessing there is a good possibility that 4wd would use this principle in the front end......Im sure someone can confirm or deny that.
AnswerID: 88159

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:19

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:19
G'day Top Cat
I'm not overly mechanical - but can usually muddle my way through most things.

I suspected CV's (but it's the wrong sort of sound) - anyway - when the truck went to the mechnic the first time I got them to go over all such things.

FollowupID: 347035

Follow Up By: Top Cat - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:49

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:49
haha, fair enough.

The noise a CV makes is pretty obvious so if u have heard it before u should no it when u hear it again.

I guess it was the corners thing that really made me think CVs........

Good luck mate........Im outta ideas.....lol.
FollowupID: 347041

Follow Up By: Top Cat - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:51

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:51
OH hang on a minute...............what about the exhaust system???

Any chance its hitting somewhere it shouldnt??..........the centrifigal force of going around a corner may be enough to move it onto something.
FollowupID: 347042

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:10

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:10
G'day Again
Good thinkin' on the exhaust - it was actually one of my first thoughts as my exhaust has been re-routed slightly when I had a third fuel tank fitted. All the pointsd where it passes close to other components have no signs of wear or impact - so no good I'm afraid.

Many thanks for the thoughts though!

FollowupID: 347057

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:04

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:04
Troopie,
A few more things that could be checked.

The front panard rod, the bolts at either end have to be very very tight

The bolts in the trailing arms, the ones that attach the trailings arms to the chassis and the ones that attach to the bottom of the diff , they have to be very very tight, 172Nm.

As for "a bit of a clunk is normal" no way. There should be no clunks at all, if there is there is something wrong.

AnswerID: 88161

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:22

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:22
G'day There Wayne
Many thanks for the comment. This was my feeling also - I know leaf springs need to move around so there is often a bit of noise from them - but this clunk is surely not "normal" especially for a suspension system less than 6 months old.

FollowupID: 347036

Reply By: Member - glenno (bris) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:33

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:33
When my rear springs get wet they slide on each other when going around a corner , roundabout etc and make a clunking noise . Does this help .
AnswerID: 88167

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:12

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:12
G'day Glenno
It would appear wet leaf springs clunking is common as quite a few people have mentioned this - however I get the clunk all the time.

D
FollowupID: 347058

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:46

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:46
Troopie

I have a HJ75 (1997) Troopy which was doing just as you described both front and back after I had the original spring packs beefed up and re-set.

Soloution: P i s s e d them off and replaced with Kings Springs. = perfect.

Went on the Last Ex/OZ Robe trip and on return pressure cleaned the underneath, in particular the spring packs and shackles.

Let it sit for 2-3 weeks which let it dry out nicely and get a nice coat of surface rust through the spring leaves = clunking/banging like you wouldn't believe.
B l o o d y great snapping bangs up the steering column.

Solution. Sprayed out the spring packs and shackle mount areas with 'lanolin'

Result: instantaneous silence and silk smooth turning performance.

Ken Robinson
AnswerID: 88171

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:20

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:20
G'day Ken
Thanks for this - the "bloody great snapping bangs" you describe is just what I get - and the circumstances leading to the clunking is very similar.

The original leaf packs were fine - but just sagging badly under the constant weight in the truck. My "solution" was OME kit. Worked fine for the first couple of months - then off on a 17,000km trip through WA and the Kimberly. After I got home - everything was given a very careful clean - including the leafs. Couple of weeks later the clunking started.

So the Lanolin spray - where did you pick it up from? Also - did you pull the leaf packs down - or just spray on the lanolin while still on the truck. In my case I have greasable shackles so the clunking shouldn't be coming from the shackles (the bushes are good) - assuming it is the leafs I guess it's the springs shifting and hitting the clamps?

FollowupID: 347059

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:45

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:45
Troopie

I 'blundered' upon the Lanolin spray in CBC Bearings about two weeks ago.

It comes in a spray can similar to CRC, INOX etc, however is somewhat more expensive.

The info supplied with claims it replaces all the above type sprays and will fix/cure heamorroids, common cold, gout, beer gut, etc etc.

Whatever, I bought a can for 'ron' - later on - and when it started clunking, banging and sending accoustic messages via the steering column and floor well, I thought you B I T C H and gave each spring pack a housing down insitu along the sides, underneath at each end of each leaf, between the two main leaves that wrap around the shackle and anywhere else you think may be appropriate.

I also use greasable shackles and haven't bothered with doing anything to them in this instance as the spray out has worked a treat.

The manufactures of this stuff claim it will penetrate where nothing else will. So far ist seems to have done a good job.

Its a very cheap and easy fix to try and if you can''t find Lanolin spray, try INOX, which is what I would have used if I didn't have the Lanolin.

Hope it helps and if so, let us all know please.

Ken Robinson

krobbo@optusnet.com.au
FollowupID: 347076

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:45

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:45
You can buy lanolin in pump spray packs or other containers from hardware stores. I know Mitre 10 and Bunnings both stock it. About $21/litre or a bit less if you buy it in 5 litre containers.

As has been said you can use it for a million applications. I use it for lubricating and rust proofing mostly.
FollowupID: 347083

Follow Up By: Troopie - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 09:41

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 09:41
G'day Ken and Utemad
Many thanks for this - it's much appreciated!

Unfortunately I was away all weekend so have not had a chance to get some lanolin and give it a go. I'll try to pick some up during the week - or next weekend and give it a go...

Will stick in another post afterwards to let you know how it went.

FollowupID: 347476

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:53

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:53
I had a very similar problem with the surf just a couple of months ago. Spent absolutally HOURS crawling around underneath the bastard.

It always had the clunk ever since I bought it, but it was not bad. Once I stuck the poly airs in the back the clunk became very unerving, very loud, and you could feel it.

Took it to my local tyre suspension place and they looked at it free of charge, called me back in about 1 hour and said that my camber adjustment bolt was loose, they's tightend it and had fixed the clunk but the wheel alignment was out (explains the scrubbing on the left front tyre!!) and I told them to fix the wheel alignment, about $35 all up I think, most impressed, no clunks WHATSOEVER now. Very very happy.
In short, I'd be seeking a second opinion.
BTW my dodgy ex mechanic had service this car several times and I was never made aware that there was a problem with the vehicle.
AnswerID: 88172

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:24

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:24
G'day There Jeff
Many thanks for the comment mate - will check this out. In my case it would be a third opinion though as it's been to my mechanic a couple of times - and now to the ARB dealership guys (who I have to say have done a stand-up job in trying to help - of course it's under warrantee so they have to help - but they have done so with good manners and attitude - a rarity these days).

FollowupID: 347061

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:47

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:47
Check the followup reply re Lanolin
AnswerID: 88201

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 13:36

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 13:36
Any positive feedback yet Troopie
AnswerID: 88318

Follow Up By: Troopie - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 09:42

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 09:42
G'day Again
See me earlier post.

Many thanks for the tips - I was away on the weekend so have not had a go with the Lanolin yet - will give it a try during the week - or the weekend at the latest.

FollowupID: 347477

Reply By: floyd - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 12:44

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 12:44
This is common in 75 series. All of my troopys and utes have done this with weight shift on windy roads. the first one drove me crazy until I found out what it was.

It was the Shockers loading and unloading. It happened with new ones, old ones and in between ones. The Mount Buller rd brought it on prematurely in all vehicles. 18 kms up and 18 back with about 200 plus corners along the way. Most of the locals vehicles here do it too. Nearly all of the work vehicles up here are 75 and 78 series Toyotas and everyone just accepts it. They never wear out or fail.

Do a search in the archives. You are one of many to experience this.
AnswerID: 88488