Roof racks or traler
Submitted: Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:06
Taize
We're planning a trip to the top end and Kimberly next year. We'll have two kids,2 and 4 mths in the Pajero. I know that we wont fit everything in the back of the Paj but I'm not sure if we should go for a full length roof rack or borrow an off road trailer for the trip. Taking a trailer will be easier in terms of packing as we wont have to cram the stuff in.
thoughts on either option?
Kym
Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:24
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:24
Hey Kim,
I'd go for the trailer. As long as it's
well built it'll handle most roads you'll want to go with the kids.
Gibb River Road etc. Lots of camper trailers when we were up there a couple of years ago. Personally, I don't like things on the roof at all, and with a trailer you can throw a jerry can of fuel in. Good insurannce when you only have a 90 litre
tank with diesel and almost essential if you have the petrol version.
Check out the weight you can carry on top of the Paj and what racks are suitable. As you know from that other
forum there were some initial problems with Rolla Racks. Think they've been fixed now.
By the way, what did you finally do about your
suspension.
Reply By: beatit - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:33
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:33
G'day Taize,
Mate, take a trailer (make SURE its a good off road one) and leave the roofrack for the tinnie.
Friends of
mine borrowed one when we visited
Cape York 2 years ago -
well they ended up buying that same trailer just recently for a trip we're doing to the Kimberly next year also. They didn't find the borrowing route very satisfying because they couldn't personalise the trailer, which everyone does.
I've used both and I found that the trailer has made life so much simpler so long as things don't go wrong with the trailer. Packing becomes less of a challenge with a trailer paticularly if your traveling with a tribe.
Reply By: Taize - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:34
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:34
Ross,
I have not upgraded the
suspension yet. When I do it will bilsteins. I'm planning on installing a portable dual battery before christmas and maybe a shelf in the back to go over the fridge. The
suspension will be after that.
Kym
Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:54
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:54
I ended up with Bilsteins. Left the OE springs but HDs on the back.
If you are using a portable battery pack, make sure you put in heavy duty cable and preferably replace or use a different accessory outlet. The vlotage drop you get using the OE wiring and outlet means that the battery will never get even a reasonable charge.
When I did the Kimberly etc my portable 24AH battery wouldn't hold the fridge overnight. It was OK when we started but a week into the trip I couldn't get enough charge into it to hold overnight. If you will be stoppping with 240V ac available, see if you can beg borrow or steal a decent smart battery charger and top up the battery from the charger/mains every cahance you get and try not to fully discharge the battery.
Have a great trip, you'll love it.
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:57
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:57
I'm not going to tell you to go eitherway, just offer my experiences with the Roof bars and basket with a Rack Sack. I'm a pretty tall fella 6'3" so I find the roof rack bloody great. Never had a problem with it, IMO much easier than worring about the trailer on the back, especially in deep sand and tight tracks or if in a convoy with the expeted 63 three point turns on a trip LOL
For the kimbley by yourself the camper might be a good way to go, but if you get the roof rack you can use it again and again for the same price as what the camper's going to cost to hire for 1 holiday. Food for thought...
Reply By: motherhen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 20:02
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 20:02
A trailer with a stock crate to keep you little ones confined?
Reply By: Noosa Bushtrackers - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:08
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:08
Check out what the maximum weight is for the Pajero. When we had a 100 series it was something like 2600kgs tare and gross of 3200kgs. 600kgs doesn't leave much when you take the weight of the 2 adults, & 2 kids from it. Then take into account the weight of any extras you have, Bull Bar, Towbar, extra battery, fridge and roof rack. You will be
well and truely over weight by the time you put all your
camping equipment in and on a roof rack.
I towed our Caravan through the
Kimberley this year and we went into most
places including ElQuestro, Old Mornington Station,
Mitchell Plateau, and had no problems at all. Back in 1983 we towed a standard 7 by 4 box trailer through there and had no problems with trailer.
I would definitely recommend the trailer over a roof rack, but as we suffered a broken rear window when we towed the box trailer, I would recommend a good screen to protect the back of the vehicle from rocks hitting trailer and then flying back into the rear of vehicle.
Follow Up By: Wok - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 07:08
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 07:08
Brian,
Has the Council decided to maintain the track to the
Mitchell Plateau again?
The last time I was there the word was the locals were discouraging road access in favour of chopper entry from Drysdale.
rgds
Follow Up By: Noosa Bushtrackers - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:22
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:22
Wok
Drysdale as far as I saw, only had a fixed wing aircraft that flew you over the
Mitchell falls and a few other areas. I think the only choppers are operating from the
Mitchell Falls
parking area.
When you turn off the
Kalumburu Road, there is a big
sign THIS IS AN UNMAINTAINED ROAD. The first part of the road to the
King Edward River wasn't too bad really, although a group of 4WD's that were coming out and saw 2 caravans heading in thought that we needed our heads read for being there, when we listened to their comments on the UHF. We camped in the
camping area a kilometre or two past the
river crossing. From there it is about 80 km each way to the
Mitchell Falls
camping area and car
parking area. We could have taken our vans in there, but it wouldn't have been fair on all the other traffic, as because of our size we would have of had to stay on the track while they got off for us. It took most people between 2.5 and 3 hours to do the 80 km each way. I don't recall having to go into 4WD but a high clearance vehicle is required. It would be a different story when it was wet though. Probably require double diff locks in some
places.
Reply By: TD6 - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 22:20
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 22:20
Kym,
It really depends on where you are going in the Kimberly or the top end. I have done numerous trips into this country over the past 20 years and there are some
places where a trailer will be OK and there are others where it's just impossible.
If your just planning to "tour" then in most
places a trailer will be fine but if you want to get away from it all and fish, explore remote areas then I would strongly suggest the roof rack option.
Also take into account the changes in the track conditions throughout a season. I'm often amused by the people that say the GRR is fine for trailers because they went through once. This particular road changes from smooth to the worst possible track over the season and it really depends on the recent traffic and when the grader last went through. As an example 3 years ago I towed a 23 ft aluminium sportfishing boat across the GRR without an issue. Last year, at the time I went, there is no way I would have got the same rig through without damage to either the trailer or the boat.
Personally, with the kids etc I would go for the roof racks, pack light, take your time and enjoy yourself. You can always go back again and have another go with a different set-up :)
Follow Up By: Wok - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 07:01
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 07:01
TD6,
"Also take into account the changes in the track conditions throughout a season. I'm often amused by the people that say the GRR is fine for trailers because they went through once. This particular road changes from smooth to the worst possible track over the season and it really depends on the recent traffic and when the grader last went through "
Excellent observation....evidenced by the 'bones' of trailers etc along the GRR.
Patience should be the first item to be packed in the
Kimberley.
rgds
Reply By: Matt (W.A.) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 23:20
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 23:20
Taize,
IMOHO If I were you I would go for a trailer, once you take into consideration the weight of the Roof Rack/Surf Bars and Basket it Won’t leave allot of fat left to put stuff on the roof. My NM Pajero is rated at about 50 or 60kg's (Correct me if I'm Wrong) so I can only put about 30 or 40kg's (Correct me if I'm Wrong) on the roof not that I would it would make it all a bit too top heavy for my liking on a recent trip to Mt Magnet we ended up putting our table and tent in the storage space of our friends camper trailer and they still had heaps of room.
HtH