Matter of intrest (me being nosey as well)

Submitted: Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:15
ThreadID: 18467 Views:3190 Replies:13 FollowUps:18
Just out of a matter of intrest, and to get some new ideas as well, where is every body off to for the Chrissy holidays. We are going to the Great Aussie Resort in Bowna for 10 days, just hope the Hume weir fills up a bit more in the next 2 weeks.
Anybosy else going up there?
Merry Christmas to all.
Karen

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:26

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:26
I am going stay in Melbourne and Jen is going to Rosebud and is probably looking for a nice companion.......
AnswerID: 88193

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:30

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:30
Hey Andrew, I know a couple of nice fellas in Rosebud would Jen like their phone numbers.................lol
FollowupID: 347064

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:32

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:32
you idiot!!!! Get back to work and I will see you when you get home!!

Jen

PS You neglected to say I will have the 3 kids with me.... that would be enough to put off any "nice companions".
FollowupID: 347066

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:37

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:37
ROTFLMAO Oh boy Andrew, I would be doing alot of overtime tonight. Jen's not happy with you..but she still didn't say if she would like those phone numbers or not did she?

How are you Jen............?

Be good cause Santa is coming..........................LOL
FollowupID: 347067

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:14

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:14
Merry Xmas to you and Geoff , Karen, we have only a few days off and will be camped on the Muddy Murray, but it will be good, then home to work till end of January, when we hope to take a break.

FollowupID: 347090

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:47

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:47
Hello Pesty,,,,,,how are you? I hope you and your family have a wonderful Xmas.....................I lost the thread to the other chat room and havnt had time to loook for it again yet.I'll get round to it. But you have a wonderful Xmas,
Karen
FollowupID: 347122

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:38

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:38
We are going down to Margeret River for 6 days, then a quick run down to Kendernup to see the rellies (on the waaaaaaaaaaaay home, the long way that is). :-)
AnswerID: 88197

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:45

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:45
Hi Jeff, I think I had better get the map out and have a look at where some of these places are...........Hope you have a great holiday though and drive safley.
Karen
FollowupID: 347068

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:56

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 16:56
LOL - Bloody eastern staters!! :-P

Yeah, look it up on your GPS (if you've got one!)

Margeret River is one of the most popular surfing destinations in WA, I don't surf but I'll whip out the ol' body board and give some people a few laughs as I get severely dunked and mutilated!
Kendenup is just inland from Mt Barker which is about 50 or so kms inland from Albany. My Uncles, Aunties and Grandma are all down that way on various properties. We have to show off the new bub while we've got the chance, we figured we would already be half way there so might as well hit the road and go see them afterwards.
FollowupID: 347069

Follow Up By: toymn8r - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:20

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:20
Lucky me. I'll be working Chrissy and Boxing day then a few days off. Yippee
FollowupID: 347071

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:10

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:10
Shhhhhh Jeff keep it quite or they will all be over here. I am originally from SA (Which is still better than far east) So I can assure you there are those with a 4by that live in Wa and then there are those that wish they did.
Ansd to the qustion, If I get the 4by I am looking at tonight it will be Toolina cove/Point Culver, If not then Poision Creek/Thomas River
FollowupID: 347089

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:15

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:15
lol, you're right Davoe!
Oooo exciting, I've bought my last two 4bies in the last couple of week leading in to christmas, don't know why but it just seems the right time of year to spend 10's of thousdands of dollars, you know when your going on holidays away somewhere, you got christmas presents to buy, parties to go to etc etc!! We must be mad! LOL Good luck.
FollowupID: 347091

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:32

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:32
I am thinking about going to Kangaroo island around the 28th Dec, drag the boat over and fish and drink for a week or so....... unless something comes up..
AnswerID: 88199

Reply By: David Au - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:05

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:05
Geoff & Karen while I have never been there, it is just up the road from one of my grazing properties and drive past it all the time. I do know people that have been there and been back again and have spoken of it in most favourable terms.
I am now going to make a point of driving in to have a squizzie.
AnswerID: 88204

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:36

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:36
We are going to Wollondilly River for 10 days never been there before, we are using it as a base camp to go exploring (excuse the pun) the Blue Mtns from there.
AnswerID: 88212

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 20:44

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 20:44
Take some firewood mate - she's a bit shy on it around there..
FollowupID: 347098

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:49

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:49
Karen,

What hoildays? I finish my real job on 23rd Dec and start my un-real job on the 26th Dec. 2x 4 day trips down on the Snowy river then a 7 day Vic High Country after that, then back to work at my real job.

AnswerID: 88218

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:41

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:41
Geez Wayne, where do you find a job like that,sounds like you will be doing some tripping around as well over Xmas...........................Thats a job to have....................
Karen
FollowupID: 347116

Reply By: banjobush - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:02

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:02

We Went to the Great Aussie Resort last weekend (its only 20 minutes from us) we had a fantastic time - the lake is about 56% capacity so its not too far from the park - good news however its been raining non stop last 2 days or so so maybe some more water will go in.

I don't know if you have bee to the Great Aussie before but they have so many activites both free and ones that you have to pay for. My children had a fantastic time as did the adults. The amenities are top class and staff keep the place spotless.

A couple of things to keep in mind - the flies are absolutely horrendous here at the moment and eating with them is a disaster so be prepared for them, and the lighting around the park at night was probably not the best particularly for little ones making their way to the amenities etc.

I do hope you enjoy it as much as we did Merry Christmas!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 88220

Follow Up By: banjobush - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:30

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:30
quick clarification i meant the waters edge is not to far from the park, Mr Banjobush estimates about 350 metres (his word not mine...i am hopeless at estimations)
FollowupID: 347094

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:35

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:35
Hi Banjobush, we go there every Xmas and Easter and we also go to the fully catered for Fathers day weekend as well. It is a great place and we have made some good friends there as well. We are all congrigating there this Xmas so it should be good fun. So you can't be far from us, cause we are close to the Aussie resort as well. are you north or south of the resort. Winter time is good there around the big fire at night.
The flies..................yes well....................last Xmas there was a night mare.........millions of them................ao we went and brought a big gazebo, and that was the best thing we have ever brought.
So are you guys going there again this Christmas, if so we are on site 1 and 2, so pop on over and so hello............
Merry Xmas to uou and hope you have a good one what ever you do.
Karen
FollowupID: 347114

Reply By: motherhen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 20:01

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 20:01
Anywhere cool and isolated along the south coast that we can get our Bushtracker into. Just bought the 4WD days on the South Coast of WA book someone here mentioned the other day. Hope to get to the Eyre Peninsular as well - but will disappear quick if there are many others there. Happy Christmas and safe driving.
AnswerID: 88231

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:43

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:43
Merry Christmas to you and your family to Mother hen. Hope you have good Christmas and a safe one.....
Karen
FollowupID: 347118

Reply By: Plugger - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:46

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:46
Karen & Geoff - Lake Hume at about 56% as above but still raining and expected heavy rains right across the catchment area for next 3 or 4 days. Bring your gazebo as not only will you have flies but the locusts will have hit by then. Catch a few and use as bait in the Lake.

Have a great time. I am in Albury but not sure what we are doing yet. Only have the public holidays off as have just had a trip up the Birdsville Track, Simpson and then back down through Innamincka, Tibooburra and White Cliffs.

Boss will not give me any more time off

Have a great Xmas Plugger
AnswerID: 88265

Follow Up By: banjobush - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:25

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:25
Karen, we are in Albury. for christmas we will be going up to Collarenibri/Rowena and then back via Wilcannia - Yes the hot country we seem to always spend new year on our Friend's lake on their property at Wilcannia......this year however, we hope to have our camper trailer with us should be very exciting.

10 days at the Great Aussie will be fantastic ......it's pretty pricey that time of year tho:( Be sure to have a go at the laser clay target shooting as my husband joined the 70's club last weekend scoring 73 out of a possible 75.

Its still raining here so hopefull the lake will be filling up some more as Plugger said.

Merry Christmas to all
FollowupID: 347210

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 13:26

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 13:26
Geoffs best is 74 at the laser shooting. i can only get56, which isnt to bad considering I have never shot before. gun 3 is still the best gun though.....................
Merry Christmas
FollowupID: 347273

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:49

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:49
Got the in-laws arriving from UK for Xmas so we're staying home this year. Heading to Melbourne for the Tennis in January, but we're flying. I'll get the patrol dirty one day, pleeeeaaaassee.
AnswerID: 88266

Reply By: Member - Mozza (Newcastle-NSW) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:14

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:14
doing 7 nights @ Coffs Harbour.... then back down home (Newy) to pick up the Camping Gear and then doing a 5-nighter at the blissful Myall Lakes...!@~
AnswerID: 88499

Reply By: Member - T-bone (ACT) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 14:14

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 14:14
Gonna be around Lake Eildon - camping at Parker's Point (about 20km out of Gough's Bay). If anyone's in the area, feel free to swing by and say g'day...

T-Bone.
AnswerID: 88509

Reply By: banjobush - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 19:17

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 19:17
Good News...still raining here we got about 150 points today alone.........i will be sending it all into the lake for you Karen!!!!!!!!!!!! cheers again
AnswerID: 88566

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 21:49

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 21:49
Thanks Banjo, I was talking to Jodie today from the resort and she was saying the weir is slowly coming up..........................we only had 80 points today but we had nearly 100 yeasterday. I was hoping it was raining down there...................lol
keep it coming till the 24th !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Karen
FollowupID: 347441