Member - Scrubba (NSW)
Mi truck's locked in
PARK.
I can get it out by usin the 'lock release' but that's obviously a short term measure.
Nissan Service want it for 2 days to fix it. Can't be right... surely! They reckon it's an electrical problem.
Anyway, that got me thinkin... if it's electrical, and the break pedal needs to be depressed to get it out of
PARK, then maybe the break lights aren't workin either. Sure enough... they're not! That begs the question; why the hell didn't someone at Nissan tell us that our break lights might not be workin and offer to do some basic checks. Fuses, loose wires etc.
Well now that I know the lights are out, I'll have to check all that myself!
To maybe save me a whole lot of stuffin around, have any of you heard about this problem and, more to the point, how to fix it?
Thanks, raisin. (this place is sooo good! Almost like a second home for me.)
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:04
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:04
Hi Scrubba
Did you tow a trailer recently!!! Check your brake light fuse - 10:1 its blown. Its a common problem with any auto these days that requires you to have your foot on the brake before it goes out of
park.
Also stops the cruise control from working if you have that fitted as
well.
Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:19
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:19
Well yeah... shoulda checked before I posted. Blown fuse.
I can't believe that mob at Nissan...
Thanks Captain.
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:28
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:28
What i can't believe is that Nissan wanted your GU for 2 DAYS !!!! Makes you wonder what their trouble shooting skills are like on a difficult problem :0
Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 09:32
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 09:32
Hey there Cap.
Spoke to the Missis about that bloke at Nissan. Apparently he's bin there about 3 weeks and comes from Ford.
He said "a day to find fault 'n order parts. Another to reassemble".
Ford fuses must be impossible to get at!
Anyway, if it was one of the regulat guys this might have been fixed on
the spot. They apparently always come out to have a quick look.
Regards, raisin
Reply By: Wetty (W.A) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:22
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:22
Looks like another case of technology out-smarting itself YET AGAIN! LOL
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:33
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:33
Scrubba,
When I was fitting tow bars, on some vehicles I had to put a bigger fues in to stop them blowing. Nissan only put in a fues that was just enough to do the job. If your trailer has more than one set of brake lights or bigger than normal watt brake lights than this can cause a fuse to blow.
I just went to the next higher fuse.
Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:42
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:42
Yeah I thought about that as I put the new one in just before. But when you see how thin the wires are to the back of the patrol (which were also tapped into by Hayman Reese when they wired the plug) you can't but wonder how the loom handles 10 amps, let alond 15 or 20
Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:16
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:16
Wayne,
Just to let you know - I have gone to a 15amp fuse.
Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 22:14
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 22:14
F250s also need the brake pedal depressed to get it out of
Park. They have a problem with the brake pedal switch failing (although not according to Ford of course). We had one fail while out on a very large worksite so it was
miles from anywhere and we couldn't get it out of
Park. Ford sent out a tech to fix it. Then the other ute also failed a few months later. This time we couldn't get it into
Park. Which also means you can't remove the key from the ignition. Brilliant. Both times Ford said that they hadn't had this problem before so there were no spare brake switches in the country. However both times there were brand new F250s in the dealership's yard without brake light switches LOL.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 22:19
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 22:19
All AUtos now need brake pressed to get out of
park..
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 00:37
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 00:37
No trucky , the new breed have a lock on the shifter , so need to press the brake to release it
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 00:49
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 00:49
All the autos at work, and that wife drove while shoppin needed it, thought it was standard now.
Reply By: motherhen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 22:59
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 22:59
Had the same trouble when we bought ours (2nd hand) - the mechanical minded husband started swearing. I (totally unmechanical minded female) tried - like truckster says, i put foot on brake - worked for me that time {smug female smile}. Next time the big man started swearing that wasn't working either, i read the manual. Said would happen if battery low. Battery checked out OK, until a few weeks later when (i can't recall the reason why) i got the battery checked again. Battery needed replacing. End of problem. Must be very sensitive to a low battery. Didn't check our brake lights at the time so may not be same problem as yours. Haven't had a spot of trouble with the Nissan since. Love it.
Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 23:03
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 23:03
Because
mine's an auto i couldn't pull out the manual! LOL
Follow Up By: motherhen - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 23:10
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 23:10
Gee Scrubba - that took me a long 2½ seconds to catch! LOL
Follow Up By: theshadows - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 08:10
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 08:10
err scubba and motherhen try to re read the post the word manual refers to the handbook manual not the gearbox type....doh
shadow
Follow Up By: motherhen - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 18:17
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 18:17
You got it shadow! That's what took me 2½ seconds - to work out Scrubba's sense of humour. Gee i enjoy the fun on this
forum, very punny people. Makes me laugh after a day of overtaxing my brain at work.
All in good fun, Motherhen
Reply By: Top Cat - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:52
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:52
It takes 2 days to fix the prob because they get an apprentice to do the job..........they tell him to
check the brake lights by pressing the pedal and then quickly running arround the back to see if the lights came on..........if you still dont see the lights coming on after a day.........replace the fuse..........then spend a day repeating stage one to confirm the fuse is working..........lol.
Its the mechanics equaivalent of a painter telling the apprentice to buy some striped paint.
Sparky to order a left handed screwdriver.
And a million more............lol.