12v Compressors

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 11:41
ThreadID: 18488 Views:3736 Replies:3 FollowUps:10
Morning all,

I have connect two 12v air compressors together, will I be gaining any more volume or pressure?

The two compressors are Blue Tounge and a Big Red.

Reply By: theshadows - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 11:50

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 11:50
volume.

shadow
the max safe pressure will be the rated of the lesser one of the two compressors.

AnswerID: 88309

Follow Up By: Pluto - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 11:59

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 11:59
That depends on how they are connected up.

In Parallel: Volume
In Series: Pressure

If they are in series, few compressors are designed to have the intake pressure boosted. The down stream compressor will either fail or explode.
FollowupID: 347179

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 14:13

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 14:13
Pluto how do you hook up a compressor in Series?
FollowupID: 347190

Follow Up By: Pluto - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 14:56

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 14:56
I don't know. Doesn't mean it can't be done.
FollowupID: 347197

Follow Up By: Pluto - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 14:58

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 14:58
Yes I do...

Any compressor with a screw on intake filter can be connected up with standard hose or pipe fittings.
FollowupID: 347198

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 16:51

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 16:51
Pluto, no, it cannot be done.
You can hook two compressors into a common manifold for more volume. There is no way to hook two compressors together for higher pressure. A compressor needs to be designed and manufactured to obtain a certain pressure.
FollowupID: 347202

Follow Up By: theshadows - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:35

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:35
I wasnt going to touch that david ....Maybe I should have.I just didnt think that people would join down stream,
David is right the pressure will be rated at the hightest rating of the two compressors. If you contect the lower rated compressor after the hightest rated there is a good chance you will destroy the lower rated compressor.Its just not made to handle the pressure being delivered to it.

shadow
FollowupID: 347213

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 13:35

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 13:35
Hey! Wayne

Guess what?????

I was being a smart a r s e earlier this year and added a Blue Tongue IV to my ARB airlocker system - feeding both into an auxilliary tank.

Rationale: MORE AIR and quicker.

Result: Blew the A R S E end out of the ARB compressor tank.

Why: (1) No one way valve between Blue Tongue and ARB & no pressure cut off switch on the Blue Tongue. I had been mulling over in my mind the need for a one way valve but just didn't get around to it. (don't you just hate that).

Where did this happen: Dalhousie Springs no less at the begining of a West-East crossing of the Simpson.

Solution: I was extremely lucky that the last time the air tank on the ARB was touched by the ARB Techs, they hadn't tightened it properly and it let the 'O' ring seal push/squeeze out without damage.

Took about an hour or so to pull it off, re-seat the 'O' ring and re install the compressor. Very lucky indeedy.

So! I highly and strongly recommend that you look into getting pressure cut off switches if you don't already have them and isolating your compressors from excessive back pressures if appropriate.

Ken Robinson

AnswerID: 88317

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 16:18

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 16:18
Ken,

Had second thoughrs about the two compressors, now I have the Big Red all wired up and running and will give it a work out at Stockten Beach tommorow.

I still have the ARB compressor for the diff locks so this one is just for pumping up tyres and the Blue Tounge will end up on the for sale list along with a heap of other good stuff that I do not really need any more.

FollowupID: 347199

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 16:41

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 16:41
Ken,

It seems to be a problem with ARB compressor tanks. It has happened to mine and I was going to attend to Big Kidz compressor at Robe too where the 'O' Ring had blown out of theirs. A bit of silicone and some super glue to the ends of the 'O' ring if it has been cut before the silicone is put in the channel.

I don't believe you would have a problem running the two compressors in parallel where they both have cutouts working within the safety capacity of the tank. It would overcome the problems of a potential breakdown of one as long as there were check valves so there was no leakback to the compressors from the tank.

Parallel would be
compressor 1 ------> tank
compressor 2-------> tank (the same tank)

Series would be
compressor 1 ---------> compressor 2 --------> tank

Some workshop compressors work that way from one head to the next. One would imagine the 12v compressors aren't designed to work that way.
FollowupID: 347201

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 16:54

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 16:54
JohnR when compressors have two heads and the pressure from one goes to the other, that is a two stage compressor, the pistons in each cylinder are different sizes. You have the larger low pressure piston, and the smaller high pressure piston
FollowupID: 347203

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:51

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:51
Got in one David Au. The question was asked above what it would be like to have them mounted in series.
FollowupID: 347216

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:41

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:41
G'day Wayne,
There is no reason why you couldn't use 2 compressors feeding into a common receiver tank. If you had, say, a 10 or 20 litre tank and had the 2 compressors both feeding it, no worries. It would fill around twice as quickly. As far as cut off switches are concerned, you could get away with having just one in my opinion.....the "+" wire to each compressor going via the one switch which could be located anywhere in the air pressure system (eg: on the tank would be preferrable). However, you could also have a separate pressure switch on each compressor unit and switch them on/off independantly depending on your particular needs at that time.
As an example, my set-up only has one compressor (Maxair) and only a 3 litre tank. This is okay for the locker, air horns etc. But if I had a bigger tank, one compressor would take a while to fill it. That's not gunna be a problem day to day, when I just want to top up the tank to be ready to fire-up the air horns. But if I was trying to pump up 4 or 6 tyres from 16psi to 35psi after a beach run etc, the 2nd compressor being switched on would be a great benefit......not that we should be in a hurry when we're out'n'about.
Just my thoughts...... Cya mate...
AnswerID: 88360