X Trail oil filter

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 17:10
ThreadID: 18497 Views:9077 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
I changed the engine oil on SWMBO's XTrail this arvo at 35,000km. What a bugger of a job. The oil filter is so small it can fit in the palm of my hand and it is hidden behind the front wheel. A normal oil filter remover is too big for the plurry thing and so I had to remove the front wheel, remove a plastic clip-on skirt and then twist the filter off by hand. And of course I spilt oil on the garage floor as there doesn't seem to be a Nissana around that one can do a clean oil change on. Anyway the little car takes 3.9litres of oil. Checked a few other things underneath and apart from some mud she looks sweet. The 40,000km service is a big one and the car will be going to the dealer to have that done and that will probably cost an arm and a leg.

Reply By: kesh - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:12

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:12
Hmmmmm. Hope this is not one of those situations where........................the..........................ones who should know better................................
So what about replacing the spark plugs?..............................................
Spark plugs.......................Where the h@ll are they?................................
G60?.................................Nah!!!! Tooooooooooooooooo late!!!!!!!!!!!
Welcome to the new world Willem!
AnswerID: 88339

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:32

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:32
I wasn't going to buy anything past 1997 but lost the argument with SWMBO. I will only touch what I think I cannot break too easily and as long as the the missus pays the service people I will stay out of it lol
FollowupID: 347225

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:13

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:13
you lost the argument?
and i thought you wore the pants in the house! better put your foot down harder next time eh?
FollowupID: 347280

Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:14

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:14
Hi willem

An oil change without spilling oil is a freakish event on most/ any vehicle, MHO. I hope the painted floor (LOL) is oil tolerant. I have cut the bottom out of a ice cream container which I put under the drip spot. Remove/replace the filter and put rag into dish to soak up spliiage from dish. Works pretty well but the old drip tray (commercial cake tray) is a must to compensate for the oil that gets away.

Andy
AnswerID: 88342

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:47

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:47
Andy

It doesn't matter about the garage floor but when I change the oil on the GQ I take it out into the back lane as the filters(2) make a real mess.
FollowupID: 347228

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:56

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:56
Willem,
I used to think that changing the filters on a TD42 was a pr*ck of a job...
(well, I guess it still is)...
However there are things you can do to make it a whole lot less messy...

Here's what I do...
Preferably (if possible), let the oil drain overnight. There will still be oil in the filters, but (hopefully) not as much...
Before undoing each filter, I place a generous amt. of absorbent paper under the filters, & around the starter motor.. Then, after loosening the filter (w/- filter wrench) just enough to allow it to be turned freely by hand, place the filter wrench aside, & you need to get both hands in there.. (not easy, but it can be done)...
Now, what you need to do, is *SPIN* the sucker!!!... (and I mean SPIN it!!!)... Make sure you catch it (& get it upright) when it comes off, of course...
The idea here is to try & get centrifugal force working for you...
If you get it right, very little oil will will escape, & the paper towels will catch any that does...
I've pretty much got this down to a "fine art" now, & am happy to say that I seldom (if ever) have any kind of a mess when changing the oil & filters GU ....

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 347240

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:32

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:32
Thanks Ed

I will try that soon as I am about 500km off an oil change with the GQ.
FollowupID: 347316

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 12:59

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 12:59
Ah thank you wisey so it is not just me, when I do the oil in the diffs t/c etc I wear clothes i can throw away. Thankfully my carpark is right at the back of the block and on dirt (very well oil stained dirt)
FollowupID: 347365

Reply By: kesh - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 06:58

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 06:58
Regarding the actual placement and degree of removal difficulty of these regular maintenance items is I reckon a manufacturers conspiracy to make sure you are forever paying exhorbitant service costs. The need for "special" tools and difficulty in getting comprehensive W/S manuals also works against the diy home mechanic. In nsw anyway, the average stealer charges $80 -$95/hr. to work on your vehicle, and how often are crucial items overlooked? but theres always an excuse eh!
cheers the kesh.
AnswerID: 88367

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 11:59

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 11:59
Yep, we are getting a new astra hatch for the missus, the salesman we are dealing with is an ex mechanic (same here) so i am pushing for a cd copy of the manual (fat chance i know but i am giving it a go). And i know from experience that they are covered with 'strange' fastners, so i have to buy a torx socket & driver set which will set me back about $ 150. But it will be worth it. They offered us the extended warranty if all the servicing was done there, i had to hold back my laughter... yeah right, pay a ransom and get shiza work....

Only really need a dealer when it involves a diagnostic check, or a immobiliser key re-program.
FollowupID: 347267

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 12:06

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 12:06
Hey Willem , next time you are in the 'big smoke' take a visit to the auto parts store ( sprint etc.) and get one of the 3 jaw 'socket' filter tools which go straight on the end of the filter and adjust to size and bite in (get the small tool) and you use your 3/8 ratchet and extension to whip it straight off, they are the best filter tools, ABW make them , probably others as well. should only cost about $25-30.

Mate worst one i have seen is a nissan n15 pulsar - east west engine, filter right up under the manifolds at the rear , what a bastard.....
AnswerID: 88377

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:30

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:30
Thanks Bradley...will do
FollowupID: 347315

Reply By: Member Colin - NSW Bungendore - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 22:19

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 22:19
Willem
Pity you're 'stuck' on Nissans - you should have bought a Subaru, no trouble to service !!
Colin
AnswerID: 88426

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 09:54

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 09:54
I agree on the GQ, its a **nt of a job... but I usually do as you do, out in the back paddock, or get a large cardboard box, like a TV comes in, and lay that under the car, change the oil, then take the box back to the Goodguys garbo bin!
AnswerID: 88456