I must be nuts doing this

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 18:31
ThreadID: 18498 Views:3233 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
It has been..what..3-4 months that I follow the forum, and I have to admit, I learn a lot from you guys. At the same time, got myself my very first 4by, LC80, 97.
I had no idea what i was buying, I just had to beleive other guys opinions. And then, things started to get out of hand, with 3 mates, we decided we go for the big trip. Up to the Mitchell Falls and back. (August next year) Then, after talking around what we plan to do, a 4 mates, joint in. The crazy one, but he's got some desert experience, and suggested, why not taking the Canning Stock Route on the way back. Wow, that would be different from driving around town. OK we all agree and that's what we are going to do. Now, just hit me hard, got my helmet on, out of the 4 of us, only one knows what he doing up there. He done the CSR a few times, but the reste of us, it's just about if we know how to change the gears.
But before u hit me, let me tell you, we are all over 50, a diesel mechanic, a mechanical engineer, a radio amateur, and a writer. The vehicules are going to be well prepared. We will be towing one camper, custom designed and build. I've got my own machine shop, so it's easy. The trip? well the first part will be easy, running along the WA coast up to Derby, then GRR, Mitchell Falls then back towards HallsCreek,Tanami track, CSR, but not all the way to Wiluna, heading west at Lac Disapointment towards Newmann and then back home, Perth. All this in 5 - 6 weeks, we just want to take easy, no rush.
Are we crazy? with so little experience? The story abount the CSR in the december edition 4wd monthly got me thinking, but didn't yet scared me off.
Oh! almost forgot, we going with 2 cruisers
And on the top, I'm a new member, thanks to you.
teaser

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 19:22

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 19:22
Go to my website listed next to my rig pic and when it opens click on 4x4 and then Canning Stock Route. It will give you an idea of the north/south run. The missus and I did it solo in a battered petrol Tojo and had a great time in 1994. Don't think much has changed.

After reading the story in 4wd Monthly on the CSR I have decided not to buy that mag any longer...they are becoming too smart and too arrogant.

Welcome to the Exploroz forum. Lots of things to learn, some jokes, some cameraderie and not too much aggro...Enjoy!
AnswerID: 88335

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:31

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:31
Willem,
What has 4WDM done that makes you say that?
FollowupID: 347224

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:40

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:40
Scrubba

4WD Monthly Mag have put their own point of view across on what you need to do to drive the CSR but by accentuating the ideas, that if you do not agree with them, then it is a 'No Brainer', smacks of arrogance.

I have long disagreed with their persistence with showing up some of their journalists as experts at consuming beer and other alcohol whilst doing their 4wd thing.

Other than that the technical aspect of the magazine has been good. I have canvassed ideas and knowledge from some of their articles but I am up to speed with what I need now and would only buy a mag at a whim. After this last issue I am afraid that they have lost me a s a customer.

FollowupID: 347226

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:59

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:59
Thanks for explaining your position. You have done the 'long haul' stuff for a long time so I guess you know more than I do on the matter. The stuff I generally do is 'tough' but remains within a couple of hours from civilization. Certainly not life threatening.
I buy the mag cause I find it interesting for the most part and helpful for tips, tricks general knowledge. Generally get a good couple of hours out of it each month.
Catch ya,
FollowupID: 347229

Follow Up By: Member - Dirt_teaser (WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:18

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:18
One thing for sure, the story got me worried a bit.
I have no idea what to expect up there, but thanks to you, got my motivation back.
Teaser
FollowupID: 347234

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:37

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:37
I bought he mag because emblazoned across the cover was "complete guide to the Canning Stock Route"

.......... in one & a half pages?????????

They've lost me too!
FollowupID: 347238

Follow Up By: TonyH - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 21:44

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 21:44
Willem
Same here.
First time I brought a copy and last. Has some great ads though ;-)

Not done the CSR (Yet) but some of that advice was crap.

eg. Bite the bullet and buy six of the best 4wd tyres.
Not my idea of good advice, but a good way to waste money.

And if I pulled right off the road and stopped evertime I passed a road train I'd never bloody get anywhere.

Tony Harding
FollowupID: 347320

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:06

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:06
I mainly buy it for the escapism you know kick back in an evening - flick a few pages and just go yea when I can afford a new td sahara landcruiser and top of the wozza camper trailer (next year?) like the ones tested and then actually hold down 1 job long enough to accumulate some holidays Ill start visiting these places. Till then I find western 4wd far more useful with their fully tripnoted tracks none of which are found in the larger circulation mags
FollowupID: 347381

Reply By: tonysmc - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 19:38

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 19:38
IMHO, you are going to have so much fun and meet so many great people,you will think you are crazy that you didn't do this years ago. Have a great trip.
AnswerID: 88336

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:13

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:13
A Word of warning....a trip like this will attract lots of comments from people like me, not lucky enough to be going with you. My comment............"Lucky lucky B@stard"
AnswerID: 88341

Follow Up By: Member - Dirt_teaser (WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:20

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:20
I'll send you a post card.
Teaser
FollowupID: 347235

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:51

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:51
Dirt_teaser (WA)

First of all, welcome to the best place on the internet!

Secondly,
a diesel mechanic, a mechanical engineer, a radio amateur, and a writer.

Sounds like you will be able to make a sound team. Looks like most bases covered.

By the time you have done the trip you will be planning your next one.

Lots of good advice here and don't be shy to ask Questions.

You would not believe the stuff I have learned just reading this forum almost every day.

Enjoy your trip and keep the KISS(Keep it simple, S****D) method at hand.

Sparkie(IE not Y ) ;-)
AnswerID: 88345

Follow Up By: Member - Dirt_teaser (WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:15

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:15
The next trip is already on the agenda, Cap York,in 2006, with the same team.
Thanks for your support.
I took the helmet off.
Teaser
FollowupID: 347232

Follow Up By: 80scruiser - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 11:44

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 11:44
I have to agree.
I have got sick of the kids watching videos with beer and pathetic acting in it.
I have stopped buying 4WD monthly. I have all the other mag tight as a button in its nice folder.
Have a good time. Our club is tyring to talk about going there but its a few years away yet.
Safe trip
FollowupID: 347265

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:13

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:13
Could,nt agree more about 4/4mounthly . Iv,e also just asked the paper shop not to keep 4/4australia for me any more also . After you,ve been buying it for a few year,s , thay start to repeat the same story,s , with diferant words . If you havent seen it befor Dirt- teaser , try the Western 4/4 , comes out 3 mounthy and is a nice glove box size . The only other one i will get now is Outdoors western australia , issue 6 has just hit the shops , it comes out by mounthy . And what,s even better is , they.er both about the west ! That mean,s , we get something the eastner,s dont , and get to learn about some place,s a bit closer to home and don,t have to dream about trying to get extra time off to visit the places the above menchend mags seem to talk about most of the time . Cheers Errol
AnswerID: 88356

Follow Up By: Member - Dirt_teaser (WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:32

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:32
Took note, will check them out first thing in the morning.
oopppps tomorow sunday, sleep in, OK monday then.
thanks for the tip . Gee, I still got so much to learn.
Teaser
FollowupID: 347246

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:22

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:22
G'day Errol

Yes you are right about the recylcing bit. I wrote for 4x4 Australia freelance and had one or two articles published every year from 1986 to 1996. I also recycled some of these articles to Western4wdriver as well. This led to being a co contributer to the Discover Australia by 4x4 book series in 1995/6/7 and working for a bigger company. But they became too pushy and demanded deadlines etc and freebies and so I gave it away. These days I relate my stories to my website only. Anything one wants to know about 4x4 can now be found on line and on EO !!!
FollowupID: 347314

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Juliana - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 14:18

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 14:18
Hi Guys,

Don't forget that the Western 4WDriver Mag is available on the Adventure Shop each quarter and we always have it available! (You don't even have to leave your chair to buy it and you can buy it on a Sunday Dirt_teaser!)

Click here to look at the current edition.

Juliana
FollowupID: 347376

Reply By: Member - Anni M (SA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 08:53

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 08:53
Hey - can we come too???? It sounds fantastic, and with lots of good resources to rely on. I have also heard that there are so many people travelling the CSR now that you are not exactly on your own.
Welcome to EO, enjoy your trip and Happy Christmas
Anni
AnswerID: 88370

Reply By: Member - Karl - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:50

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:50
Mate - sounds like a good trip, you should have fun. Just plan it well, especially your fuel usage and you should be okay. Let someone know when you go, your route and proposed itinerary - the local coppers at either end are the best for this.

Also for further info you could try Ron & Viv Moon's website - www.guidebooks.com.au. They are pretty straight shooters.
AnswerID: 88503