L.P Gas

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 20:57
ThreadID: 18500 Views:3505 Replies:4 FollowUps:14
Still going with my 3-way fridge, can anyone tell me if L.P gas and propane are the same? On the fridge it says use propane only...

Another thought.

Corey

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:12

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:12
Yes
Propane is a yanky term
I have a 3 way in my camper and use LPG same as BBQ

AnswerID: 88348

Follow Up By: Boxheadc - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:26

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:26
Thanks Mate,
Appreciate it.

Cheers Corey
FollowupID: 347236

Reply By: japmel - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:00

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:00
Bowheadc,

G'day mate,

L.........Liquid

P.........Propane

G.........Gas

hope this helps
japmel
AnswerID: 88353

Follow Up By: japmel - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:39

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:39
Sorry mate I got your name wrong hope I didn't offend.

japmel
FollowupID: 347247

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 23:56

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 23:56
Hi have a read of this if you like

k text
FollowupID: 347252

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 10:25

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 10:25
I always thought it was Liquefied Petroleum Gas.

At any rate the LPG we use in the BBQ is mostly the same we use in cars and the same as "Propane and Propane products" as Hank Hill used to say. Yes its a North American term.

The truck used to pull up and fill the LPG Tank (for cars) and then fill the BBQ gas bottle for refills of BBQ gas cylinders, then it went and filled the 45kg bottles for home heating use.

Rest easy young skywalker.

FollowupID: 347262

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 23:17

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 23:17
A friend of mine who managed a servo told me that the LPG we use for bbqs is not exactly the same as LPG for cars. He said that in the cities it was different as you couldn't use the automotive gas in a bbq for health reasons but it was a bit cheaper. However in the country areas they used the bbq gas for both as the cost saving was not worth paying for two delivery trucks.
FollowupID: 347323

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 07:43

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 07:43
I also read that just very recently.....vehicle gas is different form BBQ gas.

car gas has an additive of some sort added whci should not be used to fire up a BBQ
FollowupID: 347327

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 09:27

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 09:27
Yes I know its supposed to be different, thing is, as Utemad says above some areas its the same. I cant remember which is supposed to have the higher energy output, you would think the vehicle application, hence country BBQ's would be a high powered affair.

FollowupID: 347331

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:01

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:01
Lifted the following from e</a

Q. Is there a difference between LPG used in a car and LPG used in a barbecue cylinder?

YES. There are two different grades or blends of LPG and they are not interchangeable. One is for automotive use only and will be a mixture of mainly Propane and Butane. The other is Propane, which can only be used for decanting into small cylinders for caravans, barbecues and camping
FollowupID: 347337

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:03

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:03
err e</a
FollowupID: 347338

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:04

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:04
stuff it ....cut n paste and go there!!!
www.alpga.asn.au/infonet/faq.asp
FollowupID: 347339

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 23:57

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 23:57
i;ll try again
http://www.e-lpg.com/product.asp
AnswerID: 88363

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 10:27

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 10:27
Here's a link to Richards URL mentioned above

FollowupID: 347263

Reply By: Boxheadc - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 17:05

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 17:05
Still going,
Could you guys please telll me if you use a low pressure regulator with your fridge? I have been looking at the regulator and it seems if i push it in a little i get a better flame on the fridge ( but gas also seems to bypass at the same time and went to atmosphere when i do it ). I have put my jet under magnifier after blowing through with electraclean ( Electrical cleaning solvent) and it seems clear...

I wonder if the regulator is the problem?

I do not have a thermostat on my gas side only a cut off switch...so there is not much to it....

In case your wondering i live in Central Queensland about 3 hours from a 3 way fridge repair agent...so i am trying as much as i can first...The fridge is in my shed which is evaporative cooled, the elec side has no probs keepin cool....

Corey
AnswerID: 88396

Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 18:04

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 18:04
We've had our Chestcold 3 way FF for near on 20 years and its been a beauty - only blew a 240 V element once. All 3 modes now fine - did block a jet once but blew it clear ok (thankfully) - as others may have said, cleanliness means a lot with the gas lines - I've only ever had the one regulator, but some do play up I've heard - they don't cost a bundle, so if yours is anything but perfect, it might be $ well spent.... can you swap one from someone else's equipment as a trial ? Ours is Taiwanese (of course) - Grand Hall brand (what else), marked as...Model 7060R - LPG Q2.5 kg / HRP250-1750 R2.75 KPA
BOL !
FollowupID: 347303

Follow Up By: Cabbage - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 00:40

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 00:40
L.P.G = Liquefied Petroleum Gas which covers all sorts of gases
Autogas is usually a 50/50 mix of propane and butane.
This will not work properly in stoves,lights etc because of the jets used in these things.
Straight propane will work in a car and has an octane rating of about 97-98. Also known as LD5 ,AAA or 98.3.
Around capital cities and larger regional towns most of the Autogas is the 50/50 blend, but as mentioned before in the country it is mostly LD5.
Butane burns with a slightly yellow flame, propane with a blue flame.
Butane has a higher calorific value than propane but doesn't work as well in cars. Some gas you get has a higher butane content than the 50% as the companies have what they call summer/winter blends.
Safer all round to stick with big pump for the vehicle and the little one for the stove etc

Leave nothing but footprints $ take nothing but photos
FollowupID: 347326