GARMIN GPS which one under 500 bucks
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:17
peter in sa
Hi every one tell me which gps is the most popular to buy under 500 dallars, what are most people using in there 4wd,s when they go on that big trip each year cheer,s GREENDOG
Reply By: conman - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:40
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:40
garmin emap should be around 500 now
Follow Up By: peter in sa - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:50
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 22:50
Thanks conman i,ll have a look at it on the web site cheer,s GREENDOG
Follow Up By: David Au - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 10:21
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 10:21
Conman, unfortunately the Garmin eMap is gone>
eMap was a great GPS. I was hoping they were going to update it to 1,000 waypoints and 10,000 track points like they did some other models.
Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 00:17
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 00:17
You should figure out exacty what you want to use it for. Different models are designed for different people.
I use a Garmin Etrex Legend and it suits me but may not suit your purposes.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 07:32
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 07:32
For all things GPS this is, generally considered, to be the best reference source on the net:
http://gpsinformation.net/
I understand Johnny Appleseed in
Brisbane:
http://www.ja-gps.com.au/
provide excellent service and prices, although I haven't dealt with them.
I use a Garmin GPS 12XL which I bought about 5 or 6 years ago, excellent product and still in production I understand. But there are many others on the market now which would probably be better suited for your requirements. Let us know what you buy and how it performs please.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 10:12
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 10:12
Greendog, this is a question that everyone asks before buying their GPS. Everyone has a budget, but doesnt know what they want. I asked the same question before I bought a Garmin GPS76 with all the leads and a RAM mount etc for $450.
Sadly its the wrong question, as Utemad says above you have to ask yourself what you want to do with it and what features do you want.
Do you want it to tell you the direction your moving in or do you want it to act like a compass? (theres a $200ish difference in those answers for example). Do you want to know where you've been or to map out where you're going? Do you want maps in the GPS etc etc etc. If you don't know the ansers to these questions, Go to the Exploroz
Shop and buy the book called "GPS Vehicle Navigation in Australia" or even better, borrow a GPS unit from a friend for a few weeks and then at least you'll know what you don't want.
As sadi also above Johnny Appleseed in
Brisbane and
Melbourne are good references also. Good luck
Follow Up By: peter in sa - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:05
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:05
BONZ what you have explianed to me is what i excactly want from a gps ,what direction i,m moving in,were i,ve been,and to map out were i,m going ,and yes one that i can down load maps on to as
well DAVID has mentioned the GARMIN etrek LEGEND will that do the job mind you it will be in the car on trips away cheer,s GREENDOG
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:17
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:17
Great Greendog. Go to the johnny appleseed site and look around for one that meets all these needs. You need to think about screen size and other stuff too, e.g. you can get a Garmin GPS76Map or a Garmin GPS-V and theres heaps of them there. I would also be looking at a colour screen, as I find its easier to read, but I am a blind deaf old fart.
Follow Up By: peter in sa - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:22
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:22
THANKS BONZ i was just on appleseed sight looks good i,ll have a real good look a round at what,s on offer thanks for the info bonz
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:26
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:26
No worries, the sites a bit hard to find your way around, look at this prices page for price and feature info
Reply By: David Au - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 10:40
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 10:40
Peter in SA I would say a Garmin eTrek Legend
It gives you the Pacific base map and 8Mb memory to upload extra maps if you decide you want to buy the Mapsource.
I would suggest you get the Portable Mount and automotive mount to go with your GPS. For your GPS to be usable you need to be able to see it easily without fiddling and faffing around and loosing attention.
I would suggest you buy your cables from Gilsson Technologies as they are 1/3 price including freight of buying them in Australia.
We buy all our GPS gear from Johnny Appleseed great prices and great service and has all the accessories in stock.
Follow Up By: peter in sa - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:56
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:56
Thanks David for info mate you,ve put me on the right track i,l have a look at these items cheer,s GREENDOG
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 23:18
Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 23:18
You can get a Magellan Meridian Platinum, a windscreen mount and combo power lead (laptop and 12v connection at same time - or one or the other independantly) for under $500 inc freight.
I had a problem with
mine and Magellan Aust covered it under their international warranty without question as I provided proof of purchase.
Mine was shipped to a friend in the US who forwarded it too me but more over there are prepared to ship direct than there used to be.
The same setup here would be in excess of $1000. It is possible to change the basemap to the Australian basemap quite easily - do a net search for Magellan Meridian FAQ - and there are
places on the net where you can download them.
The detail maps on Magellans DiscoverAus software are great. Everywhere I have used them they have been pretty
well spot on. Others may tell you otherwise but paper maps arent perfect either. The only spot I noticed big differences so far were in the Wonnangatta where they re routed tracks after the fires.
I have brought in 1 platinum and 2 colors now. Very happy. Colors with access landed here for AU$570 (with w'screen mount and lead)