rust in new pajero 4wd

We have a 2 1/2 yr old Pajero Exceed that is rusting in all the seams under the car and particularly around fuel tank. Mitsubishi say not warrantable, however, we have only been on beach twice and also had an electronic rust proofing device fitted prior to taking delivery of vehicle from dealer. We purchased this vehicle brand new. It seems 5 yr corrosion warranty is useless. Pajero has only done 42,800 km. Has any one else had similar problems?

Reply By: ev700 - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 13:40

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 13:40
annoyed
That is a sorry story.
I am buying a new Cruiser and it will see the beach so I am interestede in any practical advice you receive from owners who have kept rust at bay.

For interest, did you hose after beach?

Electronic rust prevention - if this really worked, wouldn't Mr Mitsubishi and all other makers install it?

EV700
AnswerID: 88383

Follow Up By: annoyed - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 13:51

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 13:51
We have been visiting Fraser Island for more than 20 yrs, so we definately knew to wash the vehicle thoroughly. Just for the record, we expected the car would be under body rust proofed, as we knew nothing about electronic rust proofing devices. Dealer took it upon themselves to fit and after having so much trouble trying to buy our new Exceed in the first place, because of dealer, we accepted their word that it worked. For your information, I have found website from U.S which says that these devices are banned in U.S and Canada because they do not work on motor vehicles. After 6 weeks and 3 trips with car to dealer for them to inspect, they say that is not warrantable because it is environmental damage caused by sand and salt and car was not maintained properly. Our car is maintained perfectly, always serviced by dealer, up to now. In my opinion anyone thinking about buying a Mitsubishi 4WD should think again. I definately would not waste my money on anything Mitsubishi in the future.
FollowupID: 347277

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:41

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:41
Take your complaint over the dealers head to Mistubish Australia. Be courteous but insistent that the warranty be honored. Also pass on the dealres comments to them as you say they are unfounded and should be challenged. Also point them towards this post.

Keep us up to date.

FollowupID: 347295

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 17:25

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 17:25
...and see if you could get Mitsubishi to refund you the money for the electronic rust protector the dealer fitted (without prior approval and with your money...),that obviously didn't work.
FollowupID: 347406

Reply By: theshadows - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 13:55

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 13:55
You really need to scan your warrenty into a pdf form and let the other members have a look at it and its exclusions. Haveing not seen mitsu's warrenty I cannot coment. However good luck as If I remember holden warrenty I only covered construction and materials prep work in the body. Not general rust due to elements.
You might have to get it looked by an professional and see why it is rusting out.

shadow.
AnswerID: 88384

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:00

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:00
what a crock of bull.... 2 1/2 years is nothing , is the 5 year corrosion warranty in writing ?? It might be worthwhile contacting Mitsu aust head office, seeing as they are on a public relations push about the 'best backed cars' at the moment, threaten to go to the media if needed. Especially as the dealer fitted the electronic device to prevent rust, then the product did not perform as described in the transaction and therefore a refund is due at a minimum.

BTW which 'black magic' box ofbleepe did they fit ??

Not like you work in a coal mine is it ?? no reason for rust at that age.
AnswerID: 88385

Follow Up By: annoyed - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:09

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:09
Yes, the five year corrosion warranty is in writing, and apparently Dealer took digital photos and 'sand sample' and has contacted Mitsubishi Aust. head office. How he took sand sample is beyond me. i know you can't get rid of every grain of sand, but this car has been washed numerous times since last trip to Fraser Is. in February 2004.
I have threatened to go to the media, however a particular current affair program on channel nine is not interested because they say it may be a one off and sounds like a commercial dispute. Haven't they done stories before that are commercial disputes? So it looks like I won't be tuning into channel nine anymore either. This 'best backed cars' is crap.
Dealer told us to only deal with them for 6 weeks, and now when I ask for their response in writing, they don't want to know us. All he would say is contact Mitsubishi customer relations and quote case no. I did that and still was told basically 'stiff' it is not warrantable. All I can say is 'Bugger, We should have bought a Toyota'
FollowupID: 347278

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:12

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:12
Yes Bradley, Mitsubishi need all the sales they can get at the moment, they are spending a huge amount of money on advertising in all media. All those adds about the moon !!! What they are probably saying, "If you want something fixed under warranty," you've got more chance of bumping your bum on the moon" !!! Go for the throat Annoyed!!!
FollowupID: 347279

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:00

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:00
Sand sample, ha ha ha, what are they going to prove where the sand came from ? ie- desert, beach, kids sandpit ????

ANYWAY isnt the vehicle designed to be driven on sand, ISNT one of their key maketing points the paris/dakar rally pajeros, HMM yeah thats right the one driven in the freakin sand dunes @!@!

All you have done is use the vehicle for its designed and marketed purpose, and even gone beyond the norm for preventative measures (elec) .

Contact the various motoring writers in the papers and see if they are interested, if not an open letter to the editor should make it into print.

Even better, write an open letter to the GM of mitsu, the one on the ads, and cc it to the motoring writers etc.. and the producers of aca, t/t, 730 report etc.

you could even report it to consumer affairs, and the DOT as undue and excessive corrosion in the body seams will lead to a weakened body shell and therefore decreased crash protection.

Hit the pricks like a scattergun, maybee even go the old classic - sticker up the windows and park in the driveway of the dealership as much as possible...
FollowupID: 347287

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:03

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:03
forgot to say , my jackaroo is a 98 and has spent at least 70,000 k's on dirt and mud, and the only rust is where the windscreen was replaced and the idiots scratched off the galvanising at the top of the screen, and a small section is just starting (which i must fix) hell the stone chips dont even rust !!
FollowupID: 347288

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:05

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:05
Hi there, Ok if its got an electronic gizmo on it, get on to them. It will be interesting to see who they are going to pass the buck to. By the way, what brand of device is it? regards Michael
AnswerID: 88386

Reply By: annoyed - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:14

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:14
We rang the electronic rust proofing people first. They passed the buck to Mitsubishi as they say car has 5 yr corrosion warranty. Brand is eco-pro.
AnswerID: 88388

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:25

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:25
You should ask why they install these things if it already has a warranty..
I actually thought it was illegal to sell something with claims that just dont stand up. Interesting.....If your vehicle didn't have a written warranty, would the electronic device worked better... Thats how silly their response is.. Michael

PS. i'll see if they are on the web
FollowupID: 347283

Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:39

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:39
Personally I think there is no better rust prevention than a physical barrier and a physical check and clean. I wouldn't trust my 4x4 to an electronic device such as this as they are just not proven in the auto arena yet.

You say that you have been beach driving for 20 years but not in this vehicle. As you would know there are crap loads of places sand can get and I just found another place in my Rodeo that I have had for 4 years. You will NEVER get all the sand out regardless of how well or how many times you wash.

Having said that my Rodeo is 7 1/2 years old and I have had it for 4 years as I said above. It has been chemically rust proofed since I got it and it has zero rust in it. I inspect it regularly. So I would bebleepif I was you and had rust. However my friend has a 1999 Suzuki Jimny he has had since new and it has rusted right throught the floor where the jack is (under rear carpet) with flaking rust in the nearby seams due to incorrect cleaning techniques. I also saw a 2001 Prado which had rust under it in a car yard. The front bash plate had rusted right through! So it doesn't take long for rust to set in if you don't look after it properly.

Kick Mitsubishis arse anyway.
AnswerID: 88391

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:41

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 14:41
BTW

Since the dealer had the electronic device fitted for you then I'd be going for their throat too. They said it would work and it obviously hasn't. NOW THEY HAVE TO PAY!!!
FollowupID: 347285

Follow Up By: annoyed - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:25

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 15:25
Our previous Pajero had a physical rust proofing barrier under. We ordered it when we ordered car. We had that car for four years and it went to the beach numerous times and when we sold it it was still in excellent condition. We always look after our cars properly. My brother has a Nissan Patrol, it has never been rust proofed, and it has been to fraser once. He also uses his patrol to launch his boat, and there are no signs of rust after 5 yrs of him owning vehicle. My other brother has a Toyota and his has no signs of rust either after 6 yrs. If anyone is interested try this web site. www.corrosion-doctors.org and read about electronic rust proofing. The bottom line is that our 4WD should not be rusting after such a short time. Mitsubishi say in their books that car is treated at the factory to prevent corrosion. Did our 4WD pass through the assembly line during lunch and miss out on this supposed protection?
Did it sit around on a dock somewhere for months before we took delivery? Obviously Mitsubishi would not tell us. In my opinion, because they think we are 'little people' they don't want to know about our 4WD.
I have got news for them. I will not rest until I have this matter resolved!!
FollowupID: 347292

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 16:11

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 16:11
annoyed..where are you, who is the dealer?. I have just gone through the hoops with mitsubshi over extremely bad ethical sales practices in their Zupps dealership in Bris. Your story sounds like their form. I ended up walking away and by the sounds of it I was lucky as I spend a bit of time on the beach. By the way my 2001 Jack has not got an ounce of rust in it after 4 years. I can't see why the erp crew can just walk away with their hands in the air. It's their gadget that has failed.
AnswerID: 88394

Follow Up By: annoyed - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 16:35

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 16:35
Dealer is Toowong Mitsubishi, who were taken over by Motorama in 2002 just after we purchased our car. We had a nightmare ordeal buying this car, and believe it or not the salesman was the only person we dealt with that was professional in my opinion. Even new car manager had an attitude as did finance manager because we arranged our own lease finance. It seems nearly impossible to find decent Mitsubishi dealer, as we went to a few before buying from Toowong. You were lucky, and I hope you didn't end up buying one of these rust buckets. We have been mucked around so much by dealer and now need to get onto erp people, however, i think this whole exercise is better handled by our lawyers.
FollowupID: 347298

Follow Up By: Member - Nobby - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 17:06

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 17:06
And they scratch their heads and wonder why Mitsubshi are in trouble. Funny out of all Aus. you get two dealers that are obviously the same in one city.I rang consumer affairs and they were most helpful, but as they had done nothing illegal (only telling lies) they could do nothing. The woman I spoke to has a Pajero and loves Camping at Dble Isl. We spoke for about 1/2 hour. Would be helpful if you got her. I didn't get her name. Zupps lost four Pajero sales because of their attitude towards me that I know for certain(Before I started bagging them on this forum).
FollowupID: 347301

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 17:44

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 17:44
Denying your claim is standard practice unfortunately. They probably think its funny (though sick). If you start making the right noises they will most likely come round soon. Its crook, but you have to work harder on them. See Paul Vahry's tale of woe from NZ re his Jackaroo with a broken chassis (search for chassis, this forum) - he was told to go away - he did his homework at great length with quite some time expended - he now has another loan vehicle while they try and find out what to do with his ! Worst of all, they denied his claim even though they would get Isuzu recall notices - a recall that Paul unearthed. Get the picture ? (his car was about 10 years old, but they are now entertaining the claim).They cannot disprove you claim for good maintenace and effective washing away of salt residue....they even sold you a rust proofing system !! You should be on a winner, but they sure as hell will be need to dragged to the conclusion. Though head office would need to foot the bill for repairs, the dealer must make nothing or they would be into helping you. Re the rust proofing system - if that is a 3rd party add-on, it might be a complication but that is not your problem. While being polite, just show them that you are going to persist AND take careful note of everything they tell you for future reference - its more likely than not that you will come out of this without a cent lost - your time and effort is another issue.As others have mentioned, their vehicles have survived years with little or no rust - my Mazda Bravo went 9 years with no rust and no leaks - Our current Jackaroo seems the same - I never buy extras either - no proofings, no tinting - with respect, I just see them as scams - just pay for it as made and go. Hell....the Exceed has everything anyway !
AnswerID: 88398

Follow Up By: annoyed - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 18:26

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 18:26
Thanks for your feedback. I will do more investigating. I have documented everything since our first phone call to dealer, times, dates, who we spoke to and what we were told, and have handed all to our solicitor. The Exceed has an added extra, RUST! after a short time. I bet they don't put that in their advertising!!
FollowupID: 347304

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 19:34

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 19:34
Hi Banjo, I agree, this guy has nothing to lose, and not a lot to prove. Mitsubishi gave him a 5 year warranty against rust. So they put on paper that THIS vehicle "would not rust" within a 5 year period. So they were wrong and now the warranty should come into play. Even added "extra Protection" with that electronic rubbish off their own bat.
So if all has failed, then Mitsubishi obviously have not adhered to "Best Practice" when they have "rustproofed this vehicle". So whats the Warranty for???
FollowupID: 347309

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 12:16

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 12:16
Yes there is a 5 year corrosion warranty. Does not apply to beach driving though. Read the small print.
FollowupID: 347362

Reply By: Richard - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 21:29

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 21:29
I have a 2001 NM Exceed which has had limited beach work and although have surface rust where I have scrapped the bottom of the vehicle over rocks have not not noticed any serious rust.

You could always send a letter of demand to both Mitsu and the Dealer and see what happens.

AnswerID: 88414

Reply By: greghud - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 01:20

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 01:20
its the same old saying the squeky wheal that gets the oil.
i have had nothing but bad experence's with mitsui's, bout all my mates now run toyotas coz they last better, ditch the leather trim and go for lifespan.
AnswerID: 88438

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 09:54

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 09:54
Word.
FollowupID: 347336

Reply By: 100 Series - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 05:55

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 05:55
Park the thing out the front of the dealership on their busiest sales day, or any day as Milton Rd is quiet busy, especially in peak hour in the mornings. Put a sign on it saying LEMON or similar. Leave a note on the window for people to read stating the hassles you have had with this dealership
AnswerID: 88439

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 11:23

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 11:23
The dealership have done nothing wrong. The car is not designed for the beach . IT IS MADE OF METAL !!!!
FollowupID: 347354

Reply By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 09:44

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 09:44
I hate to tell you this mate but you are on your own with this one. The corrosion warranty only covers for "normal use" of which beachuse is not normal use. As soon as the manufacturer knows you have taken that vehicle onto the beach you void all warranties for corrosion ( including additional protection warranties ) . Read all the small print and you will see this is the case.

I know a guy who is a professional fishermen and he takes his Hilux onto the beach for all of his work , it has electronic protection and more gunk sprayed on it than you could throw on by hand. He trades is vehicle every 2 years as it is rooted by that time. Any vehicle will rust if takne onto the beach regularly , it is a chemical reaction which cannot be reversed.

Get the Pajero cleaned up and detailed and get rid of it !!
AnswerID: 88454

Follow Up By: tcp_ip_boy - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 11:47

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 11:47
I would guess you are a car dealer Johnno1?

lol
FollowupID: 347358

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 12:00

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 12:00
No.

I am a realist.
FollowupID: 347359

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:23

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 10:23
Go to the state consumer affairs,you can find this on the web.
In victoria you can lodge your complaint on line also.
They are obliged to follow through and the company to respond.
If your are stuck with the problem fish oil is the solution,sprayed inside the panels it will creep through all the gaps and kill the rust.
AnswerID: 88460

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 11:13

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 11:13
Horse crap.

You would need to totally strip the car bare to get that stuff where it needs to go.
FollowupID: 347350

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:28

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:28
Hi Johnno1,

Was Johnny5 taken?

Could you please explain why this guys 4x4 is rusting and no one elses is?

You seem to be a pretty fart smeller.
FollowupID: 347371

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:00

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:00
I could say its because its a Mitsubishi but that would be a cheap shot. I would put it down to carless maintenance and not getting the appiled rustproofing instead of that electronic crap.
FollowupID: 347378

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:09

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:09
That is the most intelligent thing you have said in this thread. Why go on with the other crap when this is what you really meant?

Unfortunately for you that suggestion has already said. Sorry you wasted your time.

I think I'll go for a drive on the beach in my rust free 4wd now.

Bye.
FollowupID: 347386

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:27

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:27
WHy go on with all of the rest ?

Oh you mean the part about beach driving voiding corrosion warranties ?

Yes well it actually does and is therefore an intelligent comment as it was garnered from intelligence from the manufacturer directly.

Sorry if this all flies over your head.

Happy beach driving .
FollowupID: 347393

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:38

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:38
I apologise for being such a dummy. You really have opened my eyes.

I do enjoy my beach driving. But after what you have enlighted us with I am very concerned.

FollowupID: 347394

Reply By: annoyed - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:31

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:31
Johnno 1,

I have warranty in front of me. I can find no fine print relating to beach. The owners manual has instructions for sand driving and also for crossing streams. If it was not designed to do these things, why give instructions on how to do it?

Maybe all of the 'metal' ships should keep out of the water as obviously salt water and metal don't agree with each other
AnswerID: 88500

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:42

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:42
Don't want to be a spoil sport, but not sure fighting on the forum is going to help.

I'd also suggest lodging with consumer affairs and advise that you are receiving no support from either the dealer or Mitsubishi on the matter.

Keep a detailed diary of everything. Even go out and purchase a diary just for this and write on the relevant pages. Record times of every phone call etc and the notes of what was discussed, to whom you spoke to and what their position is. IF it goes to court (and that includes small claims), you'll need it or it will all be heresay.

The other thing to note, is that there are written and implies warranties, both of which count. You don't get the written warranty until AFTER you have taken delivery of the car. The product must still serve the purpose for which it was designed. Warranties are provided by law, not by salesman. Written warranties are designed to try and LIMIT their responsibilities under the law, not provide protection. You may need to see a solicitor about the specific Trade Practices Act components that apply here.

Metal rusts, that's a fact. However, it can be protected from rust and it can be cleaned as well. 2.5 years is not much time though to be having problems like you're having.

The only other thing anyone on this forum should be suggesting is GOOD LUCK. (And I mean that in a positive not sarcastic way.)

Smocky.
FollowupID: 347373

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:02

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:02
So by your reckoning you could leave the PAjero on the beach for 5 years and even half in the water if you like and the warranty will cover it ?? LOL !!

Beach driving voids corrosion warranties. Simple as that.
FollowupID: 347379

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:41

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:41
C'mon Johnno,

everyone knows metal rusts and no-one said anything about leaving a car on the beach for 5 years. And you should stop laughing at yourself.

HOWEVER, as many have pointed out, the advertising campaigns promote driving on sand, the instruction manual describes HOW to drive on sand and this is PART of what the vehicle is sold to do. The warranty documentation means jack sh*t when you get to arguments like this because OF COURSE they will say anything to limit their liability.

Remember when you HAD to have the vehicle serviced at the dealer to honour your warranty? That was proven as bollocks too.

What I suggested is that annoyed speaks to a solicitor and takes the matter further. As I would or any reasonable person would in the same situation.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 347384

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:38

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:38
The advertising on cars promotes racing through the mountains as well but you don't think they would cover you if you ran off the road do you ?
FollowupID: 347396

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:49

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:49
Don't be so certain, even though it sounds absurd.

You can't advertise a product portraying it to be fit for a certain task and then claim no responsibility when it is used in that fashion. In your example, racing around a mountain is illegal and crashing is covered by accident insurance, it isn't claim against a faulty product.

Remember Singo getting off the speeding fine because his Bentley was built for that ????

You cannot mislead people and IMHO, I reckon annoyed can feel pretty annoyed.
FollowupID: 347401

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 17:37

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 17:37
Johnno1,

As annoyed said, there is NOTHING in the warranty about beach driving (or at a guess the salted roads in the northern hemisphere) voiding the warranty.

A simple bit of law for you, if it not SPECIFICALLY excluded, it is included......
FollowupID: 347410

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 17:38

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 17:38
I know what you mean.

Look at what the Tv ads reckon a Ford Territory can do .. LOL !!
FollowupID: 347411

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:38

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:38
The electronic gizmo must be causing the rust by creating stray currents. These gizmos don't prevent corrosion, but stray currents will cause it. I have never heard of or seen rust in any modern Japanese car, including Pajeros driven on beaches. What makes your vehicle different? Answer - the electronic gizmo. You are dealing with a shonky dealer, and your particular vehicle has rust - I don't think you can label Pajeros rust buckets on that basis.
AnswerID: 88501

Follow Up By: annoyed - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:48

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 13:48
Bob,

I am not labelling all Pajeros rust buckets, however, ours seems to be. this is not the first Pajero we have owned from new and will say again our first Pajero was fine, and it travelled to the beach a lot more times than this one has. It is unfortunate, because I like the vehicle to drive and it performs very well on the beach as well as on road.
FollowupID: 347374

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 14:56

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 14:56
If you spent any time with fishermen you would realise they do rust and they rust quickly , no matter what you do to it.
FollowupID: 347377

Reply By: annoyed - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 14:10

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 14:10
We do not want to fight with any one. The reason for post in the first place was purely to find out if any one else had experienced similar problems.
AnswerID: 88508

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:16

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:16
G'day annoyed,

my response wasn't to you, I reckon you've got a fair gripe. I just didn't think Johnno was being all that helpful and then he went and proved it for me with his next post.

If you have a friendlt solicitor, this might be a good start, just to find out the facts. As I said earlier, the warranty bit of paper is always going to be designed in the seller's favour. I've written them before and you always try to limit your liabilities to the fullest extent of the law. However, there ARE actually laws relating to all of this and you might have a case. Particularly if you push the fact that this one and not all of them are no good.

Good luck, hope you end up getting it sorted out.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 347388

Reply By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:14

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 15:14
This makes you laugh though.

Q.

2005 MODELS
At Mitsubishi, we are so confident in the quality, reliability and durability of the cars we build that we are backing all of our 2005 models with our most extensive warranties. This list is headed by a 10-year/100,000 mile Powertrain Limited Warranty*, a 5-year/60,000 mile fully transferable Bumper-to-Bumper New Vehicle Limited Warranty, a 7-year/100,000 mile Anti-Corrosion/Perforation Limited Warranty and 5-year/Unlimited-miles Roadside Assistance. So now, when you drive off in your new Mitsubishi, you'll leave with even more peace of mind, knowing you can enjoy it to the fullest for many years to come.

http://www.mitsubishicars.com/company/customer_relations/warranty/warranty_faq1.html
AnswerID: 88515

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:21

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:21
Now that IS interesting.

As I said earlier, warranties are always written BY the seller FOR the seller and in this case they are using it as a means to gain sales.

You never know annoyed, this advertising push plus your rust bucket (sorry!), might be newsworthy after all.

Interesting that there are no details about what the anti-corrosion warranty is limited to (given that it is a limited warranty).
FollowupID: 347390

Reply By: annoyed - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:35

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:35
smocky,

Thanks for your encouragement. Our particular warranty says nothing about being 'limited'. Of course it was written to apply to 2002 model cars. Obviously the new warranties are worded differently and are being pushed to attract sales. I was wondering if johnno worked for Mitsu. By the way, we have everything in the hands of our solicitor. I'll keep you posted.

Just a note: We are not commercial fishermen. I wouldn't think two trips to the beach in 2 1/2 yrs was excessive beach driving.
AnswerID: 88523

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:39

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:39
No I don't work for Mitsu. Insulted that you would think so as I don't like them as vehicles at all and no that is not excessive beach use.

Have you been shown how to correctly clean after a beach trip ?
FollowupID: 347397

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:42

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:42
This might help, have a read of this:

QLD Office of Fair Trading

Problem with the warranty document is that it is given to you AFTER you have purchased the car. You also have statutory rights and I'm sure your solicitor will be well aware of it all.

Keep pushing the point that yours is unique and must be faulty. Otherwise, ALL Pajero's would be coming back when clearly they aren't. In other words "you must have a faulty one".

Keep that diary too. You'll need it.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 347398

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:43

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 16:43
Have you seen this ? Was it this brand ?

http://www.couplertec.com.au/product/4wd.html

Fear no more, because we will guarantee your 4WD won’t rust after beach driving and that’s in writing
FollowupID: 347399

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 18:15

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 18:15
Dont know what your long term plans were for the vehicle but I would suggest you try to get rid of it sooner than later coz once rust starts it can only be slowed. i hope you get some satisfaction but just as a guess I would say something has happened to your vehicle at some stage probablly pre delivery. We bought an f truck that spent alot of time in a dealers yard in a coastal town before we bought it new and converted it into a camper it also started rusting prematurely despite an inland location
AnswerID: 88545

Reply By: brett - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 22:36

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 22:36
I have an NP that has had small signs of rust which sound similar to yours but only in one spot on the edge of the chassis metal where it's welded to the floorpan, also on the edges of metal sheet around the radiator, it was pretty much there from new and hasn't got any worse, I checked a few brand new ones at the dealer, most had some signs of rust on the edges of metal around the front apron. Mines 2 years old and I've driven on the beach and it hasn't got any worse, it looks exactly the same as it did 2 years ago, although i recently sprayed some fishoil around the front when i put the bullbar on. I wouldn't worry too much about it.
Now for all the experts do you have the Pajero corrosion warranty in front of you??? well if not it mentions absolutely nothing about beach driving, driving on the beach does not void your corrosion warranty. Also all corrosion warranties, holden, nissan , Toyota, whoever... are perforation only, as in you need to have a hole in a panel caused by rust to make a claim. A bit of surface rust on the edge of a panel under the car does not warrant a claim. I do agree there shouldn't be any, but it's not that bad. If you have any pics you can email them to me if you like and i''ll compare to mine.
AnswerID: 88604

Reply By: Rob! - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 11:21

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 11:21
Annoyed

Very sorry to hear your troubles. Certainly wouldn't want to be in your shoes. Even if you win your battle it's the time and stress that really takes it out of you.

As for the warranty being given AFTER you buy the car -
There was a case a few years back where a girl bought a ticket to a concert (at festival hall I think) the concert was for over 18's only. She wasn't over 18. So naturally they wouldn't let her in and wouldn't give her a refund. The conditions, such as no refunds and no under 18's, were printed on the back of the ticket. However, the conditions were not available to her until she bought the ticket. She took it to court and won.

Also - as to electronic rust prevention read Triple J's Dr Karl's comments,
Car Rust and How to Stop It

as a matter of interest, Dr Karl does a lot of travel around australia and has many theories relating to outback travel. Such as corrugated roads, metal fatigue, engine oils and magnetic turtles with gps.

R.

AnswerID: 88657

Reply By: Savvas - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 13:40

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 13:40
Annoyed,

There's lots of good opinions and advice offered here. That facts are that -

1. Mitsubishi offers an warranty against corrosion.
2. The electronic anti-rust device fitted also has a warranty.
3. Your Pajero is rusting ... it shouldn't be.

Cut through everything, get all you correspondence together and just head off to Qld's dept of fair trading equivalent. The sooner the better.

Mitsubishi, the dealer and the anti-rust device manufacturer are all liable and they will need to work out amongst themselves how this gets fixed. You will need the dept of fair trading to arbitrate on this one as none of these parties will willingly accept liability. As soon as one of them does, the other parties will absolve themselves of any responsibility which could have flow-on affects for the rest of you warranties.

As for sand samples, i can park near a wind blown beach and get sand blown up into the chassis. The samples prove nothing, it does not prove that the vehicle has been on the beach or in salt water.

Get to the department of fair trading (or whatever there is in Qld) asap!
AnswerID: 88879