What is that chemical smell

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 22:35
ThreadID: 18519 Views:2235 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
G'day all, just a little 'happening this past week they interest a few of you.

SWMBO starts bitching a few nights ago about the ‘chemical smell’ in the garage.

Your smelling things and accusing me as usual I retort.

This ‘robust’ dialogue continues until she gets me out into the garage to shut her up.

Bugger! it absolutely stinks of petrol.

Anyway a quick search identifies that my Bunnings GMC 850W genie that I have ‘blown my bags about numerous times on this forum’ has started to ‘persist’ fuel out of the outlet tap area and nothing I tried would stop it.

Sooooo! Dig out the credit card slips from April 04 and find the relevant one and down to Bunnings I go yesterday.

30Mins later I’m home again with a brand new one. No cost – straight exchange, pick your own from the stock pile.

Unpack it, fuel it, two pulls and away it goes. Smooth as, compared to the other one.

No fuel leaks and pumping out 15/16V DC and 230V AC

Now the good old SWMBO used to carry on a treat when I fired the other one up about the smoke and noise. This one is quiet as and no visible smoke/fumes.

I also noticed that the 12V lead was a very much ‘up market one’ compared to the one with the leaking unit. Must be a new generation model.

This replacement is the third one I’ve had. The first one P E E’ D fuel everywhere when I first filled it. = rtd it and got number 2 which I just returned for P E E I N G fuel again, so I hope this one is OK.

I still believe they are great value for money and the purpose for what I use it for. I don’t think I would use it to power life support equipment though.

And Bunnings service policy is just ace , also it is only 1km from place which makes things real easy.

Reply By: Brad and His Disco - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 22:59

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 22:59

Was the second one very noisy, I have just bought one and know i couldnt use it near any other campers because of the noise. Wasnt sure if it was normal or not.
AnswerID: 88433

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 00:05

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 00:05
I didn't think it was all that noisy, just that 2stroke 'popping' sound they make.

This new one is smooth as silk and no smoke/fumes to speak of.

It makes a noise when I run a power tool, mainly as it revs up.

If I was going to use it in a camp site I most probably would dig a hole as far away as the extension lead would let me, place the gennie in it facing the exhaust outlet away from the 'maddening crowd' and mound the dirt I had dug out up as a sound reflecting berm between the gennie and humans.

I have experienced this and it works a treat until the wind blows towards you across the gennie and brings whatever noise it makes to visit you.

I use mine for power tools at this stage so it affect me too much.

FollowupID: 347324

Reply By: japmel - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 23:12

Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 23:12
Lucy

G'Day Mate
Whenever I am not useing my Generator or wipper snipper or any other stroke motor for a couple of weeks or more I always drain the fuel, As I have found that the fuel lines seem to react with the 2 stoke oil fuel mix and leak.

It dosen't seem to happen with 4 stroke motors so I presume it must be the oil.

Has anyone else noticed this?

japmel
AnswerID: 88434

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 00:08

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 00:08
Thanks for that, I've never had this problem before on 2 strokes, but there is always a first time
FollowupID: 347325

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 17:29

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 17:29
Had the same problem with my near new whipper snipper leaking fuel from the hose to the carby. Took it back to the repairman and they changed it over at no cost. Said it was a problem with the 2 stroke mix and the grade of hose.
FollowupID: 347408

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 07:36

Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 07:36
Ken,

I had similar problems, first one ran like a dog, second one leaked. I went for a refund rather than a third one. Bunnings were great, no questions asked.

From all accounts when you finally get a good one, they're great.

Persistence should pay off.

AnswerID: 88441