Bottled V's Canned BEER on trips

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:15
ThreadID: 18589 Views:5648 Replies:25 FollowUps:27
did a search thru archves... couldn't find aything so here we go...

it's quite a crucial decision.. do you fellow forumites take CANNED or BOTTLED beer on trips (minimum 3 'nights) ?

considering where they are stored? how many you (really!) need? how many need to be kept cold at a time? road conditions (corrugations v's glass?)? how far the closest bottlo is if you run out?

my choice... CANS. simply fit more of them in!

Reply By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:26

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:26
I am not a lover of beer from cans, much prefer glass.

But on longer trips I buy cans for a few reasons. Less chance of breakeage, quicker to get cold, take up less space, etc.
They are also easier to dispose of as you can crush them up, this is particularly important where you might be carting your rubbish with you for several days.
AnswerID: 88821

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:35

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:35
I'm with Still.............. for the exact same reason. But if you're worried about running out, you need a bigger fridge! But seriously, if you have a 6 pack in and replace a can everytime you take one out you won't have a prob.
The only down fall is that sometimes the cans rub a hole through and leak bear everywhere so place them randomly in the fridge or wrap them in paper or something.

Leroy
FollowupID: 347694

Follow Up By: Squizzy - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:37

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:37
One way tp prevent the cans from rubbing through is to take them all out of the carton and place a thick rubber band top and bottom of each can to prevent them from rubbing together.
Use the rubber bands like Aust Post use on the letter bundles.
Works for me over corrugations, etc.
Wine bladders are also a problem with them rubbing through against the carton, so take them out and wrap them in a tea towel or similar to prevent this chaffing action and replace in the carton again.

Geoff.
FollowupID: 347710

Follow Up By: David Au - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:29

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:29
Squizzy I have never heard of wine casks causing any problems. I always carry red wine in casks and never had an issue, and never ever heard of anybody having an issue. Wine bladders are so incredibly tough, I just cannot see it been a problem with cardboard. I fail to see there could be sufficient movement of a wine bladder to cause chaffing.
FollowupID: 347715

Follow Up By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:44

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:44
On a recent trip my mate had the experience of a leaking bladder in a 2L cask of port, it had been abraded by the cardboard box.
We had travelled over some pretty corrugated roads though.
FollowupID: 347717

Follow Up By: Squizzy - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:25

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:25
Well David Au, I am afraid it does happen when you travel some of our great country through the corrugated roads that we have.

I am talking serious corrugations for this to happen, not the ordinary run of the mill stuff like Birdsville Track, Oodnadatta Track, etc.

Geoff.
FollowupID: 347726

Reply By: Gossy - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:30

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:30
Being only new to 4wd'ing my mate took bottles on our Googs Track trip. I have a canvas bag on the outside which hangs on the spare wheel as a rubbish bag. The bottles took up heaps of room and extra weight. A real pain. We have learnt. Now he only takes cans. We stomp on them to get them flat and we can fit hundreds in the bag as apposed to probably 40 bottles. No debate in this for me. Also much better for the environment if you accidentaly leave anything behind (broken glass).
AnswerID: 88823

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:31

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:31
Cans can be killed fairly easily too, still prefer them. Try to store somewhere near the middle of the vehicle to minimize severe jolts
AnswerID: 88824

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:33

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:33
Cans are easier to rid yourself of after drinkin...
Better takin spirits anyway, 1 bottle of Vodka + 1 bottle of lemonade takes up less room in car..
AnswerID: 88828

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:36

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:36
That's fine if you like spirits!

Leroy
FollowupID: 347695

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:10

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:10
That's exactly what I take. However I prefer orange soft drink to accompany my vodka. Beer tastes like shyza anyway.
FollowupID: 347704

Follow Up By: Rob! - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:40

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:40
Danzka vodka comes in an aluminium bottle. Chills fast and is virtually unbreakable.

R.
FollowupID: 347711

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:07

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:07
I've never heard of that one but if is a premix then I prefer to buy a bottle of vodka and a bottle of softdrink for $30-35 all up. Instead of $12 for 4 small drinks. I spose you could always pour the vodka into a plastic bottle but I never have.
FollowupID: 347713

Follow Up By: Rob! - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:16

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:16
It's a pretty good vodka. Tastes like absolute and is about the same price, and it does chill well in the aluminium bottle so it's great for camping. Also FYI if you drink it straight (chilled) you don't get hangovers. Trust me:).

R.
FollowupID: 347714

Reply By: Rigor - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:43

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:43
Cans are the way to go Mozza , lighter on the way out and crush when empty , then only a small package to bring back.

Cheers Dave L
AnswerID: 88834

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:45

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:45
mozza
cans definitely for trip
chuck em in fire when empty and they melt away to nothing so less rubbish to cart
just in case someone gets upset by that idea we check before we vacate to see if any unburnt remains and take with us
AnswerID: 88837

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:00

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:00
Funny how this belief has carried over from the bash, burn and bury days. Aluminium, alfoil, plastic etc won't melt away to nothing, they simply reduce in volume and burn off any volatiles, some plastics being quite toxic. The number of camp fires we see with blobs of Al sitting in the bottom are everywhere. Not having a go at you as you say you pick up the unburt remains but not everyone does.
FollowupID: 347700

Reply By: MrBitchi - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:55

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:55
Cans. Lighter, faster cooling, safer. Only ever had one puncture.
Also find I can freeze cans and use them as an ice brick. Some purists may well argue but I find some brands survive this OK (VB), others don't (XXXX).
Cheers, hick,,,, John.
AnswerID: 88840

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:05

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:05
Hi Mozza,I use cans ,and lots off them.I put about 25 can in a soft chilly bin with a bag of ice and I replace cans as I go.This is one of the most important cargos in the school bus
regards uppy
AnswerID: 88841

Reply By: flappan - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:05

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:05
I prefer bottles , because I still think it tastes better , and they stay colder longer , but , the simple convenience of Cans cant be overlooked.

For a day or two . . . bottles.

Longer or space at a premium . . . yep . . cans.
AnswerID: 88842

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 13:16

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 13:16
and they stay colder longer

Drink faster... :P
FollowupID: 347735

Reply By: David Au - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:23

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:23
Canned - take up less space, no chance of breakage and cans squash down so less rubbish to take home.
AnswerID: 88847

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:51

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:51
Its cans for me, poured into a glass usually (drinking from metal spoils the taste for me) - we wrap the cans in paper to stop the vibrations/abrasion factor - squash them flat when done.
AnswerID: 88855

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:54

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:54
I was in Innaminka one day and the semi had just pulled up with the beer supplies, got talking to the driver and pub owner about breakages on the trip up, because they had a lot of pallets of stubbies, they both said stubbies survive the trip better than cans! But I take cans, for all the reasons stated above.

AnswerID: 88856

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:11

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:11
Cans or stubbies, I take what I happen to have at the time. But if you do use stubbies, make sure they stay upright!

I had a sixpack (shrinkwrapped) tip onto its side and lost one stubbie on some corrugations. The glass was contained in the shrinkwrap, but the beer was everywhere.

AnswerID: 88859

Follow Up By: bushfix - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 13:52

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 13:52
sniff, sniff...sniff
my commiserations Captain, that is quite distressing. Hope you had some backup. There is something about losing beer that really hurts.
Mat sent me a photo of a semi that had lost its Grolsch all over the blacktop, that was tough.
FollowupID: 347740

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:41

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:41
Yeah I'm a bit like Captain - I take what I have at the time. Ran into some interesting characters up at Seisia in 2001 who had an entirely different approach. These guy, all from Ballina in NSW, were up there on a fishing trip. They had a total of 4 vehicles with one (troopy I think) set aside just to carry their beer. Seems they had home brewed for a good 6 months before going and had their brew in 1.25 litre PET bottles. Now I'm not one for home brew usually - but this was a pretty good drop and it all survived the trip. Of course they wouldn't be able to do that now - would cost them an absolute fortune in fines and confiscations.
AnswerID: 88873

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 13:26

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 13:26
I homebrew in plastic bottles as well. You can purchase Coopers plastic 740ML (long necks). 30 of them for one batch, equivalent to about 5 dozen cans. Only problem is that I have to bring them back.

If I'm not carrying my onw, and if I'm camping close to a shop, bottles. If I'm camping away from a shop, cans.

Home brew usually tastes better that commecial beers when not that cold.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 347738

Reply By: bigfella - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:03

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:03
As an avid homebrewer the comments about PET bottles are correct. I have taken them to Cape York, The Kimberly, Central Australia and across to WA from NSW and never had a problem. I have a Chescold 3 way Fridge and keeps the beer just right. Homebrew should be drank at 6 - 8 degrees to get the true flavour. I have been brewing for over 20 years and any beer should be drank at that temperature to gain its full flavour. Some commercial beers need to be very cold to conceal that horrible acidic taste they have.
Just the opion of a very biased homebrewer:)

AnswerID: 88880

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:34

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:34
bigfella
Think I'll home brew. Any tips on set-up and method, or just go out and buy Coopers set-up?
thanks
EV700
FollowupID: 347750

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:09

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:09
That's all music to my ears bigfella.

I agree totally. The Germans must laugh at what we drink. Some of the premium's aren't too bad and I'll have a Coopers any day.

I agree totally with temperature too. Goof thing about homebrew (and other good commercial beers) is that if it's not that cold, it's still pleasant to drink. With a VB, if it's a warm day, you pretty much have to skull it before it warms up a bit.

In response to ev700, I reckon go buy yourself the Coopers Home Brew starter pack and you can't go wrong. Start simple and don't try any tricks until you have a lot of experience. And whatever you use, wash it twice.
FollowupID: 347757

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 00:21

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 00:21
Smocky
EV700
FollowupID: 347883

Reply By: bigfella - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:42

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:42
Mate, I own a homebrew shop but this forum is not the place for me to flog it on.

Contact me at stoutman@bigpond.net.au and I will give you some advice.
AnswerID: 88888

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 00:22

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 00:22
bigfella
Tks will do.
EV700
FollowupID: 347884

Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:07

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:07
ev700, i bought a keg set up from bigfella, good service, cant go wrong.
Untill i work out a system to take a keg on camp, ill stick with taking cans, for the same reason as eveyone else, use a cooler and they stay cold just as good as stubbies.......
AnswerID: 88889

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 00:24

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 00:24
PaulJ
Thank you
EV700
FollowupID: 347885

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:45

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:45
i prefer cans for beer and cheap pre-mixed scotch, take as little glass as possible whenever we go out,

Hey you could buy the carlton cold in the small pet bottles , but i wouldnt force anyone to drink that !!
AnswerID: 88899

Reply By: Julian - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:46

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:46
You can't get decent beer in cans. So its Coopers stubbies for me.
AnswerID: 88900

Follow Up By: Member - Mozza (Newcastle-NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:53

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:53
whic could have lead me to my next question> what do you class as a 'decent' beer?

me - anything cold (except VB)
FollowupID: 347764

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 16:17

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 16:17
If I drink Light (yeah , yeah , thats NOT drinking beer) , then I prefer Sterling , which is only in Bottles AFAIK.

Hanh in cans gets a run from time to time.

Or the old standby . . . Tooheys Draught.
FollowupID: 347772

Follow Up By: DP - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 21:36

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 21:36
Julian - keep an eye out for Coopers "Dr Tim's".

It's Coopers Pale Ale in a can... best of both worlds!

FollowupID: 347853

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 01:43

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 01:43
Yep....second that DP.

Coopers put Pale Ale in a can, but it tasted slightly different so they rebadged it as Dr. Tims. Good marketing hey!

Like a few before I hit the Red.

FollowupID: 347886

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 17:20

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 17:20
cans
AnswerID: 88917

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 18:26

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 18:26
Bottles. Never seen crownies in cans.
AnswerID: 88926

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 19:01

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 19:01
Usually cans on long trips afew VB & the rest Hahns light not my 1st choice but here in Vic the six pack is shrink wrapped, as we are touring I load about six cans spread about the fridge each morning & if I take 1 out I put 1 in.
never lost a can on 2 x 16 day trips mostly off road including lots of corrigations .

We decant some cask wine into a pump type water bottle to put in the fridge for the wife & it saves space.

Also use empty wine bladders inflated to put in the fridge to take up empty space.

AnswerID: 88931

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 19:41

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 19:41
Reading all these replies I was wondering if one took some designer drugs with one, you could save on space, weight, rubbish disposal etc and still get off your face. Maybe the fridge won't even be necessary then.
AnswerID: 88938

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 20:29

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 20:29
Of course we all only drink alchohol in moderation, Willie, not to "get off our collective faces". You are correct if one was to take designer drugs with oneself it would certainly save space but one probably would still need the fridge for when one got those hunger pangs.
FollowupID: 347826

Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 21:27

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 21:27
Think Ill stick to the old adage of "a carton per man per day" ,at least the drug called alcholic beverage was tried and made legal before even Noah was a babe in arms,, Have a MERRY Christmass ,or a MERRY holiday season ,which ever one cares to follow.
FollowupID: 347847

Reply By: Glenno - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 22:14

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 22:14
Cans used to be great before this new can design came out. Now they dont "lock" when stacked. so my Engel no longer stands 3 cans to the roof. I rang coke (as did someone else here in a previous post), and they basically said due to consumer demand blah blah get stuffed.

So suffice to say Cans are now as much of a pain to organise in a fridge as stubbies are.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 88977

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 15:48

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 15:48
Beer is an excellent aperitif, especially after a hard days slog and its 35 degrees, you've had six flats and the snatch strap has had a real work out, your swag has been unrolled, the campsite is a pearler and your throat is dry. Cans are the only way to go on remote trips, but you still have the problem of the wine bottles (life is too short to drink cask wine). The bulk of our rubbish when we get to dump it is empty wine bottles and crushed cans.
AnswerID: 89246

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 15:58

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 15:58
Bob,

at the risk of either offending you or giving you a heart-attack, I have a solution.

We like decent grape juice as well, but sometimes decant wine into a suitable container, like clean PET bottles. No problems if drinking relatively soon.

Wouldn't do it with a decent Hensche, but for most others it's fine.

Hope I haven't scared you too much at the though of wine from plastic bottles. (Remember too, that some people still think wine needs to be corked when the screw tops are actually far better for the intended purpose).

Cheers (and merry drinking),

Smocky.
FollowupID: 348160

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:26

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:26
Smocky,
I am definitely with you on the Stelvin closures. Why don't they all do it? Decanting to a sealable plastic container might be worth a look. We generally allow one bottle of red per person per day, so after a week away with four on board we have 28 bottles, which is a lot of glass to drag around.
FollowupID: 348245