Tent doors....which is best???

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 12:43
ThreadID: 18624 Views:2894 Replies:5 FollowUps:9

I've been wandering for a while what people think is the best door style offered by the different touring tent manufacturers. "D" or "U" or "n" or "upside-down T".
What are the pro's and con's of each configuration?
I have used "n","D" and "upside-down T" doors on various tents over the years, and when I saw recently that a major manufacturer seems to be changing from "D" to "U" style it got me wandering.

Adrian

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 13:15

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 13:15
I wouldn't care what shape the door was, just the quality and durability of the zipper for ease of opening, closing and longeverty (spelling).
AnswerID: 89071

Follow Up By: rb30s - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 17:32

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 17:32
Baz,

I'm with ya on zip quality.

Thanx

Adrian
FollowupID: 348000

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 18:51

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 18:51
I have been told by an upholsterer that all zips are ment to go straight,not around corners.As they go around corners it pinches the inside teeth and stretches the outside teeth resulting in worn out teeth.
Our new tent had YKK zippers and they failed after the 70th consecutive night in the tent last year.Replaced under warranty,have to wait until next year to see how long they last this time.
FollowupID: 348021

Reply By: Pluto - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 13:58

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 13:58
I have found the upside down T style opening can self open when the tent is not pitched on flat ground, due to uneven stress on the length of the zipper. I expect that the other openings would give a variety of problems under similar conditions (difficulty opening & closing etc.)

The most significant feature of any opening is the quality of the zipper. A poor zipper will often shorten the life of the tent.
AnswerID: 89077

Follow Up By: rb30s - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 17:43

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 17:43
Hi Pluto,

I haven't found the zip self opens with my OZTENT, I've used it more than 100 nights and cant complain about that aspect. With the OZTENT I only zip the verticle zip when entering and exiting, so I find access swift.
And i'm a big 120 Kg bloke. I do feel the zip quality is only average though.

Thanx

Adrian
FollowupID: 348002

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 14:13

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 14:13
I kind of prefer a "U" section door on a touring tent (such as the Southern Cross range) because if they have eyelets at the bottom of the door, you can prop it up on poles and a couple of ropes and create a covered area.
AnswerID: 89080

Follow Up By: rb30s - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 17:51

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 17:51
Chrispy,

I haven't used a "U" door before, and wondered how user friendly they were.

Thanx

Adrian
FollowupID: 348004

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 18:11

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 18:11
Adrian

The "U" door is no more difficult to operate than the other designs. The zip starts at the top of the "U", goes down to the radiused bottom and up again. Unless you are four foot tall - it is pretty easy...
FollowupID: 348010

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 14:31

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 14:31
I would say "U" is best. I have a COI Tornado Extended Touring Tent and it has a "U" storm cover on the door that can be pegged out, and a "D" canvas and a "D" flyscreen door.

I find that the "D" canvas and flyscreen doors hang down when fully open and the weight of the door makes it difficult to do the zipper up. You really need 2 hands to hold the door in place and then zip.

I reckon a "U" door would not have this problem.
AnswerID: 89086

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 14:32

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 14:32
Self closing.
FollowupID: 347960

Follow Up By: rb30s - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 18:09

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 18:09
Moggs,
It's COI that seem to be changing their doors from "D" to "U", at least on some models. I agree with the hanging down effect of "D" doors.
thanx

Well 55,
Self closing mmmmmm almost, I can see the advantage of the door hanging almost in line with the zip....so I presume "U" door would be easiest.
Mmmmmmm IMHO I do see a potential problem when entering and exiting while its raining though, with the door hanging vertically, rain would drain straight in...maybe worse then other designs??
More to think about.
Thanx
Adrian
FollowupID: 348009

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 18:41

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 18:41
Gday Moggs,Ive got the same tent as you and have suffered heaps with the zippers.These tents have YKK zips but still the outer door zip seperated and although its self repairing it kept splitting next time you used it.They replaced the zip under warranty with another YKK one but different teeth.The upholsterers that repaired it said that the original zippers are not good quality even though they are YKK zips,also said zippers are ment to go straight,not around corners.
Mind you I love the tent and wouldnt hesitate to get another.
FollowupID: 348018

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 18:55

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 18:55
Hi Nick, I also love the tent, just get frustrated sometime with a handful of something whilst trying to do the zip up. I haven't had any problems with the zips with the exception of them being a little stiff.

Just on the "U" design, hadn't thought about the rain aspect...could be a problem. Although due to the shape of the walls even a "D" door hangs inside and also drips water if wet.
FollowupID: 348024

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 00:26

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 00:26
"D" shape because it just hangs open like a normal door, and has the 2/3 mesh on the door it self.
"U" shape if you wanted the door open you need to roll it up out of the way, and we got sick of that, plus the mesh was seperate.

AnswerID: 89178