FREE Leatherman!

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:17
ThreadID: 18638 Views:3405 Replies:11 FollowUps:17

4wd monthly are now giving away a free Leatherman and $20 megastore voucher with a 13 month subscription for $95.88 saving $122.94. Anyone interested?

Adrian

Reply By: Richard - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:21

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:21
Got mine. Thought it closed 10 Decemeber or have they extended it.
AnswerID: 89122

Follow Up By: rb30s - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:27

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:27
Richard,
Your right!!! Sorry everyone December 10 was the cut-off date. I should have read my mail sooner.

Adrian
FollowupID: 348029

Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:25

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:25
Its all too late , renewed mine last month and only got a dvd of Tassie full of Ad's. would have prefered something usefull. !!!

Athol.
AnswerID: 89123

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:27

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:27
Already got a Leathermans and scribed up for a year .
AnswerID: 89125

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:34

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:34
Got mine, via Santa from my daughter. They are good.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 89129

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:36

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:36
Hey Guys,

I currently own a leatherman and when I recieved the offer in the mail it didn't look like the real Mcoy to me.....has anyone recieved one yet and if so are they the real deal or a chinese ripoff?

Stuart M
AnswerID: 89130

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:48

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:48
I got 2 Stuart and it looked the real deal to me, Leatherman have a new model or three out and its one of them

FollowupID: 348036

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:50

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:50
Hi Stuart,

I got mine yesterday. Its a genuine Leatherman Kick. Compared to my Leatherman Wave, its the same physical size but about half the weight, no doubt due to its lower number of blades/tools, but also slightly thinner handles. But still a very good quality tool and great for the glovebox.

Overall a very good offer IMHO, made me renew my subscription when otherwise i might not have (already have two sets of Staun deflators so was not tempted by last months offer - glad I waited)

The cheapest I could find a Kick was $75 plus postage so I reckon I only paid $20 for another 12 months of 4x4 Monthly (the $20 voucher at 4WDMegastores is going to cost me money;) My Wave cost just under $200 so the Kick is excellent value for money (or just less of a ripoff!!!!)

FollowupID: 348037

Follow Up By: Noosa Bushtrackers - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:01

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:01
I have also received mine, and it came with a 25 year guarantee.
Doing it tuff, Towing a Bushtracker.

FollowupID: 348041

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:22

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:22
They must be seriously concerned about their subscription levels .. but then again I'm a cynic. Haven't looked at 4WD Monthly, but definitely won't be renewing my subscription to 4X4 Australia.

AnswerID: 89136

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 08:30

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 08:30
Rosco, its not the best magazine, its full of retro speak and Jargon that you dont get so much of in 4X4 Australia.
FollowupID: 348101

Reply By: don vale - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:33

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:33
Still waiting for mine, havent seen the leatherman on offer in the shops....
maybe its a promotional one????
AnswerID: 89140

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:59

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:59
I get enough advertising SPAM in my letterbox now, dont need to pay for it.

Nothing else in there worth wiping the ginger on
AnswerID: 89146

Follow Up By: Member - Robb (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:26

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:26
Yet another gem from Mr Positive..... :)
FollowupID: 348058

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 23:01

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 23:01
So you disagree?
You think there is value in just about every second page being an ad?
FollowupID: 348077

Follow Up By: Top Cat - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 10:36

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 10:36
Truckster is right.........just full of advertising...........and you have the priveledge of paying for it.

And what may I ask..........is a leatherman???

Is it some sort of swiss army knife???

If it is, then I have never understood the value of them at all..........the tools are useless and the knife is blunt and of such poor quality steel it is basically unsharpenable.
FollowupID: 348114

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 11:32

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 11:32
Hey Top Cat,

you're kidding about the swiss army knives and leatherman aren't you?

The good Swiss Army knives (Victorinox) have very sharp and strong blades for their width. I have 2 different types and I think they are invaluable. It's sharp enough to remove splinters and strong enough to cut webbing, thick rope etc.

I also have a good 6" blade which is used for other things, but I reckon a decent "pocket" knife is invaluable. (Good for whittling too!)

The Leatherman is an interesting tool. It's basically a pair of very strong plyers with a swiss army knife in the handles. Again, very useful if you get a good one.

The crap ones are useless, but the good stainless steel ones are great.

Same as an axe really, their are axes and then there are axes. All depends on the quality of the steel.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 348124

Follow Up By: Top Cat - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 13:40

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 13:40
Thanks Smocky........I have never seen one.

In my work I am using tools all day every day.............I also carry a great many tools with me when i go away........always come in handy and I have helped many over the years.

As such, I dont skimp when it comes to tools and only buy the best.

Yep, there are axes and there are axes........... I will never own a leatherman or a swiss army knife.

I also have a 6" blade and I suspect we have similar uses for it.......lol.......but it cant be replaced by the blade of a multiple use toy.....ah tool.

Maybe if i whittled.........lol.
FollowupID: 348147

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 14:08

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 14:08
Cheers Top Cat,

pocket knives/leathermans have there place, but don't replace the need for a good range of good tools anyway. With the leatherman, I don't take another set of pliers anymore though.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 348150

Follow Up By: Member - Robb (NSW) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 20:05

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 20:05
Yeah I do disagree, we have already been through this with you before, you are anti-ads of any kind... I hope you have taken all of the badges off your car, and you never wear anything with any branding, and when you previously raced your motorcycles that they were free from any advertising coz that would make you a hypocrite :) In all seriousness mate, you cant avoid advertising its a way of life, its a commercial world that we live in. No ads, no magazines. No ads, no TV, unless its government funded (read: you and I PAY for it with taxes) or pay TV. In an ideal world there would be no advertising but then the cover price of the mag would be about $50... I know you have a bee in your bonnet about advertising but face it mate, its unavoidable.

Are you for real Top Cat? You have never heard of a leatherman? Were you abducted by aliens or something? LOLOL
FollowupID: 348188

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 23:19

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 23:19
G'day Robb,

I'd add that advertising is not just inevitable, but essential. I NEED to know information and advertising tells me things I need to know. Yes, sometimes 15 times a day, but still it has a place.

I like some adds in mags, but sympathise a bit with Truckster that there can be too many.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 348210

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 11:33

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 11:33
Sorry Rob..ya dumber than a box of rocks.

Damn right Im anti Ads. If I wanted a brochure, I would go to TJM/ARB etc. I dont expect to pay over the top prices for a magazine that is +50% advertising, and little else.

Unless you have noticed PayTV has ads, AND people pay for that. SO much for the promises of no ads on it when they started...

Yes when I raced bikes, there was Nothing on them unless people paid me $. Thats called Sponsorship. But I wasnt forcing people tp PAY to read it and shoving it down their throats. See the difference? or you just dont want to?

Bee in my bonnet about advertising, yes Im pi$$ed with it. It maybe unavoidable, but that doesnt mean I have to be a sheep like everyone else and LIKE IT OR ACCEPT IT... does it..
FollowupID: 348231

Follow Up By: Member - Robb (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 22:36

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 22:36
Hi Trukster,

Yeah I'm dumber than a box of rocks, just cant help it mate, lack of edumacation. But thanks for blessing us all with your vast wealth of wisdom, knowledge and opinion.

Sponsorship IS a form of advertising, just because you were pocketing the money doesnt make it any better or worse. You used sponsorship money to race your bike, we use advertising money to pay wages to keep a magazine running and profitable. I know some people see 'profit' in publishing as a dirty word, but publishing is a BUSINESS, business needs to make money to stay alive. You arent forced to buy any magazine mate, as I'm sure you dont, seeing as all magazines have advertising. Are you following?

You dont HAVE to like advertising or indeed accept it. But the world wont stop because Trukster doesnt like it or accept it....

FollowupID: 348382

Reply By: Croozer - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:20

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:20
I renewed my sub with the staun offer, which have not arrived yet. I then rec'd the offer for the leatherman in the mag, so thinking they had stuffed up the first renewal I phoned them to check. I was told that my first renewal had been processed (delay with the staun's), but I could still take up the leatherman offer in addition and extend my subscription. The girl told me that there are now heaps of people with 2yrs plus on their sub after taking up both offers........
4x4 Aust on the other hand need to get their s*** together, 1/ their mag hits the newsagents before subscribers get it in the mail and 2/ there is bugger all incentive (discount or other) for subscribing. Surely they realise that the more subscribers they have the easier it is to predict how many mags they need to print each month.
I'ts easy to see why 4wd monthly is increasing in popularity.

Stu
AnswerID: 89154

Reply By: David Au - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 09:01

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 09:01
Overlander magazine is not worth the paper it is printed on
Overlander editorials are poor advertorials and amateurish journalism
AnswerID: 89195

Reply By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 09:33

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 09:33
I know we've got off the original topic, but I'll add my 2c worth anyway.

I'm fairly new to 4wd'ing so I WANT to read the mags and find things out. I don't mind a few adds as that is often how you learn what's around. I also want to know about tracks, driving tips etc.

What I DON'T want, is a magazine full of articles explaing the latest 12" lift and $5,000 worth of suspension and $5,000 worth of tyres. SURELY, this can't appeal to the broader market. Same as the trips. If I see another magazine with the ultimate guides to CSR, Birdsville track etc, I think I'll vomit.

I know these are popular tracks and most of the market wants to know about them (including me), but I just as much want to know about places in the Blue Mountains or Vic High Plains, or Sth QLD etc. Places I can access for shortish holidays.

Give me information on stock trucks, the most important BASIC mods, short trips and stuff like that anyday and keep the monster trucks out of mainstream and into specialist magazines. They do it with normal motoring, you have fast 4's and Rotaries, Street Machine etc for the petrol heads and Motor etc for the others.

I've probably lost a few friends with this post, but what about a magazine for mainstream 4wd'ing? We're not all Burke and Wills with 3 months off a year to explore and a bottomless bank account. If there's one, I'd love to know about it.

Smocky.
AnswerID: 89200

Follow Up By: Top Cat - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 15:17

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 15:17
This post makes a lot of sense.

Thumbs up mate.
FollowupID: 348158

Follow Up By: Rick Blaine - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 21:15

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 21:15
Yer makin sense smocky.... anyway I have a Gerber tool in its nylon pouch.. packs more punch than a leatherman.. has proper screwdriver bits for a start.....
FollowupID: 348199