Tow Hitch on Patrol
Submitted: Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 00:31
H2O
I have a 2002 Patrol and an offroad boat trailer. To make the trailer level I have had to rotate the tow ball on the toung 180deg. When I do this and hook the trailer on, the
barn door hits the trailer hitch handle (1.5 - 2" too high). It is a std handle type hitch and know you can get those poxy hitches with the screw type nut but are there any others available. I have heard some bad reports about the srew type hitches. I was thinking of extending the toung but it would have to go to far.
Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 01:38
Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 01:38
G'dat H20,
Have you had a look at the Hyland coupling? It has a lower profile than the 'standard' ball couplings...
Good thing about it is that it is a *gen-u-ine* off-road fully articulating 50mm ball coupling... Best in the business, IMO...
For more details give Darren Hyland a call on (07) 3200 6261
Regards, Ed. C.
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 01:40
Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 01:40
Oops...
Sorry, typo.... Meant to say "G'day"...
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: MrBitchi - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 08:55
Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 08:55
You could look at the Orac off road coupling. Very low profile and impossible for it to come off as it uses a pin, not a towball.
Cheers, John.
Reply By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 09:39
Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 09:39
Get a
suspension lift in the Patrol. I used to have to run my tounge upside down just like you and also had the door hit the coupling, a few dents to prove it.
After I had the OME HD springs fitted the rear of the vehicle came up around 80mm, now I have the tounge back the other way, no more problem and the vehicle rides heaps better.
Follow Up By: H2O - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 10:25
Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 10:25
Is a Hyland coupling the same as a Treg? Can the coupling be welded to the trailer on the underneath of the draw bar?
Lift - would love to but only have 30mm clearance to get it under the house. bugger!
Reply By: Member - rengatt (VIC) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 14:02
Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 14:02
H20
If you're woried about the screw hitch loosening, drill a hole through the thread just above the height of
the nut when it is in the towing position and slip some washers over
the nut and slip in a pin. Stops
the nut from coming loose whilst allowing you clearance for the
barn door.
Reply By: DARREN - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 14:28
Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 14:28
H2O,
Considering it is an offroad trailer (assuming you will go good
places with it) you are really going to need a better coupling anyway. I Have not seen the hyland but have had and am a big fan of the ORAC which is made by Obriens trailers in dandenong.
Darren
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 17:17
Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 17:17
Mate I have 2 goose necks. One is the standard Nissan unit which I use so that it is in it's highest position. The other is a normal 90 degree gooseneck which is about 1" higher than the Nissan one and i also use it "up high". Both my camper trailer and box trailer have TREG hitches and the "T" pin sits about 15mm below the large
barn door when it's all set-up and that's using the non-Nissan gooseneck. It keeps my trailers level. Then again, i do also have 5" coils on the back of my trol as
well as Polyairs.
Think you need to go to a TREG or other low profile coupling.