Check products before you buy

Submitted: Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 23:53
ThreadID: 18669 Views:2677 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
I was down at TJM yesterday and spied a 13 watt yellow (colour of case) fluoro that they have for sale, branded Pirahna for $51. It is EXACTLY the same as the $16.75 job from Jaycar. No, doesn't just look similar, it is the same item.

At $16.75 from Jaycar they're a reasonable light for use in the van or outside if you don't expect too much.

Can't be compared with a Versa/Arlec/Bushlite etc 11 watt. They throw immense light for the power draw.

My point is look before you buy, some retailers import products and put HUGE margains on them, or they are conned by importers.

A bit like the Dick Smith 12 volt stove that can be had for $25 wheras some camping stores stock the same item branded "Lion" for $100 plus.

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 23:57

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 23:57
you're up late, how did the solar panel go today?
AnswerID: 89315

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 00:10

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 00:10
So far Blue, very good.

I put the fridge onto the battery at 8am and hooked up the panel. Batt was showing 12.64 V before I started and was showing 12.68 at 11pm.

Suggests the panel has put in more than the fridge took out today. Overnight the fridge will draw power and I'll see how much the panel can put back in tomorrow.

Happy so far.

Yeah I'm up late, one of our (Myer) stores is low on management at this busy time of year so I offered to help (don't want to ever be seen as a head office wanker). Didn't leave until 10.15.

Jim
FollowupID: 348215

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 07:05

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 07:05
And I have a little inside information which tells me Jaycar will be paying around $5 for that item (Jaycar stock code ST3032?). So TJM have a mark-up of around 1000%. Hmmmm... so you don't always get what you pay for then...?

AnswerID: 89322

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 07:53

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 07:53
At teh Adelaide 4WD show i saw 11w fluoros on sale at Battery World (I think) same specs, current draw, candle power etc. as Piranha/ ARB, looked identical going for half the price.
AnswerID: 89329

Follow Up By: firestang - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 09:10

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 09:10
You can really get caught out . Myself and a mate are in the fishing tackle import,wholesale business, retail and what you see in the some shops is crazy.
If one outlet can sell for double the other's price and still sell them it tells me they are targeting people that couldn't be bothered shopping around , impulse buyers . This is just a guess but i reckon the mark up may be near 300 per cent in some cases, it is in the tackle industry .

FollowupID: 348219

Reply By: Member - glenno (bris) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 12:29

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 12:29
winch cable 45mts x 8mm is around $400 from 4x4 store .
winch cable 45mts x 8mm is around $150 from cable place .
AnswerID: 89351

Reply By: David Au - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 14:10

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 14:10
I needed a new battery today for one the 4WD and usual supplier is Mon-Fri.
No problem, drive past ARB outlet $169.00, Battery World $159.00, KMart Auto $134.00 fitted same brand, same size identical part number battery. You can always buy anything cheaper than from 4WD outlets. Battery World on all their other batteries and specifications were way over the top compared to other stores. Battery World only had odd brand 1800mAh NiMh batteries for $11.95 and bought from Myer the Energiser 2300mAh for $9.95 a pair. If you are looking for small GEL batteries Jaycar are way cheaper than Battery World.
AnswerID: 89366

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 14:38

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 14:38
Note that the 2300mAh NiMh cells are around 0.2mm larger in diameter than all the lower capacity cells - in the vast majority of cases this won't be a problem - but it nearly caused me to stuff up a piece of waterproof kit worth $1800 a couple of weeks ago.

FollowupID: 348237

Follow Up By: Wok - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 07:31

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 07:31
Hello David,

Which Jaycar GELs are you referring to? Any part numbers please.

TIA

FollowupID: 348298

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 00:03

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 00:03
Back when I worked at Holden in their engineering department I had to procure some 12V batteries to run gear on a test trip.

They were basically throw away after that so no point going deep cycle. We dealt with GNB (I think that was the initials) way out in Ringwood or somewhere.

I specified the size and quantity and went out with an order to pick them up.

Before the guy boxed them he pointed at the rolls and rolls of stickers hanging over the packing bench and asked "What brand do you wan't on them?"

There were from Memory, Exide, couple of car manufacturers, some mobs like the Holler for type mobs and others. Same battery different sticker - and consequently different price to the end user.

Similar situation at local supermarket. Over heard manager on phone to bread supplier (small country supermarket). "Don't send us the bread in Black & Gold bags it's not selling, put it in the xxx bags instead..." Some other no name brand. And it's the same as what goes in the brand name bags from the same baking company cos there's only one truck delivers the whole lot.

AnswerID: 89423

Reply By: muzzgit - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 02:55

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 02:55
Hi guys (and gals). I have found that anything you see in a 4X4 shop, you can nearly always find cheaper elsewhere, but one place here for this, one place there for that, and somewhere else for that other thing!

The thing is, there is no shortage of people who walk into these places, order a heap of stuff, organise fittment, get out the credit card and go home with a big smile on the dial when the guy next door gets an eyefull.

People like me, on a budget, we drive all over the place for a bargain!
Sound familiar.

Muzz
AnswerID: 89522