Off to South Aust

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 13:35
ThreadID: 18693 Views:2295 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Come Jan 4th we are off for a round trip to S/A any idea's from you good people about places to visit/see on the way, or good camping to be had along the nullabor would be greatly appreciated, if anyone else is along the way look out for the jack and pop in to say hi! we are looking to pretty much drive straight there and take our time on the return.
Thanks all in advance

Reply By: Moneypit - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 16:09

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 16:09
Having just done it Gecko I can tell you that diesel is cheaper at Norseman in the town itself [by about 10c a litre when I went through, BP is on the turnoff and is Ned Kelly country, Caltex about 1km past the t/o going towards Norseman is the cheapest] and then Mudrabilla on the Nullabor itself. Everywhere else varied between 1.35 and 1.52 in September and Mundrabilla was 1.19.

Could not work out why but it is owned by SA Farmers Federation [strange as its in WA still] but mobs cheaper.

Norseman - Mundrabilla - Ceduna is what I did and cheaper by miles

AnswerID: 89465

Follow Up By: Member - Gecko (WA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 16:23

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 16:23
Hi Dave
Thankyou for that
chris (Gecko)
FollowupID: 348339

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 11:44

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 11:44
evey road house along the nullabor is owned by the same company except the one you mentioned - coincedence?
FollowupID: 348410

Reply By: motherhen - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 19:53

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 19:53
When we went across earlier in the year, found heaps of spots we could have camped along the Nullabor - it's a huge open space. I gather camping in Yalata is frowned upon. Loved camping and watching the sun set over the cliffs; pleny of spots to pull off.

Dave is right about the fuel. If you monitor fuelwatch.wa.gov.au you will find the Caltex in the main street at Norseman usually cheaper than the BP on the way into town (eastern end). Yes, the SAFF at Mundralbilla is heaps cheaper than the others along the Nullabor. When we went over east, we filled up at Cocklebiddy (very dear) only to get to Mundrabilla to find it so much cheaper. Hence on our return, we "saved" room to fill up on our return, only to find them in short supply, with their delivery truck a day late! They sold us 20 litres to get us to Madura (very very dear). Everyone pulling at Madura for the same reason. My husband guessed how much we would need to get to Norseman putting in the bare minimum. Pulling the caravan used a bit more than expected, so we were sweating when the fuel light came on out from Norseman (with our after market large tank, that means you are out of fuel). He wanted to stop at the BP, but we rolled on to the Caltex, and both tanks took more than their listed capacity! He had judged it just right!

Do a search - i recently asked about the Eyre Peninsular, and the locals came with some good ideas (not wanting to do the inland stuff that time of year).

Enjoy your trip. We may make it that far, or may follow the South coast east and west of Esperance.
AnswerID: 89478

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:24

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:24
If you are into fishing try Fowler's Bay (100k or so west of Ceduna). Wonderful place, but a tourism backwater - take all the goodies you need. Micro shop, no petrol - diesel only - some bait and tackle.
AnswerID: 89485

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 11:47

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 11:47
January is huge mullaway time of year at scotts beach - fowlers bay
FollowupID: 348412

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:39

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:39
G'day Gecko,
Might be a bit hot, but the Gawler Ranges is worth a look and camp etc
Once you get over to Port Augusta (assuming you are coming over this far), you'd be welcome to drop by here at Kadina for a bite and drink etc. I'll send you a m/message with my contact details.
Best camping around here is either down on the Yorke Peninsula beaches or back up north a bit, in the Southern Flinders.
Cya.............
AnswerID: 89488

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:58

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:58
Gordon (Wall Street Movie),

Do your self a favour and go to Robe, it's a few hours east of Adelaide. Some simply sensational beach/sand driving and the scenery is wonderful.

Check out Robe in the archives and pester Willem (he's very helpful) for some details.

AnswerID: 89495

Reply By: Member - Gecko (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 09:25

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 09:25
Thanks everyone for your idea's
Roachie have replied to your message and will be happy to meet with you.
Gecko
AnswerID: 89536

Reply By: D-Jack - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 10:25

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 10:25
Gecko

I re-iterate the previous post recommending Robe (or the South/East in general_ - Beachport is a magnificent little town to stay in, from there explore Mt Gambier, Pt McDonell (Crays if your into diving/snorkelling), Robe, Kingston etc. Wineries, Fishing (Big Mulloway along the surf beachs that time of year).

My main reason for the recommendation though is it is generally considerable cooler in the South East that west of Adelaide. Often 25-30 degrees there when 38 degrees in Adelaide.

P.S. On your way over we have never gone wrong at the Penong Servo for diesel. (think there is only one but it is on your left driving to SA). Always heavily discounted because they sell it mainly to trucks. A bit messy on the ground and at the nozzle so take a rag!

D-Jack
AnswerID: 89544

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 11:54

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 11:54
My old stamping grounds used to be Wudinna, and the coastline from streaky bay down to sheringa. If passing through Wudinna try the drive 16k north to mt Wudinna and turtle rock - free camping. Venus bay is a great peacfull place with nearby talia caves and mt camel(dolphins beach). Streaky bay has a number of nearby attraction such as the track that leads by speeds point, smooth pool and other spectacular coastal places (fantastic fishing) and murphys haystacks. There is also pt labatt which has a large sealion colony - but that is no fun any more coz you cant climb down. Any queries about these areas dont hesitate to send a message
AnswerID: 89555