Submitted: Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:45
kdarvell
About to launch ourselves into the '
grey nomad' state and buy a caravan and 4wd.
The outfit will be our home for about 50% of the year, hence we want a reasonable size van, say around 22 feet, which in the main weigh about 2000kg.
We like the Navara/Rodeo/Hilux twin cab style of vehicle. This offers all we need
for touring and homebase.
Now even though they all (most) have a towing capacity of around the 2000-3000kg
you do not see them towing vans in this weight range.
Why?
Reply By: Member - Russell B (SA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:55
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:55
The Navara is on my long term shortlist, turbo diesel with lots torque and tow capacity of 3000kg.
Ready for the tuff stuff with calm grunt for the big one with about as much fuel econcomy you can get towing 2000kg.
Never tow near the max capacity of the vehicle, always nice to have something in reserve fothose hills.
Russell
Follow Up By: kdarvell - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:18
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:18
thx russell, you have picked it in one.
exactly whay i have in mind BUT
I still don't see any navaras towing 22ft vans.
Also I don't understand why the navara has 1000kgs over most of the competition?
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 07:44
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 07:44
The Navara as a 4WD?
See the thread on the aus.cars.offroad newsgroup entitled "Which ute" from around 10/12/04.
"Rod out back" has had one on his Qld property for a while and I don't think he would mind me saying that he would not consider it worth setting fire to! :)
Follow Up By: Member - Peter H (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:38
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:38
G'day Russell B,
We have a 3.0ltr 1993 6cyl Pajero and we are buying our first Jayco
Heritage caravan which is 21' and its approximate Tare (KG) weight is 1890. We are just wondering how does the Pajero handle with towing that weight behind her? Any information would be helpful to two inexperienced travellers?
Many Thanks,
Peter and Dawn.
Follow Up By: pjchris - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 17:22
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 17:22
Hi Guys,
We had a 1992 NH 3.0 V6 for about 10 years. During that time we towed both a Jayco Swan Camper trailer and a full height Jayco Freedom Expanda (1850kg empty).
With the larger van the Paj was fine on the flat but the slightest hint of a
hill had us changing down. The best it could manage on most average hills was 80km/h and that was in third flat out.
Fuel economy was terrible. The 3.0 simply doesn't have the torque to tow a heavy van at highway speeds with any sort of economy or comfort.
That aside the Paj was not pushed around by the van. It was stable and safe, just slow.
Now have an NM 3.d DiD and the difference is amazing. Easily keeps up to 100km/h. Fuel economy with the van is about the same we got from the 3.0 without the van!
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:19
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:19
Thats a big van for a 4 cylinder to tow.
I've also seen bent chassis on a hilux dual cab and rodeo dual cab in the the outback in the past year - one towed a
Kimberley Camper across the Simpson. I don't think they were designed for it.
The Nissan 4.2 traytop or LandCruiser 79 series traytop may be an alternative with better towing capacity.
Follow Up By: kdarvell - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:31
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:31
thx phil,
I understand your logic and agree they would be better for towing however they are not twin cabs and they are somewhat more expensive.
I don't need to tow into rugged country the van will stay on the black top.
As I said before the Navara is rated at 3000kg how can this be?
and why don't i see them towing vans?
Does this mean the ratings are a farce???
Reply By: ianmc - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:41
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:41
Hard to work that out, I wonder at it myself. Maybe they have stronger clutch,gearbox r/axle than others or not so conservatively rated.
Do you need a 4wd?? The 6cyl Aussie sedans do a good job as tow vehicle,
do it easier than most 4wd due to power/weight ratio, & use less fuel than
the big petrol engine 4wds, cheaper to buy & service, spares but maybe U need something that will do some off road.
The newer european typediesels as found in the Jeep, Musso, Hyundai etc
have heaps more grunt than most Jap units & more fuel efficient too!
Reply By: Pfeff - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:46
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:46
We've got a couple Navara 3L TD's at work and these occasionally tow our display trailers which weigh in at about 1500kgs. While they have the power to tow these fairly easily, they clearly are near the limit in terms of stability and heavier trailers would become more tiring to drive for long stints. It's a case of the tail wagging the dog.
My own caravan is a 2.4 tonne Phoenix towed by a 100 Series Landcruiser. The Cruiser uses every kw and Nm available to tow this weight especially off road (I've tackled a good bit of eastern australia out to the NSW border country included) but most importantly, a vehicle this size controls the van, not the other way round. And that's the rub. My van is only 18' not the 22' you are looking at and I just don't think a dual cab will cut it and anything less than the Navara won't have anywhere near enough power or torque. Unless you've got at least 350Nm at around 2000rpm, you'll find the rig struggling too much.
In the end that's why you don't see this combination, it just isn't practical. I'm soon trading the LC in and I'll be going for a similar vehicle next time.
Happy
trails!
Reply By: muzzgit - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 00:57
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 00:57
I have owned a dual cab Nissan Navara, albeit a 1984 model with transplanted V6. It had the power but not the weight to tow anything serious.
I have test driven the 3.0 turbo Navara and it may have enough power to get you by, but it's too lightweight, both chassis and
suspension
I have been in a situation where the trailer dictates the terms to the tow vehicle (you get pushed all over the road) and don't ever want to do this again !!!!!
After looking around at several dual cab turbo diesels, I settled on a 3.0 turbo patrol with auto trans, easier to start off because the auto trans takes up the slack, instead of hammering a clutch with a manual gearbox. Also Navara not made with auto trans. If it was made with a 5 speed auto I recon it would sell its arse off. Iv'e removed all the rear seats, put in a false floor and we just chuck everything in and away we go.
Yours is sometimes the hardest question to answer. I couldn't make up my mind when car hunting because, lets's face it, not everyone can afford a 100 series turbo diesel (the perfect tow vehicle).
Thats only my opinion.
Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 01:01
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 01:01
22 feet is a biggie to be dragging around often. Big investment too. Maybe it's worth having some contact with the local caravan club and get some first hand comments on size and convenience.
If you stick with the bigger van a Ford F250 ute is an option.
Considering the cost of the 4X4 and the big van and taking into account flexibility of use and later trade or sale, maybe a fifth wheeler based on an Iveco is the go. Worth looking at and costing.
Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 07:41
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 07:41
Just make sure you check with the various State authorities re the claimed towing capacity of vehicles. I don't know for sure but I believe in NSW that despite what the manufacturer claims the vehicle can tow there is a legal limit that is relative to the weight of the towing vehicle. Someone else might be able to help out here.
Pete
Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 12:37
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 12:37
I've got a Rodeo dual cab and it certainly got pushed around by a 1500kg twin axle trailer I towed a few times.
I assume the 2000kg 22ft van is a road based van. An off road 22ft van would weigh much more than this empty. You need to consider the weight of the full van in your calculations.
If you are wanting a dual cab ute to tow the van I think your only factory option would be the F250. We have two at work and they would do the job without struggling the slightest however they certainly don't have the fit, finish or reliability of the Jap vehicles.
There are quite a few members in our 4x4 club who have off road vans. The tow vehicles used are GQ & GU Patrols and 80 & 100 series Landcruisers. The smaller vehicles being Hiluxs, Prados, Jeeps etc tow camper trailers but nothing bigger than that. Many of these people have towed their vans on extended trips around Australia and none are larger than 18ft however the majority of them are 16ft.
Since you said the van will never leave the bitumen then unless you need a 4x4 for other things then I would save a heap of $$$ and buy a falcon and a smaller van. With the money saved you could rent a 4x4 when need be and spend more on your trip.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 12:59
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 12:59
IF as you say in another post here, that it will stay on the 'blacktop', why consider a 4wd ??
Wouldnt you be better off with something way more comfortable as a V8
sedan, or maybe something along the lines of an F100? etc
Reply By: gaz1 - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 16:47
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 16:47
A few things to consider in this discussion:
1. for a 22ft van, a tare weight of 2000kg is fairly low. Add at least 400kg for the van's contents (including
water in the tanks, gas in the bottles etc) and you are getting up to around 2500kg easily. Also bear in mind that quite a few manufacturers quote a tare weight that is 'stripped down' with lots of moveable items not included, for instance some weigh their vans without the empty gas bottles. Roll-out awnings are usually added by the dealer before delivery and thus are not part of the tare weight. The real-life actual weight of the van, in use, is often much more than anticipated;
2. a generally accepted convention (but not a requirement of road laws, as far as I am aware) is that it is unwise to tow something that weighs significantly more than the vehicle you will tow it with - and I very much doubt that the Navara will weigh 2500kg;
3. what is the Navara's weight limit (downwards) on the tow ball? Conventional wisdom has it that about 10% of a van's overall weight should be on the towball, the achieve stability when towing - so you'd anticipate a ball load of around 250kg. The Navara would have to be rated at or above that for ball load to be legal;
4. for a van the size you are thinking of, all the normal sedans (Commodores & Falcons) are unable to tow them - irrespective of whether its 6 cylinder or 8, the Commodore's towing limit is 2100kg and the Falcon is 2300kg. That's not to say you don't see these sedans towing big vans, but it's a pretty good bet that the rig is illegal and hence uninsured.
Sorry to sound like a 'downer' but I really think the Navara would be quite unsuitable for the van you have in mind. You will need a Patrol or Landcruiser, or if you can keep the loaded weight reasonably below 2500kg, a Pajero or Prado. Or re-think the van size and look at something a bit smaller - say 20ft, which is still a fairly large van.
Gaz