Sweet memories of the peaceful bush.

Submitted: Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 23:31
ThreadID: 18735 Views:3163 Replies:9 FollowUps:17
After my last trip to the Wonnangatta Station I was almost glad to get back to the peace and quiet of Melbourne. I am so happy that I have memories of being there in the sixties when the only people encountered there were true bushmen who enjoyed the simple pleasures of a yarn around the camp fire and the light of the moon and stars. Sad to say the modern vehicle has made it possible for all the sooks and softies who "must" have warm milk on their special high fibre, low cholesterol cereal and couldn't survive without a chilled chardonnay before dinner.

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 00:43

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 00:43
Aandy Mate,

Don't get so upset. It's their life, their choice.

Camping doesn't need to mean going without anymore. There is so much available to make life comfortable in the bush these days; campers, fridges, showers, portable dunnies etc.

Now if they play "boom boom" music until the wee hours I get annoyed, but I couldn't give a bugger how they live if it doesn't encroach on me.

Me, I just love sitting around a fire with my wife enjoying a quiet drink and roasting the leg of lamb in the camp oven. Then hopping into a big comfortable bed in the camper for a good nights sleep and a bit of a "cuddle".

Your way might not be their (or my) way, but each to their own.

AnswerID: 89681

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 08:42

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 08:42
"Your way might not be their (or my) way, but each to their own"

Exactamundo!! You could not have put it any better Jimbo..Andy, if im a "sook" for likeing "chilled" beer, whilst out camping, then so be it.......
FollowupID: 348502

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 18:54

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 18:54
"Cuddle"? Jimbo? This is a family site hahahahahhaha

Merry Christmas mate, well said.

FollowupID: 348582

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 09:57

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 09:57
Aandy couldnt agree with you more... Wow people having a yarn about bush stuff around a campfire, and not the latest mobile phone with camera, DVD player that plays Chopin for a ring tone. I truly envy you.

People crying cause their generator doesnt work for the hair dryer, DVD player, and 400inch rear projection Plasma TV isnt working, or has bad reception.

...or the Latte machine is fubar.

Quite sad aint it.
AnswerID: 89716

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:15

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:15
You blokes can enjoy the bush however you like, I'm not judging you.

Why you think everyone has to do it your way, or it's not being done right, continues to befuddle me.

The only "sad" thing is that you can't accept different people like different things.

Enjoy your life and I'll enjoy mine. We may do it differently but as long as we enjoy, who really cares?

Cheers Fellas and have a good Christmas,

FollowupID: 348517

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:48

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:48
If you want a latte machine, hair dryer, TV, DVD player, Video, Xbox, Playstation, why not just go to a motel? Why bother going outside?

You have ZIP chance of really enjoying the bush with the hair dryer going, and the latte machine bubbling away... but thats up to you. dilligaf?

I'd rather listen to the river flowing, and boids chirping, and have a good old fashion chat round the fire than listen to Harry Potter.
FollowupID: 348518

Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 20:54

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 20:54
And pray tell who just bought the latest and greatest toy to take photos in the scrub ,whats wrong truckster, brushes and paint not modern enough,,,
FollowupID: 348602

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 12:38

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 12:38
Would be different if I could paint... I have no artistic ability, cant even draw a straight line with a pencil, paper and ruler...

Dont need a genny to take photos, and cameras for camping are new? People havent been doing that for 50 years?

Nothing new in taking a camera bush - and this camera isnt soley for going bush..

Oh and its not the latest and greatest - theres a 22megapixel out there now...
FollowupID: 348678

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:39

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:39
Oh dear !! oh dear
AnswerID: 89722

Reply By: Member - Gecko (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:55

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:55
Aandy, the billy allowed people to have warm milk on there cereal long before the modern vehicle came along, I to enjoy the peace of the bush, but you have indicated that other people annoy you so I ask you why camp around them? when I go bush I go as far away from other people as possible therefore the only person my gennie annoys is me, whilst I agree the spartan way of camping has been an important part of my life, I do like my fridge, if this makes me a "sook" so be it, I remember the days off lashing ropes and poles to make kitchen benches and eating area's, we still chat around the camp fire, spin yarns, go fishing, and enjoy each others company, so the only difference between us is that we take advantage of progress to make things a little more comfortable whilst we are away.
Australia is a very big place I am sure you could find some "peace and quiet" somewhere.
Each to there own huh?

Have a merry Christmas :)

AnswerID: 89725

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:37

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:37
Hi Folks,

This argument seems to come up over and over again and I normally don't buy into it as calling people sooks and softies etc is a load of rubbish.

Why can't we just accept each to their own.

You know if they aren't offending or bothering you then why get worked up over it. We are lucky to be able to make choices on a whole range of things.

AnswerID: 89729

Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:46

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:46
T R O L L !
AnswerID: 89731

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 12:56

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 12:56
BUT I AGREE WITH HIM!!!!
FollowupID: 348536

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 13:06

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 13:06
Yeah! But you're a bit different from most Truckster, as you've openely stated "I don't like people!".
FollowupID: 348537

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 13:40

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 13:40
Yeah, just another wind up from Andy
FollowupID: 348541

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 12:42

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 12:42
Womby!!

SO TRUE!!!
FollowupID: 348680

Reply By: Rob! - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:50

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:50
Aandy,

I too enjoy the simple, low tech travel. However, while this may be easy to do when you are a single bachelor, it becomes harder when you travel as a family.

There definately is a sense of fullfuilment about spartan camping. I find it more relaxing. It could be that the less you have, the less you need to worry about.

In the past i have hiked on foot to many places with everything that I need on my back. It is a very different experience to arrive to a place by car in 3 hours then it is to walk for three days and arrive tired and dirty but very happy.

I guess my point is, that if you're lugging around 3000kg of steel to get you to that special place you're not exactly being spartan nor pure. Another 20kg worth of gear to keep your beer cold does not make that much difference.

So enjoy it the way YOU like it and as long as nobody disturbs your peace, let them be.

R.
AnswerID: 89732

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 19:38

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 19:38
I try and avoid other campers.

That said, not so long ago, in a quite remote place, I found a quiet camp site far away from other campers. Enjoyed the tucker and the quiet of the bush next to a billabong. Just on darkness a vehicle arrived in the genral area and drove up and down for 10 minutes and finally decided that close to me was the place to be. Hmmmmm........a Victorian plated Nissan. These two clowns fell about making a noise that disturbed the birdlife and I was just about to commit murder when I checked myself, packed up and left the scene for another not so idyllic camp away from everyone. I find that I am intolerant of others who barge in on my space.

So if you see my truck out bush, do stop and say g'day, but then f off and go and camp a mile away
AnswerID: 89792

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 20:03

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 20:03
>Hmmmmm........a Victorian plated Nissan

You just can't trust those Nissan drivers can ya :)
FollowupID: 348597

Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 20:59

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 20:59
Would not have been our Truckster eh,?
FollowupID: 348604

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 21:04

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 21:04
hahahaha
FollowupID: 348605

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 21:14

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 21:14
Or better - 5 miles - otherwise what Willem said.

Do you really think I went to all this trouble to get here to so I could spend a few days and nights being interfered with by you?

FollowupID: 348607

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 12:41

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 12:41
"So if you see my truck out bush, do stop and say g'day, but then f off and go and camp a mile away"

Willem, thats the best line for a SIG I have ever seen!!!!
FollowupID: 348679

Reply By: allanmac856 - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 22:32

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 22:32
Each to their own, but Truckster does have a point. Problem today is there is little if any respect for other peoples privacy/feelings. I last visited Wonnangatta 30 yrs ago with my old man in a series 1 landy. If we wanted a cold drink, we got water from the river, a cup of tea/coffee was from a billy boiled over the campfire, wanted a wash, jumped in the river. Dinner was a can of baked beans etc, or SPAM. Times change, we now have more creature comforts when we go 'bush',nothing wrong with that, but the good old days will always stay with me. Now, It seems the norm is;
Camp as close to each other as possible.
Music as loud as you can.
Use every swear word under the sun
Get so drunk you cant stand up
Then for added fun, go bush bashing & make a mess.

I'm heading off to Wonnangatta in Feb; looking forward to it like you cant believe. Not interested in going over Xmas/new year; need cops to direct traffic.

Allan Mac

AnswerID: 89822

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 23:30

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 23:30
Allan I was there around then too, 1976/77 and 78 to be specific. There were fewer people there then, but I still recall the steepness of "The Widowmaker" and the mighty scar it was on the landscape back then, funny thing was it never went anywhere, it was just a mighty hillcimb to nowhere.

Add to that, in 1978 when we were driving thru Wonnangatta valley we came upon three people, Dad, daughter and Grandfather, 3 generations, on foot. The daughter burst into tears at the sight of us, as they'd been stuck for 2 days. We picked them up and gave them water and food and drove them back to ... their Brand new Cruiser, nose deep in a mud puddle, broke the shear pins in the FM winch, wound the cable around the rear wheels and tried to "wind" their way out with the cable around the rear hubs, managed to destroy their rear diff. We pulled up, whipped out the trusty Tirfor, winched em out backwards, climbed under and dismantled their rear diff, told them to drive out in front wheel drive only. They were lucky.

Point is there were yobbo's back then tearing up the bush, city types buying 4b's and heading bush unprepared, same as now, the onyl thing different's the numbers of people and the CGAS attitude. I hate loud music in the bush too, only listen to the radio for weather news to find out of the rains supposed to stop one day after we leave or five days after we leave. Love a billy on the fire and good chat around the fire.

All the EO people I have met hold these things close to their heart also. I am thinkiong of a Wonnangatta trip next year too, an EO one, maybe 3 days, and will try to be out of the busy time. Trouble is its such a 4WD mecca, one has to expect many followers.

ce la vie!

FollowupID: 348630

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 10:55

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 10:55
As I've said previously Bonz, you say the "W" word and we'll be the first to sign up as attendees.
FollowupID: 348663