New battery for the GU

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:14
ThreadID: 18742 Views:2225 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
Hi all, our 98 model GU's original battery has just karked it! What are your opinions on a replacement battery (manufacturer, type etc).

Thanks for the help.

Reply By: Tuff60 - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:31

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:31
IMO, I have been buying batteries from William Adams CAT in altona, big CCA ratings for their size and a 6 year warranty, and competative pricing, can't go wrong in my book. Can't speak for reliability yet as the first one I used is only 18 months old, but still going strong.
AnswerID: 89721

Reply By: Peter McGuckian - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:08

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:08
My choice would be EXIDE EXTREME.

AnswerID: 89727

Reply By: Squizzy - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:56

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:56
I am amazed that you want to swap to a different battery when you have had 6 years from the brand you had.
Why change? Stick to a good thing.

Geoff.
AnswerID: 89734

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 13:13

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 13:13
G'day Squizzy,
I'm just about to suffer the same dilemma with my 2000 model GU; the cranker is starting to be a bit sluggish and needs the 2nd battery to be switched into the starting circuit to give me a really confident cold start. I'd love to be able to get another genuine battery, but i don't reckon they're available. You've gotta go with a aftermarket unit; none of which seem to have the longevity of the original......
I'm leaning towards a Exide Extreme (that's what i use for my auxilliary at present).
Merry Xmas mate
FollowupID: 348538

Follow Up By: Squizzy - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 14:46

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 14:46
Thanks for the xmas wishes Roachie, same to you, Annette and the young fella.

I had to replace my GU 2000 main battery this year, but it lasted longer than the auxilliary which made two years.

I now have two Century Yuasa heavy duties, don't know how good they'll be though.

BTW, our mob had a ball at Broughton with your crew. Some good comments since.

Cheers mate,

Geoff.
FollowupID: 348546

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 19:16

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 19:16
I have a Century Ultra Heavy Duty Overlander 4wd N70ZZL 700cca main cranking battery and a 6 yo (Century)Yuasa auxiliiary. Both work very well. Price $130 each.

Exide Extreme is also good but only 650cca(I think)
AnswerID: 89789

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 21:36

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 21:36
I put an Exide Extreme in my GU on 12.1.01. (the original lasted 2.5 years).
I can't beleive it is still going well. Prior to last big trip, had it professionally tested on ' heavy cycle' - all cells were OK. Since then, have tested it at home with my hygrometer, thinking that surely still can't be OK. But it is.

Easy choice for me -Exide extreme again, when I need to . Try this site for the specs on the Extreme.http://www.exide.com.au/fitment/index.php

As a back up, I have only a 12 V 24 ah Urban battery. But it still has enough herbs to start Shirl on those cold Flinders mornings. It's certainly a great little unit for the 12 V flouro at the meal / prep table near the fire. Heaps cheaper than a high tech dual unit, tray, isolators and what ever else you might need if everything on earh conspired against you all at once!

You may gather that I am more a KISS person than a high tech one.

All the best for Chrissy & New Year.

AnswerID: 89809