Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 15:41
slyonnet
Hi everyone,
I have enough of those idiots who can't secure their loads properly at the back the ute, truck or trailer, so I decided to have a bitch on the
forum to releae the anger.
I can't believe how many times since I arrived in
Perth I have seen people losing their load or driving with stuff not even attached and looking like a curve taken a bit to fast would have be enough to spread it all on the road and other vehicles/pedestrians.
Just to give a few examples I have seen 2 lanes of South street covered with
water melons, a tip top truck driving with his back doors open losing all his crates of bread at a major
intersection (and the idiot turning around straight after to come back to collect them and losing the rest of it while doing so!),...
But the last one really bleep es me off. My wife was driving home following a ute loaded with steel pipes. She was actually keeping her distance because she knows what this is like around here. Lucky she did cause a old rusty bit of pipe 40cm long came flying of the back of the ute and smashed into the bull bar. She got the plate number of the d**khead who of course did not stop. When I looked at the bull bar in the evening I found a 2cm long dent into it. So it is glad she was not too close to him because that woul have just smashed the windscreen and she could have lost control of the car.
I called the insurance but without witnesses they can't do much - his word against ours - and I will have to pay the excess and lose my bonus for a relatively small dent. However the bull bar is brand new and that really bleep es me right off that stupid guys like that can get away with it.
I can only imagine what would have happened if this bit of metal had landed on a pedestrian or a cyclist!
Is it only in WA or what? I have never seen so many incidents like that in Europe and am just wandering if simple physics don't apply around here.
Sorry for bitching that much but I wander what can be done against those f**kwits.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 16:11
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 16:11
Why would you bother getting a 2cm dent fixed in your bar? its going to get worse in its life.
then you dont lose your NCB etc.
Follow Up By: slyonnet - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 16:55
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 16:55
That's exactly what I think. A small dent like this is not worth losing my no claim bonus or paying a $250 excess. However I enquired with insurance to see if there was any chance of getting the guy pinned for it. It would have my pleasure to see him loosing his bonus and excess for it.
More to the point, my concern is more about what damage this idiot will cause next time it happens: Smash somebody's windscreen, trigger some impulsive reaction of somebody trying to avoid the projectile and causing a crash, kill or injured or pedestrian?
Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 16:45
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 16:45
Welcome to the real world!
The same reason why there is so much road rage on our roads.Lets face it, people just don't give a hoot about anything or anyone if it suits them.
Having said that you can report him to the police. Maybe nothing will come of it but here in Bundy I believe they are willing to go and have a talk to them and let them know they are being reported. It may sound lame but if we don't report it nobody will ever know to do something about it.
Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
Follow Up By: slyonnet - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:00
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:00
I've called the local cop
shop and they told me that we needed to fill an incident report. They will then investigate and talk to the guy about it. That's on my to do list but the list is long and have other priorities. But you're right if nobody does anything they get away with it and keep doing it.
What I am not sure about is whether or not the cops will tell the bloke who reported him? You never know what can happen in some people's head,in his case not much apparently but he might be a bit on the psycho side and turn back on me when I don't expect him. I guess I'll ask the cops what the story with divulging identities before lodging the report.
Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:19
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:19
LOL, c'mon, you are having a whinge (and rightly so as you have been wronged) about people not bothering to tie down their loads and then you can't even be bothered to 'knock' the reporting of the incident to the Police up your list of priorities. You seem quite passionate about what happenned - maybe direct that rage towards something productive like reporting it sooner rather than later????
Follow Up By: slyonnet - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 18:12
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 18:12
Don't worry Moggs, I will still report him, even though I am not convinced it will change his behaviour (stupidity is usually hard to cure).
As you
well pointed I am passionate about what happened so i won't let go of it. Nevertheless I am a very passionate kind of person so I have a lot of other passions in life and one of them at the moment when I come back from a long hard day at work is to spend as much time as I can with my baby boy and then try to get some sleep (that's if he let me though).
But thanks for the encouragement. Your cheering up have decided me to go to the cops tomorrow on my way to work instead of waiting for Friday arvo like I planed initially.
Follow Up By: sean - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 19:30
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 19:30
I rang the local police to complain about bits of concrete, tree trunks and so on being the regular fri/sat thing that motorists have to contend with. I stated that I wished to make a complaint and that although it was the responsiblity of the offender to secure his load, there is NO effective policing of those offenders.
Well what I got, was
'it is not a police issue sir'.
Then whose issue is it?
'It is a council issue sir'.
But its the police who enforce our road rules so I want you to log my concern!.
"Sorry Sir, you cant becuaes its not a police issue or priority'.
Well what are the priorities? - 'Speed Sir'
So I rang the council who shared my concerns but they said that only the police had the power to enforce laws to motorists and so they could not do anything without their help. They did however log my concerns.
Well it would not be so funny if people had not been killed and injured in separate accidents from debri on the road, over the past couple of years.
So guys its official, do what you like as long as you dont go over the limit. And if you do get seriously injured, then dont worry, you wont show up as a statistic.
Sean
Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 20:02
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 20:02
sean, the lack of interest displayed by the Police is quite disturbing. I have found that if you want something "logged" or acted on you need to put it in writing with a copy to an associated or relevant body or organisation. That way it cannot be ignored.
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 16:54
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 16:54
I am jumping in too today, we have a brand new Alfa GTV, and last week some toss, dropped 4 tins of enamel paint off the back of his ute onto the road, all over our alfa. Luckily for the driver my girlfriend was driving and I wasn't in the car. We have worn the cost of getting the paint off..... but we were unable to get it off under the car......
Crazie
Follow Up By: slyonnet - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:03
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:03
Did your girlfriend got his plate number? From what your saying it sound like a lot of damage and worth getting the insurance involved. Unfortunately if there are no witnesses it is not easy to prove it was his paint that ended up on your car.
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:43
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:43
If this was a perfect world none of this would have happened..But it isn't perfect and so one has to be careful.
Please tell your girlfriend or wife or child and yourself to drive to road conditions and that includes the other road users in front or behind or next to you. That way you should avoid trouble and keep your cool.
Follow Up By: slyonnet - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:53
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:53
Willem,
like I said my wife had already let a bigger space than normal between her that dude to avoid that kind of problem and still it happened.
No matter how carefull and vigilant you are you can't prevent other people from doing stupid and surprising things.
I believe that everyone should adapt their driving to the road condition and she did but you still can't be 100% safe.
By the way I guess you never had any accident by following your own advice LOL :-).
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 18:08
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 18:08
Hahahahahaha.......!!
Own advice is a dangerous thing....It is too easy to give out advice but following it is problematical. These days, after a lifetime of mistakes, I do tend to be a bit more cautious...sometimes lol
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 18:44
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 18:44
Hey guys,
you just need the number plate for the fine for an unsecure load is a good one. Just tell the police the number to begin the fix. We have a scrap metal merchant with his yard near by. We know where any junk can be delivered even if it wasn't seen.
Have a look at Victorian Penalties bearing in mind the ones mentioned would probably not be "on
the spot penalties".
Reply By: locallaw - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 19:04
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 19:04
Gidday,Here in Mackay a Bar that holds the gates on a truck came off went thru the screen of another vehicle and killed the driver instantly.Another time my daughter was driving along the motorway at the
gold coast a truck loaded with bricks lost his load onto the car next to him killing the lady driver.My daughter was in the car behind the lady and called me on her mobile.She was hystericial seeing what she did.Report the driver.
Just my bit Locallaw
Follow Up By: zac_sprint - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 22:47
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 22:47
I was involved in an incident on the Westgate freeway in
Melbourne a few years back when a vehicle carrying a wardrobe, (and a large one at that) flew off the vehicle at 100kph, (it obviously wasn't tied down at all). I was several hundred metres behind the vehicle but the wardrobe made a near vertical ascent and landed in front of my car.
It all happened so quickly that I lost control of my car to avoid the wardrobe, then I crashed into the concrete barrier at about 50kph.
The police at Williamstown were very interested in finding out the car rego so they could chase it up which unfortunately I was not able to sight and as a result inform them about. I have no doubt the police would have chased it up as there was
debris all over the freeway and the obvious damage the front end of my vehicle.
Just the other day there was a driver in a ute who was reading a book, the book was positioned on the steering wheel and he was travelling on the Westgate freeway at 100kph. The car was moving all over the lane.
I sometimes wish I had a police badge so I could book all these turkeys that I have had the misfortune of coming across over all these years.
Unfortunately there are that many idiots out there on our roads that the police I can say are
well and truly overwhelmed in keeping law and order on our roads.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 23:37
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 23:37
Yesterday saw a woman talking on her mobile while putting make-up on. Next set of light I slipped up beside her (on my bike) and motioned for her to wind her window down. She did so I hit her with both barrels, by the time I'd hit her with every stupid so and so under the sun she was in tears.
Hope she remembers it.
Follow Up By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 00:20
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 00:20
gday zac i know the west
gate very
well i had a lump of steel come of the back of a semi and bounce over my head missing me bye inches on my motor bike.
also 10-12 years ago a pice of brake drum come of a truck heading towards
geelong on the westgate going through the windscreen of a
melbourne bound car going through the windscreen killing a guy instantly.i was 2 cars behind them(ill never forget his wifes face when she got out the car)i tried to stop a police car that wasnt far behind.he went into the emergency lane and kept going.
Reply By: Black Jack - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 11:11
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 11:11
Just to add my sixpence worth to the littany of stories of poorly secured items to and of cars. A few ago while driving to work early down the South East Freeway in
Brisbane. I was behind an older Volvo, yes driven by a guy wearing a hat, when I noticed his exhaust system started dragging on the road. I hit the brakes to create more space. Just then the whole exhaust fell off. Bouncing down the road end for end jumping in what ever direction I took to avoid it. I was lucky that it was early and no other car was beside or behind me. The Volvo driver didn't even slow down. I wonder if he noticed. LOL
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 16:05
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 16:05
yep, i too will jump in on this one, today i was driving a friends ute out the calder towards the thunderdome, when a knucklehead concreter flew past in his probably unroadworthy work ute, watched as a bucket flew off the back (he was yacking on the phone BTW) then as he moved over into the left lane i backed off and moved across to the right as i watched his near new wheelbarrow take flight as
well, and bounce off to the side. He stopped and i guess he may have learnt his $ 130 odd lesson.
BUT, about six months ago i was following the missus out of the city at night, nearly same spot on the calder, when she goes into emergency mode, brakes hard steers etc (damn fine job by her) but just failed to miss the large steel locker unit sliding down the road and hit it fairly hard, lets just say that sheetmetal lockers are no match for a hyundai excell !!! I pulled up with
the hazards etc on and spotted a car and 6x4 going slowly just up ahead, so i took off after him with the spotties on, and he soon knew he was busted. Not a skerrick of rope on the trailer !! Once he had gone back and cleared the
debris off the road, (Toni still hysterical in car) i grabbed his licence and got all the details etc. Made him the deal that he would organise his insurance to cover everything to be done at my friends panel
shop, no cost to us ASAP or i was straight to the cops.
Well 9 am next morning he rings up with a claim number etc and we have the hassle of a car off the road for a few days. But the front bumper was a bit buggered anyway and the radiator was getting a little tired etc etc. So he learnt his lesson.
But yeah it gives me thebleepes to see so many people with no idea of how to tie a load or even care. Especially truck drivers who should know better.
Hey Adam, what does a technicolour gtv look like ??
Reply By: Rick Blaine - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 17:49
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 17:49
In
Canberra the thing seems to be overloading trailers with landscaping supplies... Blue metal etc and using a trailer that has no working lights. I see a never ending array of them in various poses of total destruction on Athlon drive & Erindale drive....I have found that the AFP are interested in getting hold of the rego Numbers and have given me thanks & positive feed back. I would report the incident to the Police and suggest that as you have to pay for your own repairs they may be able to assist with some summary justice. I find the worst offenders are tradesmen who dont secure barrows etc in their utes... Saw a concrete mixer sail out of a ute one day and stopped to claim it... the owner turned round and when I confronted him about tying down his load claimed to not speak english but miraculously was able to mount a very strong protest when I said that I was keeping the Mixer because as he had thrown it away I coud repair it and use it... A passing cop pulled up and was given the same routine but he was smarter than me... he issued him an infringement notice..