Dump pipe and high flow exhaust now completes GU transformation...
Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 00:07
Member - Chris M (QLD)
Gday all,
Well, I've finished the GU.
Last things done were the dump pipe and changing over from triple flow muffler to high flow (can see right through).
For a couple hundred $$$, the dump pipe was changed to a true 3 inch and the muffler changed. It was fitted with a triple flow with the 3 inch mandrel bent system, but I wasn't entirely happy.
What a change! Yet to be dynoed, but the turbo whistle is really really loud now, and it gets up and boogies. Had around 154hp at the rears before, I think it must have jumped at least around 10 with the changeover.
Anyway, I'm really happy with the TD6 now, a few $$$ spent, but
well worth the trouble. Always fun to blow away the Ditronic'd 3L with the big exhaust etc. Towing is a breeze, but always an eye on the E.G.T's.
Fuel steady around 8.3 k's per L.
Have fun guys and I'll catch ya round!
Chris.
Reply By: Zapper - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 00:41
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 00:41
What sort of temp does the EGT get to on yours? Just wondering, am always watching the gauge on my GQ but not sure what is normal and what not.
Was your TD6 a real slug prior to the work you have done? I drove my brother in laws GU ute yesterday and was really disappointed, its got no where near the get up and go of my GQ with Safari turbo, in fact its not much different to my non turbo GQ ute. He is not happy with it and is looking to either spend some money on it to improve it or trade it on a cruiser ute. What is the single biggest change he can make to it without spending a fortune?
Thanks...
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 09:14
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 09:14
Your exhaust temps will depend where you have it in the exhaust system..
My GQ runs mid 300s crusing, and upto ~500 under VERY hard conditions up bush hills. But thats also turning Simexs with standard gearing. :(
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:40
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:40
Not one change made a huge difference. He would be better off saving the pennies and doing everything at once.
As opposed to trucky's,
mine runs at 250 crusing at 110 on highway, but gets up high around 600 if pushed hard towing up long hills. Does not get hot at all 4wding, even if pushed hard up hills etc as it's really only for short bursts.
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 08:28
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 08:28
G'day Chris
Man thats been a project and a half, you must be wrapped after all of the time and effort spent, it must be a rocket now hahaha Thats great fuel usage. Have a great xmas mate.
Adam
Follow Up By: Member - Maurice F (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 10:18
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 10:18
Yes Chris my conversion to 3" mandrel bent exhaust system was disapointing until the fabricated dump pipe was fitted,totaly different then ((orig cast dump was a joke, half blanked off) havent altered turbo boost will wait and see how she goes towing 17ft6' offroad van to Queensland(4.2GU TDI)
maurie
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:42
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:42
Pretty happy thanks Crazie!
Goes really
well, just a pleasure to drive.
Maurie, sounds good, reckon you'll be happy, but with a tickle of boost, you'll be even more stoked!
Reply By: Austravel - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 15:00
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 15:00
Chris,
Was the work done through the same place as the previous boost work???
How much in total do you think it's cost to get the motor to this stage?
Follow Up By: sevo - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 22:24
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 22:24
Gday Everyone,
Mods to my TD6 are as follows:
1 3inch mandrel with 3inch dump pipe
2 Turbo smart boost controller set to 12psi
3 Auto meter boost gauge and Thermoguard Pyro
4 Reconfigured EGR system
5 Injector pump mods etc
Before mods 101bhp and 217ftpnds or 75.3kw and 294.2Nm
After mods 129bhp and 306ftpnds or 96.1kw and 414.8Nm
All work has been performed by myself with some trial and error involved all in all im happy with performance. Please note this is corrected HP (DIN) completed in 4TH gear (not 3rd as some dyno operators do) same ramp rate ,same start speed etc etc. please note 3rd gear hp was 152.5.
Any questions let me know,
PS will up grade to hi flow turbo in the new year
Follow Up By: Flash - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 08:51
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 08:51
????
How can an engine make MORE horsepower in third gear (at the same RPM?)
The engine does not know what gear it's in.
And then you LOSE power through a gearbox, differential etc.
Horsepower from a maximum at the flywheel will always be less as you pass through the driveline finally to the
wheels....
Follow Up By: sevo - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 09:14
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 09:14
Gday Flash,
The power out put WILL be greater the lower the gear you use,due to the fact that the gear ratio is lower therefore the tourque is multiplied . I can supply dyno journal extracts to support this if needed.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:45
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:45
Gday all,
Austravel, has cost me $2,400.00 to get motor to this stage. Is now just a pleasure to drive, with the reliability of a 4.2 motor. Was done at
Beaudesert exhaust. Some older guys are still fitting triple flow mufflers, make sure you get the single high flow deal, much better!
Sevo, dynoed today. 452 nm, just a tickle over 1000ftLb's of torque. Haven't converted to kw.
Follow Up By: Flash - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 13:57
Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 13:57
Sevo,
No offence mate, but....
Gearing will increase or MULTIPLY torque at the rear wheels.
It will not repeat NOT increase horsepower/kilowatts- quite the opposite in fact due to losses in the drivetrain.
Any engine which produces XX kilowatts at the flywheel will only be a reduced power(horsepower) at the rear wheels, (eg: 60% of XX) and the more gearing it drives through the worse this will be.
PS I do know something of what I'm talking about as I'm an engineer.
I think you've been given a "bum steer" by someone.
Follow Up By: sevo - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:31
Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:31
Gday Flash,
A dyno measures torque, agree, horse power is a calculation therefore if you can increase your torque wont HP also increase ? I have read a intesting article in the IAME refering to "just how accurate dyno results are" Vol 68 No 4.I also have qualifications in the Automotive indsutry.
I have worked on around dynos for years and know how easy it is to 'fudge' results. gear,start speed and ramp rate are relavent to obtain "accurate" results. please note chris had his power output in 3rd gear and with no correction factor!
Good to here your opinion on this
cheers sevo
PS merry christmas
Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 10:56
Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 10:56
Hi Sevo,
In a previous post you said you'd purchased a good quality exhaust system that you fitted yourself. Can you please tell me were you got it from.
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 16:23
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 16:23
yeah sounds good champ, now you will have to get it re dyno tuned for the best herbs. How much did the boost
jump up ?
'towing is a breeze' mate is that understatement of the year or what ?? only a bloody td f250 would beat you now!!
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 07:38
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 07:38
I guess Chris, its time to race aout and have a bit of a look around the new model. You'll have nothing to do now!!!! LOL
Reply By: Bench - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 14:15
Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 14:15
Chris,
Finally you've got the beast finished. I'd have to agree with you that it's a pleasure to drive... Driving it down to
Beaudesert, it was a comfort machine, but i guess that anything is a comfort machine compared to my shorty.
You should come around this weekend for some more work on the shorty, got the bullbar & lightforce 240 blitz's to go on this weekend.
Cheers mate,
Bench
Reply By: Austravel - Sunday, Dec 26, 2004 at 19:11
Sunday, Dec 26, 2004 at 19:11
Thanks for the info Chris. Didn't you get the majority of the work done by someone else in Brisy?? I take it you then got the exhaust and dump pipe done else were. Sounds great am waiting until the camper is done, for the back of the ute and will then check out the mods you did.
Reply By: JamieMac - Monday, Jan 17, 2005 at 13:41
Monday, Jan 17, 2005 at 13:41
have tried ringing
Beaudesert Exhaust on 07 5541 2767 but was unable to get through. Can you confirm the number? Did you get all of the exhaust work done by them?
Also how much was the dump pipe alone (supplied not fitted)? Do you know if they will send the bits interstate (NSW)?
JamieMac
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Jan 17, 2005 at 14:09
Monday, Jan 17, 2005 at 14:09
Phone number looks okay, might be closed down for Xmas/New Year?
They sent a 3" system to me, in western Qld. No worries, just makes the system a bit more expensive. They do good work.
Hooroo...