Dust sealing hilux

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 17:04
ThreadID: 18789 Views:6728 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Has anyone found a seal that fits to the rear body door on a hilux dual cab? It's not the tray back style but a weld back so only has the one rear tail gate that looks like it will leak heaps of dust.

Reply By: Member - KG (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 18:37

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 18:37
you're right... it will leak HEAPS of dust... and even water :)

i saw a post where someone stuck some hi density foam in there when he wanted to seal it up - personally i wouldnt have the patience to tolerate bits of foam.

i ended up just putting everything in the tray in nally bins. be interested to see if anyone else has a good simple sealing method?
AnswerID: 89958

Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 20:46

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 20:46
Hi Aussie

Are you running a canopy or tonnau(spelllllll?) cover? I had a T cover and roll bars, not sealed, which did the job very well compared to the Disco on the same trek. He had a new Disco and was not aware of the vents near the rear gaurds??? He arrived in Broken hill from Bourke with more dust inside his than what I had under my T cover.
I've since put a canopy on and fitted a vent from the boating shop (Whitworths), cost about $35 which I believe kept most dust out from Coober Pedy across to Tibboobura in convoy. No seal on sides of tailgate but as previously said HD foam as used could be good. I would use it if I was an*l about dust.

Last yr, 03. I saw 2 vehicles with a lenght of flexi pool hose (2Lt juice container atached) from the top of the canopy feeding into the camper trailer to keep a vacuum seal in the trailer, all worked well apparently.
Hope this helps,

Happy and Safe Travels
Andy
AnswerID: 89974

Reply By: Garbutt - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 09:34

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 09:34
I used refrigeration 'sausage' , the tubular stuff that goes over frige pipes etc. I just cut a split in it lengthways, and stuck it on with silicone, can't be seen from the outside, makes the tailgate a much tighter fit. It is not 100% but a lot better than nothing, and I leave the front sliding window of my canopy open about 2 inches as well. Like I said, not 100% but loads better than nothing. And cheap.
AnswerID: 90022

Reply By: jolls - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 09:42

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 09:42
They sell a seal kit over here in the states. I'll look it up for you and get back tomorrow (my time)

AnswerID: 90024

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 11:44

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 11:44
We bought that seal kit for our F250 with canopy. Haven't fitted it yet though. It's only been 6 months. Looks the goods though.
FollowupID: 348801

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 12:01

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 12:01
This is the one we bought.

TrailSeal

We got it from F Series Spares but I wouldn't recommend them to you.
FollowupID: 348803

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 15:48

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 15:48
Hi Utemad, any reason you wouldn't recommend them?? I like the looks of the product.
FollowupID: 349683

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 21:22

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 21:22
Sorry Austravel for the late reply. I've been away for 3 weeks. I meant I wouldn't recommend the supplier. I haven't gotten around to fitting it yet so can't comment on the product itself however it looks like it will work. I'm concerned about longevity though. Our utes have a tough life.
FollowupID: 352819

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 10:59

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 10:59
No dramas Utemad, thanks for getting back. What hassles did you have with the supplier so I can let the mate know what dramas he could have if he goes ahead?
FollowupID: 352872

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 11:42

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 11:42
When we bought it we bought a few things. Someone else went to get the gear and when they did they paid for the seal but it was not supplied. We also got a canopy from them and they supplied the wrong one (we like it better though so we kept it and it was a 6 week wait for another one minimum as it is from Canada) and they charged us an extra $100 for the priveledge. When they fitted the canopy they wired the brake light but refused to wire the interior light!

Just talking to them on the phone was a worry but we couldn't get the canopy anywhere else.

If he just wants the seal I'd try getting it over the net direct from USA. Not sure what we paid though.
FollowupID: 352875

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 12:45

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 12:45
Thanks utemad, I'll pass on the info to him. He's coming on a trip with us next year so wants to make sure it's at least a little dust proof.

Thanks again.
FollowupID: 352883

Reply By: Austravel - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 11:10

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 11:10
Thanks all. It's a canopy onto a weld back. Am interested in the U.S. seal kit.
AnswerID: 90033

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 14:06

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 14:06
Ihave used door draft sealing rubberswhich just peel off and stick on available from most hardware shops could be worth a look they are cheap enough
AnswerID: 90052