My dud '99 TD Jackaroo Manual

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 18:38
ThreadID: 18792 Views:6746 Replies:18 FollowUps:12
Well, I feel it is time to finally concede defeat and admit that my Jackaroo is not the best vehicle to do even average 4wding in. Here's the story.

Bought it a year ago, paid for an extended manufacturers warranty for 3 years (just under $1000).

First week the speedo stops working - need a new transducer. $750. Covered by warranty.

Couple of months later, rear window winding mechanism just breaks beyond repair. Needs a new one. Cost - $350. Covered by warranty. Rear window hardly ever gets used.

Last September, go and do the Border Track. A bit of water and mud. Sand and water gets into the clutch housing. Didn't even know the water reached up to the clutch housing. How it got in don't know. Result - $1600. (Warranty company made a token payment of $260 for the slave cylinder.

Same trip, got sand and water into the alternator. Being high tech, cost $700. Warranty company not interested because of abuse. Can't prove otherwise.

About 3 weeks ago start hearing hum coming from what sounds like geabox or diff. 3rd, 4th and 5th gears. Gets worse. Checked out the other day, got sand and grit in the rear diff. How - well apparently there is a rubber seal to keep stuff out. Then there is the main seal, which should let oil out but nothing else in. Well it does let other stuff in. Before you ask, I have decent breather hoses and they are operating well.

Result - $600 work, have to pay $40 for disposables. Fair enough. Warranty co will pay the rest.

What have I learnt from all this? Well I thought my Jackaroo was a lemon, but speaking to the mechanic he has seen heaps which have had similar and other problems. Things fail (like the diff) which should not happen until at least 300000km. Mine has only done 80000km. It seems that Jackaroos were not built very well. I know the earlier ones were crap, but it seems the design quality has transferred to the later models (just look at the injector seal saga).

I take back the previous recommendations I have made re buying Jackaroos.

Tip no. 1 - buy a Prado or Pajero instead if that's the market your in.

Tip no. 2 - always get an extended manufacturers warranty if you can. It has saved me thousands.

Tip no 3 - to all you Jackaroo owners out there, keep an eye on the above matters I have told you of. Check your diff oil regularly (although mine showed to be completely pure) and check around the diff seals to see if any crud seems to be building up and seeping in. Don't take your Jack into water past way the wheels, especially muddy water, as water, dirt and sand can easily penetrate the clutch housing.

Re the post 18629, take care especially in sand.

Sorry to post such a negative post, but it is reality.

For now I will have to make do because of finances due to a 5 month old and another one on the way! But come the end of my warranty, it may be time to pack it in and get a Prado.

D-Jack

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 18:54

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 18:54
Mate

You've not had an exactly good run have you ??

Hope Chrissy and New Year deal you a better hand.

Nil Desperado Carborundum

AnswerID: 89959

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 19:10

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 19:10
Feel for you buddy takes the gloss off of your adventure machine. If it makes you feel better I have spent in excess of 10k in 4 years on my camper all in repairs. My sister and hubby have just traded their td jack in on a prado but they couldnt speak highly enough of it
AnswerID: 89961

Reply By: Peter Guy - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 19:18

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 19:18
I'm relly sorry to hear about your experiences. I had a 1992 V6 Jackeroo from new and kept it for 4 years and travelled over 180,000 K's. The only problem I encounted was a very slight oil leak from the clutch master cylinder which was fixed under warranty.
We took it all through the Kimberly to Kalumberoo, Mitchell Falls Surveyers Pool Bungles Gibb River Rd and across the Gun Barrell to the NT and on to NSW and back to Perth towing a camper trailer.
It did a lot of sand work at Wedge Island/Lancellin as well. I thought it was indestructable and would recommend the Izuzu to anyone.
So you may have in fact have got the bad apple out of the barrel!
My GU Patrol has now travelled over 210,000 ks in 6 years and it also has been a great car-so when you are changibg next consider the Nissan too.
AnswerID: 89963

Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 19:20

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 19:20
Gee DJack, you have had a bad run, Im so sorry for your luck, it sounds like you did get a lemon.

We all know about the 3.0 TD engine problems, wiht the oil and the injector seals and Holden have accepted liability for the transmission 5th gear noise, but diffs, alternator??

I think either yours was abused in a previous life or you just have the worst luck. I own a 93 MU which if you arent aware is a SWB Jackaroo with a small body that looks similar to a Rodeo. My running gear and engine are all Jackaroo, my dad owns a 2001 3.5 Jack and my 4wdriving mates all drive Isuzus and you wouldnt believe what we put them through (266 members of ClubIsuzu)!

My MU has done over 250 000km and the diffs and alternator, gearbox are all origional. I swear by Isuzu build quality, yeah they have had a few hiccups over the years but what manufacturer hasnt.
Again Im am sorry to hear of your bad luck, no one deserves that, I hope it picks up in the future and you can enjoy the great truck you have!

AnswerID: 89964

Follow Up By: Member - Gecko (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 20:12

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 20:12
"Holden have accepted liability for the transmission 5th gear noise"
Have they?
I wasnt aware of this is there a limit on the age of the 4b that you are aware of?
FollowupID: 348750

Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 11:46

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 11:46
Gecko, nah as far as I know there CANT be an age limit, they know there has been problems with the 5th gear whine. The first repair was to place extra noise dampening around the trans tunnel, yes I am serious!! But after that if you keep on them they will take the trans out and re shim all the mainshafts etc! It has been an annoying problem for my Dads Jack. Not a reliability or failure problem, just an annoying whine in 5th gear!!

Have a chat to a servicing agent and ask about it, if they are not familiar get them to speak to Head Office or you will!!

Wish you the best of luck in the future!!

MAtt.
FollowupID: 348802

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:12

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:12
Matt,

Haven't had the 5th gear whine yet. Something to look forward to.

Happy Christmas

D-Jack
FollowupID: 348834

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 20:43

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 20:43
D Jack.... I had a few problems when my 2002 T/D Jack was very new and it took me no end of cajoling & threats to get my dealer to fix it. Now it is running beautifully but I will note your suggestion re sand & water. Who did you buy the extra warranty off? I know of several people who bought extended warranties from 3rd parties and when claims were made the fine print made them of less value than the paper they were written on. I looked in my manual and it says" Check fluid in diffs & gearbox IMMEDIATLY after crossing water" like I wonder how Immediate...is Immediate
AnswerID: 89971

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:16

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:16
Rick

I got my warranty from All States Warranty Network, Queensland based and the only one offered by my car dealer. It is a 'extended manufacturers warranty' which as it says, covers everything that the manuracturer would cover in its appropriate warranty when new. I guess if the car was new Holden may want to fix the diff to prevent bad publicity, because it is obviously a design fault. Anyway, the aftermarket company came to the party with about $700. I had to pay about $70 for fluid, additive and disposal. Not bad ey, but I'd rather not have any claims at all!

Have a good Christmas and New YEar

D-Jack
FollowupID: 348835

Reply By: Wetty (W.A) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 20:57

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 20:57
Hiya D-Jack. . . . .
I've got a 96 3.1TD and have a few dramas with the gearbox at 130,000k's the bolts falling out of the uni's on the tail-shaft and had to have a new clutch installed, but other than that it copes with most things I throw at it (or yank out of the sand with it) I became most concerned when I found out about the recall for Jackaroos built from 92-96. . . . fortunately mine was manufactered after the recall date otherwise I was gonna get rid of it too, and I will when I win the 31 million dollar Lotto Super Draw and then I'll get a HELICOPTER!!!!!!

Hope you have better luck with the Jack until you can trade up.

AnswerID: 89977

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 21:30

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 21:30
Hey D-Jack, You are not having much luck with your Jack are you?

My jack has 230000kays on it and still runs good. The thing I have going for me was when I bought it it was spottless underneath(215000kays). It didn't have a scratch on the bashplates when I got it. Now the bashplates are bashed,scratched and looking a lot worse since I got it. But the vehicle is not essential as the family car and only cost $10,000 so I figured it would be a good 4WD to start with. Done plenty of sand work but I tend to stay away from water as I am aware of the low alternator. As far as I am concerned it will do me for what I do.
I am sorry to hear about your 4WD but I have heard plenty of good things about these vehicles so please don't start putting them down too hard as some people like to do.

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 89982

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:19

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:19
Sparkie - I hope I am not putting them down as an emotional response, just quoting fact about what happened to mine and based on that I can recommend them any more. Thats all. Point taken though. In the meantime I will be trying to stay positive and enjoy the truck as much as I can, thinking twice next time about deep water/mud/ruts.

Thanks for the reply and enjoy the festive season

D-Jack
FollowupID: 348837

Reply By: Mike-TS - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 23:45

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 23:45
Exactly the reason why I bought a 100 series live axle 4.5L GXL auto! Built like a brick .... reasonable purchase cost, 10,000 km services, lots of room.

Toyos are just so well built.
AnswerID: 90002

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 00:37

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 00:37
Mate sorry to here about the problems, it's really heart renching! :-(

I tossed up between a Jap Import 3.0TD Surf and the Jackeroo and obviously by luck I got the surf despite the negative gossip about Imports, but after reading your post I am glad I went that way.

Hope you have a good christmas and that the family is well. Hope your bus keeps going until you can afford another.

Best of Luck.
AnswerID: 90006

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 08:14

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 08:14
Mate not a good run i know how you feel i hope you sort things out with your 4b, have a good chrissie and the new year brings you good luck chin up your still above ground.

AnswerID: 90015

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:20

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:20
Thanks Baz, and I've still got a 4by that still goes where I want it to. Just have to re-consider the more serious stuff next time and hopefully my run of bad luck will end.

D-Jack
FollowupID: 348838

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 08:40

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 08:40
I had a Rodeo for a couple of years. In that time I had a few warranty claims. I had a clutch replaced at 50,000km's under warranty. I was sure I'd have to pay. Dust and mud were in the bell housing and the service guy said there was a lot! The clutch started to play up again up the cape. Thankfully the more I used it the more it loosened up and started to regain full travel. Sand got in the bellhousing and into all the fingers of the presure plate. I also had a rear wheel bearing replaced as it was gummed up with mud and the headlights and indicators as they had moisture in them as a result of river crossings. I can't complain about Holden warranty. They just fixed everything even though I would say the problems were a result of me using the vehicle on the more extreme side of it's capabilities. Very tough little truck.

Leroy
AnswerID: 90017

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 11:01

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 11:01
I too am sorry to hear this saga (being an owner !) ... but thanks for the post - information is power ! One consolation for you D may be that your story has been applied to every other make on the market, I'm sure. Other owners strike lemons too - re the new model Prado being a great alternative - lets wait and see how they turn out cost wise when they've done the work yours has .... great limo though !
AnswerID: 90032

Reply By: Utemad - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 11:41

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 11:41
I think you got a lemon. Do you know what it was used for before you got it?

My 1997 4cyl petrol Rodeo has 150k on it with only minor problems. All attributable to me flogging the beejezus out of it. Nothing that stopped it in its tracks though.

I think Isuzu is up there with the best for reliability.
AnswerID: 90037

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:24

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:24
I am pretty sure the vehicle was used by ETSA, there are still a few Jacks around. Can't comprehend that they would flog the daylights out of a work car with ETSA on it.

Anyway, I understand that Isuzu had a good reputation for reliability. I'm not sure how much of my vehicle is Isuzu and how much is Holden. I was under the impression that just motor was Isuzu and drivetrain/rest was holden. Maybe I'm wrong.

D-Jack
FollowupID: 348839

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:55

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:55
It's a rebadged Isuzu Trooper. No Holden bits.
FollowupID: 348850

Reply By: Savvas - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:51

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:51
It's a real shame D-Jack. But as they say, bleep happens. Just very painful when it happens so often and at such inopportune times.

Your mechanic is right about diff failures, but that was generally on the pre 1987 models.

Congratulations and good luck with the kids.

Have a great Xmas and New Year.
AnswerID: 90072

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:10

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:10
Thanks for your good wishes Savvas. Yep, hope yours is treated to a better fate than mine. Who knows though, I could just be very unlucky and all things that could go wronng have gone wrong and nothing left to go wrong. Hope so.

Happy Chrissie

D-Jack
FollowupID: 348833

Reply By: Craigjackaroo - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:02

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:02
Well I know how you feel D-Jack.
Had alot of problems with mine too!
Can't afford to update and just holding fingers crossed that it holds out a bit longer.
Goes OK at present other than a bit of a rough idle. (using the 5-30 Synth R)
Couldn't get aftermarket warranty under $2000 so will have to wear anything that afflicts now.
As for lemon, some say every make and model has its odd lemon.
If you read the around the forums I think you will find this model has a little more than just the odd one considering the number sold as compared to other manufacturers.
Its hard to admit that maybe I made a mistake in not only purchasing it, but not getting rid of it when it first started to give problems when I could of recouped most of my purchase price.
Hope things fair well for you in the new year.
Regards Craig
AnswerID: 90121

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:39

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:39
Craig

Mine idled rough too even when the peanut mechanic put 15w40 Valvoline mineral based in it. Still idles a little rough with the 5w30 synth - I put it down to being a diesel.

I don't think you made a mistake in purchasing it. There are plenty of people willing to recommend them, and with stories of longevity and no problems.

If you don't mind me asking, what sort of problems have you had. Might give me an idea of what to look out for in the future

I agree that it seems there are more Jackaroo lemons than most other makes. One thing it really has going for it is the power and acceleration. Even those with TD Patrols, Prados, Hiluxes, Rodeos will admit the TD Jack lacks nothing in this regard and is better than most if not all other 4cyl TDs performance wise.

Thanks for the reply. Happy Christmas and new year to you too.

D-Jack
FollowupID: 348890

Reply By: Tim - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 14:46

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 14:46
D-Jack
Been there, Done that (99TD) and now have a 01 prado and there is no turning back!
Tim
AnswerID: 90225

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 00:35

Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 00:35
Mate that is a hell of a crappy run you've had, I hav'nt heard of one that bad before, my 98 v6 spent its first 3 years as a plantations dept vehicle in gippsland so it was getting flogged around on all the tracks for 80,000 k then i got it, never had a prob. still runs like new ( mind you i maintain it very well ) and most of the other jacks i have seen also run great, even the high country cops love them.

Yeah the 3.0td is a motor that is only let down by holdens complete lack of knowledge or willingness to pass info on to the private sector mechanics. The oil issue is one you only learn about through experience with them, and the injector seals are part of the complete caterpillar supplied fuel system, so blame cat for that one. it is a great motor, just too advanced for most aussie workshops and our crap fuel.

Re the deep mud holes, that will kill anything, one time i was out with some former workmates one in a v6 pajero, the other a diesel hilux. we came across some real shiza holes and they played heroes while i skirted the outsides ( and copped heaps for it) well back at work on monday, the paj alternator dies and the hilux starter packs it in, well guess who was laughing then.. me not so silly ( i think).
AnswerID: 90280

Follow Up By: Turbos - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 13:55

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 13:55
Jackaroos are definately not that bad. I have a 2000 TD and have had problems (expensive ones!) with sensors and glowplugs. However mates with GU TD's have also had similar problems. My jack has taken an absolute beating. If only I could post videos! I have put 285 wide Pirelli's on and do numerous dougnuts, figure 8's etc on the dirt and in the wet. Believe me with enough revs the jack will do it. My Jack has taken 90 000 km of persistent hammering and the LSD still works! No transmission, diff problems yet (fingers crossed) however I do change all oil very reguarly. Keep the faith and remember the throttle is your friend!!
FollowupID: 349430

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 09:20

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 09:20
Hey turbos, yeah they can take a beating alright, some of the cops jackaroos i worked on looked like they had been used in iraq or afganistan, but they were still going grouse.

What profile 285 are you running ? , just wondering as my 265/75/16 look like the biggest thing that comfortably fits, not much clearance to front swaybar at lock. Plus it has overgeared the vehicle a fair bit, have you changed gear ratios in the trans case etc ??

yes the throttle can be a great friend :-))) you reckon the t/d does crazy work, try a modded 3.5 v6 manual.. yeah baby.
FollowupID: 349778

Reply By: Westoztroopa - Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 14:14

Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 14:14
Thats a very bad run D-Jack sorry to hear. Its a real shame that the later 3.0td has turned out to be a little hit and miss in terms of reliablity because the previous Jack 3.1td was a very strong and reliable unit from what I understand.
Personally my 92 v6 Jack has been great while being driven fairly hard off road and has only suffered the usual failures for a vehicle of its age (clutch, hubs etc). But the other problems have been self inflicted. Apart from blowing a cv going up an extreme hill climb, most of the other problems have been caused by water crossings such as a/c bearing, alternator bearings and brushes. When my clutch was replaced at about 115,000kms the mechanic did say he noticed water/mud in the bell housing so mine didnt escape there either... Isuzu obviously didnt design the vehicles very well to cope with water crossings as is evident by the rediculous positioning of the alternator!

I have to say overall though that mine has been a terrrific vehicle and very reliable especially offroad where it has never left me stranded.

Again sorry for your negative Jackaroo experience an I hope which ever choice you make with your next fourby it is one that you will be happy with.

Noel
AnswerID: 91009