excellent customer service from Staun tyre deflators

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 10:35
ThreadID: 18799 Views:2888 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
ok, now before I get spammed/flamed, the only people I know who mock these devices are those that haven't used them themselves - apart from Truckster, but he's just a grumpy old bugger about everything ;)

These things will actually save you money because you'll be more inclined to let your tyres down for things like dirt roads (e.g. you set two valves to 27psi for dirt and two to 18psi for beach).

Regardless of what you think of the usefulness of the product, there is no doubting the customer service. When I saw a post on this site that someone had returned their old plastic variety in exchange for the new brass ones, I thought I'd try the same to exchange my aluminium ones - which work fine, but if you can get new ones for free, why not...no problems, and would you like them before xmas was the response... a bit different to the 'can't do' attitude of most places...

Reply By: Chucky - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 13:12

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 13:12
G'day pathfinder,
Have been trowing arond wether or not to get a set, but have heard they are a bastard to set to the right pressure and the easy to knock ot of adjustment. is this true? The guy who told me this said he had a set but didn't use them. I don't know anything about them, but I was going to get a set until was warned agaist them. so any info would be great
thanks
AnswerID: 90045

Follow Up By: pathfinder - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 13:28

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 13:28
I haven't found this to be true...they come preset at 18psi and this is suitable for beach and even difficult firetrails if your vehicle isn't too heavy. Off the top-of-my-head each half a turn represents 3psi and this is also accurate. The key to them not going out of adjustment is to tighten the lock 'nut' with a pair of pliers rather than just finger tight...

All these people that reckon they don't use them should give them to someone who will...
FollowupID: 348805

Follow Up By: Neil & Lynne - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 13:43

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 13:43
Hi Chucky
I have had a set of Stauns for several years from when I ran a towing service which also covered beach recoveries. Having to take my cruiser to the beach sometimes a couple times a day they quickly paid for themselves in time saved deflating tyres. What I would do was drive to about 1 km from the beach access point then stop & fit the Stauns, then when arriving at the beach the tyres were already to go on the sand.
They are a breeze to set up, one turn of the Allen key = about 2psi I think from memory, it is so long since I needed to adjust them ;-).

One trick I learned for setting.....use a bicycle tyre, or wheelbarrow tyre maybe, much much quicker to deflate & re-inflate for checking settings.

Further to time saving, I mounted a 17 CFM Honda powered compressor to the 75 ute back - 40 seconds to go from 16 to 36psi in the 33's. Quicker than most service stations.

Picture this though....one night about 11pm, called to a beach to recover a bogged Jeep, owners first trip to the beach, he let his tyres down to around 6psi, AFTER getting bogged. Obviously a accountant/non mechanical type, on seeing & hearing the deafening Honda cranking away (at midnight by now) he innocently said "gosh that thing is efficient...does it run off your battery?"

I did refrain from laughing too.

Enough from me

Neil.
FollowupID: 348807

Follow Up By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:56

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 18:56
Chucky, I don't have any problems setting them, they're pretty accurate. If you don't tighten the lock nut you can accidentally adjust them when fitting/unfitting to tyre but you only do it once then make sure its tight. Nonchalantly offer to take them off your mates hands for $20-. if he doesn't use them he's in font & I'm pretty sure you won't regret it.
FollowupID: 348841

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:01

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:01
...no allen key hole on mine, jst a fiddly retaining ring. I gave up trying to set them to precise pressures...about 4 hours into trying to set them off the spare was enough for me. I reckon it is quicker and more accurate to use a stick and a tyre gauge IMHO.
FollowupID: 348842

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 23:36

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 23:36
I found them hard to set & quite inaccurate.
I put a lot of time into setting them to 28psi, resetting the pressure on the set up tyre after setting each one.
When I double checked them one at a time, I found they varied by almost 5 psi.
I have absolutely no idea how long it would take to set them all accurately, it would just be trial & error.
I think for once I might be with Truckster on this one!
FollowupID: 348904

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 23:41

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 23:41
Addendum to the above.

When I mentioned this to Staun at the Melbourne 4x4 Show, I was told to send them back for setting at the factory, & there would be a $10.00 charge!
I gathered from this, that my complaint is not uncommon, as he had no advice as to how to set them accurately, other than to return them for factory setting. I noticed when they demo them at the shows that they only set one, not 4.
FollowupID: 348905

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:22

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:22
They're a great piece of kit! We love 'em..... and if they have to be reset.... then reset them!!! It ain't hard is it?? I have ours set to 22 psi, that's "OUR" pressure.. we use that for Fraser, fire trails etc... bush work, haven't done any outback corrugated roads yet, but we'll work on that when we come to it.

Go The Stauns!
AnswerID: 90102

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:45

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:45
Tried mine out the other day for the first time when I went to recover my mate who's pajero burnt out the clutch. Hot day, hot sand etc etc, whacked them on, sat back in the air con for a minute and whamo off we went, bloody awsome!!
AnswerID: 90106

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 20:28

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 20:28
You probably did this anyway, but cos you didn't say so, I'll just add that you shouldn't drive off after fitting the Stauns (IMHO).

They are quite heavy and can (apparently) cause the stem to break off, or they can deflate the tyre entirely.

Just use them to reduce pressures and then remove them before setting off again on your merry. Speaking of which; Merry Xmas
FollowupID: 348857

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 12:58

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 12:58
Yes, good point, I did remove them but I did leave it out of my description. Before I had them I was under the impression that you left them on, but after pulling them out of the packet you would'nt want to do that, not only the weight but the grit and crap getting into the what would seem delicate valves would be a problem.

But yeah, what a cool product, somthing I just couldn't justify to spend the dow on myself, but a great present for someone!
FollowupID: 348947

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 20:57

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 20:57
They are a good Idea as I have found that by the time I have screwed on the four Stuans the first one is about done and it reduces the time it takes to deflate by heaps. Once you have them set to the correct pressure use a pair of pliers to nip up the adjustment thread because they need more than hand tightening.

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 90118

Reply By: Moneypit - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 03:32

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 03:32
Just in case anyone failed to understand the significance of the one liner above, they are easy to set and quite accurate over all 4 if you do them right.

Use your kids pushbike, not your car tyre. Pumping the car tyres up and down takes bloody hours and when the tyres are deflating the Staun is actually working off pressure, not volume or tyre size. 28psi is 28psi, n matter what size tube is holding the air.

When you get it set right [2 of mine at 28, 2 at 18 squirt a drop of super glue up against the adjuster and let it set. After a while tighten up the lock nut against it.

End result, permanently set and not able to be accidently knocked out. Takes less than an hour from start to finish and only needs to be done once.

Me, I wouldn't be without them but I started life as a sceptic. Thankfully my wife doesn't take any notice of me and brought them anyway. She was paronoid about a stick braking the valve. Doesn't realise that I always had spare valves and cores in the car just in case.

AnswerID: 90170