Submitted: Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 12:59
Chucky
Hello All,
My in-laws have a '01 3.0td jackaroo and have never had a problem with anything until last night. The mother out-law went to the airport to pick up her sister when she heard a loud knocking noise from the engine and notice it was blowing large amounts of thick black smoke after a few seconds she lost power in the engine so put it into neutral to coast to the side of the road and the enigne died. So she called me to go get her and somehow I ended up on the side of the road while the out-law and wife went to pick up the relies. I had a good look at everything saw nothing ot of the ordinary i.e good oil level and color, plenty of
water in rad again good color and no scum under cap. tried to turn it over and it seemed to turn over real easily, heaps easily considering the outlaw had
the hazards, parker lights and stereo going for a good hour before I got there. So I was thinking that the timing belt might be gone. the RACQ bloke arrived checked everything again and turned the engine over for a bit and the engine locks up. It sounded just like a hydrolic lock and now won't turn over at all. Anyway to get to the point has anyone heard of a similar thing happening before to anyone else, or any ideas on what it could be. It is under warrenty but the dealers say they won't be able even look at it until after xmas. The 4b has nder 60k on the clock is not driven hard and is
well serviced.
Thanks in advance for any help and MERRY XMAS AND A HAPPY, SAFE NEW YEAR.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 13:41
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 13:41
Hope its something relitively simple like somekind of wizz bang sensor -But from my experience when a motor makes loud banging sounds and dies in a plume of black smoke it is time to reach for the chequebook
Reply By: phantom - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 14:50
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 14:50
Heard of case recently where the turbo carked it due to lack of oil from the engine. Cause was determined to be a blockage in the oil galleries of the block which eventually led to everything letting go. Cost about $15,000 to repair under warranty but was difffiult to diagnose and the vehicle was in the
shop for 3 months.
Reply By: flappan - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:20
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:20
No idea what it is , could be many things.
One thing I would be sure of . . .
Diesel motor locks up . . . $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.
Its gunna be big , and its gunna be expensive . . . Gotta love them diesels.
lucky its under warranty.
Reply By: Rick Blaine - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:22
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:22
Just your Luck... but if its under warranty they should only be up for new oil and filters...maybe $200....A mate had a similar thing but the engine just disintegrated.. left a trail of parts along the road....and a 3 month wait while a new engine came out on a sailing ship from Isuzu...
Reply By: Savvas - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:34
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:34
Get onto Holden pronto. It sounds like the dreaded injector seal problem on the 3.0Tdi.
There is an issue with the early 3.0 engines where failed injector seals let engine oil into the combustion chamber, leading to hydraulic lock. If this is the case, then it will be an expensive repair and Holden should foot the bill.
You can search through the archives here for info on the matter. Look at post 16997. There are other posts about owners having got Holden to accept liability for it, but I'm unable to find them right now.
Good luck and have a great Xmas.
Follow Up By: flappan - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 16:03
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 16:03
Gotta say , that is the ONE thing I did think of , but haven't heard such a dramatic case of it.
Follow Up By: Savvas - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 17:09
Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 17:09
Yep ... it usually is dramatic. Clouds of smoke because of engine oil entering the combustion chamber, lots of bangs and other loud noises.
One of the symptoms that occurs just before the "final puff" is a sudden increase in engine speed. Just what's needed before it goes into hydro-lock.
Reply By: Chucky - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 08:13
Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 08:13
Thanks for everyones reply,
haven't heard from holden yet, and most likely won't until the new year, I reckon.
I have read abou the oil seals but didn't think it could cause the problem we are having, but it won't be the first or last time I am wrong. Bt I will let you know whats happens next.
Cheers and a Merry Xmas
Follow Up By: Stuart (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 12:48
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 12:48
Hey Chucky, I hope it turned out OK. Did I miss your follow up? As a 92k 3.0tDi owner, I am real keen to know as much as possible.
Stu