anti theft

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:41
ThreadID: 18823 Views:2365 Replies:13 FollowUps:12
hi everyone, merry christmas

just wondering if anyone's got any simple ideas to stop a car from being driven off (ie stolen) . Handbrake locks etc, any way to disable a diesel (cutout switches etc) either fuel or electric system?
thanks everyone

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:05

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:05
I thought that's what inverters were for ....;-}}}}}
AnswerID: 90134

Follow Up By: conman - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:07

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:07
you've lost me there,
totally lol
FollowupID: 348874

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:20

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:20
Pork crackling .... it's Chrissy ain't it??
FollowupID: 348880

Follow Up By: conman - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:27

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:27
nope still nothing
hahah
FollowupID: 348882

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:32

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:32
Is it by name ... by nature???

Have a good one anyway
FollowupID: 348884

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:05

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:05
Let some air into the fuel system...thieves won't have time to bleed the system...you will have to do it though when you get back from wherever...merry christmas
AnswerID: 90135

Follow Up By: conman - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:06

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:06
cant do that every night though
FollowupID: 348873

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:36

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:36
Looking outside the square

Buy a ship yard chain then and an almighty lock. Put around axle and telegraph pole/garage strut/fire hydrant............

Alternatively.....a screaming alarm system?
FollowupID: 348885

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:25

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:25
Mate,

Go for agreed value insurance.

My experience with the last 10 vehicles I have sold is that I got nothing near the insured value for them.

In the event that some scumbag steals your car, they will have done you a financial favour.

Sleep easy in the knowledge that if it's not there in the morning, you can replace it and bank the balance.

All the best,

AnswerID: 90139

Follow Up By: conman - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:36

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:36
funny thing Jim,
Is that my car is insured for 18000 with NRMA, after i added lights, bar, winch, snorkel, suspension, cb, batteries etc i rang to increase agreed value but was told i could only add the extras but not increase the agreed value. ( the extras would be covered if stolen) No good to me if the car is a writeoff as the extras are worth at least $7000. Inquired tonight over the NRMA website for price for $24000 value and the premium is only $100 extra than what i paid 6 weeks ago!
I think i'll be cancelling policy tomorow and getting a new one.
FollowupID: 348886

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 23:00

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 23:00
I strongly recommend talking to numerous Insurance Companies for a quote. Might take an hour or two but the differences are amazing.

I think you have already experienced this, but try many others and you may be pleasantly surprised.

It's a buyer's market. Unfortunately some people simply renew their insurance every year without shopping and I believe that is how the companies make their money.

I negotiate every year for a better deal, but I'm a bit tight.

FollowupID: 348900

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 00:27

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 00:27
A couple of empty 303 shells on the dash might make them look at another 4wd instead
AnswerID: 90162

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 07:48

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 07:48
LOL!!!

303 shells, a Bandito's bumper sticker and a copy of "Bad Boys Police Almanac - 1984"
FollowupID: 348913

Reply By: muzzgit - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 01:20

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 01:20
Hey Conman, A descent imobilizer should cost less than $250 fitted, and anyway, isn't it compulsory to have one of them fitted, or is that only in WA ?

Muzz
AnswerID: 90167

Follow Up By: greghud - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:58

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:58
stick a pezio siren in the car not fun trin to steal with that goin off at plus 120 db!!!
FollowupID: 348997

Reply By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 01:37

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 01:37
Mate, move to somewhere like.....Birdsville. We don't have to contend with problems like that out here !

Merry Christmas.
AnswerID: 90168

Reply By: Chaz - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 06:30

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 06:30
Hi Conman,

After the little darlings tried to steal my pride and joy, I decided to fit a "Hurst" line lock to it, with a check valve in parellel, just like I had on my drag car. If they tried to take the car, the first time they used the brakes, was where they stayed. It would cause the front brakes to lock up and stay on, so they won't hang around at the traffic lights to try and work it out. It would be just as easy to fit one to the rears also.
A cheap and simple thing to do, that works.

Merry Christmas

Chaz
http://members.bettanet.net.au/~conody/index.htm
AnswerID: 90171

Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 07:35

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 07:35
The best way is fuel, stop it getting to the motor on any vehicle and it won't go.
Relatively easy to fit even to diesel as most have a fuel cutoff to stop them which is electrically activated.
Take your time and hide the wiring and they won't hang around to find it.
Unfortunately if someone really wants your vehicle you will never stop them.
A tilt tray and away they go even with the alarm blaring.
I noticed a tilt tray backed up to and about to hook up to a fellow emplyees vehicle once. While the guy was hooking it up I rang the owner and then parked in front of the truck (I was in another truck).
When the owner turned up we fronted the towie who had a printed work order to pick up the vehicle, funny though he unloaded it very quickly when we started to ring the cops.
They duly turned up and arrested him, we never did here any more about it though, never went to court as we were never called as witnesses. Suspect the plods might have been in on it at the time and it was back in the 80's.
AnswerID: 90174

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 08:34

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 08:34
throw the kids in there at night. The crook won't stay in the car long. Heaven knows after 5 minutes of my child screaming I am ready to pull over and run away myself ;-)

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 90182

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 12:14

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 12:14
A simple (but not necessarily totally effective) thing to do is move the transfer case lever into neutral. Most drongos wouldn't know what the stumpy gear lever is for and would probably think the clutch was phubar if they managed to get the donk going and tried to drive off.
But I'd have to agree with the others who've said some sort of fuel cut-off would be ideal.
AnswerID: 90212

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 15:44

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 15:44
That's a brilliant idea Roachie, very clever.
My mate (who needs friends eh?) once did that too me, I could not for the life of me work out what was wrong.... Clutch? Uni Joints? What the hell is wrong with my car!
Crawled around underneath, got back in and he said "try it now" WOW IT WORKS. Man I felt like a DH. He was lauging alot...
FollowupID: 348954

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 13:01

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 13:01
In WA imobalisers are compulsory and cost around $100 fitted. In no time it devastated car theft over here. It is the only thing we havnt had to Wait Awile for (daylight savings, sunday trading,after hours shopping etc etc)
AnswerID: 90213

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 15:46

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 15:46
Pitty it's not a petrol... You could put one of those stainless steering wheels on and hook it up to the coil through a kill switch.

Crank it over, grab the steering wheel, HOLY CRAP!
AnswerID: 90229

Follow Up By: greghud - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:55

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:55
now that my kinda anti theft system!!!!
FollowupID: 348996