gu 4 incorrect speedo reading 3.0L Man

Submitted: Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:22
ThreadID: 18841 Views:3084 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
I have just had my 1000k service and advised nissan that my speedo reads 4 km slow according to the GPS and the police officer at Horsam. Nissan Customer Relations Dept. (DILLIGAF dept. )instructed me that the speedo is only an indicator of speed and according to the ADR 18/02, Speedometers & Odometers clause 18.5.11.2 indicates the actual vehicle speed for all speeds above 40km/h to an accuracy of plus or minus 10 % . I had the speedo check and documented by the RAA in S.A. to show nissan the problem ,but will not fixit under warranty due to the ADR ruling.
Now what I want to share with you is I did alot of reasearch to find the part No. for the Speedo pinion gear.
The original is a Black 17 tooth, I change it to a Yellow 16 tooth, and has now given me a lot closer reading, actual speed 50 speedo 51k, actual speed 60k speedo 62k ,actual speed 100k speedo 102k
the part Number for this 16 tooth is NI-32743-VBO16.... $54.65
I hope this helps some one out as I had a lot of trouble with Nissan spare parts locating it.
total cost $55 for the RAA test, $53.35 for an 18 tooth (bugga) ,$54.65 for the 16 tooth. 5 min to change it.( 10 m spanner & small needle circlip pliers) A little oil comes out Just place a clean rag in the hole to stop it

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:34

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:34
Hi Bob, I think the police allow you 10% so its not really a problem. Cheers Michael
AnswerID: 90237

Follow Up By: gu bob - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:40

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:40
I think in SA they set there speed camera at 4 km over the limit,
FollowupID: 348961

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 17:38

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 17:38
WHAT DO YOU MEAN NOT A PROBLEM! It's a brand new (and very expensive I might add) vehicle! My 7 year old japanese gray import is exact to my 12 sat GPS.

I would NOT BE HAPPY.
FollowupID: 348974

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:05

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:05
Coppers in Vic do not allow 10%. The limit is 3 km/h. So if you're doing 104 km/h you're nicked son. That is 4%, not anywhere near 10%.

The ADR's have no credence with the Victorian Govt and what is worse, your average Plod enforces it.

Between Plod, the Govt and car manufacturers there is no sense. Just keep bending the poor old motorist over to keep the budget in surplus.

Funny thing, the road toll is going no where whilst the revenue goes up.

Makes me livid.

FollowupID: 348990

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:37

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:37
Should have just fitted bigger tyres.

Jaycar has a kit coming out to electronically adjust your speedo. Good if you have two different size sets of tyres or just to make your existing setup more accurate.
AnswerID: 90238

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 11:03

Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 11:03
Its on the shelf next to the exhaust gas temp switch and readout for turbos, etc
FollowupID: 349016

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 11:03

Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 11:03
santa told me :-)
FollowupID: 349017

Reply By: Glenn D - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:58

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:58
Hows it going Bob

I went up a tyre size from standard to 285/75r16, and was worried about the error in the speedo . I checked it with my gps and found it to be spot on .As previously stated should have put your money toward some new rubber.

happy xmas

Glenn
AnswerID: 90239

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:59

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:59
Must be a Nissan thing

My speedo is accurate up to 70km then it starts to over read. Which is a good thing as at showing 110kmh I am actually doing 105kmh acording to the GPS. I get so used to looking at the GPS I hardly watch the speedo.
AnswerID: 90240

Reply By: KP - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 19:06

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 19:06
I find it interesting about the difference between GPS speed and Car speedo. I have a 2003 model patrol 3.0ltr Auto with a vdo dayton navigation system. There is a difference of about 10kph between gps and speedo. gps being slower. My question is how accurate and reliable is the gps speed reading.
AnswerID: 90250

Follow Up By: greghud - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:31

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:31
best way to tell if the gps is inaccurate is to look for fluctuations in the diference between the speedo and the gps if its always the same then it must be accurate ie 100 kph on the speedo and 110 on the gps no matter if u r heading north south east or west, as the speedo is running off a gear drive, unless u r doin donuts it at least shuld be consistant. all the same it sucks that u cant get a brand new car that reads an accurate speed, given todays policing of the speed limits, seems all the cops are alowed to do, is collect revenue and they dont even give the benifit of the doubt to the end user of the inaccuracy of the car manufactures product. but just like the pokies, the govt is addicted to the revinue that this brings in so dunno if any amount of whinging about it will help, it all seems to fall on deaf ears. if only i could get some sort of kit from jacar or the like, that gives me a camera seaking missile that i could strap to the front of the car set it to auto and i will just keep reloading it now i wouldnt mind one of those!!!!! and befor all the posts YES THIS LAST COMMENT IS A JOKE. and to ASIO it wasn't me, i didn't do it, you can't prove anything ;)
FollowupID: 348993

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 23:08

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 23:08
You guys must really be joking ....right? A speedo has always been just an indication of speed. Buy a ferrari, probably the same deal for a $300,000 price tag. Leave home five minutes earlier,relax, enjoy the drive and save some fuel also.. Fix it if you want, but a big deal it ain't. Cheers all .. have a nice Christmas.. Michael.
AnswerID: 90270

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 23:19

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 23:19
Bob,, i reckon you would get a 2 to 3km difference between new tyres and bald tyres. Especially with some of the deep treaded tyres like BFG's. Its never going to be perfect.
FollowupID: 348998

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 00:26

Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 00:26
The gears are an old fix on GQ's but a hell of a lot cheaper than GU ones!!!
AnswerID: 90277

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 15:24

Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 15:24
"advised nissan that my speedo reads 4 km slow according to the GPS "

If you know its 4klm slow, then drive 5kph different ... save the stress and money on different gears etc.

Or just mount your GPS on the dashpod like 1000s of others and drive off of that!
AnswerID: 90347

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 21:25

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 21:25
I agree, just slow down,, if its way out then its probably worth fixing but there is more to worry about that that. Michael
FollowupID: 349110

Reply By: Flash - Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 09:16

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 09:16
gu bob
Some people amaze me!
Every vehicle I have owned has had an inaccurate speedo. It is a fact of life. Accept it. So's the temp gauge, the oil gauge etc.
I must say also that I have always done speedo checks on the specially marked sections of road which are there for that purpose, so I do know what I am actually doing. Nowadays though it's much easier- thanks to GPS which is as accurate as you'll get as long as you are travelling in a straight line and at a steady speed. We have four vehicles in the family (all from different manufacturers)- all have inaccurate
speedos and when driving them I simply allow for the known inaccuracies.
Giving Nissan a hard time re warranty over a few kays out- I suggest you have a reality check.
I will just about guarantee every vehicle you've had would have been just as far out, if you'd bothered to check. Slow down a bit.
AnswerID: 90440

Follow Up By: gu bob - Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 14:56

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 14:56
ok ok ok enough
If some one wants the part number there it is ...
if you want to except a prouduct that it not exact except it....
I like things nice so I fix it .. waranty or not..
amagine all things 10% out .. for starter air planes would have to have bigger brakes 10% would that be + or - ?

FollowupID: 349088

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 21:22

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 21:22
Hey Flash, the marked road will only tell you if your odometer is correct, how many ks you do.. Nothing to do with the indicated speed unless you are doing 100ks and time it over the minute and land on the kilometer marker..... than all is well. Michael
FollowupID: 349109

Follow Up By: Flash - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 13:18

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 13:18
Wrong Michael- No offence- I guess I have to spell it out. I'm an engineer for goodness sake.....
Drive at 100kph for 5klms and time it. Schoolboy Physics.
How stupid do you think some people are????
Cheers and happy new year.
FollowupID: 349148

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 10:23

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 10:23
Well Flash , for goodness sakes, your an engineer, If you actually read my first post, i actually said the speedo was only an indication of speed and always has been. Exactly the same comment you sent to GU bob. If you read my second post to you, i was saying the same thing as you replied to me, i may have not executed it very well but i meant the same thing. If its Schoolboy Physics then there probably no reason to mention that you are a Engineer. I really dont care for you pompus reply to me. If you were a member i would have sent this to you personally. Michael
FollowupID: 349300

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 14:27

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 14:27
While i'm here Flash, It's interesting the comments others gave in regard to GU Bobs Question, I said dont worry about, and did some others also, others said fit bigger tyres, others said slow down a little. All replies were polite until your post above. Starts like this................ Gu bob, "some people amaze me", you are obviously telling him he is a dill, then you go on to tell him, " "Just accept it", and then, "get a reality check". Then go to tell him all guages are inaccurate, I'd like to know what you check the oil and temp guages against, and why.. and all your four cars read different speeds against the correct, WOW. you have actually checked them all. I can see it now, Driving up the freeway, four members of the family tailgating each other,wakie talkies in hand, yelling out current speeds, someone taking notes. And you drive each vehicle to the known error. I suppose you have a post-it note on each dash with the error, either plus or the minus. Finally you tell Bob that all his cars he has ever owned have probably had errors,"if he had bothered to check". Well, he probably had a life and didn't feel the need to check them. I bet you have him thinking now, "God i should have checked them when i had the chance". Really Flash, I think its you that needs a reality check, your post is very condesending and if i was Bob i would not have been happy. Michael.
FollowupID: 349311

Follow Up By: Flash - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 07:36

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 07:36
Gee, Michael (Moss Vale NSW)
I'm sooo sorry I obviously upset you.
I was merely trying to get the point across to Bob (with no malice intended) that such speedo errors are absolutely normal and not something to hound his dealer over.

...But then you "told" me I would only be checking if my odometer was out on the measured distance.

I was then "telling" you that I am quite capable of working out speed over a measured distance. Yes, funnily enough there is a difference (albeit slight) between distance and speed. I mentioned I was an engineer simply because you suggested I didn't know the difference between distance and speed.
And what's this garbage about " Driving up the freeway, four members of the family tailgating each other, wakie talkies in hand, yelling out current speeds, someone taking notes." (your spelling)? Wow!
Maybe that's the way you do it with your "His & Her's Rigs"- so bet it. Who cares! Good for You! I'm glad you have an active and prolific imagination.

DO relax and have a happy new year.
I'm sure you'll have to have the last say- I await with baited breath!

And to Bob if you were in any way offended by this endless tirade- please accept my genuine and humble apology. Cheers and happy new year.

FollowupID: 349387

Reply By: StormyKnight - Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 20:14

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 20:14
Mate thanks for your research, it would be nice that in 2004 that a speedo was beter than in 1970, but while people prefer the analogue type I think where stuck with it. I'm sue my 2001 GXl Prado is at least 5km slow when it says 100km/h due to I was following the wife home in the commodore, it's speed was 90km/h & hers was about 95km/h.

I guess we are lucky that its reading a higher speed than actual when it comes to the boys in blue.

P.S. The difference in time between travelling at 90km/h to 100km/h for 100 km is only 6 minutes so 5km/h plus or minus in time at least isn't much.

AnswerID: 90488