Jackaroo - Sand in the bellhousing/clutch - the saga continues

Submitted: Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 17:54
ThreadID: 18844 Views:3038 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Further to my previous posting (18629) the saga is continuing.

I have hit a brick wall with my dealer & Holden. They dont want to admit that there is a problem with my Jack.

Unfortunately due to Christmas/New YEar committments (and the threat from the dealer to take back their loan car) I have had to collect and pay for the repairs to the Jack. I have told the dealer & Holden that I intend to take the matter further.

Like many of the other postings have stated, Holden were quick to say that I "ABUSED" the vehicle and they will not cover the repairs under warranty.

They are trying to say that I must have been driving over the dunes or have had the vehicle bogged in deep sand. This was not the case in either of the circumstances where the clutch has failed. I have quite a few members of my 4WDC to back me up.

Holden (Customer Assist) have suggested that I get an independent assessment of the vehicle done to see if any thing is missing from underneath the vehicle that may have caused the sand to enter. The guy I spoke to at Holden said that a dealer would not admit that anything was missing even if they discovered there was (Sounds like they are trying to cover up something!!).

To me there does not appear to be anything missing.

Does anyone know where I can head to get a check done as the finances are stretched at this time of the year?

My appears that my next step is to visit the appropriate governmet authority to take my complaint further.

If anybody has any further suggestions of comments please let me know

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (NSW) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 18:07

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 18:07
RACQ, RACV, NRMA.
That covers three states, what are the rest called??

Hope that helps,
Geoff.

AnswerID: 90245

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 19:40

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 19:40
RAA all the way in SA!
FollowupID: 348983

Reply By: D-Jack - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 19:47

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 19:47
Jacked off - sounds a little like the Dealer/Holden have already admitted their liability

"They are trying to say that I must have been driving over the dunes or have had the vehicle bogged in deep sand."

Are they saying that their vehicle is not capable of being driven in sand? What about the bit in the manual and 4wd plaque on the sun visor that says use low range for driving in mud/snow/SAND? - this would implicate it can be driven in sand.
I know it has been said before, but you would have to have your car bogged up above the doors at least to bog it up to the clutch housing. Not a bad effort that either.

Stick at it. I know how you feel (read my previous recent posts)

Despite all this, hope you and your family have a very happy Christmas and safe and repair/dealer free new year!

D-Jack
AnswerID: 90252

Reply By: Steviebee - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 20:49

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 20:49
Hi Jacked Off,

for sand and mud to enter the bell housing and contaminate the clutch, there must be an opening somewhere. This may sound obvious, but please bear with me ........

The bell housing is at the connection between gearbox and engine, so if there is an opening somewhere which tends to scoop in debris under normal conditions when driving on sand / mud (normal 4wding), I would regard that as a latent defect, which Holden should be responsible for fixing.

However, if the only point of entry for sand is miles up the bell housing which requires the driver to be bogged up to the door handles, or fording a 5 foot deep river, perhaps they could rightly argue abuse.

I hope you get my drift - I think it all depends where the debris gets in and under what circumstances. I'll get under mine in the next day or two and try to find the entry point, unless another owner already knows ?

AnswerID: 90257

Follow Up By: Steviebee - Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 15:30

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 15:30
Hi J-D,

as promised, checked under my Jackaroo this morning and found 3 potential entry points for debris into the bell housing / clutch area :

1) a small gap (15 mm x 3 mm) in the bottom of the bell housing casting. Probably intended to allow any oil which may pass the main shaft seal to drip out harmlessly rather than building up in the bell housing and contaminating the clutch.
2) a small removeable cover in the bottom of the bell housing. This covers a circular inspection port approx 30 mm diameter. Shine a torch inside and you can see the clutch mechanism.
3) another removeable cover higher up the side of the bell housing in line with the clutch release arm. Allows access to end of arm for lubrication.

My opinion is that under normal circumstances, very little debris would enter opening 1). With mine, the small amount of oil present had mixed with sand and plugged the opening. I used a bent bit of wire to clean it out. Looking through port 2), no contamination visible.

Again, under normal circumstances, openings 2) and 3) would not allow anything to enter BUT if their seals were damaged, or had not been replaced properly after servicing, had worked loose or fallen off (!) - no spring washers fitted, they would be a super efficient way for sand to enter the bell housing, especially if driving on loose sand, which tends to spray up under the car. If Holden had done all your servicing, they should be liable.

Also, I noticed cover 2) was very thin and easily bent, and cover 3) fitted with questionable (ie foam strip type) seal. Both these cover quite large holes which would easily collect sand into the bell housing if not properly sealed.

BTW as I was scrambling around underneath, I noticed that there was only a very small thin sheet steel guard fitted at the front under the engine gearbox area. It was held in place by two bolts to the back edge of the black guard you can see underneath at the front. I was surprised to see two unused captive nuts in a corresponding posiiton at the rear of this area, which suggests to me that there may be a more substantial guard available to protect this entire area. This would also tend to deflect the flying sand spray away from the bell housing area - perhaps this is the missing thing the Holden bloke is talking about (?).

Why is it not fitted ? A few suppositions - I believe Izuzu probably aimed this vehicle primarily at the lucrative North American market (note split rear door more suited to driving on right side of road). Perhaps they removed the cover for the Australian market to give better cooling in this hotter climate ? Have a look underneath and see how exposed the engine sump and front diff are ! So, I'll be fitting a better guard anyway to protect the area and hopefully deflect sand away from the engine area.

Suggestions for you :
1) ask Holden to explain specifically, what 'abuse' could have allowed sand to enter. Even if deeply bogged and the gearbox partly sumberged, I cannot see how sand could possibly enter opening 1). Press them to explain how it could.
2) If Holden did your servicing, and sand has entered via 2) or 3), they must be liable.

- You may be lucky and find that Holden are more willing to 'accomodate' you, if you can develop a rapport based on technical knowledge rather than emotion - not easy, fobbing people off seems to be part of the management development program ! Let them know you know about the covers and the critical fit to give proper sealing, etc..

Hope some of this helps, Good Luck and let us know how you progress with Holden!

Steve.
FollowupID: 349089

Reply By: Patroleum - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 21:14

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 21:14
Jacked Off,

What does your warranty book say about clutch. Many manufacturers do not cover the clutch under warranty as it is a naturally wearing component. The way the manufacturer sees it is that it is expected to wear out - nature of the beast. Even this being the case the manufacturer will often cover the clutch during a decided upon period of time/mileage (Usually quite low). I presume yours is fairly high mileage and a long way from any unprinted limitation.
Good luck and happy christmas.

AnswerID: 90261

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:23

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 22:23
They are trying to say that I must have been driving over the dunes or have had the vehicle bogged in deep sand.

Can someone tell me if the Jackaroo is a 4wd?
4wd meaning that its designed to take offroad..

Send copies of letters by email to EVERY 4wd club on the planet.. let them know what a true piece of $hit it is, and Holdens attitude.
AnswerID: 90266

Follow Up By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 07:03

Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 07:03
What's with the attitude, Truckster. All cars have problems to some degree andbleepoff Owners of vehicles different than yours is not called for. You can bleep on holden all you like but The Jackaroo is a great vehicle with off road capabilities and although it hasn't got the strengths of Nissan they are quite capable.

We all know you have a love for rubbing peoples nose in it and I am sure this won't stop you ;-)

Merry Christmas and Happy New year to all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
FollowupID: 349006

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 21:54

Saturday, Dec 25, 2004 at 21:54
g'day jacked
ive had 2 @ r9 rodeos 87-00, and 00 -04 and now have an ra 4 days and 300km old.
taken mine extensivelly off road in my travels. my first rodeo had a clutch replaced under warranty at 95k. the gearbox had been taken out at 85k due to bearing probs that could not be found and after taking to several other dealers as recommended by customer service, met the holden rep and we agreed that they would try a new clutch at their expence. and if noise perssisted i would accept as is and they would repair later if it compounded even out of warrenty. this fixed the prob.the mechanic said that there was a lot of sand in old clutch. at 110k traded it .

new 2000 model had a good run usual probs tie rod colapse and cv damage but that is the risk with ifs. in jan 2004 did tassie and after the balfour track with km's of muddy water the thrust bearing has been noisy since. no slip but low growl when engaging. now taken the plunge on a new ra.

isuzu gearbox- clutch do take in some debris, keep at holden ask to meet a rep. to negotiate situation.

regards peter
AnswerID: 90359

Reply By: Jammo - Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 18:47

Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 18:47
Jacked Off,
Can you email me at jhaley3180@hotmail.com I might be able to give you some assistance in getting some satisfaction. Could you please email exactly what your issue is, in a concise (unemotional) manner and exactly what your dealer has told you, which dealer and who at the dealership. I am not promising anything but I might be able to help you address your issue in a more timely and expedient manner.
James
AnswerID: 91638

Follow Up By: Jacked off - Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 17:49

Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 17:49
Hi Jammo

Sent you an email

FollowupID: 350618

Follow Up By: JHA - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 21:37

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 21:37
Jacked off, here is what I was able to find out. I’ll post this on the forum for others as well.

Okay this is what I have been able to establish. Sand in the bell housing shouldn’t be creating this problem. In fact sand when it enters should be disposed of through natural gravity. Your problems are symptomatic of some other issue. That issue could very well be the peddle issue that I mentioned shortly. On the other hand if it is symptomatic of a separate issue, until that is established and solved you may very well continue to have this issue.

A possible course to this problem could be how your clutch peddle is adjusted. Bear with me on this one. With the Jackaroo’s the actual peddle at your feet can be manually adjusted with two screws or callipers. This may be adjusted incorrectly so as to cause the clutch to be ‘just’ ‘just’ touching. In normal driving it may not even be noticeable except for reduce clutch life over an extended period of time. Now when you let down your tyres and drive in the sand this obviously results in a tremendous amount of increased stress and strain. Get your hands on a service book and see where the clutch peddle should be. This is apparently a not so common known issue?

However, that doesn’t really satisfy your problem with the dealer. Now the clutch plate is a consumable and there for not warrantable. You won’t get any satisfaction on this front. However, you mention the thrust bearing and other non-consumables. If these parts were replaced by your dealer and are genuine Holden parts then they are covered by a three year warranty. Therefore, the dealer should have replaced these when you had the second problem regardless of how they failed. You should make contact with Customer Assistance again and question them from this line, that is by questioning the warranty of the Holden Genuine Parts that were only 9 months old not the car warranty.

Hope this is of some help.
FollowupID: 351581