Lemon! A must read......

Submitted: Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 10:56
ThreadID: 18889 Views:3299 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
Received this pressie from a friend...a small book by Tony Davis.
Title.......... Lemon! 60 heroic failures of motoring,

With listings of the Ford Edsel, Leyland P76, Datsun 200B, Mini Moke, Honda S600 and others. Very funny and quite to the point.

I wonder if the Nissan 3lt TD or the Landcruiser 100IFS will make it to the list in the future................:o)

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 11:01

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 11:01
Lemons? No such thing anymore with the wonderful quality control on this planet..

Then again 4 of the first 6 presents Cameron got this year were broken before they came outt of the box.

NOT F'n happy
AnswerID: 90448

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 12:31

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 12:31
yeah, i saw that the other week in the book store, what a classic...

Ps - take it easy on that rocketship of yours, ya crazy hoon !!!
AnswerID: 90453

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 20:43

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 20:43
My you ng fellow just bought a copy Willem its a hoot, no Toyotas in there I have been told, sadly there are a few notables, what about the Aston Martin Lagonda or the Bugatti EB330. Amazingly expensive lemons

AnswerID: 90489

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 21:50

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 21:50
This was about 1984, I saw a bloke get into a Lagonda in Queen St Woolahra. It looked like he was trying to start it. It did not start.

He got out slammed the door and kicked the tripe out of it.

20 mins later the NRMA tilt tray turned up and took it away.

I think they were more than $200k at the time. hahaha

I did have the opportunuty of driving an Aston MArtin Vantage and I will say that it wa no Lemon.
FollowupID: 349112

Follow Up By: bushfix - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 19:17

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 19:17
G'day,

I recall Prince Charlie had a Lagonda, they cost about $260k back then. Ditto on the Vantage/Volante, they really are something special.

FollowupID: 349174

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 21:44

Monday, Dec 27, 2004 at 21:44
Well, Willem, am surprised that the Moke is a lemon. Thought they were pretty cool, wouldn't mind one now as a station run-about.

Have memories of a Honda S600 screaming 'round the roads where I grew up, in Blue Mountains. Think they had a redline of about 10K rpm, sounded like a 4 wheel motorbike. Always brought the comment from my late Dad:"Bloody hoons.."

Won't comment on Nissan 3L TD....yet.

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 90496

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 08:38

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 08:38
G'day Bob

The writer states that as a workhorse the Moke was a dismal failure as that is what BMC intended it for. The British Army rejected it. The British Public rejected it and then it was sent out to the Colonies. 26,000 of them were built in Australia. It then was marketed as a recreational vehicle which was also a failure as there was no protection from the elements and as far as safety went.
The writer does state that the only thing that the Moke could be famous for is that it stayed in production for 30 years without ever being a successful marque. He does acknowledge a cult following for the Moke like the Citroen 2CV.
FollowupID: 349135

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 00:14

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 00:14
Im suprised that you say the moke is in there? The moke running gear is a mini and the mini is where the japs copied their front wheel drive concept from originally. Love them or hate them the mini was a true motoring icon that has spawned a thousand design copies. The japs, undeniably engineering masters, have traditionally copied the basis of their designs from the west. In the 50's one of the motor cycle companies (honda?) paid a european racing team rider some phenominal amount of money to take his team racer to go to the far side of the track then ride off and park it in the back of a van. A couple of days later the bike was in japan and he was a japanese permanent resident in luxury!!
AnswerID: 90504

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 09:36

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 09:36
I to am surprised that the Moke is in this line up. We had one on our property at Cunnamulla when I was a kid and it copped an absolute flogging and never looked like stopping. It was used for all types of work, from getting firewood to picking up dying sheep.If we wanted something from town I would get the job and have to drive it the 40 miles over very ordinary roads, and have to say ,loved every minute of the drive(Only 16 at the time).
AnswerID: 90521

Reply By: Flash - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 12:53

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 12:53
What about the Triumph Stag V8.
A mate bought one new- nothing but trouble during the painfull 20,000 klicks he had it for, including FIVE new clutches due to vibration and other issues.
What a heap!
Cheers and happy new year.
AnswerID: 90538

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 13:58

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 13:58
The Truimph Stag is in there and the Triumph TR7. My mate who gave me the book has a rare Truimph TR7 Convertible. It is a dog of a car but he loves it. I can't even fit in to the thing.
FollowupID: 349154

Reply By: reelmick - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 19:05

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 19:05
Why dont elfs drive mini mokes ?

Becaues moking is a elf hazard.
AnswerID: 90562

Reply By: ianmc - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 13:21

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 13:21
I had a locally built VW Country Buggy for a few years. Used to collect firewood with it, do tip runs thru wet forest tracks for a holiday park & despite all VW faults
it was fun. Wish I had it now.
Surely one which qualifies as a lemon was the Triumph Herald.
Fairly advanced chassis dynamics but hit something and the body went in many directions/.
AnswerID: 90647