two stroke generators,

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 15:02
ThreadID: 18906 Views:2837 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
can you all give me a bit of info on the two stroke generators, as i can't aford the honda's and a freind of mine has one from k-mart $165 and said it is all he needs to run his fridge and lights, which is all i need. your thoughts and comments please.
petza

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 15:11

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 15:11
We have done cheap two stroke gens to death.

Check the archives.

AnswerID: 90545

Reply By: Bros - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 15:55

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 15:55
petza,
Check all the electrical connections. Mine had a fracture in the fuel line straight out of the box.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 90548

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 17:16

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 17:16
Same here mate.

I am on my 3rd from Bunnings.

The first one was never started as it P E E 'D fuel out of the Tank seam when first fueled.

No. 2 for some reason (unknown) just started P E E I N G fuel out of the seal where the fuel tap joins the tank.

Member 'Des Lexic' suggested it is because the Chinese haven't got their fuel/rubber(seals) match up to standard yet. I think he is right.

May I suggest that you buy it from Bunnings. They are a $168 there as well and with the GMC badged model you get 2yrs warranty. Also there is never a question on a Bunnings return.

For me, this type of generator suits my purpose perfectly - running power tools when town power is not available.

Other than the fuel they work like a dream.

Trgatds

Ken Robinson

PS

Yes they have been done to death on the forum. A search will get you heaps of feedback re same plus results of specs testing by some members.
FollowupID: 349167

Reply By: Darylive - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 18:06

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 18:06
Handy gadget, cheap as chips, but remember you cannot use a generator in a National Park so think about whre you are going?

I have one for work Scorpion branded but they are all the same. Get the GMC for no questions asked return.
AnswerID: 90555

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 19:14

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 19:14
Petza

Check out posts - 18433, 17829, 17146, 15312, 14151, 13391, 12387, 11724, 11624.

You will find the 'Good, the Bad and The Ugly' in these posts re these gennies.

By the way, that 'code' word I signed off with above (Trgatds) should read - regards. Just a finger conniption thing with old age.

Ken Robinson
AnswerID: 90564

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 23:08

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 23:08
SPEAK UP..

SOME PRIK HAS A GENERATOR RUNNING AND I CANT HEAR ANYTHING...
AnswerID: 90598

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 11:32

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 11:32
Yes!! Well thats life i guess LOL!!
FollowupID: 349223

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 21:32

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 21:32
SORRY, DIDN'T REALISE IT WAS STILL GOING, BECAUSE SOME IDIOT HAS GOT HIS STEREO SET ON 'KILL'
FollowupID: 349750

Reply By: Magnus - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 06:07

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 06:07

Just adding to the above post re usage. Banned in all Nat Parks in Qld. And in most Forest Parks unless specifically allowed on your camping permit.

So, depends on where you wanr to camp.

Magnus
AnswerID: 90610

Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 16:29

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 16:29
Banned in all national parks in Qld ? what the is FRASER , MORETON ECT,ECT. every 2nd man and his dog now uses a genny, banned? bu-ls-it.
FollowupID: 349250

Follow Up By: Magnus - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 17:56

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 17:56
From the Web site of the Qld Govt for the Great Sandy National Park

Before You Go Tips
Description
Generators -

May be used by beach campers, providing that the noise does not disturb other campers. Please be considerate of others and minimise use after 9pm.

Are not permitted in any of the QPWS campgrounds.

Are not permitted for use on any other part of the park.

Allowed on the Beach, that's all.

Not allowed elsewhere.

Site address is

Nat Parks

Magnus

FollowupID: 349256

Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 20:24

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 20:24
So gennies are NOT banned in all Qld nat parks , get ur facts right before u post.
FollowupID: 349263

Follow Up By: Magnus - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 21:14

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 21:14
U obviously didn't visit the Govt site. When u do you will see quite clearly what the site says about Generators in Qld National Parks.

They are banned in all national parks with exceptions are made only in specific cases. Beach camping on Fraser being one of them It is the only place in the Great Sandy NP that u can use them.

The Govt site is quite specific, as is their printed literature.

So, I stand by what I said. Check out the site and read for yourself. I can add no more than that.

Magnus

FollowupID: 349270

Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 21:35

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 21:35
Read your own answer to the original posted question,, you state that gennies are banned in ALL Qld national parks,, my reply asks is fraser a national park ?? as said before get ur facts straight before u deem to give advise,,Fraser and Moreton islands are both national parks and u and anyone else can use a gennie.
FollowupID: 349272

Follow Up By: Magnus - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 21:46

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 21:46
You can use a gennie on the beach as I said and no where else.

But I really can not contribute any further to a discussion where one party in the discussion will not go off and read the information offered by the other party.

So, you may believe what you wish. There is no law against that.

You can maintain you are right and I will hold to what I orginally said and maintain I am right.

Magnus
FollowupID: 349275

Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 22:00

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 22:00
Have read all the information and physicaly go to the national parks and use my gennie and have contact with the park rangers on the ground and u are wrong in ur statement that gennies are banned in ALL Qld national parks,, not just the beach ,, try kenilworth ect.
FollowupID: 349279

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 11:38

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 11:38
I would like to know what Bunning and all the other retailers do with all the crook gen sets!! I know for fact that the guys that import them buy them for $50 each by the shipping container. No way could they afford to fix them or send them back. I guess thousands will appear at auctions in the future and will be auctioned as "unknown condition". Michael
AnswerID: 90638