Generator v solar panels

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 22:17
ThreadID: 18918 Views:4231 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
As some of you may recall, I've been researching my needs for power supply when in the bush. I was leaning towards solar panels up til last Tuesday and then had a D & M with Pesty last Tuesday arvo. Next day I bought a Yamaha 1000 generator.

Why?

I turned away from solar because it seemed too fiddly and bulky. By fiddly, I mean that you have to be outside and adjusting the angle of the dangle every half hour or so. Rain, cloud, ambient temperature, trees etc all have an adverse effect on the panel's output/efficiency. Also, they are limited to charging batteries....can't run the Black & Decker off the panel.

Took the Yammie away for the weekend and was camping with a few other EO members. We had 5 fridges and 3 battery chargers running off it at the same time and it mostly stayed on the low rev (economy) cycle; only revvving up a bit when Pesty's bloody great 110 Waeco cut in at the same time as Brew's 80 litre. It used about 5 litres of petrol. We only ran it during the day so nobody was kept awake at night. In fact, Mrs Pesty had an afternoon nap in their tent one arvo; the gennie was about 15 feet away from their tent. We asked her later whether the gennie made it difficult to nod off................she didn't even realise it was on!!

I've found a suitable hidey-hole in the boot of the camper to store the gennie and can fit a 10 litre jerry can of petrol in the gas compartment too, so it's all working out really well.

I appreciate that solar is the right way to go for some blokes, but in my case the gennie is best.

It was my chrissy pressie from my lovely SWMBO.....thanks Annette.

Reply By: motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 22:28

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 22:28
Hi Roachie - As you know from my earlier posts, i favour solar - however it won't run the caravan air conditioner! Tomorrow we purchase a generator just to keep us cool. Everything else will be fine on the solar. Happy camping. motherhen
AnswerID: 90588

Reply By: Allen - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 22:57

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2004 at 22:57
I agree with you guys, I was thinking long and hard between the solar panel and the generator and picked the generator at the end, although the generator is noisy (I got a Honda EU20I, I cannot say it runs with no one notices), but it can do more than just charge the battery.
AnswerID: 90596

Reply By: Jamie M - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 01:09

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 01:09
As someone who works with solar for remote power (mainly houses and solar bores), I'll always prefer solar where practical. But like you've pointed out, it's hard to beat the ease of use and portability of the new generators.

For charging your batteries though, it would be worth your while investing in a good switchmode battery charger (not cheap, but pays for itself by looking after those expensive deep cycle batteries). Normal battery chargers can overcharge the deep cycle batteries and speaking from experience, this reduces the life of the battery drastically. The last battery I replaced in my work vehicle cost more ($260) than the switchmode charger now charging it ($160ish), and now it's touble free.

I'm using a 12V 8A model, but if you want to cut down your generator hours, they come in higher power models, with the higher price tags. The 14A model is a good compromise.

Hope this is helpful...
AnswerID: 90605

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 09:30

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 09:30
G'day Jamie,
You are dead right about chargers. My camper trailer now has 2 Exide Orbital batteries ($320- each) and I have a Hybralec 15 amp 3 stage charger ($300-) hooked up to them. I also have an old Arlec 4 amp charger in the patrol which re-charges the 2nd battery (both are Exide Extremes) as soon as the 240 is hooked up, which also takes over the running of both of my Engel fridges (80 litre upright in the camper + a "normal" 40 litre unit in the patrol).
The other battery charger I mentioned was a 8 amp standard type charger being used to re-charge Muddy-doe's "Outback" power pack.
FollowupID: 349215

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 09:14

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 09:14
Your all turning into whooses wanting air cons. AND all Generaters are noisy to some extent and not allowed in a lot of nat parks.

Just stirring.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 90619

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 09:34

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 09:34
G'day Dodger,
The noise factor was what has always held me back from getting a gennie up til now. But these new ones are SOOOO quiet....and I only need to run it for a little while during the day. I have enough battery power to run all my gear for a couple of days without any worries, so will only need to operate it occasionally.
The other real benefit of them is that you can run moderate-sized leccy tools (eg: drills and angle grinders) away from mains power.
Good looking rig you've got there too mate.
FollowupID: 349216

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 17:46

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 17:46
Roachie,
Likewise your rig looks good too.
Glad to se another Genlmen out there.
I went total solar backed up by the ever trustfull alternator?.
The lot has worked great for a total of 6yrs now in 2 vans and apart from cleaning that beautiful desert dust from things marvelous.
Don't ya jest luv th bush.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 349255

Follow Up By: motherhen - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 17:16

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 17:16
Yes Dodg - i'm a whoose. Couldn't stand the thought of my husband whinging about the heat! Looking forward to seeing Australia one day. Motherhen
FollowupID: 349321

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 08:33

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 08:33
Motherhen,
Don't wait to long to join us Grey haired Nomads it is really a great lifestyle plus you are never lonely on the road evn when you camp out. In 30yrs of vanning never had any trouble from other campers/vanners, some are noisy but most are great.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 349391

Follow Up By: motherhen - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 17:29

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 17:29
Hi Dodg - yes, on the road is where i wanna be! Our hair is going grey but we don't have the money. In our few trips, we've met great people, be it on some mountain track or in a cv park. Only really bad neighbours were a couple of english lads at a cv park in Carnarvon once; they went out drinking, came back late and made a racket for the rest of the night. First thing next morning, a huge tattooed abattoir worker came over and taught them some choice Australian descriptive words; they shoved their tent into their car and took off quick.

Trial run coming up - leaving next week for a month away. Counting all my cents to see just how long they will last if i quit my jobs. Run out of Grannies - no more left to sell. No-one wants to buy the kids.

See you on the road some day, Motherhen
FollowupID: 349452

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 10:17

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 10:17
Noisey bugga...your going to upset all the solar converts.....

AnswerID: 90625

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 11:05

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 11:05
hehehehehe

Yeh; I know.....................hahahaha

Season's Greetings Richard
FollowupID: 349220

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 12:37

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 12:37
glad i dont have solar then...hahaha

A gen suits me very well thank you

And seasons greetings to all over there
FollowupID: 349237

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 12:55

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 12:55
It kept the beer cold.........the batteries charged and was quieter than the kids.....I want one lol.
AnswerID: 90646

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 22:33

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2004 at 22:33
Bloody Hell! I can see "The Kitchen Sink" coming on............................hahahaha

You must have been a good boy to get such a wonderful pressie from SWMBO!

Hey, have a good new year!
AnswerID: 90703

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 17:36

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 17:36
Thanks mate, .............hope you and Judith have a good New Year too.

BTW.....Kitchen sink is already in the bloody camper trailer.hahahaha

FollowupID: 349331

Reply By: fozzy - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 08:51

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 08:51
roachie
good choice
back from week round mildura camping on river and was able to hook onto mates new honda 1(i think) and it was quieter than running a car to charge batteries
there was 4 fridges running off this during daytime-used approx 20litres for about 5 days
always been problem down there running fridges (especially during hot times like chrissy last yr) and keeping batteries charged whilst staying in one place
no probs anymore
certainly recommend one of the better quiet ones and not the bunnings specials
AnswerID: 92129