Service buggers up tyre pressure

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:26
ThreadID: 18968 Views:3537 Replies:11 FollowUps:9
So i fork out my fortune for my Toyota to service my playdo to look good in my service book, though now out of warranty i am looking closely at mick down the road, i get my playdo back two weeks ago and off we went. Notice some movement to the right upon breaking. About 140Km from home late at night i check the tyre pressures, front right hand tyre 10 below the rest. What the f#ck, do i have a flat ? The one time i don't bring a compressor, could change the tyre but maybe if it is not a flat can just bring the others down to 30. Did that and went home sitting on about 90 till i got to a service station and checked and no loss on the front right to did them all up a bit. The stress - got a 12 week old baby in the baby seat. So am i right to get angsty at my expensive toyota dealership - what i suspect happened is they re-did the tyre pressure on all the wheels but missed the spare - when they rotated that's when the lower pressured spare gets put on the front right. So sure my spare should have been up to pressure but 99% of the time i carry a compressor and that would not have been an issue, but that aside - it goes into Toyota, $400 later after a full service you would expect four tyres of equal pressure after a rotation with the spare - so what is the worst that could have happened at highway speeds with 3 tyres on 40 and the front RHS on 30 ?

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:36

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:36
bj's and other's are the same...
got a new set for swmbo and one was at 50psi ranging downward to 35 one one at the front....questioned franchisee owner and ...they can take 60psi.....

another time I had front tyre staked....down to country franchisee and was asked what pressure i was running...dunno the tyres are only 2 weeks old....checked press in remaining 3....ranged between 45 - 55psi

I now carry a good tyre pressure gauge!
AnswerID: 90792

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 12:58

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 12:58
"Now dont you wish you had a gorgeous face like mine............."

Hi Gorgeous

Happy New Year
FollowupID: 349420

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 13:03

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 13:03
hahaha
hello sweetness

Wishing both of you a prosperous new year
FollowupID: 349421

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:52

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:52
I'd complain and ask them why it was so. Sounds like handling and possible emergency braking might of been a worry, but that's about it IMHO.

I once went trekking whilst crook, wasn't really thinking straight. My truck was following the bumps and cambers like trainlines, a bit of a worry on FNQ roads. Wasn't too bad off the tar but I was down to 80K on the tar in many places. Tyre guys said it was camber. Specialist 4wd shop in Cairns had me convinced one side was shorter than the other due to a prang before I bought it. When I got home I took it to a laser alignment place ($100) and a specialist 4wd shop for camber. (nothing found)
$150 and 20 more blood pressure points later on I suddenly realized the one thing nobody had checked (including me!) was tyre pressure. Sure enough, I had put far too much in at a servo at night before setting off and had been too crook to think (or apparently see) straight. Now you'd think that I would of checked that first but no, I just drove. I was crook, short on time and needed the holiday.
Talk about stress and worry, and then relief and the realization that I had made a huge potentially dangerous blunder. Took me ages to admit it to myself or anyone else.
Moral of the story is that even experienced 4wdrs can get caught. These days I carry my own compressor and check the pressures vewwwy carefully.
AnswerID: 90800

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:54

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:54
When I got the Prado I had A/T tyres put on by a reputable tyre dealer. I may have paid top dollar but included was rotation and servicing for the life of the tyres every 5,000 km.

I am now in the routine of having the vehicle serviced by the best Toyota dealer I can find and then taking it round to the Tyre place to have the tyre service done - properly. I tell the Toyota dealer to leave they tyres and wheels alone other than to remove them to do the brakes and stuff.

So far so good.

As I collected my Toyota from one service I was standing next to another owner who was collecting his RAV4. He had almost an argument with the service manager about the fact that his rear tyres were due for replacement. He swore blind that the back ones were new and it was the fronts that were a bit down - as advised by his tyre fitter. Have they been rotated he asked? No we don't rotate tyres on this service. Let's go have a look. The new tyres are on the front! Check the paperwork. Technician has noted a tyre rotation!!! Customer did not want it and specifically asked for it not to be done. They did it anyway.

I so much wonder if I am really being better served by a large Toyota workshop that seem to rush thru many cars a day than by the smaller independent workshop that I wanted to use but cannot because my lease company will only pay Toyota dealers directly for servicing.

Enough for my rant. The point is you really have to watch what is going on with your vehicle. Tyres particularly bear monitoring to make sure everything is as it should be.

Muddy
AnswerID: 90802

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 22:03

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 22:03
The most likely result of running a tyre a little flat is that it gets a little hot and wears a bit more than the others.
If you check the recommended pressures in your owner's book you may find that they advise running them even lower than 30psi in the interests of giving you a smooth quiet ride when delivering the kids to school.
The worst that could happen? Under emergency breaking say round a corner things might get a bit out of line; maybe the ABS might react a little differently than usual, but 10 psi below 40 is not that extreme I wouln't have thought.

I'm a nosy bugger and when someone else works on my rig I check it out carefully afterwards. Anyone can make mistakes and it pays to have a nose around after other people and I always check tyre pressures and fluids before going on any trip more than a few K's. I hate wasting time broken down of the side of the road!

Cheers, Camper
AnswerID: 90806

Reply By: Member - Anni M (SA) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 23:05

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 23:05
Phew !!! the tyre problems! Usually I just tell them not to touch the tyres on pain of death. They do have the problem that they don't always have cold tyres to work on, but they aren't even capable of setting hot pressures at the right relative pressures - much less at those recommended on the plate just inside the door. However, at the latest (50K) service I wanted the tyres on the road "front to backed" and I specified the tyre pressures (45/38 but don't let's have a debate about that). I checked them cold the next morning, to find that the fronts had 45 and the rears 38!!!! When I complained in response to their request for feedback I was assured by phone message that the "mechanic???" had checked the pressures and I was left with the impression that I was the cretin rather than someone who has driven 35000 kms over some of the worst tracks in Australia withoiut a single flat.

I haven't finished the debate, but the dealer (major Adelaide) will lose my business unless they come up with an apology and a pretty convincing explanation for why my troopie is the only one in the world which needs more air in the front than the back. But credit where it is due - they did what they were told in Northam in WA, and in Mt Magnet (not even an official dealer) they picked up a couple of minor faults.

Millny

AnswerID: 90816

Follow Up By: Member- Peter & Mrs Peter, Lez - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 17:28

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 17:28
I've had quite a number of minor hassles with a major dealer, on West Tce, and they have always resolved the issue above my expectations. I know you shouldn't have the issue in the first place, but they are human after all.
Cheers Peter
FollowupID: 349451

Reply By: Member - Brian H (WA) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 23:54

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 23:54
Past experience has shown me that Toyota dealers are no better than any other mechanic. They just have access to up to date info. My old cruiser hasn't seen a Toyota dealer since it was out of warranty.
AnswerID: 90821

Reply By: Flash - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 06:16

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 06:16
My Patrol hasn't seen a dealer. Period. (In 14 years.)
Hasn't had a problem either.
I wouldn't trust most dealers as far as I could throw them.
If you do it yourself, you know it's done properly.
AnswerID: 90830

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 09:16

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 09:16
Amen to Flash - if you only trust dealers as far as you can fling them with one hand, then you'll be getting off on the right foot, IF you decide to deal with them at all (and I don't, unless I have to). As you can see from other posts here, the dealers see every customer as an "opportunity; to be fleeced" - sounds harsh - if you don't believe it, give them a try.
AnswerID: 90836

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 10:16

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 10:16
Yep, Toyota should have done the job properly. However I reckon you are responsible for your own tyre pressures, especially before embarking on a long drive. I always check my pressures at least once a week, and always the night before a long drive. Why trust in Toyota re: your tyre pressures when obviously you have little confidence in them to do the job properly??? Not having a go, just reckon each should take responsibility for their own tyre pressures, all of the time.
AnswerID: 90843

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 13:34

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 13:34
Yes,
Totally agree!!
Even when having new tyres fitted at a "tyre place", I don't bother too much with what pressures they put in them, as I will adjust pressures to my preference anyway, and this will vary according to speed and load and road/track conditions...

Same with fluid levels.. Check them regularly (especially before any kind of a trip), and know in your own mind that they are right!.. On a long trip, I will do this every day...

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 349426

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 13:35

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 13:35
Yeah...I'm with you Moggs. Any wheels removed from my vehicles during service are checked for air pressure and the torque wrench run over the nuts to make sure I don't get any surprises when I least need them.
FollowupID: 349427

Reply By: Chaz - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 16:37

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 16:37
Hi Guy's
Talking about dealers!!...Well a few months ago I had my pootrol serviced at my local Nissan dealer (Northern Suburbs of Adelaide) for the big 40,000k. They had the wheels off for various reasons eg. check breaks and grease wheel bearings.
The next morning I'm off to Cabotts Well for a spot of fishing. About 130 K's past Ceduna. http://members.bettanet.net.au/~conody/images/Cabbots.jpg
As I appoach the first sand dune, I stop to let the tyres down to 20 psi ( As you Do) and quickly noticed two wheel nuts missing from the rear left tyre. Upon closer inspection, I found the other four nuts were all loose!
So I've just travelled about 1050K's with a loose back wheel.
My Nissan dealer was only too happy to supply me with another two nuts, and were very appologetic, but you have to wonder.....who is doing the work and what are they thinking?

Chaz
http://members.bettanet.net.au/~conody/index.htm
AnswerID: 90879

Reply By: Patroleum - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 20:59

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 20:59
Polsprado,

Why bother writing the post. 1 Tyre at 30, 3 at 40, have to drive at 90!
What rubbish!
It's not really a tradgedy is it?
AnswerID: 90899

Follow Up By: porlsprado - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 23:28

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 23:28
What's the not tradgedy (sic) ? I brake severely and my wagon swings right into a ditch because the IFS on the front can't cope with the deflatory physics of a 10 psi less tyre on the right tyre and i find my 12 week old baby with a broken neck ? bugger yu patroleum head who can't even spell tragic, you get a 12 week old baby in your back seat and you think its a joke, get a real life. Yes i should have checked my pressures and sure maybe nothing would have happened, but maybe it could have and that's the question i am posing not for some pr#ck to say mathematics less than something else than whatever is worth sarcasm, join the debate below on thermal dynamics of coolant in fridge compressors and its relevant to pressure co-efficient factors of AC vs DC and make your life worthwhile.
FollowupID: 349488

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 10:09

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 10:09
porlsprado, LOL if you are going to slag others spelling it pays to run a spell checker over your own posts to make sure they are right :) You seem to have a bit of rage, maybe time to chill for the new year???
FollowupID: 349493

Follow Up By: porlsprado - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 11:36

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 11:36
i'd actually like to apologise, had a bad night, would retract that post if i could. definitely i need t o chill.
FollowupID: 349496

Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 13:58

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 13:58
What would happen with your IFS if you had a blowout? Much worse that the 10psi difference....
FollowupID: 349674