High Country, EO stickers

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 21:30
ThreadID: 19012 Views:2419 Replies:4 FollowUps:18
G'day all

Merry Xmas and happy 2005
Since going to the high country in Victoria with Bonz and the rest of the crew, I have tried to get there as much as possible. Went there first at the end of Nov, and now have been there anther 3 times. Have just got home from another trip up there, it is so fantasic. We headed up buttercup rd and became involved in the middle of a muster, surrounded by cattle and the people mustering them. As I spent alot of my time growing up on a farm it was great to be in the middle of it and chat to the folks involved. We contiued up and spoted the EO sticker of VOXSON (SA member) at Bus Hut. It is amazing where you bump into people. It was great to meet Voxson. We went down through pinapple flats crossing many rivers and through some mud pitts, had some great fun. We saw another EO sticker at Craigs Hut, spotted a GU Patrol on Sunday about 2.30 ish backing out as we drove, sorry tried to catch up, but missed you. We also went to the summit of mt sterling WOW!!!!. Anyway enough of the step by step. Had a ball and Kir and I are going to contiue to explore the high country.
Crazie

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 21:39

Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 21:39
Great to hear your appetites whetted Adam, and I hope Kir is more used to the tracks now. Mt Stirling is great, its where I was planning on going th other week, anyways there plenty up there to see. MC&NHY to you both

AnswerID: 91023

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 21:46

Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 21:46
Hey Bonz
Thanks for the introduction to the high country. We have done some much harder tracks now and Kir is loving it. We have gone through some deepish mud pits and many river crossing. The more time we spend up there, the less she hesitates. Kir is a great navigator and has been picking alot of the tracks we do.
Take care mate, anytime you need a wing man we will come up there
Adam
FollowupID: 349603

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 21:58

Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 21:58
Thought I would also add that it was great to see a heap of ski boats on the south side (on the left as you head to melbourne) of the bridge at Bonnie Doon. There is heaps of water under the bridge now, still alot more needed...
FollowupID: 349604

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 22:26

Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 22:26
So what tracks have you done? Have they been day trips or overnite stays? Hope you got some good toys for chrissy.

FollowupID: 349608

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 22:33

Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 22:33
Done heaps of tracks, have to sit around and have a beer and fill you in and some were marked and some that we couldnt find the names. we have done 2 more days trips and 1 overnite. I am always very lucky at getting great prezzies, mainly cause I buy them haha
FollowupID: 349611

Follow Up By: Nick R - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 08:42

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 08:42
there are a stack of tracks around stirling, XC ski trails. Spent time while at school (voluntry service with nat parks) clearing rocks of these, now I realize we shouldn't have, it was at the direction of parks guys. We did stack some of these to stop those evil 4wd drivers driving to the top of stirling instead of walking the last 200 metres!!!
There used to be more trails too, some are so overgrown now that it hard to walk through, let alone drive.
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 349636

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 22:18

Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 22:18
Was it a Green GU with personalised plates from South aussie as well? I know who that is... :D

Got a SMS from Voxon today, he was rather happy with the weekends proceedings so far..
AnswerID: 91030

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 22:30

Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 22:30
Hi Truckster
No Mate, was a Champagne gold/brown color. Didnt see the plates, There was a tag along tour at craigs hut 4WD's everywhere, about 25 4WD's. Yeh Voxson looked like he was having some fun, not sure that his dog like me though haha.
FollowupID: 349609

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 08:08

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 08:08
Yep awsome trip... Just a pain that i have to travel so far for it..... I am envious that you guys have it in your own back yard....

We have to go to private property in the Flinders just to have a portion of what you have there....

The dawg is on bread and dripping for a week for jumping outta the car,,, he knew better,,, and he doesnt like anybody.... So nothing personal hehehe....
FollowupID: 349773

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 11:03

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 11:03
But then again Vox, you have closer access to the 'center', and places like wilpena pound, birdsville track etc etc
Once ya done the HC 3-4 times, its just another place, but having said that Im boring, and could live up there.

grass is always greener ;)~
FollowupID: 349805

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 22:06

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 22:06
Yes i agree with your comment,,, i am closer to these places you mentioned...*but*......

The Centre is a huge drive from any Capital City in Aust so whats another days driving?...When you would be on a longish vacation anyway??...

Wilpena Pound,,, just a tourist trap,,, a gateway to some privately owned tracks,,, Skytrek, arkaba and some others which are generally $40 a pop,,, harsh, dry, dustbowls most of the year round,, plenty of little creek crossings with no water at all.....

Birdsville track,,, another long drive to get there but most people are only going through Birdsville on there long awaited yearly vacation.... So another days driving is stuff all...

Dont get me wrong though,,, most of my more challenging tracks are in some privately owned areas of the flinders,,,, *but* to come to a place which is one full days drive from adelaide (your backyard),,, and to have rainforest, 4x4 tracks, (wet) creek crossings, fishing, and camping,,, just blew my doors off....

If i ever win the lotto i will build hut number 7½ and call it Grants Hut and live there and be boring too....

I have been hearing the name Dargo and have it all pencilled in so i need reports soon when you go...
FollowupID: 349895

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 22:59

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 22:59
Dargo itself is nothing, a servo, pub few accomdation places, its the areas around it!
FollowupID: 350085

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 12:21

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 12:21
Was up there yesterday myself and also got caught in that Muster near Tomohawk Hut at about 1.00pm. Did the Craig's Hut thing and Mt Stirling around 3.00pm. Shame I didn't see you guys...was keeping an eye out for EO stickers. Was hardly anyone at Craig's when I got there. What a magnificent day - weather was sensational. Pics from my trip can be found here if anyone is interested http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/gallery/album352
AnswerID: 91084

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 16:45

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 16:45
Hey Mogs, We must have been just missed you in some places. Was an awesome day, great pics.
Crazie
FollowupID: 349687

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 16:47

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 16:47
Was a great day up there wasn't it. That wasn't you guys playing " I like......, but I don't like....." over the UHF was it??
FollowupID: 349688

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 20:46

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 20:46
Hi Moggs

Was a fatastic day up there, no mate was us play over the UHF. I was getting alot of crap over the radio, so we turned it off hahaha
FollowupID: 349732

Reply By: MarkN - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 18:52

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 18:52

Am just gettign into the 4WD chalenge after buying a 100 series and was wondering whether those of you who have been going to the high country regulalry, whcih is the closest area to me from Melbourne, have done many mods to your vehicles?

if you have done some i would be interested to know what ones and what order you would do them in if you were starting from scratch on a 100 series.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

AnswerID: 91139

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 20:42

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 20:42
Hi Mark
Congrats on the new cruiser. I have been going up Mt Stirling, Buller and surrounding areas, Mainly out of Mainsfield. You can access it from many other areas. Most of the tracks are mild/mediium, so no need to rush out and do mods. I would go for a lift and snorkel first. Height and breathing would be of advantage. I have also brought of few books and maps from this website that are great help. Have a great time, its a fantastic area.
Adam
FollowupID: 349726

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 11:01

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 11:01
You could do most of the huts of high country in a HQ Ute. The only places that would be an issue are Upper Jamo hut and the creeks near Kings hut.

Buy a snorkel and probably some AT's, and then go driving the car.
I ran a novice trip for the club in nov, had a stocky pathfinder with AT's on that went pretty much everywhere we did..
FollowupID: 349804

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 12:17

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 12:17
Hey Truckster
Is there anywhere that you can get good maps of the tracks in the high country. I have maps and books from this site, but they do not show all of the tracks??

Adam
FollowupID: 349815

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 16:07

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 16:07
Melbourne map Center.. they have a website, google for it >:-)
FollowupID: 349839

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 16:58

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 16:58
Thanks mate
I have the henna and other maps but not that much detail. They have suggested rooftop and governtment survey maps.
thanks for the tip

Adam
FollowupID: 349848