2000 nissan 3.0l tubo diesel AGAIN!!!

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 09:24
ThreadID: 19050 Views:2485 Replies:11 FollowUps:2
does anyone on this site actually own or have owned a 2000 3.ol turbo diesel .have heard this first year is a dud ?true or false? would only like to hear from actual owners or previous owners with good or bad experiences as i have read enough hearsay on this and other sites to last me a lifetime.the vehicle i am looking at is a 2000 3.0l turbo diesel 5 speed manual.....cheers

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 10:01

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 10:01
Try doing a search in the Archives on this page. There are heaps of references and first hand experiences with the 3lt Nissan TD. Not all are bad though as it seems there was only a batch of vehicles with crook engines. I am not sure when they were manufactured but I think it was around late 2000 to 2001.
AnswerID: 91234

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 10:47

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 10:47
I would keep doing just that - looking at it - from a distance...

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Patrol4WD
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Nissan_GU_Patrol
http://forum.patrol4wd.org/phpBB2
www.4wdmonthly.com.au
forums.overlander.com.au

Try all of these you will see how wonderful they REALLY REALLY are...
AnswerID: 91239

Reply By: ianmc - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 12:17

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 12:17
Gee Truckster, its a wonder that U dont keep reminding me about the gearbox in my Triton too! LOL!
The weather is a bit ord today so I suppose some including me are at the keyboard!
AnswerID: 91260

Reply By: Squizzy - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 13:50

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 13:50
Cross,

I have owned a May 2000 3.0L TD since new, and so far have not had any engine problems of the sort so often mentioned.
It has now done 80,000 km's of hard driving and towing, and still performs well.
We only use it for our off road trips, as the missus has a VS commodore too.

Hope this helps,
Geoff.
AnswerID: 91275

Reply By: just - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 15:32

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 15:32
I too have had mine new from july '00 and it runs sweet as a baby (touch wood). With a dtronic it's has plenty of get up and go. Been through the tirara desert strzeleki desest and macumba region (off track) without a problem so far.
AnswerID: 91287

Reply By: gregr - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 16:14

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 16:14
cross
i have 2001/ build mth1 gu td 3.0 l auto with 110kms
no probs at all
mate has 2000 / build mth 5 td 3.0 l man with 95k kms
also no engine probs but did have 5 th gear prob fixed under warranty
both vehs used off road but are reg serviced every 5000 kms change oil etc

i have taken extended warrenty because of all the horror stories but so far no probs

i would check if regularrly serviced very important and its history which nissan should have

i personnally would avoid the recalled vehicles and buy a vehicle built after the recall - latish 2000 i think

also i would get an extended or 2nd hand dealer warranty over the vehicle just to be safe
hope this helps see you
greg
AnswerID: 91292

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 22:47

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 22:47
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=33135&start=30

2 gear boxes
1 engine 3 cracked and 1 holed piston
4 transfer case prop seals
3 or 4 ac compressors
leaky sump (they all do)
clutch was almost done at 55,000kms
cracked flywheel (oil filled)
3 or 4 AF sensors
leaky intercooler (they all do)

diffs were good though
turbo needed a full rebuild at 80,000kms when it was taken off the motor due to the amount of stress it is under

in the end EVERY time i went away it had issues

i stopped going 4wding and it still played up so off it went out of my hands

AnswerID: 91351

Reply By: AJB - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 23:01

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 23:01
I've got a May 2000 model and have clocked up 167,000 ks now. Had 5th gear go at 143,000 and it was repaired under warranty. Surprised me that they would cover it as it was well out of warranty. Everything else has been fine. CHange oil between 5000 and 10000 and get major service every 40000. It is a work hack and tows work trailer 80% of the time which weighs about 1 1/2 tonne. Been to Qld twice towing caravan. Been to Broome towing small trailer up the TAnami and out around Lake Gregory. DOne heaps of high country trips in Vic. Also heard stories of it being a dud but it starts when I turn the key on and gets me there and so far back again. It is a very good towing vehicle in the handling department. Could do with a little more power and have contemplated Dtronic but prefer to keep things standard. Have replaced coils and springs. It has most other extras (bar winch rack snorkel etc) Sounds like and ad! I'll keep it a bit longer yet. MAybe another 100,000. Every make and model will have a dud but most owners wont admit to owing one until they get rid of it!
AnswerID: 91353

Reply By: muzzgit - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 02:00

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 02:00
I have a 2000 3.0L auto. Only problem has been a dicky air intake which allowed dust into "Air Flow Meter" which tripped out da puter. Have heard that some were dodgy engine wise, but if it was gonna blow it would have done it well before
60 000 K's. Also, auto box can get hot if long driving in heavy sand, but that's easy fixed, just stop and put da kettle on !! Happened to me on sunday, but beach was very soft and sand hills rather big. But this will happen with any 4X4 with auto box.
I found best thing to put in low and leave in "D" and let auto sort it out. Worked much better.

P.S. I had a customer at my work a while back, told me about when he bought a brand new 80 series Turbo diesel (first one released). Engine went kaboom in first month. Toyota took car away and gave it back within two weeks with sparkling new donk, plus cases of beer, champagne and wine in the back of the vehicle. He was asked not to say anything, but he could'nt help himself. He still drives it, and says same thing happened to his Brother-in-law, only brother-in-law won't touch another Toyota.
Go figure!

Muzz
AnswerID: 91366

Reply By: cross - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 07:14

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 07:14
thanks for all the responses guys both good and bad....took it one step further and put a deposit down on conditions of a full mechnical check up .came back trumps.engine has apparently been replaced recently with newer one( guessing around 5 -10 000 ks) installed by nissan.everything else was in top shape to.read a lot of forums on here and other sites and satisfied ive made the right decision.hopefully shell run as smooth as a gravy sanga.anyway thanks again for alll your help.and while im here could u tell me alittle more about the Dtronic...........cheers
cross
AnswerID: 91367

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 12:35

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 12:35
I was going to mention yesterday to be wary if it has the earlier engine but it's getting to the stage where many engines have been replaced by Nissan with new later model engines. I have seen a couple of Patol adds in papers advertising that they have been replaced. Surprised that people don't hang on to them for a little longer after the new engine change.

Leroy
FollowupID: 349976

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 15:22

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 15:22
I assume the new engine confirms all the bad storys you have heard of that vintage motor
FollowupID: 350000

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 11:29

Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 11:29
In my opinion I would not purchase a 2000/2001 model.
My 2000 model blew its engine at 118,000 kms and was replaced by Nissan.
Having said that,I would recommend the engines after 2001,its pulls our c/van with ease,much better than the previous GQ turbo.
Its economy is excellent,and in Auto form with low range gear sets installed is a real bush performer.
These are the engines of the future,and it is great to get to your destination without the black soot all over the front of the van.
AnswerID: 91575