Some Observations by me.

Submitted: Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:15
ThreadID: 19154 Views:1957 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Just got back from Marree, come down through Borefield Road vis. Roxby. Spent some time in Woomera, caught up with a mate from 35 years ago.. ( we did High School there ).

Anyway...........

My Phillips UHF died somewhere along the way, lucky I had a small hand held as well. Stopped off in Adelaide this arvo on the way home, and bought a new GME 3400.

Caught up with Pesty at Hamley Bridge on the way home, both his belly & my belly are still showing signs of excesses over the break...........

LED lights............. bought a 90 unit from 12 volt gear. Nice bit of work, excellent light, good for over the kitchen area and to read by. Still doesn't come close to a fluro as far as dispersion is concerned, but hey............ 0.3 amp / hour!!

Now, here's the thing...............

You may have read that they don't attract insects............. CRAP!!!!! They do.

Now, onto a little Wolfie Tip.........

I drink Coke & Borubon, and I use cans, because they cool down quicker, and travel better. Here's the tip...... I use a neoprene stubby holder to keep the can in, and I cut another one down in height so it becomes a lid. Stops insects, and keeps the cold a little better.

Remember folks............ you seen it here first!!!

Took my Honda HRV.... creature comforts, and the ability to travel at 140 km/h, and still get 8 litres / 100 km!!

Take Care

Wolfie

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:20

Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:20
Well welcome back Wolfie, almost started to wonder where you were. Any way thanks for the insect can cover idea, think there might be a few who borrow your idea. Kir is a bourbon girl and will love that trick of yours. Happy new year too.
Crazie
AnswerID: 91823

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 22:44

Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 22:44
Hiya Crazie... I was looking at the weather for H/Country today and tomorrow and was blown away by how much it can change in a week in January,,....-1 min.. with a high of 9.. wow.
FollowupID: 350657

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 23:28

Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 23:28
Hey Voxson

Thats melbourne for you mate, since moving down here from Qld, I have learnt, if you don't like the weather, just wait 10 minutes. haha You know it snowed up there 2 weeks about.......
Have a greatg weekend, going to try and get back up there next weekend. cheers
Adam
FollowupID: 350665

Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:21

Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:21
i thought you had passed away.....its been peaceful on here
AnswerID: 91824

Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:24

Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:24
what a prick....ly one
AnswerID: 91825

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 20:04

Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 20:04
check his rig pic and you'll know what I mean
FollowupID: 350636

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:36

Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:36
Welcome back Wolfie, I thought you had fallen into a black hole.

Interesting about the LED lights and insects. I had read they don't attract the bugs but maybe they're not quite as bad eh.

I suppose you'll have some new pics on on he website soon.

Sunny side up old boy.
AnswerID: 91829

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:56

Friday, Jan 07, 2005 at 18:56
Wondering where you got to I was starting to lookin the back pages of the Advertiser. Did that same route as you in 93 in a mates hq panel van on the way to Jundah queensland the carnage ended up at about 5 flats one diff and eventually a rollover at Stonehenge
-need yellow to avoid insects
- cover for your drinks? when I was in SA last alchohol was consumed in one go no need for coolers or lids. I guy I worked with did a scientific study and foundn a can took 18 minutes in the esky to reach acceptable drinking temp - but he was a wussy southern suberbs boy
AnswerID: 91831

Reply By: ianmc - Saturday, Jan 08, 2005 at 12:51

Saturday, Jan 08, 2005 at 12:51
Wolfie, that HRV sounds OK from here but werent there some issues with f/end or drive train, maybe thats why they are no longer sold.
My Triton 2.5td at lower speeds does 8.5-9l per 100kms wih a fair load so pretty happy but the HRV sounds sweet.
As for cans, well few years back in far north carried a pack of Powers light (remember?) on roughish roads & some of the cans perforated thru the rubbing in their pack & in frig. What a waste & mess!
AnswerID: 91927